Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of Grants in Lieu of Taxes

(July 2000)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook, in the fall and winter of 1999, an audit of Grants in Lieu of Taxes (GILT) as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions.

DFAIT pays approximately $ 6 million per year in GILT to municipalities where the Diplomatic or Consular properties of foreign governments enjoy immunity from municipal property taxes in Canada. The United Nations, Criminal and Treaty Law Division (JLA) administers the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on behalf of the Department. Diplomatic Corps Services (XDC) determines the eligibility of diplomatic properties.

A MOU exists between DFAIT and the Real Estate Services Division of Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) which establishes responsibilities and procedures governing the provision of service related to the payment of GILT. PWGSC charges an administration fee of $33,000 per year for the provision of these services.

The determination of the amount of municipal taxes owing on a diplomatic property is made up of three elements: the identification of an eligible property, the assessed value of that property and the mill rate. Through the course of the audit, the following were noted:

  • JLA and XDC are unable to provide a comprehensive list of the properties which are entitled to the GILT. Based on our review, up to $58,000 may be paid annually for properties which may not be entitled to GILT. However, XDC has now committed to establishing and maintaining a list of properties eligible for the tax exemption.
  • JLA has not requested that PWGSC challenge the assessed value of the properties. Consequently, the values used in the determination of taxes may not be appropriate. It was determined that neither DFAIT nor PWGSC have the legal right to challenge property values as the Government of Canada does not own or lease the properties in question. However, PWGSC is developing a risk assessment to determine the costs of re-evaluating the assessments in light of its anticipated benefits. Also, a revised MOU, which will accurately reflect the rights and responsibilities of both parties, is currently being developed.
  • Verification of the factoring of the mill rate is done by PWGSC and is included in the $33,000 administrative fee.

As a result of the audit, discussion between JLA and XDC are underway to determine whether responsibility for the administration of GILT should continue to be housed within JLA or whether it would be better suited in XDC.

Scope and Objectives

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) has undertaken an audit of the GILT as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The scope of the audit focussed on the management of GILT within the Department and involved interviews and file reviews conducted to gain an understanding of the processes and controls used by the Department in the management of GILT.

Overview of Grants in Lieu of Taxes

Under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic and Consular Relations and agreements with international organizations, Canada is obligated to exempt certain properties from taxation. These are provincial and municipal taxes. The loss of tax revenue is essentially a cost of carrying Canada's international relations. Therefore, the Government of Canada provides provincial and municipal governments with grants equivalent to the taxes that they would have otherwise collected in the same way that it pays them grants in lieu of taxes on federal government owned properties.

An MOU exists between DFAIT and the Real Estate Services Division of PWGSC which establishes responsibilities and procedures governing the provision of services related to the payment of grants in lieu of real property and frontage or area taxes with respect to diplomatic property. The MOU is reviewed annually and DFAIT pays an administrative fee of $33,000 annually to PWGSC for these services.

In DFAIT, JLA administers the MOU on Grants in Lieu of Taxes on behalf of the Department. XDC of the Office of the Protocol identifies the diplomatic properties that may be eligible for an exemption from property taxes and provides all necessary information to JLA. When eligibility for an exemption is not clear, JLA makes the necessary determination. Information on additions and deletions to the list of exempt properties is then forwarded on to PWGSC.

Under current arrangements, tax bills for exempt diplomatic properties are sent by the municipal taxing authorities to PWGSC, Real Estate Services. PWGSC then recalculates the taxes using the municipalities' valuation of the properties and the assessment rates and pays the grants from funds provided by DFAIT. The tax summary assessment is forwarded to JLA twice a year, usually via an interim assessment in August and the final assessment in December/January. JLA reviews the summary assessments and authorises payment.

The GILT paid over the last three years is as follows:

Grants in Lieu of Taxes by Fiscal Year

 GrantAdministrative fee
1997/98$6,052,000$33,000
1998/995,761,52433,000
1999/006,889,000*33,000

*Estimated

Observations by Area

The determination of the amount of municipal taxes owing on a diplomatic property is made up of three elements: the identification of an eligible property, the assessed value of that property and the mill rate.

Identification of Eligible Properties

The MOU between DFAIT and PWGSC states that DFAIT agrees to "identify diplomatic property eligible for grants, and provide all necessary information bearing on such eligibility, including, but not limited to, dates of acquisition and disposal, dates of demolition and new construction, use and occupancy of the property and proportions of the property in different use."

