Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Foreign Affairs Canada

Annual Reports on the Administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

2003-2004

Copies of this document may be obtained from:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

This publication can be made available on computer diskette, compact disk, in large print or on audio cassette upon request.

Enquiries about this document may be directed to:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tel: (613) 992-1425
FAX: (613) 995-0116

PART I – INTRODUCTION

THE ROLE AND MANDATE OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS CANADA

Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) has the primary responsibility for the promotion and protection of Canada’s interests abroad and the conduct of Canada’s relations with other countries. It promotes peace, prosperity and Canadian values around the world. The mandate of the department is as follows:

  • conducting all diplomatic and consular relations on behalf of Canada;
  • conducting all official communication between the Government of Canada and
  • the government of any other country and between the Government of Canada and any international organization;
  • conducting and managing international negotiations as they relate to Canada;
  • coordinating the direction given by the Government of Canada to the heads of Canada's diplomatic and consular missions and to manage these missions;
  • administering the foreign service of Canada; and
  • fostering the development of international law and its application in Canada's external relations.

It also offers travel assistance and passport services to Canadians, at home and abroad.

THE ORGANIZATION OF THE DEPARTMENT

A significant change in government machinery was made in December 2003, separating the former Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) into two organizations: Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) and International Trade Canada (ITCan). This announcement has had implications for the administration of Access and Privacy responsibilities for both institutions.

This report covers the fiscal year 2003-2004, a period in which the now separate departments were operating as one organization until December 12, 2003, and Foreign Affairs Canada thereafter. This report does not include information about International Trade Canada, which has issued its own annual report to Parliament.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs is supported by the Minister of International Cooperation (Canadian International Development Agency), the Minister responsible for La Francophonie and by a Parliamentary Secretary and another Parliamentary Secretary with special emphasis on Canada-U.S. relations. Moreover, the responsibilities of the Minister extends beyond the Department. The Minister of Foreign Affairs is also responsible for external organizations namely, the International Development Research Centre, which helps communities in developing countries address social, economic and environmental problems; the International Joint Commission, a Canada-U.S. body that manages and protects lake and river systems on the border between the two countries; and Rights & Democracy (the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development), an independent organization that promotes human rights and democratic processes and institutions.

The Passport Office is a special operating agency within Foreign Affairs Canada, reporting to the Deputy Minister.

ADMINISTRATION OF THE ACCESS AND PRIVACY FUNCTION

The Director of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division (the ATIP Office of the Department) has been delegated full authority to exercise the powers of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

The ATIP Director reports to the Director General of the Executive Services Bureau who, along with the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, are also designated with full powers. All Heads of Mission are designated to act under Section 8(2)(m) of the Privacy Act.

As an interim measure during this transitional period, the ATIP Office will continue to process ATIP requests for both FAC and ITCan until such time as ITCan can fully accommodate and integrate this function within its operations, expected within the fiscal year 2004-2005.

During 2003-2004, the ATIP Office continued to provide training sessions for employees. These sessions provided 265 employees with an overview of the Acts and a better understanding of their obligations and the process within FAC. Customized sessions were also provided to divisional teams upon request.

PART II - ACCESS TO INFORMATION ACT

OVERVIEW

This report describes the administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act in the previous department up to December 12, 2003 and the new Foreign Affairs Canada from that date to March 31, 2004.

The reporting period has been particularly challenging for the administration of the ATIP function, for both departments.

Although the number of requests received over the past 3 years has remained relatively stable, the complexity of the requests has increased as has the number of pages being processed. Furthermore, the annual volume of consultations from other departments has increased to the point that they are now equivalent to the number of access requests processed. FAC continues to be required to meet obligations under the Privacy Act and has experienced an increase of requests. There are growing policy issues upon which the ATIP Office has been required to provide advice to departmental officials and senior management.

