Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Addis Ababa

(July 2001)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Political, Economic and Public Affairs Program, the International Business Development Program (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Addis Ababa during the period of February 12 to February 16, 2001. The previous audit of the Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in June 1995.

Mission Management

Under the leadership of an experienced Head of Mission (HOM), this is a well-managed Mission with a highly motivated and competent staff. The Mission is accredited to four countries, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti and Sudan. There is excellent communication and synergy between all programs at the Mission. The Committee structure works well and accountability agreements are in place for all programs except Consular and Administration. With the Office of the Canadian Embassy now open in Khartoum as a Spoke Mission, there is a need to have the roles and responsibilities of each mission formalized in a Hub and Spoke Agreement.

Mission Management - Detailed Report

Political, Economic and Public Affairs Program

The Program is well organized and there is an effective work plan in place. The Program works closely with the Development Section of the Mission. The Third Secretary and Vice-Consul, *** who is the Program Manager, has shown considerable energy and enthusiasm in her initial six months in Addis Ababa. She is working closely with the HOM and together they produce political reports that are considered to be of high quality and very analytical.

Political, Economic and Public Affairs Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development

Despite a very difficult economic environment, the LES Commercial Officer (CO), under the supervision of the Third Secretary and Vice-Consul, displays enthusiasm and initiative in undertaking his responsibilities. The CO is well connected and has a good knowledge of the market. While Ethiopia and the region are not a priority for many Canadian companies, the CO has managed to attract their interest in participating in a large cataloguing show. Some Canadian companies have also had success in this region in securing contracts, some of which is related to the assistance he provided. There is a need for this CO to be trained on the Trade Commissioner's New Approach.

International Business Development - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is well managed. The two Honorary Consuls, one in Eritrea and one in Djibouti are functioning well. The Audit Team is of the opinion that neither the workload nor the duties carried out by the Consular Assistant warrant the retaining of this position.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is functioning satisfactorily. The MCO arrived at the Mission in the summer of 2000 but because of training and holidays has effectively been on the job for only two months. Her limited time in the position makes it difficult to gauge her performance. Morale at the Mission is very high. The MCO has fostered a good working relationship with the CBS and the LES alike. The development of objectives and formal planning would benefit the management of the Program.

The Program is adequately resourced with the exception of a need for a full-time Systems Administrator (SA). Job descriptions and the organizational chart need adjusting to reflect the actual duties and correct reporting relationships at the Mission. The Mission also needs to reassign the personnel function to a position other than the Accountant's. While the property portfolio is well managed, the Mission will need to develop a good understanding of the local market to enable long term planning. The reporting relationship with Nairobi on financial matters will terminate when the Accountant receives IMS certification, expected in May of 2001.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTOTAL
HOM156
IBD and General Relations0.911.9
Development30.63.6
Immigration0.122.1
Administration and Consular136.4*37.4
Total64551

* includes 23 guard positions

There are 2 Honorary Consuls: 1 in Eritrea and 1 in Djibouti

Physical Resources

AssetOwnedLeased
Chancery01
OR01
SQs05
Vehicles50

Financial Information (2000/2001)

Operating Budget (N001)$844,400
LES Salaries (N012)206000
CBS Overtime (N011)20000
Capital (N005)125000
Total$1,195,400

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-24

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada à Addis-Abeba

(Juillet 2001)

Résumé

Une vérification des programmes Affaires publiques et relations économiques et politiques, Promotion du commerce extérieur (PCE), Affaires consulaires et Administration a été effectuée à l'ambassade à Addis-Abeba du 12 au 16 février 2001. La précédente vérification du Programme d'administration et du Programme des affaires consulaires a été réalisée en juin 1995.