Responsibility for the identification of eligible properties lies with XDC. When a foreign government wishes to purchase or dispose of an Official Residence or a Chancery, permission must be granted from the Government of Canada. The foreign government sends a request to XDC, who after vetting it through several Departmental Bureaux, issues a note to the foreign government authorizing the purchase of a diplomatic mission, an Official Residence, a Consular post or a residence of a Consul General. These properties are eligible for GILT. This information is then passed by XDC to the Authentication and Service of Documents Section (JLAC), who forward the information on to PWGSC. While PWGSC has a list of properties for which it pays GILT, prior to this audit, it had been some time since a listing had been provided to either XDC or JLA.

At the time of the audit, neither JLA nor XDC maintained a comprehensive list of properties for which GILT should be paid. XDC is also responsible for providing information to PWGSC on use of occupancy of a property and on proportions of property in different use. In this area as well, the XDC files were found to be incomplete.

On February 14, 2000, XDC committed to the implementation of a number of administrative procedures aimed at ensuring the accurate identification of properties eligible for the tax exemption. These procedures include:

  • the modification of its Diplomatic Registration System to include an indication of the exempt status of a property and the date of ownership;
  • the establishment of verification procedures with PWGSC;
  • the development of specific instructions to foreign Missions outlining the conditions for eligibility for the tax exemption; and
  • the development of new procedures in cases of non-compliance by a foreign government.

Recommendations for XDC:

  1. Proceed with a reconciliation of the list of properties provided by PWGSC for which DFAIT is paying GILT to a departmental list of properties eligible for GILT.
  2. Where applicable, provide updated information to PWGSC on the use and occupancy of the property and proportions of the property in ineligible use.

XDC Responses:

  1. XDC is modifying its Diplomatic Registration System to capture the properties eligible for the exemption. The reconciliation of these properties with the list provided by PWGSC will be completed by September 2000.
  2. Updated information on the use and occupancy of properties and the proportions of the properties in ineligible use will be provided to PWGSC by September 2000.

Assessed Value of the Diplomatic Properties

The MOU states that PWGSC agrees to: "verify all physical and legal attributes bearing on the valuation of diplomatic property, and using appropriate assessment principles and practices, establish a property value for each property."

It is PWGSC's interpretation of this section in the MOU that its responsibility is to not establish a property value using valuation principles but rather to simply confirm the current assessed value of the property with the municipality. It is an administrative verification to ensure the matching of properties and values with the municipality.

Recommendation for JLA:

3. Review the MOU with PWGSC to ensure that it accurately defines the responsibility of PWGSC with respect to the valuation of properties.

JLA Response:

3. PWGSC and DFAIT are in the process of drafting a new MOU which will accurately reflect the responsibilities of both parties. The MOU is expected to be finalized by June 2000.

While the Municipal Grants Acts provides for a review of the amount assessed at any given time, PWGSC has not conducted nor has been instructed to conduct any valuation reviews. In fact, some reviews of property valuations date back to the 1940's.

In July 1998, as part of discussions surrounding the annual MOU signing, the possibility of a risk assessment approach to the identification of properties for valuation review was raised. This approach consisted of identifying up to 10 high value properties per year for revaluation. PWGSC suggested that the administrative fee would have to be increased by $5,000 to $38,000 as a result of the additional duties that valuation reviews entail. JLA opted to forgo a review of the assessed values in order to minimize administrative costs.

In 1998, the Ontario Government completed a reassessment of all property values. The resulting increases on applicable properties have been phased in over three years. While a review of the valuation of federal commercial properties may not be indicated because of the agreed upon cap of 40 percent in increased assessed value, no such cap exists with respect to residential properties which account for 61 percent of the properties subject to GILT.

Properties by Location

(1999/00 fiscal year)

 Properties 
Provinces*TotalCommercialResidentialGrant $
Ontario210791316,666,800
B.C.1798184,500
Alberta43122,400
Nova Scotia1015,000
TOTAL232911416,878,700

* Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick, P.E.I, and Newfoundland do not have properties eligible for the tax exemption. Quebec has several properties that are eligible for the tax exemption. However, municipal taxation falls under provincial jurisdiction and the Province of Quebec has opted to provide the Grants in Lieu of taxes itself.

In light of the fact that 90 percent of the properties eligible for GILT representing 97 percent of the total value of the GILT are located in Ontario and in light of the Province of Ontario's recent move to market value assessment of properties, a review of the assessed values of properties located in Ontario would be timely.

