Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Annual Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act; 2005–2006

Copies of this document may be obtained from:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

This publication can be made available on computer diskette, compact disk or in large print, upon request.

Enquiries about this document may be directed to:

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tel: 613–992–1425
FAX: 613–995–0116

Context

Overview

This report describes the administration of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) from April 1, 2005 to March 31, 2006.

Organization of the Department

In February 2006, with the election of a new government, the two components of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade were reintegrated. At present, the department is updating its management structure and program activities. This work will be reflected in future departmental publications.

Administration of the Access and Privacy Function

The Director of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division (the ATIP Office of the Department) has been delegated full authority to exercise the powers of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

The ATIP Director reports to the Director General of the Executive Services Bureau who, along with the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Deputy Minister of International Trade, are also designated with full powers. All Heads of Mission are designated to act under Section 8(2)(m) of the Privacy Act.

Challenges

DFAIT’s performance under the Access to Information Act continues to be scrutinized by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) and has been since 1998. The overall departmental performance has been of sub–standard compliance over this period. Although over the years, steps were taken to strengthen departmental capacity and compliance with these statutes, these have not proven to achieve improved consistent results.

OIC Report Card Results for DFAIT
19981999200020012002200320042005
FFFDBDFF

In 2004–2005, the department undertook the conduct of an independent review of the Access and the Privacy functions to address the persistent delays and to develop permanent solutions. It committed to developing a departmental action plan to address the systemic issues and to improve the department's performance of these functions.

Progress

The department is currently implementing a major strategy to improve it's performance. To assist in developing an action plan for building a sustained function, the department completed a third party review of the entire ATIP function, which was initiated by the Inspector General in late spring 2004 and completed on May 3, 2005.

The review concluded that the importance of the ATIP function makes it one of the intrinsic priorities of DFAIT. The delivery of the ATI and Privacy functions is mandatory and compliance with regulations and policies is of high importance for Canadians, Parliamentarians and the Departments. Given that the Department cannot control the inputs nor reduce the quality of the outputs or the deadlines, the only way to deliver these functions well is to embed their requirements into the organization's culture and to ensure that those entrusted with the delivery have the tools and resources to operate efficiently.

The review also underlined the recurring non–compliance under both access and privacy obligations, the need for training across the department to support the ATIP function, the workload of case files by ATIP employees compared with other departments, the technology requirements and that improvements can only come with additional FTEs. The department took the results of the review and designed a comprehensive action plan that was formally adopted by the department's Management Committee on June 14, 2005.

The department has been fully engaged in implementing the Business Plan in 2005–2006. A Human Resources Plan was developed in preparations for hiring. In addition to the 15 existing positions, an additional 15 FTEs will be staffed as indeterminate employees. The organizational design allows for junior development positions in order to gain and retain in–house expertise and provide for succession planning. These measures will greatly assist to address the shortage of experience staff and building capacity within the department. In the meantime, the ATIP office relies on the assistance of ATIP consultants as part of a short term solution.

The department has fully endorsed the use of imaging software to assist in the processing of documents. It purchased ATIPImage and deployed all the necessary technical resources/support for its implementation in September 2005, including the recruitment of a systems specialist.

The ATIP process has been carefully mapped and is being re–designed to increase its effectiveness with the assistance of an independent expert consultant.

Discussions have also been initiated for the development of a comprehensive training plan for the department and for ATIP Analysts. During 2005–2006, the ATIP Office continued to provide training sessions for employees. These sessions provided 100 employees with an overview of the Acts and a better understanding of their obligations and the process within DFAIT. Customized sessions were also provided to divisional teams upon request.

In 2005, the department adopted an aggressive strategy to respond to the existing delay situation which produced positive results in the short term by responding to the 153 delay complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner initiated. All of the self–initiated complaints were responded to by the end of the fiscal year.

The Department continues to monitor the ATIP performance closely and to implement the ATIP Business Plan to improve the overall performance of the function.

Top of page

Part I – Access to Information Act

Statistics

The Department received 447 new access requests in 2005–2006. When added to the 163 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that DFAIT was responsible for the processing of 610 requests during 2005–2006.

The Department was able to complete the processing of 479 requests, leaving 131 requests to be carried over to next fiscal year. A total of 64,000 pages were reviewed under the Act.