Since the commencement of the Information Commissioner Office’s annual review of FAC’s performance back in 1998, steps were taken to improve departmental capacity and to strengthen compliance with these statutes. This included some additional resources, streamlining of processes, training and renewed awareness of obligations. Although the departmental performance gradually improved to achieve substantial compliance in 2002 (Grade of B), it has regressed in 2003 to a Grade of D, which is below standard compliance.

In order to properly assess the elements which will have a direct impact on improved turnaround times, an independent review of the ATI function, Privacy function and historical/screening function was identified. This study will assist in identifying the human and financial resources elements along with the accommodation and technology requirements to support this function. This review will form the basis upon which key functional elements will be identified along with actions to be taken over a specific period to bring these functions in line with the objectives of the division, the directorate, the Department and the Government.

WORKLOAD

In 2003-2004, there were 490 Access to Information Act requests submitted to the Department. For a graphical account of the volume of requests received each year by the Department since 1998-1999, refer to Chart # 1 which follows:

Chart # 1: Access to Information Act Requests Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

386

561

437

496

529

490

The Department is also responsible for processing numerous consultation requests from other departments and other governments. For a graphical account of the volume of consultation requests received by the Department, refer to Chart # 2 which follows:

Chart # 2: Access to Information Act Consultations Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

263

332

421

526

540

562

 

STATISTICS

As indicated above, the Department received 490 new access requests in 2003-2004. When added to the 213 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that FAC was responsible for the processing of 713 requests during 2003-2004.

Despite this large volume, the Department was able to complete the processing of 575 requests, leaving only 128 requests to be carried over to next fiscal year, a considerable improvement.

Of the 490 requests received in 2003-2004, the most frequent type of requester was from the public (213) followed by the media (142), various types of organizations (107), business (20) and academia (8).

Of the 575 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 51 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 159 requests, and all records were denied for 13 requests. Besides this, 145 requests were transferred to another department, the department was unable to process 1 request. Out of the 206 requests which were abandoned by the applicants much of the processing work had already been initiated for 145 of these case files. As for the remaining 61 cases, they dated back to 2002 and the applicants indicated their disinterest in the subject matter.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either the operations of government (Section 21), personal information (Section 19) or international affairs (Section 15).

Of the 575 requests completed in 2003-2004, 274 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 65 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 96 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 140 requests took more than 120 days to complete. The Department found it necessary to extend the time frame on 343 occasions to conduct large searches, to conduct external consultations and/or to complete third party notifications.

OTHER REQUESTS AND INFORMAL DISCLOSURES
Screening Program

The ATIP Office is responsible for screening Departmental records prior to transfer to the National Archives. This obligatory program allows the department to release records each year that facilitate research access to greater volumes of information concerning Canada’s conduct of international relations. In 2003-2004, the ATIP Office screened some 228,000 pages of historical departmental records prior to their transfer to the National Archives.

Historical Section - Informal Access Program

This program provides an avenue for academics and serious researchers who seek access to records held by the Department in order to carry out their work. With the assistance of departmental divisions, access to records held by the Department is expedited outside the formal framework of the Access to Information Act while ensuring that sensitive information remains protected. A total of 17 requests were processed which involved over 4,300 pages of information.

Internal Requests for Advice

The ATIP Office also acted as a resource for FAC officials and offered advice and guidance on the provisions of the legislation. The ATIP Office was consulted on 64 departmental issues relating to a range of matters from surveys, questionnaires, memorandum of understanding, information sharing arrangements, records management, data bases, contracts, privacy caveats and human resources issues.

RESOURCES

For this transitional year, it was not possible to separate the resources utilized for the administration of the Access to Information Act from those utilized for the administration of the Privacy Act. In total, however, just under $800,000 was spent on the administration of the two Acts, and staffing amounted to 11 full-time equivalents.

SUMMARY

Given the complexities and sensitivities of the subject matter, the processing of Access to Information Act requests in the area of foreign affairs and international trade can often be a challenging matter. Nevertheless, the Department will continue to strive to meet its various responsibilities under the Act.

