Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Louis Lévesque

Photo of Louis Lévesque

Deputy Minister of International Trade

 

 

Biography

Louis Lévesque was appointed Deputy Minister of International Trade on December 15, 2008. He served as Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs in the Privy Council Office from 2006 to 2008, and as Associate Deputy Minister with Finance Canada from 2004 to 2006.

On October 1, 2010, the Prime Minister of Canada named Mr. Lévesque Canada’s G-20 Sherpa.

Mr. Lévesque began his career with Quebec’s civil service in 1983 as an economist, first with the Crop Insurance Board and then with the Ministry of Finance. In 1991, Mr. Lévesque joined Finance Canada, where he held such positions as Director General, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch, and Director General, Tax Policy Branch. From March 2001 to October 2002, he was Deputy Secretary of Intergovernmental Operations at the Privy Council Office. In 2002, he returned to Finance Canada, where he served as Assistant Deputy Minister in the Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch until 2004.

Mr. Lévesque was born in the city of Québec. He studied at Laval University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics and a master’s degree in Economics.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-10-17

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Louis Lévesque

Photo de Louis Lévesque

Sous-ministre du Commerce international

 

 

Biographie

Louis Lévesque a été nommé sous-ministre du Commerce international le 15 décembre 2008. Il a occupé le poste de sous-ministre des Affaires intergouvernementales au Bureau du Conseil privé de 2006 à 2008, et le poste de sous-ministre délégué au ministère des Finances du Canada de 2004 à 2006.

Le 1er octobre 2010, le premier ministre du Canada a confié à M. Louis Lévesque, sous-ministre du Commerce international, le rôle de sherpa canadien pour les sommets du G-20.

M. Lévesque a commencé sa carrière au sein de la fonction publique du Québec en 1983 en tant qu'économiste, tout d’abord à la Régie des assurances agricoles du Québec, puis au ministère des Finances. En 1991, il est entré à Finances Canada où il a, entre autres, occupé les postes de directeur général, Direction des politiques économique et fiscale, et de directeur général, Direction de la politique de l'impôt. De mars 2001 à octobre 2002, il a été sous-secrétaire des Opérations intergouvernementales au Bureau du Conseil privé. C'est en 2002 qu'il est retourné à Finances Canada où il a occupé le poste de sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction des relations fédérales-provinciales et de la politique sociale jusqu'en 2004.

Monsieur Lévesque est né à Québec. Il a fait ses études à l'Université Laval, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en mathématique, puis une maîtrise en économie.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-10-17