Of the 447 requests received in 2005–2006, the most frequent type of requester was from the public (222) followed by the media (100), various types of businesses (75), organizations (38), and academia (12).

Of the 479 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 69 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 178 requests, and all records were denied for 16 requests. Besides this, 12 requests were transferred to another department, the department was unable to process 99requests, 93 requests abandoned by the applicants and 12 requests were treated informally.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either the operations of government (Section 21), personal information (Section 19) or international affairs (Section 15).

Of the 479 requests completed in 2005–2006, 145 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 62 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 70 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 202 requests took more than 120 days to complete. The Department found it necessary to extend the time frame on 125 occasions to conduct large searches, external consultations and/or to complete third party notifications.

Other requests and informal disclosures

Consultations from Other Government Department

The Department is also responsible for processing numerous consultation requests from other departments. The Department received 676 such requests and completed 702, some of which were carried forward from the previous fiscal year. A total of 60,000 pages of information were reviewed under the Act.

Screening Program

The ATIP Office is responsible for screening Departmental records prior to transfer to the National Archives. This obligatory program allows the department to release records each year that facilitate research access to greater volumes of information concerning Canada’s conduct of international relations. In 2005–2006, the ATIP Office screened 300,000 pages of historical departmental records prior to their transfer to the National Archives.

Historical Section – Informal Access Program

This program provides an avenue for academics and serious researchers who seek access to records held by the Department in order to carry out their work. With the assistance of departmental divisions, access to records held by the Department is expedited outside the formal framework of the Access to Information Act while ensuring that sensitive information remains protected. A total of 3 requests were processed which involved over 100 pages of information.

Internal Requests for Advice

The ATIP Office also acted as a resource for DFAIT officials and offered advice and guidance on the provisions of the legislation. The ATIP Office was consulted on 145 departmental issues relating to a range of matters from surveys, questionnaires, memorandum of understanding, information sharing arrangements, data bases, contracts, privacy and human resources issues.

Resources

Department spending directly attributable to the administration of the Access to Information Act totalled $1,518,699.00, of which $611,401.00 was for salaries and $907,298.00 was for related administrative costs. Person year utilization totalled 15.

Top of page

Part II – Privacy Act

Statistics

The Department received 205 new Privacy requests in 2005–2006. When added to the 57 requests being carried forward from the previous fiscal year, this means that DFAIT was responsible for the processing of 262 requests during 2005–2006.

The Department completed the processing of 208 requests during this reporting period, leaving 54 requests to be carried over to 2006–2007.

Of the 208 requests that were completed, full disclosure was provided for 71 requests, partial disclosure was provided for 71 requests, and all records were denied for 2 requests. Besides this, the department was unable to process 39 requests for various reasons, 24 requests were abandoned by applicants and one request was transferred to another institution.

The three main reasons where access to information was denied related to either information about another individual (Section 26), law enforcement and investigation (Section 22) and international relations and defence (Section 21).

Of the 208 requests completed in 2005–2006, 105 requests were completed in 30 days or less, 36 requests were completed in between 31 and 60 days, 24 requests were completed in between 61 and 120 day, and 43 requests took more than 120 days to complete. Time extensions were invoked for 42 requests – 35 due to interference with operations and 7 for external consultations. All these extensions were for 30 or less.

Disclosures under s. 8(2) of the Privacy Act

The ATIP Office processed 436 requests for disclosure of personal information under Section 8(2) of the Privacy Act.

Privacy Impact Assessments

Under the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Policy, which came into effect on May 2, 2002, Treasury Board Secretariat is to monitor compliance with the PIA Policy through a variety of means. Given the foregoing Policy requirements, institutions are asked to report the following information for the 2005–2006 time period.

DFAIT report for the 2005–2006 time period:

  • A number of PIAs initiated: 4
  • A number of Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIA) initiated: 1
  • A number of PPIAs/PIAs forwarded to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC ): 2
  • A the number of PIA summaries posted on institutional web sites: none

The ATIP Office has been participating in the development of the following assessments:

  • Memorandum of Understanding between Passport Canada and Correctional Services Canada
  • National Routing Systems for Birth Certificate Verification (Passport Canada)
  • Web Application Promart
  • Passport On–Line
  • DFAIT Human Resource Information System

Resources

Department spending directly attributable to the administration of the Privacy Act totalled $506,232.00 of which $203,800.00 was for salaries and $302,432.00 was for related administrative costs. Person year utilization totalled 5.

