Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of Contributions in Support of the African Great Lakes Action Plan

(May 2000)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook an audit of the Peacebuilding and Human Security Division (AGP) Peacebuilding Program, in the fall of 1999, as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. During the course of the audit of the Peacebuilding Program, SIV learned that contributions made under the African Great Lakes Action Plan were charged to the Peacebuilding code vote. As a result, SIV undertook this audit of the contributions under the African Great Lakes Action Plan.

On April 23, 1997, the Departmental Executive Committee approved the African Great Lakes Action Plan to respond to the crisis in the African Great Lakes area. The African Great Lakes Contributions Program is currently managed by a rotational officer in the West and Central Africa Division (GAF).

The audit focussed on the propriety of financial transactions. As well, financial audits of two recipients were conducted.

Generally, payments were found to be properly made and unused portions of a particular contribution were returned, where warranted. A review of the financial transactions for the two selected recipients, however, revealed that the recipients are not aware of what constitutes an eligible expense particularly with respect to appropriate determination of per diem fees for services, the salary cost of employees and the ineligibility of profit as set out in the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments. However, the recovery of these amounts claimed by recipients is not recommended as the contribution agreements are silent on this matter. It is recommended that future contribution agreements be more explicit.

The audit team also found that funds allocated for the Program contributions were largely unspent, were returned late in the fiscal year and, therefore, could not be reallocated to another contribution program within DFAIT.

The audit also revealed that, in one instance, a small but inappropriate interest payment was made to a recipient which resulted in an overpayment of the contribution. The contribution agreement was not amended to reflect the increased amount.

Scope and Objectives

In the fall of 1999, the Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook an audit of the Contributions made under the Peacebuilding Class of contributions as they relate to the African Great Lakes Action Plan. The Action Plan was approved on April 23, 1997 by the Departmental Executive Committee to respond to the crisis in the African Great Lakes areas. As the Action Plan objectives were consistent with those in the Peacebuilding submission, its contributions were charged to the Peacebuilding Program code vote. The only links to the Peacebuilding Program are the use of the unused spending ceiling of the Program and the use of the same Treasury Board Terms and Conditions.

Based on our preliminary survey, it was decided that detailed audit work would focus on two areas:

It was also decided to exclude, from further audit work, the selection process for the Great Lakes Contributions Program and the administrative systems and processes of the Program due to the small number of projects which had received contributions, the relatively low expenditures incurred during the life of the Program and the conclusion of the Program scheduled for March 31, 2000. It was believed that little benefit would be provided through additional audit examination.

Overview of Great Lakes Contribution Program

As a result of the November/December 1996 crisis in the African Great Lakes Region, the African Great Lakes Region Action Plan was developed and approved by the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and the Secretary of State (Latin America and Africa) in February 1997. Approval of the Action Plan was granted in recognition of the fact that implementation of the Plan would require incremental funding. The Africa Bureau could not support the total cost of the initiative. Funding for the initiative came from two sources: the annual carry-over and the temporary savings resulting from the closing of the Lagos Mission. When the Great Lakes Action Plan sought its own spending authority from Treasury Board, Treasury Board recommended that it use the unused spending ceiling of the Peacebuilding Program which was resourced at $1 million but had a ceiling of $2.5 million.

The African Great Lakes Region Action Plan is scheduled to sunset on March 31, 2000.

The Great Lakes Contribution Program is currently managed by a rotational officer in the West and Central Africa Division (GAF). The contributions portion of the initiative is charged to the Peacebuilding Program class of contribution.

Great Lakes Contribution Projects

 ProjectsContribution
 PlannedActualPlannedActual
1997/9843$ 525,000$ 289,400
1998/9962$ 860,000$ 300,000
1999/0051 *$ 1,013,600$ 75,000 *

* to September 30, 1999

These contributions are charged to the Peacebuilding class of contributions as the objectives of the Great Lakes contributions are consistent with the objectives of the larger DFAIT/CIDA Peacebuilding Initiative which are:

  • to assist countries in conflict in their efforts towards peace and stability; and
  • to promote Canadian Peacebuilding capacity and Canadian participation in international peacebuilding activities.

Type of contributions

The contributions were generally made to support training, capacity building, conferences and non-DFAIT policy development. Funding was provided to three projects in 1997/98 and two projects in 1998/99. Five projects have been approved for 1999/00 but only one was underway by mid-year. It is not clear if the remaining four projects will proceed.