Recommendations for JLA:

4. Instruct PWGSC to proceed with a review of the assessed value of a sample of high value properties.

5. Following the results of the review, assess cost effectiveness of instituting cyclical reviews of assessed values of selected properties

JLA Responses:

4. PWGSC is currently developing a risk assessment for the reassessment of properties. The risk assessment will outline the expected costs versus the anticipated benefits.

5. JLA will determine the need for cyclical reviews of assessed values of selected properties upon completion of the PWGSC risk assessment.

The MOU further outlines DFAIT's responsibilities relating to property assessments. They include:

  • obtaining from owners of diplomatic property data necessary to establish its property value and provide to PWGSC;
  • arranging for physical inspections of properties by PWGSC, when required, for valuation purposes; and,
  • designating officers of DFAIT responsible for information on eligibility and valuation of diplomatic property.

Interviews with PWGSC and file review indicate that very little information on property valuation is passed on to PWGSC, that very few properties (approximately five or six in the last three years) are inspected for valuation purposes and that PWGSC is unaware of the existence of a DFAIT officer responsible for the provision of valuation information.

Recommendations for JLA:

6. Establish specific procedures with PWGSC to ensure that relevant data is provided and to ensure the appropriate physical inspections are undertaken, where possible.

7. Identify a DFAIT officer responsible for the provision of information relating to the valuation of diplomatic properties.

JLA Responses:

6. JLA has determined that there is no right under law for PWGSC to proceed with physical inspections of exempt properties as set out in the original MOU. The MOU is currently under revision and will reflect this. Other information will be provided to PWGSC as requested on a basis to be determined as part of the current risk assessment process.

7. The revised MOU will identify a DFAIT officer responsible for the provision of information relating to the valuation of diplomatic properties.

Factoring of the Mill Rate

PWGSC reviews the municipal taxes which are assessed against each property using the appropriate mill rate and ensures that the calculations have been done correctly. PWGSC has in the past challenged the municipal calculation of the assessments but not the assessed value of the property. If municipal assessment differs, discrepancies are usually the result of an administrative error and are readily corrected. PWGSC is effectively discharging its responsibility in this regard.

GILT Payment

JLA's authorization of the payment of the GILT is based solely on the summary invoice provided by PWGSC. Neither, JLA nor XDC receives a detailed list of municipal taxes by property. Verification of eligible properties had not been done nor had attempts been made to verify and determine, if need be, the appropriate assessed values of diplomatic properties.

Discussions are also underway between JLA and XDC to determine whether the responsibility for the administration of GILT should continue to reside with JLA or whether XDC would be a more appropriate home.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-10

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier

(Juillet 2000)

Sommaire

La Division de la vérification interne (SIV) a effectué, en automne et hiver 1999, une vérification des subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier (STLIF), dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et contributions du Ministère.

Le MAECI verse environ six millions de dollars par année à titre de STLIF aux municipalités où se trouvent les propriétés diplomatiques ou consulaires des États étrangers qui sont exemptées des taxes foncières au Canada. C'est la Division du droit onusien, criminel et des traités (JLA) qui administre le protocole d'entente (PE) au nom du Ministère. Les Services du corps diplomatique (XDC) décident de l'admissibilité des propriétés diplomatiques.

Le MAECI et la Division des Services des biens immobiliers de Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) ont signé un PE relatif aux responsabilités et procédures régissant la prestation de services liée au versement des STLIF. TPSGC perçoit 33 000 $ par année en frais administratifs pour la prestation de ces services.

L'établissement du montant des taxes municipales dues sur une propriété diplomatique repose sur trois facteurs : la détermination de l'admissibilité d'une propriété, sa valeur imposable et son taux par mille. Nous avons relevé les faits suivants pendant notre vérification :

  • JLA et XDC ne sont pas en mesure de nous fournir une liste complète des propriétés admissibles aux STLIF. Notre examen nous permet de croire que le Ministère paie peut-être jusqu'à 58 000 $ par année pour des propriétés qui ne sont pas peut-être pas admissible aux STLIF. Cependant, XDC se sont maintenant engagés à dresser et à tenir une liste de propriétés admissibles à l'exemption fiscale.
  • JLA n'a pas demandé à TPSGC de contester la valeur cotisée des propriétés en question. C'est pourquoi la valeur qui entre dans le calcul des taxes pourrait être erronée. Puisque l'État canadien ne possède ni ne loue les propriétés en question, ni le MAECI ni TPSGC n'ont le droit de contester leur valeur effective. Cependant, TPSGC élabore un modèle d'évaluation du risque pour calculer le coût d'opportunité de la réévaluation en tenant compte des bénéfices prévus. De plus, les parties élaborent actuellement un nouveau PE qui refléterait exactement les droits et responsabilités de chacune des parties.
  • TPSGC vérifie la factorisation du taux par mille, et ce service est inclut dans les frais administratifs de 33 000 $.