PART III - PRIVACY ACT

WORKLOAD

In 2003-2004, there were 148 Privacy Act requests submitted to the Department. For a graphical account of the volume of requests received each year by the Department since 1998-1999, refer to Chart # 3 which follows:

Chart # 3: Privacy Act Requests Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

61

76

118

109

120

148

STATISTICS

As indicated above, the Department received 148 new Privacy requests in 2003-2004. When added to the 13 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that FAC was responsible for the processing of 161 requests during 2003-2004.

The Department completed the processing of 140 requests during this reporting period, leaving 21 requests to be carried over to 2004-2005.

Of the 140 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 63 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 45 requests, and all records were denied for 4 requests. Besides this, the department was unable to process 18 requests for various reasons and 10 requests were abandoned by applicants.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either information about another individual (Section 26), law enforcement and investigation (Section 22) and international relations and defence (Section 21).

Of the 140 requests completed in 2003-2004, 95 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 35 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 5 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 5 requests took more than 120 days to complete. Time extensions were invoked for 30 requests - 21 due to interference with operations and 9 for external consultations. All these extensions were for 30 or less.

DISCLOSURES UNDER S. 8(2) OF THE PRIVACY ACT

The ATIP Office processed 246 requests for disclosure of personal information under Section 8(2) of the Privacy Act. This is a significant increase (41%) over the last fiscal year.

PRIVACY IMPACT ASSESSMENTS

Treasury Board’s policy on Privacy Impact Assessments (PIA) came into effect on May 1, 2002, and work is under way in many program areas to prepare assessments. The ATIP Office has been participating in the development of the following assessments: the Facial Recognition project, the Birth Certificate Verification project with the British Columbia Vital Statistics Agency and the Sharing Agreement with that agency. These projects are under the responsibility of the Passport Office and are on-going.

RESOURCES

For this transitional year, it was not possible to separate the resources utilized for the administration of the Privacy Act from those utilized for the administration of the Access to Information Act. In total however, just under $800,000 was spent on the administration of the two Acts, and staffing amounted to 11 full-time equivalents.

PART IV - ANNEXES

Annex A - Statistical Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act

Annex B - Statistical Report on the Administration of the Privacy Act

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-06-26

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Affaires étrangères Canada

Rapports annuels sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

2003-2004

On peut obtenir des exemplaires de ce document en s’adressant à :

Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements Personnels
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, Promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Vous pouvez, sur demande, obtenir cette publication sur disquette, cédérom, en imprimé en gros caractères ou sur cassette audio.

Adresser les demandes de renseignements sur le présent document comme suit :

Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Tél : (613) 992-1425
Téléc. : (613) 995-0116

PARTIE I - INTRODUCTION

RÔLE ET MANDAT D’AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES CANADA

Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) a d’abord la responsabilité de promouvoir et de protéger les intérêts du Canada à l’étranger et de diriger les relations du Canada avec les autres pays. Le Ministère travaille en faveur de la paix, de la prospérité et des valeurs canadiennes de par le monde. Voici son mandat :

  • diriger toutes les relations diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada;
  • assurer les communications officielles entre le gouvernement du Canada, d’une part, et les gouvernements étrangers ou les organisations internationales, d’autre part;
  • mener et gérer les négociations internationales auxquelles le Canada participe;
  • coordonner les orientations données par le gouvernement du Canada aux chefs de missions diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada et gérer ces missions;
  • assurer la gestion du Service extérieur du Canada;
  • encourager le développement du droit international et son application dans les relations extérieures du Canada.

Le Ministère offre aussi une aide au voyageur et des services de passeports aux Canadiens, ici et à l’étranger.