Project Review, Approval and Monitoring Process:

Project proposals for the Program come into GAF generally from the NGO/academic community, the Minister's office (MINA) and other DFAIT divisions. The Program is not formally known to the public and, therefore, the number of projects proposed is low. While there is no tracking of proposals submitted and rejected, GAF estimates that approximately 28 projects have been discussed over the course of the Program.

Both written and oral proposals are received by GAF. They are reviewed by GAF for relevance with respect to the broad Peacebuilding initiative objectives. Projects that do not address the objectives are rejected at this point.

Projects which are consistent with program objectives are then reviewed by an Interdepartmental Committee (CIDA/DFAIT) to assess the relevance to the joint DFAIT/CIDA objectives and approach to the Region and to determine appropriate mechanisms for funding the project. No specific selection criteria were established at the onset of the Program. The selection criteria are continually refined throughout the selection process.

Due dates for financial and narrative reporting are then established with the recipient of the contribution and the draft contribution agreements are vetted through the Corporate Financial Policy, Training and Reporting Section (SBRP).

Approved contribution agreements are then forwarded to the Director General of the Africa Bureau and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Asia-Pacific and Africa for signature.

Partial payments are used for some projects but, for the most part, the funds are paid in full to the recipients within 30 days of the signing of the contribution agreement. While reports are received in GAF, no verification of the recipients' accounts has taken place.

Observations by Area

Control of Contribution Budget

Due to the volatility of the situation in the African Great Lakes areas at the time of the Contribution Program, many projects which had been approved were either deferred or cancelled. As a result, very few projects ever took place. GAF attempted to reallocate the funds to other projects but was unsuccessful. Consequently, in the first two years, the unused funds were returned in the 4th quarter of the fiscal year. At the 1999/00 mid-year review, only one of the accepted projects had started. As a resuIt, it would appear that the contribution budget will not be fully utilized this fiscal year.

A review of the financial transactions for selected recipients for 1997/1998 and 1998/99 was conducted. Generally, payments were properly made and unused portions of a particular contribution were returned, where warranted. However, the overall budget allocated to contributions was largely unspent, returned late in the fiscal year and, therefore, could not be reallocated to another contribution program.

The audit team found a number of issues relating to the propriety of financial transactions following financial audits of two recipients, including inadmissible or unsupported expenses and an overpayment of a contribution.

Inadmissible or Unsupported Expenditures

The audit team found in one case that expenditures were charged to projects for the use of the recipient's staff. The amounts billed to the project were based on daily billing rates for each staff member, some as high as $1,100 per day. However, staff were all salaried employees.

The Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments, stipulates that, as a minimum, contribution agreements should include a listing of the allowable costs or the types or classes of expenditures eligible for reimbursement. It also notes that profit to the recipient is not a "cost" or an "expense" and, therefore, may not be included. This contribution agreement did not contain any details on admissible expenses.

It is clear that a rate of $1,100 per day includes a significant amount of profit. The recipient did not provide details of how the daily rate was calculated. However, the contribution agreement did not clearly express that only actual salary costs plus a reasonable mark-up for overhead could be charged. Consequently, proceeding with recovery action from the recipient of the inadmissible profit claimed is not recommended.

Contribution Overpayment

One of the contribution agreements audited provided for payments to be made in three installments. The first payment was made on April 17, 1998. The second invoice was received on May 15, 1998 and the final invoice for the third payment was received on May 25, 1998.

Due to problems with the Department's financial system (IMS), there were significant delays in making the second and third payments. Both installments were paid through the same cheque on August 12, 1998. As a result of the late payment, a decision was taken by GAF to pay interest on the payment. Interest of $1,775 which represented 8 percent interest for 89 days (May 15 to August 12) was calculated and paid to the recipient. GAF files contained no justification for this payment.

The payment request from GAF was received by Headquarters Accounts Payable section (SBRH) and the payment of the interest was questioned. Upon receiving further information from GAF, SBRH decided to process the payment, including the $1,775 in interest.

SBRH believed at the time, that the payment of the interest would not exceed the agreed upon amount of the contribution. However, SBRH did not tabulate all the payments made under the contribution in the fiscal year and therefore did not notice that the payment of interest exceeded the total amount of the contribution. No amendment was made to the contribution agreement to reflect the new amount. The contribution agreement provided for the timing of the payments but was silent on the issue of interest payments in case of late payments. However, it was agreed between GGD, SMFG and SIV that it would not be cost effective to recover the funds in question.

