Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Foreign Affairs)

Annual Reports on the Administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

2004-2005

Copies of this document may be obtained from:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

This publication can be made available on computer diskette, compact disk or in large print, upon request.

Enquiries about this document may be directed to:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tel: (613) 992-1425
FAX: (613) 995-0116

**For the purpose of this report, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (Foreign Affairs) will be referred to as Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC).

PART I – INTRODUCTION

THE ROLE AND MANDATE OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS CANADA

Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) has the primary responsibility for the promotion and protection of Canada’s interests abroad and the conduct of Canada’s relations with other countries. It promotes peace, prosperity and Canadian values around the world. The mandate of the department is as follows:

  • conducting all diplomatic and consular relations on behalf of Canada;
  • conducting all official communication between the Government of Canada and the government of any other country and between the Government of Canada and any international organization;
  • conducting and managing international negotiations as they relate to Canada;
  • coordinating the direction given by the Government of Canada to the heads of

Canada's diplomatic and consular missions and to manage these missions;

  • administering the foreign service of Canada; and
  • fostering the development of international law and its application in Canada's external relations.

It also offers travel assistance and passport services to Canadians, at home and abroad.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs is supported by the Minister of International Cooperation (Canadian International Development Agency), the Minister responsible for La Francophonie and by a Parliamentary Secretary and another Parliamentary Secretary with special emphasis on Canada-U.S. relations.

Moreover, the responsibilities of the Minister extends beyond the Department. The Minister of Foreign Affairs is also responsible for external organizations namely, the International Development Research Centre, the International Joint Commission and Rights & Democracy (the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development).

THE ORGANIZATION OF THE DEPARTMENT

A significant change in government machinery was made in December 2003, separating the former Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) into two organizations: Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) and International Trade Canada (ITCan).

This report covers the fiscal year 2004-2005 for Foreign Affairs Canada. This report does not include information about International Trade Canada, which has issued its own annual report to Parliament.

FAC consists of a headquarter administration and represents Canada around the world through a network of embassies, trade and diplomatic offices in over 180 countries, by participating in multilateral institutions and international treaties and arrangements. It works to promote prosperity, ensure Canadians' security within a global framework and promote Canadian values and culture on the international stage.

The Passport Office is a special operating agency within the department, reporting to the Deputy Minister.

ADMINISTRATION OF THE ACCESS AND PRIVACY FUNCTION

The Director of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division (the ATIP Office of the Department) has been delegated full authority to exercise the powers of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

The ATIP Director reports to the Director General of the Executive Services Bureau who, along with the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, are also designated with full powers. All Heads of Mission are designated to act under Section 8(2)(m) of the Privacy Act.

As an interim measure during this transitional period, the ATIP Office will continue to process ATIP requests for both FAC and ITCan until such time as ITCan can fully accommodate and integrate this function within its operations.

During 2004-2005, the ATIP Office continued to provide training sessions for employees. These sessions provided 150 employees with an overview of the Acts and a better understanding of their obligations and the process within FAC and ITCan. Customized sessions were also provided to divisional teams upon request.

PART II - ACCESS TO INFORMATION ACT

OVERVIEW

This report describes the administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act in Foreign Affairs Canada from April 1, 2004 to March 31, 2005.

DFAIT’s performance (FAC and ITCan combined) under the Access to Information Act continues to be scrutinized by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) and has been since 1998. The overall departmental performance has been of sub-standard compliance over this period. Although over the years, steps were taken to strengthen departmental capacity and compliance with these statutes, these have not proven to achieve improved consistent results.

OIC Report Card Results for DFAIT

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

F

F

F

D

B

D

F

 

In 2004-2005, the department undertook to conduct a independent review of the Access and the Privacy functions to address the persistent delays and to develop permanent solutions. It committed to developing a departmental action plan to address the systemic issues and to improve the department's performance of these functions.

The results of this review and the action plan will be reported in the 2005-2006 Annual Report.

WORKLOAD

In 2004-2005, there were 349 Access to Information Act requests submitted to the Department. For a graphical account of the volume of requests received each year by the Department since 1999, refer to Chart # 1 which follows:

Chart # 1: Access to Information Act Requests Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 -2000

2000 - 2001

2001 – 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 – 2004

2004 – 2005

386

437

496

259

490

439

561

DFAIT

FAC

 

The Department is also responsible for processing numerous consultation requests from other departments and other governments. For a graphical account of the volume of consultation requests received by the Department, refer to Chart # 2 which follows:

Chart # 2: Access to Information Act Consultations Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 -2000

2000 - 2001

2001 – 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 – 2004

2004 – 2005

263

332

421

526

540

562

468

DFAIT

FAC

STATISTICS
As indicated above, the Department received 349 new access requests in 2004-2005. When added to the 128 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that FAC was responsible for the processing of 477 requests during 2004-2005.