ORGANISATION DU MINISTÈRE

Est survenu en décembre 2003 un changement important dans la structure de l’appareil gouvernemental, entraînant la subdivision de l’ancien ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) en deux organismes, à savoir Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) et Commerce international Canada (CICan). Cette annonce a eu des répercussions en ce qui a trait à l’administration des responsabilités des deux institutions en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Le présent rapport porte sur l’exercice 2003-2004, période dans laquelle les deux ministères, maintenant distincts, ont fonctionné comme une seule entité jusqu’au 12 décembre 2003 et, par la suite, le rapport porte sur Affaires étrangères Canada. Le rapport ne comporte pas de données sur Commerce international Canada, qui a préparé son propre rapport annuel au Parlement.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères reçoit l’appui du ministre de la Coopération internationale (Agence canadienne de développement international), du ministre responsable de la Francophonie, d’un Secrétaire parlementaire et d’un autre Secrétaire parlementaire chargé tout spécialement des relations canado-américaines. En outre, les responsabilités du Ministre vont au-delà du ministère. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères a également la responsabilité d’organismes externes, nommément le Centre de recherche pour le développement international, qui aide les collectivités des pays en développement à relever des enjeux sociaux, économiques et environnementaux; la Commission mixte internationale, organisme canado-américain qui gère et protège les réseaux de lacs et rivières de la frontière entre les deux pays; Droits et Démocratie (c’est-à-dire le Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique), organisme indépendant qui fait la promotion des droits de la personne et des mécanismes et institutions démocratiques.

Le Bureau des passeports, qui relève du Sous-ministre, est un organisme de services spéciaux au sein d’Affaires étrangères Canada.

ADMINISTRATION DU VOLET AIPRP

Le directeur, Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (Bureau de l’AIPRP du Ministère) a reçu la pleine délégation des pouvoirs découlant de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le directeur de l’AIPRP relève du directeur général, Direction générale des services exécutifs, qui, à l’instar du sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères, dispose de la pleine délégation des pouvoirs. Tous les chefs de mission sont désignés pour exécuter des tâches prévues à l’alinéa 8(2)m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

À titre provisoire pendant la période de transition, le Bureau de l’AIPRP continuera de traiter les demandes touchant à la fois AEC et CICan, jusqu’à ce que ce dernier puisse pleinement absorber et exécuter cette fonction soit, d’après les prévisions, dans l’exercice 2004-2005.

En 2003-2004, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a continué à fournir des séances de formation aux employés. Ainsi, 265 employés ont pu se familiariser avec ces lois et mieux comprendre leurs obligations et le mécanisme afférent au sein d’AEC. Les équipes des directions ont également, sur demande, bénéficié de séances personnalisées.

PARTIE II - LOI SUR L’ACCÈS À L’INFORMATION

APERÇU

Nous décrivons ici l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans l’ancien ministère jusqu’au 12 décembre 2003 et dans le nouveau ministère, Affaires étrangères Canada, à partir de cette date jusqu’au 31 mars 2004.

La période de rapport a été marquée, dans les deux ministères, par des défis particuliers en ce qui a trait à l’administration du volet AIPRP.

Même si le nombre de demandes reçues au cours des trois dernières années est demeuré relativement stable, la complexité de celles-ci a augmenté, tout comme le nombre de pages de documents traités. En outre, le volume annuel de consultations des autres ministères a crû à un point où ces consultations correspondent désormais au nombre de demandes d’accès traitées. AEC demeure tenu de respecter les obligations prévues à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et a constaté une augmentation des demandes. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP doit conseiller les représentants et la haute direction du Ministère sur un nombre croissant de questions de politique.

Depuis que le Commissariat à l’information a amorcé un examen annuel du rendement d’AEC, en 1998, le Ministère a pris des mesures pour augmenter sa capacité et mieux respecter ces lois. Il a donc fallu obtenir des ressources supplémentaires, simplifier les mécanismes, faire de la formation et mener de nouvelles campagnes de sensibilisation du personnel aux obligations découlant de l’AIPRP. Même si le rendement du Ministère s’est progressivement amélioré de sorte qu’il a pu atteindre en 2002 un niveau de conformité appréciable (cote B), on note en 2003 un recul à la cote D, ce qui est inférieur à la norme.