Recommendations to GGD

  1. Review the remaining projects which have been approved for the fiscal year and assess which projects will actually be completed in order to reallocate surplus contribution funds as soon as possible.
  2. Ensure that future contribution agreements contain detailed listings of admissible and inadmissible expenses in accordance with Treasury Board policies.
  3. Review financial reports from recipients to ensure all expenses claimed are allowable.

GGD Responses

  1. This review has already been conducted by the Bureau. We would note that early in the current fiscal year, the Bureau asked for, and received funding in the amounts of $361,000 in operational funds and $538,000 in Grants and Contribution funds. In January 2000, as a result of Ministerial interest and commitments, the Bureau requested additional G & C funding in the amount of $805,000 reduced to $772,375 shortly thereafter. As it became clear that one of the planned projects for which we had requested funds could not be implemented prior to the end of the fiscal year, we returned funds in the amount of $50,000 on February 18, 2000.
    There are two remaining initiatives to be funded during the current fiscal year: a contribution of $500,000 to the Joint Military Commission following the commitment made by MINA during the UNSC special meeting on the DRC in January 2000. The Bureau is confident that the agreement will be signed and the funds disbursed and expended by March 31, 2000. The second and final contribution is for a regional conflict resolution conference which is being organized by Parliamentarians for Global Action. The agreement has been signed and the first tranche disbursed in preparation for the Conference which will be held in Lusaka, Zambia from March 20-22, 2000.
  2. Agreed.
  3. Agreed. While financial reports and invoices for payment were reviewed by GAF, PAM and SMF prior to payment, greater clarity in the agreements on admissible and inadmissible expenses would have facilitated both financial accounting by the recipients and departmental screening of the financial reports. The Bureau will ensure in future that all expenses claimed are allowable.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-02-05

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions faites dans le cadre du plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique

(Mai 2000)

Résumé

À l'automne 1999, la Direction de la vérification interne (SIV) a effectué une vérification du Programme de consolidation de la paix offert par la Direction de la consolidation de la paix et de la sécurité humaine (AGP). Cette vérification s'inscrivait dans le cadre de l'examen des subventions et des contributions du Ministère par SIV. Au cours de cette vérification, SIV a appris que les contributions faites dans le cadre du plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique étaient imputées au numéro de crédit de consolidation de la paix. Cette constatation a incité SIV a entreprendre la présente vérification des contributions dans le cadre du plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique.

Le 23 avril 1997, le Comité exécutif a approuvé le Plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique par suite de la crise qui frappait ces régions. Le Programme de contributions pour les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique est actuellement géré par un agent permutant de la Direction de l'Afrique centrale et occidentale (GAF).

La vérification portait surtout sur le bien-fondé des transactions financières. Par ailleurs, des vérifications financières ont également été effectuées auprès de deux bénéficiaires.

Généralement, les paiements ont été faits de façon appropriée et la part inutilisée de chaque contribution a été rendue quand il y avait lieu. Un examen des transactions financières de deux bénéficiaires choisis a toutefois révélé que ces derniers ne savent pas ce qui constitue une dépense admissible, surtout quand il est question de déterminer adéquatement les frais quotidiens reliés à des services, le coût du salaire des employés et l'irrecevabilité des profits tel que précisé dans la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert. Toutefois, nous ne recommandons pas le recouvrement de ces montants, réclamés à tort par les bénéficiaires, étant donné que les accords de contribution ne précisent rien à ce sujet. Nous recommandons par contre que les accords de contribution futurs soient plus explicites.

L'équipe de vérification a aussi découvert que les fonds alloués pour les contributions au programme étaient en bonne partie inutilisés, qu'ils étaient retournés vers la fin de l'exercice et ne pouvaient, par conséquent, pas être alloués à un autre programme de contribution du MAECI.

La vérification a aussi révélé qu'il est arrivé, en une occasion, qu'un paiement d'intérêts petit, mais inopportun, ait été fait à un bénéficiaire, ce qui a entraìné le paiement en trop de la contribution. L'accord de contribution n'a pas été modifié et n'indique pas l'accroissement du montant.