The Department was able to complete the processing of 332 requests, leaving 145 requests to be carried over to next fiscal year.

Of the 349 requests received in 2004-2005, the most frequent type of requester was from the public (175) followed by the media (102), various types of organizations (40), business (26) and academia (6).

Of the 332 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 57 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 118 requests, and all records were denied for 10 requests. Besides this, 11 requests were transferred to another department, the department was unable to process 58 requests, 66 requests abandoned by the applicants and 12 requests were treated informally.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either the operations of government (Section 21), personal information (Section 19) or international affairs (Section 15).

Of the 332 requests completed in 2004-2005, 123 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 36 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 64 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 109 requests took more than 120 days to complete. The Department found it necessary to extend the time frame on 178 occasions to conduct large searches, to conduct external consultations and/or to complete third party notifications.

OTHER REQUESTS AND INFORMAL DISCLOSURES
Screening Program

The ATIP Office is responsible for screening Departmental records prior to transfer to the National Archives. This obligatory program allows the department to release records each year that facilitate research access to greater volumes of information concerning Canada’s conduct of international relations. In 2004-2005, the ATIP Office screened some 219,663 pages of historical departmental records prior to their transfer to the National Archives.

Historical Section - Informal Access Program

This program provides an avenue for academics and serious researchers who seek access to records held by the Department in order to carry out their work. With the assistance of departmental divisions, access to records held by the Department is expedited outside the formal framework of the Access to Information Act while ensuring that sensitive information remains protected. A total of 12 requests were processed which involved over 4,300 pages of information.

Internal Requests for Advice

The ATIP Office also acted as a resource for FAC officials and offered advice and guidance on the provisions of the legislation. The ATIP Office was consulted on 123 departmental issues relating to a range of matters from surveys, questionnaires, memorandum of understanding, information sharing arrangements, data bases, contracts, privacy and human resources issues.

RESOURCES

Department spending directly attributable to the administration of the Access to Information Act totalled $703,120, of which $472,600 was for salaries and $230,520 was for related administrative costs. Person year utilization totalled 8.84.

PART III - PRIVACY ACT

WORKLOAD

In 2004-2005, there were 196 Privacy Act requests submitted to the Department, an increase of 32% over the previous reporting period . For a graphical account of the volume of requests received each year by the Department since 1999, refer to Chart # 3 which follows:

Chart # 3: Privacy Act Requests Received by FAC

1998 - 1999

1999 -2000

2000 - 2001

2001 – 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 – 2004

2004 – 2005

61

76

118

109

120

148

196

DFAIT

FAC

STATISTICS

As indicated above, the Department received 196 new Privacy requests in 2004-2005. When added to the 21 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that FAC was responsible for the processing of 217 requests during 2004-2005.

The Department completed the processing of 162 requests during this reporting period, leaving 55 requests to be carried over to 2005-2006.

Of the 162 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 54 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 53 requests, and all records were denied for 2 requests. Besides this, the department was unable to process 27 requests for various reasons, 25 requests were abandoned by applicants and one request was transferred to another institution.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either information about another individual (Section 26), law enforcement and investigation (Section 22) and international relations and defence (Section 21).

Of the 162 requests completed in 2004-2005, 92 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 36 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 18 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 15 requests took more than 120 days to complete. Time extensions were invoked for 51 requests - 44 due to interference with operations and 7 for external consultations. All these extensions were for 30 or less.

DISCLOSURES UNDER S. 8(2) OF THE PRIVACY ACT

The ATIP Office processed 386 requests for disclosure of personal information under Section 8(2) of the Privacy Act. This is a significant increase (57%) over the last fiscal year.

PRIVACY IMPACT ASSESSMENTS

Under the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Policy, which came into effect on May 2, 2002, Treasury Board Secretariat is to monitor compliance with the PIA Policy through a variety of means. Given the foregoing Policy requirements, institutions are asked to report the following information for the 2004-2005 time period.