La vérification a entraîné des discussions, à savoir lequel, de JLA ou XDC, devrait avoir la charge de l'administration de la STLIF.

Portée et objectifs

La Division de la vérification interne (SIV) a procédé à une vérification des STLIF dans le cadre de son examen des Subventions et contributions du Ministère. Nous avons centré la vérification sur la gestion de la STLIF au sein du Ministère, passé des entrevues et étudié des dossiers dans le but de comprendre les processus et les contrôles qu'emploie le Ministère dans sa gestion de la STLIF.

Survol des subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier

Conformément à la Convention de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques et consulaires et aux ententes conclues avec des organismes internationaux, le Canada doit exempter de taxes certaines propriétés. Il s'agit d'impôts provinciaux et de taxes municipales. Cette perte de revenus fiscaux correspond essentiellement au coût de l'entretien des relations internationales du Canada. Donc, le gouvernement du Canada subventionne les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux pour compenser les taxes qu'il leur aurait quand même remises sous forme de subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier s'il avait été lui-même propriétaire de ces immeubles.

Le MAECI et la Division des Services des biens immobiliers de TPSGC ont signé un PE sur l'établissement des responsabilités et des procédures régissant la prestation de services entourant le payement de la subvention tenant lieu d'impôt foncier, de la taxe sur la longueur de façade ou de la taxe régionale établie pour une propriété diplomatique. Les parties révisent le PE annuellement, et MAECI paie à TPSGC des frais administratifs de 33 000 $ pour les services.

C'est JLA qui administre le PE sur les subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier au nom du Ministère. XDC, du Bureau du protocole, dégagent les propriétés diplomatiques qui pourraient être admissibles à une exemption de taxes foncières et acheminent les renseignements nécessaires à JLA. JLA effectue les vérifications qui s'imposent lorsque l'admissibilité à une exemption suscite un doute. Elle envoie ensuite à TPSGC la liste remise à jour.

En vertu des ententes existantes, les autorités taxatrices des municipalités font parvenir les comptes de taxes des propriétés diplomatiques exemptées aux Services des biens immobiliers de TPSGC. TPSGC recalcule ensuite les taxes s'appuyant sur l'évaluation municipale des propriétés et des taux de taxation, et envoie la subvention que finance le MAECI. Il fait également parvenir à JLA un sommaire des cotisations deux fois l'an, habituellement une évaluation intérimaire en août et une évaluation finale en décembre ou janvier. JLA contrôle les évaluations et autorise le paiement.

Voici les STLIF accordées ces trois dernières années :

Subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier, par exercice

 SubventionFrais d'administration
1997-19896 052 000 $33 000 $
1998-1999576152433 000
1999-20006 889 000*33 000

*Estimation

Observations par secteur

L'établissement du montant des taxes municipales dues sur une propriété diplomatique repose sur trois facteurs : la détermination de l'admissibilité d'une propriété, sa valeur imposable et son taux par mille.

Détermination de l'admissibilité des propriétés

Le PE qu'ont signé le MAECI et TPSGC stipule que le MAECI accepte « de déterminer l'admissibilité aux subventions des propriétés diplomatiques, et de fournir tout renseignement nécessaire au support d'une telle admissibilité, y compris, mais pas seulement, les dates d'achat et de vente, de démolition et de reconstruction, l'utilisation et l'occupation de la propriété et les proportions de la propriété en fonction de l'utilisation. »

XDC sont responsables de l'identification des propriétés admissibles. C'est le gouvernement du Canada qui accorde à un gouvernement étranger la permission d'acheter ou de vendre une résidence officielle ou une mission. Le gouvernement étranger adresse une demande aux XDC qui, après filtrage par plusieurs bureaux du Ministère, émettent une note au gouvernement étranger, l'autorisant à acheter une mission diplomatique, une résidence officielle, un poste consulaire ou une résidence pour le consul général. Ces propriétés sont admissibles aux STLIF. XDC acheminent ces renseignements à la Section de l'authentification et de la signification des documents (JLAC), qui les fait suivre à TPSGC. Bien que TPSGC dispose d'une liste de propriétés pour lesquelles elle accorde des STLIF, ni XDC ni JLA ne l'avaient reçue avant la conduite de cette vérification.