Part III – Annexes

Annex A – Statistical Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act

Annex B – Statistical Report on the Administration of the Privacy Act

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-02-13

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
/about-a_propos/right_column/Menu/ATIP_menu-menu_AIPRP.xml

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Rapports annuels sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements Personnels; 2005–2006

On peut obtenir des exemplaires de ce document en s’adressant à :

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Vous pouvez, sur demande, obtenir cette publication sur disquette, cédérom ou imprimée en gros caractères.

Adresser les demandes de renseignements sur le présent document comme suit :

Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tel : 613–992–1425
FAX : 613–995–0116

Le contexte

Aperçu

Nous décrivons ici l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), à partir du 1 avril 2005 jusqu’au 31 mars 2006.

Organisation du ministère

Est survenu en février 2006, un changement important dans la structure de l’appareil gouvernemental, entraînant la fusion des deux omposantes du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en un organisme. Présentement, le Ministère met à jour sa structure organisationnelle et ses activités. Ce travail sera éventuellement reflété dans les publications ministérielles futures.

Administration de la fonction

Le directeur, Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (Bureau de l’AIPRP du Ministère) a reçu la pleine délégation des pouvoirs découlant de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le directeur de l’AIPRP relève du directeur général, Direction générale des services exécutifs, qui, à l’instar du sous–ministre des Affaires étrangères et de la sous–ministre du Commerce international, dispose de la pleine délégation des pouvoirs. Tous les chefs de mission sont désignés pour exécuter des tâches prévues à l’alinéa 8(2)m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les défis

Le rendement du Ministère en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information continue d’être examiné par le Commissariat à l’information et ce, depuis 1998. Le classement général du Ministère a été inférieur à la norme au courant de cette période. Quoique certaines mesures ont été prises pour augmenter sa capacité et mieux respecter la loi, son rendement demeure problématique et inacceptable.

Résultats des fiches de rendement pour le Ministère (MAECI)
19981999200020012002200320042005
FFFDBDFF

Pendant la période 2004–2005, le Ministère a entrepris la conduite d’un examen approfondi de la fonction d’accès et de vie privée afin de cibler les délais et de développer des solutions durables. Il s’est également engagé à élaborer un plan d’action pour rectifier la situation et améliorer le rendement du Ministère

Bilan des efforts

Le Ministère entreprend présentement une stratégie d’envergure pour améliorer sa performance. Afin de développer un plan d’action pour soutenir la fonction, le Ministère a effectué une évaluation indépendante de la fonction de l’AIPRP par l’Inspecteur général, commencée au début de 2004 et terminée le 3 mai 2005.

L’étude conclu que la fonction AIPRP constitue une des priorités intrinsèques du MAECI. Il est obligatoire d’assurer cette fonction, d’autant que le respect de la réglementation et des politiques est d’une grande importance pour les Canadiens, les parlementaires et les ministères. Ces derniers ne pouvant ni contrôler le volume de demandes qui leur sont soumises, ni sacrifier la qualité de leurs réponses, ni décider des délais, le seul moyen de mettre efficacement cette fonction en œuvre est

d’intégrer à la culture de l’organisation l’ensemble des impératifs et des contraintes qu’elle entraîne, et de faire en sorte que les personnes à qui l’on en confie l’exécution aient les moyens de le faire efficacement.

L’examen faisait ressortir la non–conformité du Ministère en vertu des deux lois, la nécessité d’une formation dans tout le Ministère pour appuyer la fonction d’AIPRP et pallier le manque de technologie en place. La charge de travail des employés comparativement à ceux des autres ministères montre clairement que des améliorations n’étaient possibles qu’avec l’ajout d’employés. Le Ministère a pris connaissance des résultats de l’examen avec un vif intérêt et a conçu un plan d’action exhaustif qui a été officiellement adopté par le Comité de gestion du Ministère, le 14 juin 2005.

