Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Vatican

(December 2001)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Mission to the Holy See was conducted during the period March 27 to April 5, 2001. A previous audit was conducted in 1994. The Mission to the Holy See shares its Administration Program with the Mission to Italy in Rome. The two Missions were audited concurrently and the audit coverage of the Administration Program is found in the Rome report.

The Mission has just completed a very busy Jubilee Year for the Vatican and is now preparing for World Youth Day that will be staged in Toronto in July 2002. The Pope and more than 1,000,000 visitors are expected for the event. The Mission has been authorized a temporary position, to help plan this event, and planning for it will consume a significant portion of the Mission's resources over the next year. The Mission has also been authorized a new two-year term Administrative Assistant position.

The Head of Mission (HOM) had been at the Mission for six months at the time of the audit. He has brought a new dynamic approach to the Mission. Staff role changes that had started under the prior HOM are continuing and the staff were undergoing a period of uncertainty. Job descriptions for all staff will need to be reviewed.

As a small Mission, with two Canada-Based Staff (CBS) and three Locally-Engaged Program Staff (LES), the Mission has limited capacity. To be successful the Mission must be focussed, ensuring its priorities are clear and agreed upon with Headquarters.

This report contains 12 recommendations. Given the responses received from the Mission and Headquarters, all recommendations have been implemented or are in process of implementation.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
HOM (and driver and domestics)145
Program and Administrative Staff134
Total279

Note: The Mission is also supported by an Ecclesiastical Honorary Consul.

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery 1
OR1 
SQs 1
Vehicles1 

Financial Information 2000/2001

LES Salaries$339,876
Operational396,696
Capital45,000
Total$781,572

Mission Management

1.1 Overview

1.1.1 The Mission has emerged successfully from the Vatican's Jubilee Year and is now preparing for World Youth Day 2002 to be staged in Toronto in July 2002. The Pope and over 1,000,000 youth from 150 countries are expected to attend.

1.1.2 The new HOM has brought a dynamic approach to the Mission, one that promotes creativity and greater engagement with officials in the Vatican and enhanced reporting to Headquarters and Missions. The roles of Mission staff, that had started to evolve under the previous HOM, are continuing to do so. At the time of the audit, LES were still in the adjustment phase and most were uncomfortable with their job packages and lacked full understanding of their roles. The Mission will need to devote time and energy to ensure that staff acclimatize to their new roles. This will be facilitated by the addition of two term positions which will help the Mission cope with its increased operational obligations. (The Mission has now recruited a new HOM Assistant (LE-06) and Term Assistant for WYD Operations (LE-06).)

1.1.3 Like all small Missions, the Holy See must continually search for that balance of maintaining a dynamic program with the reality of managing limited resources. Developing clear priorities, with HQ, is critical to making best use of limited resources. The HOM has used the Performance Agreement for this purpose.

1.2 Mission Staff

1.2.1 The HOM is supported by a Canada-Based Counsellor and three Locally-Engaged Staff: Research Assistant (LE 06), Administrative Coordinator (LE 05) and Communication Assistant/Receptionist (LE 05). All staff are highly qualified, perhaps over-qualified for their duties, and offer an excellent range of skills. The HOM is also supported by a Driver and three Domestic Staff.

1.3 Reporting by the Mission

1.3.1 The Mission believes its reporting would be beneficial to other Missions and is now judiciously expanding its audience. The relationship with the Vatican has both a bilateral and multilateral nature. The Mission is tasked by DFAIT and it is left to the Mission to determine its frequency of reporting. Other Government Departments do not task the Mission although some reporting is of direct interest to them. We reviewed a sampling of the Mission's reports and found them to be of high quality.

1.4 Administration Services Memorandum of Understanding

1.4.1 The Mission shares its Administration Program with the Mission in Rome. The relationship with the Administration Program is governed by a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for Administrative Services which is now dated and should be updated. In particular, the MOU should be broadened to cover all services provided by the Administration Program and service standards should be incorporated therein. The MOU should indicate which services will and will not be provided and should indicate who will provide the services. The MOU should also indicate the time frame for delivery of services, including rare urgent services. The MOU should be reviewed at least yearly. The Mission may also wish to explore with Rome whether other (non-administrative) services could be made available when needed; for example, translation or press services.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.4.2 The Mission should renegotiate its MOU for Administrative Services with a view to updating and expanding it and including service standards. The Mission should also explore other areas of collaboration with the Mission in Rome.

Mission Response

1.4.2 A new MOU for Administrative Services has been renegotiated and accepted by both Missions. It enlarges substantially the scope of our collaboration beyond the administrative sectors. The new MOU shall be signed by the two HOMs in the coming days.

1.5 Job Descriptions

1.5.1 A review of the LES job descriptions indicated that they were not well written. Wording was often awkward and the job descriptions did not clearly indicate or detail duties. Two positions had double reporting lines. There is a need to rewrite each job description. Firstly, however, there needs to be a period of stabilization to ensure duties to be included in the job descriptions will be accurate, complete and reflective of work to be done. The changes occurring at the Mission as well as an updating of the MOU with the Administration Program can both impact on duties. For example, while there is a tendency among small Missions to take responsibility for as many administrative duties as possible, the Mission may be better off by ensuring it is well supported by the Administration Program, and using its own Administrative Coordinator for more program duties.

1.5.2 Once job descriptions have been rewritten they should be submitted to the Classification Committee for review to ensure they are properly levelled. The Rome Classification Committee should be used for this purpose and the Committee should be expanded to include the Holy See Mission's Counsellor.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.5.3 Review and rewrite all LES job descriptions and submit them to the Classification Committee for assessment.