FAC report for the 2004-2005 time period:

  • number of PIAs initiated 7
  • number of Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIA) initiated 3
  • number of PPIAs/PIAs forwarded to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC) none
  • the number of PIA summaries posted on institutional web sites none

The ATIP Office has been participating in the development of the following assessments: Youth Exchange Program, Passport Renewal (Slipstream) Project, Performance Management On-Line, Youth Professional Program, Electronic Inter-jurisdictional Set-off Program, Self-Assessment Tool for Employees, Mission Passport Print Solution, Outreach Database, Ministerial Publications Application and Alumni Database.

RESOURCES

Department spending directly attributable to the administration of the Privacy Act totalled $206,800 of which $139,000 was for salaries and $67,800 was for related administrative costs. Person year utilization totalled 2.6.

PART IV – ANNEXES

Annex A - Statistical Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act

Annex B - Statistical Report on the Administration of the Privacy Act

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-06-26

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Affaires étrangères)

Rapports annuels sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

2004-2005

On peut obtenir des exemplaires de ce document en s’adressant à :

Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements Personnels
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, Promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Vous pouvez, sur demande, obtenir cette publication sur disquette, cédérom ou imprimée en gros caractères.

Adresser les demandes de renseignements sur le présent document comme suit :

Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Tél : (613) 992-1425
Téléc. : (613) 995-0116

**Pour les besoins de cette publication, toute référence au Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Affaires étrangères) sera représentée par Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC).

PARTIE I – INTRODUCTION

RÔLE ET MANDAT D’AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES CANADA

Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) a d’abord la responsabilité de promouvoir et de protéger les intérêts du Canada à l’étranger et de diriger les relations du Canada avec les autres pays. Le Ministère travaille en faveur de la paix, de la prospérité et des valeurs canadiennes de par le monde. Voici son mandat :

  • diriger toutes les relations diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada;
  • assurer les communications officielles entre le gouvernement du Canada, d’une part, et les gouvernements étrangers ou les organisations internationales, d’autre part;
  • mener et gérer les négociations internationales auxquelles le Canada participe;
  • coordonner les orientations données par le gouvernement du Canada aux chefs de missions diplomatiques et consulaires du Canada et gérer ces missions;
  • assurer la gestion du Service extérieur du Canada;
  • encourager le développement du droit international et son application dans les relations extérieures du Canada.

Le Ministère offre aussi une aide au voyageur et des services de passeports aux Canadiens, ici et à l’étranger.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères reçoit l’appui du ministre de la Coopération internationale (Agence canadienne de développement international), du ministre responsable de la Francophonie, d’un Secrétaire parlementaire et d’un autre Secrétaire parlementaire chargé tout spécialement des relations canado-américaines.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères a également la responsabilité d’organismes externes, nommément le Centre de recherche pour le développement international, la Commission mixte internationale et Droits et Démocratie (c’est-à-dire le Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique).

ORGANISATION DU MINISTÈRE

Est survenu en décembre 2003 un changement important dans la structure de l’appareil gouvernemental, entraînant la subdivision de l’ancien ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) en deux organismes, à savoir Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) et Commerce international Canada (CICan).

Le présent rapport porte sur l’exercice 2004-2005 et sur Affaires étrangères Canada. Le rapport ne comporte pas de données sur Commerce international Canada, qui a préparé son propre rapport annuel au Parlement.

Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) a une administration centrale et représente le Canada dans le monde grâce à son réseau d'ambassades, de bureaux commerciaux et diplomatiques dans plus de 180 pays, à sa participation à des institutions multilatérales et en étant partie prenante à des ententes et à des traités internationaux. Il travaille à favoriser la prospérité, à garantir la sécurité des Canadiens dans un contexte mondial et à promouvoir les valeurs et la culture canadiennes sur la scène internationale.

Le Bureau des passeports, qui relève du Sous-ministre, est un organisme de services spéciaux au sein d’Affaires étrangères Canada.

ADMINISTRATION DU VOLET AIPRP

Le directeur, Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (Bureau de l’AIPRP du Ministère) a reçu la pleine délégation des pouvoirs découlant de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le directeur de l’AIPRP relève du directeur général, Direction générale des services exécutifs, qui, à l’instar du sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères, dispose de la pleine délégation des pouvoirs. Tous les chefs de mission sont désignés pour exécuter des tâches prévues à l’alinéa 8(2)m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

À titre provisoire pendant la période de transition, le Bureau de l’AIPRP continuera de traiter les demandes touchant à la fois AEC et CICan, jusqu’à ce que ce dernier puisse pleinement absorber et exécuter cette fonction.