Étendue et objectifs

À l'automne1999, la Direction de la vérification interne (SIV) a effectué une vérification des contributions relevant de la catégorie « consolidation de la paix » qui se rapportent au Plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique. Ce plan d'action a été approuvé le 23 avril 1997 par le Comité exécutif du Ministère afin d'aider à remédier à la crise qui frappait les régions des Grands Lacs de l'Afrique. Comme les objectifs du plan d'action allaient dans le sens de ceux de la soumission de consolidation de la paix, les contributions y étant rattachées ont été imputées au numéro de crédit du Programme de consolidation de la paix. Les seuls liens existants entre ce programme et le plan d'action sont l'utilisation du plafond de dépenses inutilisé du programme et le fait qu'ils doivent répondre aux mêmes conditions du Conseil du Trésor.

En nous basant sur les résultats de notre enquête préliminaire, il a été décidé que les travaux de vérification approfondie porteraient principalement sur deux sujets :

Il a aussi été décidé que le processus de sélection du Programme de contributions pour les Grands Lacs ainsi que les procédures et les systèmes administratifs du Programme ne feraient pas l'objet d'une vérification plus approfondie en raison du petit nombre de projets qui avaient reçu des contributions, des dépenses relativement peu élevées engagées pendant la durée du programme et de la fin du programme, prévue le 31 mars 2000. Nous avons jugé qu'un examen de vérification supplémentaire n'apporterait rien de plus.

Aperçu du Programme de contributions pour les Grands Lacs

La crise qui a frappé la région des Grands Lacs de l'Afrique en novembre et en décembre 1996 a mené à la création du Plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs de l'Afrique et à son approbation par le ministre des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international et par le secrétaire d'État (Amérique latine et Afrique) en février 1997. Ils ont approuvé le plan d'action tout en reconnaissant que son application nécessiterait des fonds supplémentaires. La Direction générale de l'Afrique ne pouvait pas assumer le coût total de cette initiative, et son financement est venu de deux sources : le report annuel et les épargnes temporaires résultant de la fermeture de la mission de Lagos. Lorsque les gestionnaires du Plan d'action sur les Grands Lacs ont tenté d'obtenir l'autorisation de dépenser du Conseil du Trésor, ce dernier a recommandé que les gestionnaires se servent du plafond de dépenses inutilisé du Programme de consolidation de la paix qui avait reçu 1 million de dollars mais qui avait un plafond de 2,5 millions.

Le Plan d'action sur la région des Grands Lacs de l'Afrique prendra fin le 31 mars 2000.

Le Programme de contributions pour les Grands Lacs est actuellement géré par un agent permutant de la Direction de l'Afrique centrale et occidentale (GAF). La catégorie de contributions à laquelle sont imputées les contributions de l'initiative est celle du Programme de consolidation de la paix.

Projets de contribution pour les grands lacs

 ProjetsContribution
 PlanifiésRéelsPlanifiésRéels
1997-199843525 000 $289 400 $
1998-199962860 000 $300 000 $
1999-200051 *1 013 600 $75 000 $*

* jusqu'au 30 septembre 1999

Ces contributions sont imputées à la catégorie des contributions de consolidation de la paix, étant donné que les objectifs des contributions pour les Grands Lacs vont dans le même sens que les objectifs de l'initiative, plus vaste, de consolidation de la paix du MAECI/ACDI. Les objectifs de cette initiative sont les suivants :

  • venir en aide aux pays touchés par des conflits et appuyer leurs efforts en vue de retrouver la paix et la stabilité; et
  • promouvoir la capacité du Canada en matière de consolidation de la paix ainsi que la participation de ce dernier à des activités internationales de consolidation de la paix.

Types de contributions

Les contributions ont généralement été faites dans le but de soutenir la formation, le renforcement des capacités, les conférences et l'élaboration de politiques non rattachées au MAECI. Trois projets ont été financés en 1997-1998 et deux projets l'ont été en 1998-1999. Cinq projets ont été approuvés pour la période 1999-2000 mais un seul était en cours de réalisation vers le milieu de l'année. Il est impossible de se prononcer à savoir si les quatre autres se concrétiseront.

Processus d'examen des projets, d'approbation et de contrôle :

Les propositions de projet présentées à GAF dans le cadre du programme proviennent généralement de personnes appartenant à des ONG ou à la communauté universitaire, du cabinet du Ministre (MINA) et d'autres directions du MAECI. Le Programme n'est pas officiellement connu du public et par conséquent, le nombre de projets proposés est bas. Bien qu'on n'ait pas fait le compte des propositions soumises et rejetées, GAF estime qu'environ 28 projets ont été étudiés dans le cadre du programme.