De façon à évaluer précisément les éléments qui auront des incidences directes sur une amélioration des délais de traitement, on a décidé d’un examen indépendant du service AIPRP, du service Protection des renseignements personnels et du service d’affaires historiques/d’examen des dossiers. Cette étude permettra de dégager les éléments des ressources humaines et financières, de même que les besoins de locaux et de technologie nécessaires pour appuyer cette fonction. Cet examen servira de base pour dégager les éléments fonctionnels clés, de même que les mesures à prendre sur un horizon donné pour amener ces fonctions en harmonie avec les objectifs de la direction, de la direction générale, du Ministère et du gouvernement.

CHARGE DE TRAVAIL

En 2003-2004, le ministère a reçu 490 demandes touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Vous trouverez une illustration graphique du volume de demandes reçues chaque année par le Ministère depuis 1998-1999 au graphique 1 qui suit :

Graphique 1 : Demandes reçues par AEC touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information Demandes reçues par AEC

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

386

561

437

496

529

490

Le Ministère doit également traiter de nombreuses demandes de consultations des autres ministères et d’autres gouvernements. Nous donnons l’illustration graphique du volume de demandes de consultations reçues par le Ministère au graphique 2 qui suit :

Graphique 2 : Consultations reçues par AEC touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

263

332

421

526

540

562

DONNÉES STATISTIQUES

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, le Ministère a reçu 490 nouvelles demandes d’accès en 2003-2004. Si l’on ajoute cela aux 213 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie qu’AEC devait traiter 713 demandes en 2003-2004.

Malgré ce volume élevé, le Ministère a pu mener à terme le traitement de 575 demandes, de sorte que 128 demandes seulement seront reportées sur le prochain exercice, soit une amélioration considérable.

Des 490 demandes reçues en 2003-2004, le type le plus courant de demandeurs était le public (213), suivi par les journalistes (142), divers types d’organismes (107), des entreprises (20) et des universités (8).

Des 575 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation dans le cas de 51, divulgation partielle pour 159 et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 13 demandes. En sus, 145 demandes ont été acheminées à un autre ministère et le Ministère a été dans l’impossibilité de traiter une demande. Des 206 demandes pour lesquelles les demandeurs ont renoncé à leur requête, une bonne partie du travail de traitement avait déjà été amorcé dans 145 de ces cas . Pour ce qui est des 61 cas restants, ils remontaient à 2002 et les demandeurs ont dit se désintéresser de ces questions.

Les trois raisons principales d’un refus d’accès à l’information touchaient soit le fonctionnement du gouvernement (article 21), soit les renseignements personnels (article 19), soit les affaires internationales (article 15).

Des 575 demandes menées à terme en 2003-2004, 274 ont été réglées en 30 jours ou moins, 60 demandes entre 31 et 60 jours, 96 entre 61 et 120 jours, 140 demandes ayant nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Le Ministère a dû prolonger le délai dans 343 cas pour mener de vastes recherches, effectuer des consultations externes et(ou) servir des avis à des tiers.

AUTRES DEMANDES ET DIVULGATIONS OFFICIEUSES
Programme d’examen des dossiers

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a la charge d’examiner les dossiers du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales. Il s’agit d’un programme obligatoire grâce auquel le Ministère peut chaque année rendre publics certains dossiers, mettant ainsi à la disposition des chercheurs davantage d’information sur le rôle du Canada dans les affaires internationales. En 2003-2004, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a examiné environ 228 000 pages de dossiers historiques du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales.

Affaires historiques - Programme d’accès non officiel

Ce programme donne aux universitaires et aux chercheurs sérieux la possibilité de consulter à des fins professionnelles des dossiers détenus par le Ministère. Avec le concours des diverses directions, la consultation des dossiers détenus par le Ministère s’effectue à l’extérieur du cadre officiel sans pour autant compromettre le caractère confidentiel des renseignements délicats. Au total, le Ministère a traité 17 demandes portant sur plus de 4 300 pages de renseignements.