En 2004-2005, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a continué à fournir des séances de formation aux employés. Ainsi, 150 employés ont pu se familiariser avec ces lois et mieux comprendre leurs obligations et le mécanisme afférent au sein d’AEC et de CICan. Les équipes des directions ont également, sur demande, bénéficié de séances personnalisées.

PARTIE II - LOI SUR L’ACCÈS À L’INFORMATION

APERÇU

Nous décrivons ici l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le ministère, Affaires étrangères Canada, à partir du 1 avril 2004 jusqu’au 31 mars 2005.

Le rendement du ministère (données combinées AEC et CICan) en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information continue d’être examiné par le Commissariat à l’information et ce, depuis 1998. Le classement général du ministère a été inférieur à la norme au courant de cette période. Quoique certaines mesures ont été prises pour augmenter sa capacité et mieux respecter la loi, son rendement demeure problématique et inacceptable.

Résultats des fiches de rendement pour le ministère (MAECI)

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

F

F

F

D

B

D

F

 

Pendant la période 2004-2005, le ministère a entrepris la conduite d’un examen approfondi de la fonction d’accès et de vie privée afin de cibler les délais et de développer des solutions durables. Il s’est également engagé à élaborer un plan d’action pour rectifier la situation et d’améliorer le rendement du ministère.

Les résultats de cette revue et le plan d’action feront l’object du rapport annuel de l’an prochain.

CHARGE DE TRAVAIL

En 2004-2005, le ministère a reçu 349 demandes touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Vous trouverez une illustration graphique du volume de demandes reçues chaque année par le Ministère depuis 1999 au graphique 1 qui suit :

Graphique 1 : Demandes reçues par AEC touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l ’information

1998 - 1999

1999 - 2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 - 2004

2004 – 2005

386

437

496

259

490

439

561

MAECI

AEC

 

Le Ministère doit également traiter de nombreuses demandes de consultations des autres ministères et d’autres gouvernements. Nous donnons l’illustration graphique du volume de demandes de consultations reçues par le Ministère au graphique 2 qui suit :

Graphique 2 : Consultations reçues par AEC touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

1998 - 1999

1999 -2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 - 2004

2004 – 2005

263

332

421

526

540

562

468

MAECI

AEC

 

DONNÉES STATISTIQUES

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, le Ministère a reçu 349 nouvelles demandes d’accès en 2004-2005. Si l’on ajoute cela aux 128 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie qu’AEC devait traiter 477 demandes en 2004-2005.

Le Ministère a pu mener à terme le traitement de 332 demandes, de sorte que 145 demandes seront reportées sur le prochain exercice.

Des 349 demandes reçues en 2004-2005, le type le plus courant de demandeurs était le public (175), suivi par les journalistes (102), divers types d’organismes (40), des entreprises (26) et des universités (6).

Des 332 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation dans le cas de 57, divulgation partielle pour 118 et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 10 demandes. En sus, 111 demandes ont été acheminées à un autre ministère et le Ministère a été dans l’impossibilité de traiter 58 demandes. Des 66 demandes, les demandeurs ont renoncé à leur requête et 12 demandes ont été traitées informellement.

Les trois raisons principales d’un refus d’accès à l’information touchaient soit le fonctionnement du gouvernement (article 21), soit les renseignements personnels (article 19), soit les affaires internationales (article 15).

Des 332 demandes menées à terme en 2004-2005, 123 ont été réglées en 30 jours ou moins, 36 demandes entre 31 et 60 jours, 64 entre 61 et 120 jours, 109 demandes ayant nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Le Ministère a dû prolonger le délai dans 178 cas pour mener de vastes recherches, effectuer des consultations externes et(ou) servir des avis à des tiers

AUTRES DEMANDES ET DIVULGATIONS OFFICIEUSES
Programme d’examen des dossiers

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a la charge d’examiner les dossiers du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales. Il s’agit d’un programme obligatoire grâce auquel le Ministère peut chaque année rendre publics certains dossiers, mettant ainsi à la disposition des chercheurs davantage d’information sur le rôle du Canada dans les affaires internationales. En 2004-2005, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a examiné environ 219,663 pages de dossiers historiques du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales.