Le Ministère a été pleinement engagé dans la mise en œuvre de ce plan en 2005–2006. Les préparatifs pour l’embauche de ces employés sont en cours. En plus des 15 postes actuels, 15 autres postes seront comblés de façon indéterminée. La structure organisationnelle incorpore également des postes pour permettre le développement d’agents au sein du Ministère afin de recruter et de retenir l’expertise. Cette mesure cible grandement la pénurie d’expert et vise à assurer la capacité au sein du Ministère. Entre–temps, le Bureau AIPRP continu d’utiliser les services de consultants pour les besoins immédiats.

L’achat du logiciel ATIPImage constituait l’une de ses priorités. Le Ministère a acheté, mis en place les ressources techniques nécessaires et a procédé à son installation en septembre 2005, y compris une personne–ressources dévoué aux opérations du système.

Par ailleurs, un schéma des étapes du processus d’AIPRP a été soigneusement réalisé et fait actuellement l’objet d’une restructuration visant à accroître son efficacité par un expert–conseil.

Le Ministère est à élaborer un programme structuré de sensibilisation à l’AIPRP afin d’enseigner aux employés du Ministère en quoi consistent leurs rôles et responsabilités, programme qui nécessitera que la haute direction procède à l’établissement d’un réseau d’agents bien informés à tous les niveaux. En 2005–2006, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a continué de fournir des séances de formation aux employés. Ainsi, 100 employés ont pu se familiariser avec ces lois et mieux comprendre leurs obligations et le mécanisme afférent au sein du MAECI. Les équipes des directions ont également, sur demande, bénéficié de séances personnalisées.

En 2005, le Ministère a adopté une stratégie afin de répondre aux délais qui a produit des résultats très positifs dans le court terme après avoir répondu à 153 plaintes de délai que le Bureau du Commissaire à l’information avait initié. Toutes ces plaintes ont été résolues avant la fin de l’année fiscale.

Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la performance de l’AIPRP étroitement et veille à la mise en œuvre du plan d’affaire pour améliorer l’ensemble de la fonction.

Haut de la page

Partie I – loi sur l’accès à l’information

Données statistiques

Le Ministère a reçu 447 nouvelles demandes d’accès en 2005–2006. Si l’on ajoute cela aux 163 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie que le MAECI devait traiter 610 demandes en 2005–2006.

Le Ministère a pu mener à terme le traitement de 479 demandes, de sorte que 131 demandes seront reportées sur le prochain exercice. Un total de 64,000 pages d’information ont été traité en vertu de la Loi.

Des 447 demandes reçues en 2005–2006, le type le plus courant de demandeurs était le public (222), suivi par les journalistes (100), des entreprises (75), divers types d’organismes (38) et des universités (12).

Des 479 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation dans 69 cas, divulgation partielle pour 178 demandes et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 16 demandes. En sus, 12 demandes ont été acheminées à un autre ministère et le Ministère a été dans l’impossibilité de traiter 99 demandes, les demandeurs ont renoncé à leur requête dans 93 demandes et 12 demandes ont été traitées informellement.

Les trois raisons principales d’un refus d’accès à l’information touchaient soit le fonctionnement du gouvernement (article 21), soit les renseignements personnels (article 19), soit les affaires internationales (article 15).

Des 479 demandes menées à terme en 2005–2006, 145 ont été réglées en 30 jours ou moins, 62 demandes l’ont été entre 31 et 60 jours, 70 entre 61 et 120 jours, 202 demandes ont nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Le Ministère a dû prolonger le délai dans 125 cas pour mener de vastes recherches, effectuer des consultations externes et(ou) servir des avis à des tiers.

Autres demandes et divulgations officieuses

Consultations des autres ministères

Le Ministère doit également traiter de nombreuses demandes de consultations des autres ministères et d’autres gouvernements. En 2005–2006, il a reçu 676 demandes et complété 702 demandes, certaines reportées de l’année précédente. Un total de 60,000 pages d’information ont été traité en vertu de la Loi.

Programme d’examen des dossiers

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a la responsabilité d’examiner les dossiers du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales. Il s’agit d’un programme obligatoire grâce auquel le Ministère peut chaque année rendre publics certains dossiers, mettant ainsi à la disposition des chercheurs davantage d’information sur le rôle du Canada dans les affaires internationales. En 2005–2006, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a examiné environ 300,000 pages de dossiers historiques du Ministère avant leur transfert aux Archives nationales.