Au cours de la vérification, ni XDC ni JLA n'ont tenu de liste complète des propriétés admissibles. XDC ont aussi la charge de renseigner TPSGC sur l'occupation d'une propriété et sur la répartition des types d'utilisation. Nous avons trouvé des dossiers de XDC incomplets à ce chapitre également.

Le 14 février 2000, XDC se sont engagés à mettre en oeuvre un certain nombre de mesures administratives visant la garantie d'une détermination rigoureuse de l'admissibilité des propriétés à l'exonération fiscale. Ces mesures prévoient :

  • la modification de son système d'inscription diplomatique afin qu'il indique le statut d'exemption d'une propriété ainsi que la date de propriété;
  • la mise sur pied procédures de vérification au sein de TPSGC;
  • l'élaboration d'instructions détaillées, à l'intention des missions étrangères, sur les conditions d'admissibilité à l'exonération; et
  • l'élaboration d'une nouvelle marche à suivre au cas où un gouvernement étranger ne se conformerait pas aux instructions.

Recommandations à l'intention de XDC :

1. Commencez par rapprocher la liste des propriétés de TPSGC, qui détermine les paiements qu'effectue le MAECI, et la liste ministérielle des propriétés admissibles à la STLIF.

2. Si possible, fournissez à TPSGC des renseignements à jour sur l'utilisation et l'occupation des propriétés, ainsi que sur la proportion de la propriété dont l'utilisation n'est pas admissible.

Réponses de XDC :

1. XDC apporte des modifications à son système d'inscription diplomatique pour pouvoir saisir les données sur les propriétés admissibles à l'exemption. XDC auront terminé le rapprochement de cette liste et de celle de TPSGC d'ici septembre 2000.

2. TPSGC présentera d'ici septembre 2000 des renseignements à jour sur l'utilisation et l'occupation des propriétés, ainsi que sur la proportion des propriétés dont l'utilisation n'est pas admissible.

Valeur imposable des propriétés diplomatiques

TPSGC convient, dans le PE, de « vérifier tous les éléments physiques et juridiques qui supportent l'évaluation de la propriété diplomatique et, à l'aide des pratiques et des principes d'évaluation appropriés, d'évaluer chaque propriété. »[Trad.]

Selon sa propre interprétation de cet article du PE, la responsabilité de TPSGC ne s'étendrait pas à l'évaluation de la propriété à l'aide des principes d'évaluation, mais se limiterait plutôt à la confirmation de la valeur imposable actuelle de la propriété auprès des autorités municipales. Il s'agit d'une vérification administrative permettant de rapprocher les propriétés et leur évaluation avec le concours de la municipalité.

Recommandation à l'intention de JLA :

3. Revoir le PE avec TPSGC pour s'assurer que le document définit correctement la responsabilité de TPSGC en matière d'évaluation des propriétés.

Réponse de JLA :

3. TPSGC et le MAECI procèdent actuellement à la rédaction d'un nouveau PE qui reflétera correctement les responsabilités de chacune des parties. Ils devraient avoir terminé d'ici juin 2000.

Bien que la Loi sur les subventions aux municipalités autorise la révision du montant de l'évaluation à tout moment, TPSGC n'a pas produit, et personne ne lui a demandé de produire de telle révision. En fait, certaines révisions d'évaluation remontent aux années 1940.

En juillet 1998, dans le cadre des discussions entourant la signature annuelle du PE, les parties ont soulevé la possibilité d'utiliser la méthode de l'évaluation du risque pour dégager les propriétés dont il faut revoir l'évaluation. Cette méthode consistait à dégager jusqu'à 10 propriétés de grande valeur par année aux fins d'évaluation. TPSGC a suggéré de porter les frais d'administration à 38 000 $, depuis 33 000 $, en réponse aux responsabilités supplémentaires que les révisions d'évaluation pourraient entraîner. JLA a décidé d'abandonner la révision des valeurs imposables en vue de minimiser les frais d'administration.