GAF reçoit des propositions oralement et par écrit et les examine pour déterminer leur pertinence par rapport aux objectifs de la vaste initiative de consolidation de la paix. Les projets qui ne correspondent pas aux objectifs sont alors rejetés.

Les projets qui concordent avec les objectifs du programme sont alors examinés par un comité interministériel (ACDI et MAECI) afin d'évaluer s'ils répondent aux objectifs communs du MAECI et de l'ACDI et à l'approche propre de la région ainsi que pour déterminer les mécanismes appropriés pour financer le projet. Des critères de sélection spécifiques n'ont pas été établis lorsque le programme a démarré. Les critères de sélection se raffinent continuellement tout au long du processus de sélection.

Les dates d'échéance de production des rapports financiers et narratifs sont alors fixées avec le bénéficiaire de la contribution et les ébauches des accords de contribution sont revues par la Politique financière ministérielle, formation et rapports (SBRP).

Les accords de contribution approuvés sont alors envoyés au directeur général de la Direction générale de l'Afrique et au sous-ministre adjoint (Asie-Pacifique et Afrique) qui doivent y apposer leur signature.

Si des paiements partiels sont utilisés pour certains projets, dans la plupart des cas, les fonds sont versés en entier aux bénéficiaires dans les 30 jours suivant la signature de l'accord de contribution. Bien que GAF ait reçu les rapports, aucune vérification du compte des bénéficiaires n'a été effectuée.

Observations par région

Contrôle du budget des contributions

L'instabilité de la situation dans les régions des Grands Lacs de l'Afrique a eu pour conséquence que, pendant l'existence du programme, de nombreux projets qui avaient été approuvés ont été retardés ou annulés. Très peu de projets ont donc réellement vu le jour. GAF a tenté d'allouer les fonds à d'autres projets mais n'y est pas arrivé. Par conséquent, au cours des deux premières années, les fonds inutilisés ont été retournés au cours du 4e trimestre de l'exercice. Au cours de l'examen semestriel 1999-2000, un seul des projets acceptés avait démarré. Il semble donc que le budget des contributions ne sera pas utilisé en entier au cours du présent exercice.

Un examen des transactions financières des bénéficiaires choisis en 1997-1998 et 1998-1999 a été effectué. Généralement, les paiements ont été faits de façon appropriée et la part inutilisée de chaque contribution a été retournée, s'il y avait lieu. Toutefois, le budget général alloué aux contributions était en bonne partie inutilisé, il était retourné vers la fin de l'exercice et ne pouvait par conséquent pas être réalloué à un autre programme de contributions.

L'équipe de vérification a relevé un certain nombre de problèmes relativement au bien-fondé des transactions financières de deux bénéficiaires, y compris des dépenses inadmissibles ou sans pièces justificatives et le paiement excédentaire d'une contribution.

Dépenses inadmissibles ou sans pièces justificatives

L'équipe de vérification a découvert que, dans un cas, des dépenses imputées au projet servaient en fait au personnel du bénéficiaire. Les montants imputés au projet étaient des salaires quotidiens pour chaque membre du personnel, et certains atteignaient 1 100 $ par jour. Toutefois, les membres du personnel étaient tous des employés salariés.

La politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert prévoit que les accords de contribution devraient au moins contenir une liste de tous les frais admissibles ou des types ou catégories de dépenses admissibles pour le remboursement. Elle souligne également que le profit réalisé par un bénéficiaire n'est pas un « coût » ni une « dépense » et ne peut pas, par conséquent, être admissible. L'accord de contribution qui nous intéresse ne contenait aucun détail sur les dépenses admissibles.

Il est clair qu'un salaire de 1 100 $ dollars par jour comprend nécessairement une bonne marge de profit. Le bénéficiaire n'a pas donné de détails sur la méthode de calcul des salaires quotidiens. Toutefois, l'accord de contribution n'énonçait pas clairement que seuls les coûts de salaire réels pouvaient être imputés, en plus d'une majoration raisonnable pour les frais généraux. Par conséquent, nous ne recommandons pas d'essayer de récupérer le profit inadmissible réclamé par les bénéficiaires.