Affaires historiques – Programme d’accès non officiel

Ce programme donne aux universitaires et aux chercheurs sérieux la possibilité de consulter à des fins professionnelles, des dossiers détenus par le Ministère. Avec le concours des diverses directions, la consultation des dossiers détenus par le Ministère s’effectue à l’extérieur du cadre officiel sans pour autant compromettre le caractère confidentiel des renseignements délicats. Au total, le Ministère a traité 3 demandes portant sur plus de 100 pages de renseignements.

Demandes internes de conseils

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a également agi en tant que ressource pour les représentants du MAECI et a offert conseils et orientations sur les dispositions de la Loi. Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a été consulté sur 145 questions ministérielles touchant une vaste gamme de domaines comme les sondages, les questionnaires, les protocoles d’entente, les accords de partage de l’information, les bases de données, les marchés, la protection des renseignements personnels et des questions de ressources humaines.

Ressources

Les dépenses ministérielles directement attribuées à l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information représentent la somme de 1 518 699 $, soit 611 401 $ en salaire et 907 298 $ pour les coûts administratifs. Les équivalents à temps plein (ETP) utilisés représentent 15.

Haut de la page

Partie II – loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Données statistiques

Le Ministère a reçu 205 nouvelles demandes sur la protection des renseignements personnels en 2005–2006. Si on les ajoute aux 57 demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, cela signifie que le MAECI devait traiter 262 demandes en 2005–2006.

Le Ministère a mené à terme le traitement de 208 demandes au cours de la période visée au rapport, de sorte qu’il en reste 54 à reporter en 2006–2007.

Des 208 demandes réglées, il y a eu pleine divulgation dans 71 cas, divulgation partielle pour 71 et refus de tous les dossiers dans le cas de 2 demandes. En sus, le Ministère n’a pu, pour diverses raisons, traiter 39 demandes. Ajoutons que 24 demandes ont été soit abandonnées par les demandeurs et une demande a été acheminé vers une autre institution.

Les trois grandes raisons du refus de l’accès à l’information touchaient soit des renseignements sur une autre personne (article 26), soit l’application de la loi et les enquêtes (article 22), soit les relations internationales et la défense (article 21).

Des 208 demandes réglées en 2005–2006, 105 ont été en 30 jours ou moins, 36 entre 31 et 60 jours, 24 entre 61 et 120 jours, tandis que 43 demandes ont nécessité plus de 120 jours pour être réglées. Des prolongations de délai ont été demandées dans le cas de 42 demandes, 35 en raison d’interférence avec le fonctionnement des opérations et 7 pour des consultations externes. Toutes ces prolongations portaient sur une période de 30 jours ou moins.

Divulgations aux termes du paragraphe 8(2) de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a traité 436 demandes de divulgation de renseignements personnels en application de l’alinéa 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Évaluation des répercussions sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Conformément à la politique sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) en vigueur depuis le 2 mai 2002, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor vérifie de différentes façons la conformité avec la politique sur l'EFVP. Étant donné les exigences précédentes de la politique, les institutions sont tenues de déclarer les renseignements ci–après pour la période 2005–2006 :

  • Nombre d'EFVP effectuées : 4
  • Nombre d'EFVP préliminaires effectuées : 1
  • Nombre d'EFVP préliminaires et d'EFVP transmises au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée : 2
  • Nombre de sommaires d'EFVP publiés sur des sites Web institutionnels : aucun

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP a pris part à la préparation des évaluations suivantes :

  • Protocole d’entente entre Passeports Canada et Services correctionnels Canada
  • Système de vérification des certificats de naissance (Passeports Canada)
  • Demande de subvention en ligne (Arts et Culture) Promart
  • Passeports en ligne
  • Système de ressources humaines MAECI

Ressources

Les dépenses ministérielles directement attribuées à l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels représentent la somme de 506 232 $, soit 203 800 $ en salaire et 302 432 $ pour les coûts administratifs. Les équivalents à temps plein (ETP) utilisés représentent 5.

Partie III – annexes

Annexe A – Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Annexe B – Rapport statistique sur l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-02-13