Demandes internes de conseils

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a également agi en tant que ressource pour les représentants d’AEC et a offert conseils et orientations sur les dispositions de la Loi. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a été consulté concernant 64 questions ministérielles touchant une vaste gamme de domaines comme les sondages, les questionnaires, les protocoles d’entente, les accords de partage de l’information, la gestion des dossiers, les bases de données, les marchés, les avertissements concernant la protection des renseignements personnels et des questions de ressources humaines.

RESSOURCES

Pour cette année de transition, il n’a pas été possible de distinguer les ressources affectées à l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information de celles utilisées pour l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Au total, toutefois, le Ministère a dépensé un peu moins de 800 000 $ pour l’administration des deux Lois et l’effectif utilisé à cette fin correspondait à 11 équivalents temps plein (ETP).

RÉSUMÉ

Compte tenu des complexités et de la nature délicate des sujets, le traitement des demandes touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information dans le domaine des affaires étrangères et du commerce international peut souvent être difficile. Néanmoins, le Ministère continuera de s’efforcer de s’acquitter de ses diverses responsabilités en vertu de la Loi.

PARTIE III - LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

CHARGE DE TRAVAIL

En 2003-2004, le Ministère a reçu 148 demandes touchant la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous donnons l’illustration graphique du volume annuel de demandes reçues par le Ministère depuis 1998-1999 au graphique 3 qui suit :

Graphique 3 : Demandes reçues par AEC - Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 - 2003

2003 – 2004

61

76

118

109

120

148

DONNÉES STATISTIQUES

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, le Ministère a reçu 148 nouvelles demandes sur la protection des renseignements personnels en 2003-2004. Si on les ajoute aux 13 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie qu’AEC devait traiter 161 demandes en 2003-2004.

Le Ministère a mené à terme le traitement de 140 demandes au cours de la période visée au rapport, de sorte qu’il en reste 21 à reporter en 2004-2005. Des 140 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation concernant 63, divulgation partielle

pour 45 et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 4 demandes. En sus, le Ministère n’a pu, pour diverses raisons, traiter 18 demandes. Ajoutons que 10 demandes ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs.

Les trois grandes raisons du refus de l’accès à l’information touchaient soit des renseignements sur une autre personne (article 26), soit l’application de la loi et les enquêtes (article 22), soit les relations internationales et la défense (article 21).

Des 140 demandes réglées en 2003-2004, 95 l’ont été en 30 jours ou moins, 35 entre 31 et 60 jours, 5 entre 61 et 120 jours, tandis que 5 demandes ont nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Des prolongations de délai ont été demandées dans le cas de 30 demandes, 21 en raison d’interférence avec le fonctionnement et 9 pour des consultations externes. Toutes ces prolongations portaient sur une période de 30 jours ou moins.

DIVULGATIONS AUX TERMES DU PARAGRAPHE 8(2) DE LA LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a traité 246 demandes de divulgation de renseignements personnels en application de l’alinéa 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, soit une augmentation importante (41 p. 100) par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

ÉVALUATION DES RÉPERCUSSIONS SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

La politique du Conseil du Trésor sur l’évaluation des répercussions sur la protection des renseignements personnels est entrée en vigueur le 1er mai 2002 et plusieurs secteurs de programmes ont amorcé les travaux préparatoires aux évaluations. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a pris part à la préparation des évaluations suivantes : le projet de reconnaissance raciale, le projet de vérification des certificats de naissance avec la British Columbia Vital Statistics Agency et l’accord de partage avec cette agence. Il s’agit de projets relevant du Bureau des passeports et qui sont encore en cours.

RESSOURCES

Pour cette année de transition, il n’a pas été possible de distinguer les ressources affectées à l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels de celles affectées à l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Au total, toutefois, le Ministère a dépensé un peu moins de 800 000 $ pour l’administration de ces deux Lois et l’effectif s’établissait à 11 équivalents temps plein.

PARTIE IV – ANNEXES

Annexe A - Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Annexe B - Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-06-26