Versement excédentaire d'une contribution

L'un des accords de contribution vérifié prévoyait que les paiements seraient faits en trois versements. Le premier paiement a été effectué le 17 avril 1998. La seconde facture a été reçue le 15 mai 1998 et la dernière facture, relative au troisième paiement, a été reçue le 25 mai 1998.

En raison des problèmes éprouvés par le système financier du Ministère (SGI), les deuxième et le troisième paiements ont été grandement retardés. Les deux paiements ont été réglés le 12 août avec un seul chèque. Ce retard a amené GAF à prendre la décision de payer de l'intérêt sur le paiement. Des intérêts de 1 775 $, ce qui représentait 8 p.100 d'intérêt pendant 89 jours (15 mai au 12 août) ont été calculés et payés au bénéficiaire. Les dossiers de GAF ne contiennent aucune pièce justificative pour ce paiement.

La demande de paiement de GAF a été reçue par la Section des comptes payables de l'Administration centrale (SBRH) qui a étudié la question du paiement des intérêts. Après avoir reçu de plus amples informations de GAF, SBRH a décidé d'effectuer le paiement, y compris le paiement des intérêts de 1 175 $.

À ce moment, SBRH croyait que le paiement de l'intérêt n'excéderait pas le montant convenu de la contribution. Toutefois, SBRH n'a pas fait le total de tous les paiements effectués en vertu de la contribution au cours de l'exercice et n'a donc pas remarqué que le paiement de l'intérêt excédait le montant total de la contribution. Aucune modification n'a été apportée à l'accord de contribution pour refléter le nouveau montant. L'accord de contribution traitait de l'échelonnement des paiements mais ne disait rien quand à la question du paiement d'intérêts en cas de versements en retard. Toutefois, il a été convenu entre GGD, SMFG et SIV qu'il ne serait pas rentable d'essayer de récupérer les fonds en question.

Recommandations à GGD

  1. Examiner les projets restants ayant été approuvés pour l'exercice en cours et évaluer quels projets seront bel et bien menés à terme, afin de réallouer les fonds de contribution excédentaires aussitôt que possible.
  2. Veiller à ce que les futurs accords de contributions comportent des listes détaillées des dépenses admissibles et inadmissibles en accord avec les politiques du Conseil du Trésor.
  3. Examiner les rapports financiers des bénéficiaires pour veiller à ce que toutes les dépenses réclamées soient bien admissibles.
Réponses de GGD
  1. Cet examen a déjà été effectué par la Direction générale. Nous aimerions souligner qu'au début de l'exercice en cours, la Direction générale a demandé des fonds (répartis comme suit: 361 000 $ en fonds d'exploitation et 538 000 $ en fonds de subventions et de contributions) et les a obtenus. En janvier 2000, à la suite de l'intérêt et des engagements du Ministère, la Direction générale a demandé des fonds supplémentaires de subventions et contributions pour un montant de 805 000 $ qui a été réduit à 772 375 $ peu après. Comme il est clairement apparu que l'un des projets prévus pour lesquels nous avions demandé des fonds ne pourrait être mis en oeuvre avant la fin de l'exercice, nous avons retourné les fonds qui totalisaient 50 000 $ le 18 février 2000.
    Il reste deux initiatives à financer au cours de l'exercice en cours : une contribution de 500 000 $ à la Commission militaire mixte à la suite de l'engagement de MINA lors de la réunion extraordinaire du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur la République démocratique du Congo en janvier 2000. La Direction générale ne doute pas que l'accord sera signé et que les fonds seront déboursés et utilisés avant le 31 mars 2000. La seconde et dernière contribution servira à une conférence portant sur la résolution de conflits régionaux, organisée par l'action mondiale des parlementaires. L'accord a été signé et la première tranche a été dépensée en préparation de la conférence qui se tiendra à Lusaka, en Zambie, du 20 au 22 mars 2000.
  2. D'accord.
  3. D'accord. Même si les rapports financiers et les factures ont été examinés par GAF, PAM et SMF avant le paiement, davantage de clarté en ce qui concerne les dépenses admissibles et inadmissibles dans les accords auraient facilité à la fois la comptabilité générale pour le bénéficiaire et l'examen des rapports financiers par le Ministère. La Direction générale veillera à ce qu'à l'avenir, toutes les dépenses réclamées soient admissibles.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-02-05