Affaires historiques - Programme d’accès non officiel

Ce programme donne aux universitaires et aux chercheurs sérieux la possibilité de consulter à des fins professionnelles des dossiers détenus par le Ministère. Avec le concours des diverses directions, la consultation des dossiers détenus par le Ministère s’effectue à l’extérieur du cadre officiel sans pour autant compromettre le caractère confidentiel des renseignements délicats. Au total, le Ministère a traité 12 demandes portant sur plus de 4 300 pages de renseignements.

Demandes internes de conseils

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a également agi en tant que ressource pour les représentants d’AEC et a offert conseils et orientations sur les dispositions de la Loi. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a été consulté concernant 123 questions ministérielles touchant une vaste gamme de domaines comme les sondages, les questionnaires, les protocoles d’entente, les accords de partage de l’information, les bases de données, les marchés, la protection des renseignements personnels et des questions de ressources humaines.

RESSOURCES

Les dépenses ministérielles directement attribuées à l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information représentent la somme de $703,120, soit $472,600 en salaire et $230,520 pour les coûts administratifs. Les équivalents à temps plein (ETP) utilisés représentent 8.84.

PARTIE III - LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

CHARGE DE TRAVAIL

En 2004-2005, le Ministère a reçu 196 demandes touchant la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous donnons l’illustration graphique du volume annuel de demandes reçues par le Ministère depuis 1999 au graphique 3 qui suit :

Graphique 3 : Demandes reçues par AEC - Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

1998 - 1999

1999 -2000

2000 - 2001

2001 - 2002

2002 – 2003

2003 - 2004

2004 – 2005

61

76

118

109

120

148

196

MAECI

AEC

 

DONNÉES STATISTIQUES

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, le Ministère a reçu 196 nouvelles demandes sur la protection des renseignements personnels en 2004-2005. Si on les ajoute aux 21 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie qu’AEC devait traiter 217 demandes en 2004-2005.

Le Ministère a mené à terme le traitement de 162 demandes au cours de la période visée au rapport, de sorte qu’il en reste 55 à reporter en 2005-2006.

Des 162 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation concernant 54, divulgation partielle pour 53 et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 2 demandes. En sus, le Ministère n’a pu, pour diverses raisons, traiter 27 demandes. Ajoutons que 25 demandes ont été soit abandonnées par les demandeurs ou acheminées vers d’autres institutions.

Les trois grandes raisons du refus de l’accès à l’information touchaient soit des renseignements sur une autre personne (article 26), soit l’application de la loi et les enquêtes (article 22), soit les relations internationales et la défense (article 21).

Des 162 demandes réglées en 2004-2005, 92 l’ont été en 30 jours ou moins, 36 entre 31 et 60 jours, 18 entre 61 et 120 jours, tandis que 15 demandes ont nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Des prolongations de délai ont été demandées dans le cas de 51 demandes, 44 en raison d’interférence avec le fonctionnement et 7 pour des consultations externes. Toutes ces prolongations portaient sur une période de 30 jours ou moins.

DIVULGATIONS AUX TERMES DU PARAGRAPHE 8(2) DE LA LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a traité 386 demandes de divulgation de renseignements personnels en application de l’alinéa 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, soit une augmentation importante (57 p. 100) par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

ÉVALUATION DES RÉPERCUSSIONS SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Conformément à la politique sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) en vigueur depuis le 2 mai 2002, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor vérifie de différentes façons la conformité avec la politique sur l'EFVP. Étant donné les exigences précédentes de la politique, les institutions sont tenues de déclarer les renseignements ci-après pour la période 2004-2005 :

  • Nombre d'EFVP effectuées: 7
  • Nombre d'EFVP préliminaires effectuées: 3
  • Nombre d'EFVP préliminaires et d'EFVP transmises au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée : aucun
  • Nombre de sommaires d'EFVP publiés sur des sites Web institutionnels: aucun

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a pris part à la préparation des évaluations suivantes : Programme échanges de jeunes, Renouvellement de passeports (Slipstream), Gestion du rendement en-ligne, Programme de jeunes professionnels, Programme de recouvrement intergouvernemental, Programme d’auto-évaluation des employés, Services d’émission de passeports d’urgence, Base de données des activités de rayonnement et Base de données de diplômés d’universités.

RESSOURCES

Les dépenses ministérielles directement attribuées à l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels représentent la somme de $206,800, soit $139,000 en salaire et $67,800 pour les coûts administratifs. Les équivalents à temps plein (ETP) utilisés représentent 2.6.

PARTIE IV – ANNEXES

Annexe A - Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Annexe B - Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-06-26