En 1998, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a réévalué l'ensemble des propriétés. Il a réparti sur trois ans l'augmentation de la valeur des propriétés concernées qui en a découlé. Bien que la révision de l'évaluation des propriétés commerciales fédérales semble contre-indiquée, à cause d'un plafond convenu de 40 p. cent en regard des augmentations de la valeur imposable, aucun plafond n'existe pour les propriétés résidentielles, qui représentent 61 p. cent des propriétés admissibles aux STLIF.

Propriétés par province

(exercice 1999-2000)

 Propriétés 
Provinces *TotalCommercialesRésidentiellesSubvention $
Ontario210791316 666 800
C.-B.1798184 500
Alberta43122 400
Nouvelle-Écosse1015 000
TOTAL232911416 878 700

* La Saskatchewan, le Manitoba, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l'Î.-P.-É. et Terre-Neuve ne comptent pas de propriétés admissibles à l'exonération. Mais le Québec en compte plusieurs. Cependant, la taxation est une juridiction provinciale et la province de Québec a choisi d'octroyer elle-même les subventions tenant lieu d'impôt foncier.

Étant donné que 90 p. cent des propriétés admissibles qui ont reçu 97 p. cent de la valeur des STLIF se situent en Ontario, puis étant donné que la province de l'Ontario a récemment évalué les propriétés sur la base de la valeur marchande, il serait opportun de réviser la valeur imposable des propriétés ontariennes.

Recommandations à l'intention JLA :

4. Demander à TPSGC de réviser l'évaluation d'un échantillon de propriétés de grande valeur.

5. Une fois les résultats de la révision connus, évaluer la rentabilité de la mise sur pied de révisions régulières de la valeur imposable des propriétés choisies.

Réponses de JLA :

4. TPSGC élabore actuellement une méthode de l'évaluation du risque visant la réévaluation des propriétés. La méthode présentera brièvement le coût d'opportunité.

5. JLA décidera du besoin de réviser régulièrement la valeur imposable de propriétés choisies une fois que TPSGC aura terminé l'évaluation du risque.

Le PE continue d'exposer à grands traits les responsabilités du MAECI en matière d'évaluation des propriétés. Celui-ci doit, entre autres :

  • obtenir des propriétaires les données qui permettront d'évaluer la propriété et les acheminer à TPSGC;
  • faire en sorte que TPSGC puisse inspecter les lieux, au besoin, à des fins d'évaluation; et
  • assigner des agents du MAECI à la collecte de renseignements sur l'admissibilité et l'évaluation des propriétés diplomatiques.

Des entrevues conduites auprès de TPSGC et l'examen de dossiers révèlent que TPSGC reçoit très peu de renseignements sur l'évaluation des propriétés, qu'un très petit nombre de propriétés (environ cinq ou six ces trois dernières années) ont été inspectées à des fins d'évaluation et que TPSGC ne sait pas s'il existe un agent du MAECI qui doit le renseigner sur les évaluations.

Recommandations à l'intention de JLA :

6. Mettre sur pied des procédures particulières avec le concours de TPSGC pour s'assurer de la pertinence des données et de l'entreprise des inspections matérielles appropriées, si possible.

7. Charger un agent du MAECI de fournir des renseignements en matière d'évaluation des propriétés diplomatiques.

Réponses de JLA :

6. JLA a conclu que TPSGC n'a pas le droit d'effectuer les inspections des propriétés exonérées telles que balisées dans le PE initial. Le PE fait actuellement l'objet d'une révision dans ce sens. D'autres renseignements seront fournis à TPSGC tel que demandé, dans le cadre du processus à venir d'évaluation du risque.

7. Le PE revu assignera un agent du MAECI aux renseignements en matière d'évaluation des propriétés diplomatiques.

Factorisation du taux par mille

TPSGC examine les taxes municipales établies pour chaque propriété à l'aide du taux par mille approprié, et s'assure de l'exactitude du calcul. TPSGC a déjà contesté l'évaluation municipale mais pas la valeur imposable. Les écarts dans l'évaluation municipale sont habituellement le fait d'une erreur administrative et sont corrigés promptement.

Versements des STLIF

JLA se fie uniquement sur la facture sommaire de TPSGC pour autoriser le paiement de la STLIF. Ni JLA ni XDC ne reçoivent de tableau détaillé faisant état des taxes municipales établies pour chaque propriété. Personne n'a vérifié ou même tenté de vérifier et établir, au besoin, la valeur imposable opportune des propriétés diplomatiques.

Des discussions portent actuellement sur lequel, de JLA ou XDC, devrait avoir la charge de l'administration de la STLIF.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-10