Gestion de la mission

La mission est dirigée d'une main experte par un chef de mission (CDM) chevronné et s'appuie sur un personnel hautement motivé et compétent. La mission est accréditée auprès de quatre pays : l'Éthiopie, l'Érythrée, Djibouti et le Soudan. Le niveau de communication et la synergie entre les différents programmes de la mission sont excellents. Les comités sont bien structurés et des ententes de responsabilité sont en place pour tous les programmes à l'exception des Affaires consulaires et de l'Administration. Maintenant que le bureau de l'ambassade du Canada a ouvert ses portes à Khartoum en tant que mission satellite, les rôles et responsabilités de chaque mission doivent être officialisés dans le cadre d'une entente de responsabilité.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme des affaires publiques et relations politiques et économiques (PERPA)

Le programme est bien organisé et un plan de travail efficace est en place. La section travaille en étroite collaboration avec la section de la coopération de la mission. La troisième secrétaire et vice-consule, *** a déployé une énergie considérable et fait preuve de beaucoup d'enthousiasme dès les six premiers mois de son affectation à Addis-Abeba. Elle collabore avec le CDM et ensemble, ils produisent des rapports politiques considérés comme étant de très haute qualité et révélant un grand esprit d'analyse.

PERPA - rapport détaillé

Promotion du commerce extérieur

En dépit d'un contexte économique très difficile, l'agent commercial (AC) ERP, sous la supervision de la troisième secrétaire et vice-consule, s'acquitte de ses responsabilités avec enthousiasme et en faisant preuve d'esprit d'initiative. L'AC possède de bons contacts et une bonne connaissance du marché. Bien que l'Éthiopie et la région ne soient pas une priorité pour de nombreuses sociétés canadiennes, il a réussi à les persuader de l'intérêt à participer à une grande présentation de catalogues. Certaines sociétés canadiennes ont également réussi à décrocher des contrats dans la région, en partie grâce à l'aide apportée par l'agent commercial. Ce dernier a besoin d'être formé à la nouvelle approche du Service canadien des délégués commerciaux.

Promotion du commerce extérieur - rapport détaillé

Programme des affaires consulaires

Le Programme des affaires consulaires est bien géré. Les deux consuls honoraires, dont l'un est en Érythrée et l'autre à Djibouti, s'acquittent de leurs fonctions de manière satisfaisante. D'après l'équipe de vérification, ni la charge de travail de l'adjointe aux affaires consulaires, ni les tâches effectuées par cette dernière ne justifient le maintien de ce poste.

Programme des affaires consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Le Programme d'administration donne des résultats satisfaisants. L'agente-gestionnaire consulaire (AGC) est arrivée à la mission au cours de l'été 2000, toutefois, sa formation et les vacances ont retardé son entrée en fonctions et elle n'est réellement en poste que depuis deux mois. Du fait qu'elle exerce ses fonctions depuis peu de temps, il est difficile d'évaluer son rendement. Le moral à la mission est très bon. L'AGC a encouragé la mise en place de bonnes relations de travail tant avec les EC qu'avec les ERP. L'élaboration d'objectifs et d'une planification officielle aurait un effet bénéfique sur la gestion du programme.

Le programme s'appuie sur des ressources adéquates; ce dernier manque toutefois d'un administrateur du système (AS) à temps plein. Les descriptions de postes et l'organigramme doivent être rectifiés pour refléter les tâches réellement accomplies à la mission ainsi que les véritables liens hiérarchiques. La mission a également besoin de réaffecter la fonction personnel à un autre poste que celui du comptable. Bien que le portefeuille des biens soit bien géré, la mission devra développer une bonne compréhension du marché local pour faciliter une planification à long terme. Le rapport hiérarchique avec Nairobi sur les questions financières prendra fin lorsque le comptable recevra la certification SGI, prévue pour mai 2001.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTOTAL
Chef de mission156
PCI et Relations générales0,911,9
Développement30,63,6
Immigration0,122,1
Administration et Affaires consulaires136.4*37,4
Total64551

* dont 23 postes de gardes

Il y a 2 consuls honoraires : 1 en Érythrée et 1 à Djibouti.

Ressources matérielles

ActifPropriété de l'ambassadeLocation
Chancellerie01
Résidence officielle01
Logements du personnel05
Véhicules50

Renseignements financiers (2000/2001)

Budget d'exploitation (N001)844 400 $
Salaires des ERP (N012)206 000 $
Heures supplémentaires des EC (N011)20 000 $
Capital (N005)125 000 $
Total1 195 400 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-24