Mission Response

1.5.3 Most of the LES job descriptions have now been reviewed and rewritten (including two new job descriptions for the new employees). We are also in the process of adjusting the job description of the Administration Coordinator. They will soon be submitted to the Classification Committee.

1.6 Training Planning

1.6.1 As staff adjust to new roles, there may be training, either locally or in HQ that could assist staff in the adjustment process and in acquiring new skills and knowledge. Training needs are best identified through the appraisal process.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.6.2 Develop a training plan for all staff.

Mission Response

1.6.2 A training plan has been developed and we have already proposed a management course in Ottawa for our Administration Coordinator.

1.7 Overtime Policy and Application

1.7.1 The Mission does not have a consistent approach for compensation of overtime. When staff are not treated in a common fashion, it can affect morale. The Mission in Rome has a similar overtime issue and will be reviewing its overtime policy. The Mission may wish to work with Rome to develop a common policy and practices.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.7.2 The Mission should ensure that it has an overtime policy that is clear, understood and applied consistently.

Mission Response

1.7.2 Necessary measures have been taken to harmonize our overtime policy and we are consulting with the Embassy in Rome to ensure that we apply a common practice.

1.8 Web-Site Development

1.8.1 The Mission does not now have a web-site. Given that a significant portion of Canadians who are in contact with the Mission are tourists planning to visit the Vatican, a web-site could be an excellent tool to provide general information, answer frequently asked questions, and provide a link to the related sites (Vatican, City of Rome, Mission in Rome, etc.). The web-site might also reduce the telephone calls to the Mission, thereby permitting the Receptionist to carry out other duties. The Mission in Rome has expertise in web-site development and, along with HQ, can guide the Mission in the development of a web-site.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.8.2 Develop a Web-Site.

Mission Response

1.8.2 The project of a Web-Site is in the process of being implemented. A general proposal has already been prepared and with the assistance of SXIA and REOP our Web-Site should be operational by the end of November 2001.

1.9 Hospitality Diaries

1.9.1 The HOM Hospitality Diaries are not being signed-off in accordance with the Departmental Hospitality Policy and the FAA. The full diary, including supporting receipts, should be submitted for sign-offs by other Canada-Based Staff. We would advise that the Counsellor and the MCO provide these sign-offs.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.9.2 The HOM Hospitality Diaries should be signed-off in accordance with Departmental Hospitality Policy.

Mission Response

1.9.2 The HOM Hospitality Diaries not signed in error by the MCO, (two trimestrial reports) have been signed accordingly. All diaries are signed in accordance with Departmental Hospitality Guidelines.

1.10 Meetings With The Administration Program

1.10.1 While the Mission's Administration Team resides only a short distance away, in the Annex to the Rome Chancery, the physical separation no doubt makes communication between the Holy See Mission and Administration more challenging. To help bridge the separation, regular meetings, perhaps three per year, should be held at the Holy See with the Administration Team to ensure a full understanding of the Mission's operating environment and its service needs. These meetings would best be held at the beginning of the fiscal year, during the mid-point review and late in the fiscal year.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.10.2 The Mission should meet regularly with the full Administration Team.

Mission Response

1.10.2 The two HOMs are in regular contact, as well as the Administration Team, with the Vatican Mission which it serves in a very efficient way. Now that people are back from the summer vacation period, this Mission will soon organize a meeting with the full Administration Team.

1.11 Financial Information

1.11.1 The Mission does not have immediate access to information on the status of its budgets. The Mission receives its information periodically, or upon request, from the Administration Program. To ensure the Mission has timely information for decision-making, it should be provided with Read-Only IMS, and staff should be trained to extract required information.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.11.2 The Mission should request that it be provided with Read-Only IMS and related training.

Mission Response

1.11.2 The Mission now has Read-Only IMS.

1.12 Cash Advances and Cash Payments

1.12.1 The Administration Program has been providing some advances to staff in cash. Payments to OR staff are also being paid through the HOM. In order to reduce administrative burden and to reduce risk to staff and funds, all payments to staff should be made directly to staff by depositing the funds in their bank accounts.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.12.2 All payments to staff should be deposited directly to their bank accounts.

Mission Response

1.12.2 Already implemented.

1.13 Replacement Staff

1.13.1 In a small Mission, the temporary absence of any employee impacts on operations. Also, at a Mission where Sunday is frequently a working day, staff may be working more overtime than they would prefer. To help in both of these circumstances, the Mission should develop a roster of employees or contractors who can easily step in to replace staff when required or to supplement staff during visits or emergencies. While the Mission maintains contact with retired employees, the Mission should also consider using part-time staff from the Mission in Rome as they already have an understanding of Mission operations. Rome's Drivers should also be considered for weekend work to help reduce the HOM Driver's overtime.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.13.2 Develop a roster of part-time employees and contractors to substitute for regular staff during absences.

Mission Response

1.13.2 A more rational system of replacement of staff during absences is now in place and a roster of available employees with Embassy experience has been established for this Mission.

1.14 LES Committee

1.14.1 While the Mission is too small to have its own LES Committee, the LES would benefit if at least one staff from the Holy See were to be a member of the LES Committee in Rome.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.14.2 The Mission should ensure that one of its LES becomes a member of the LES Committee in Rome.

Mission Response

1.14.2 Implemented. Our Administration Coordinator is now a member of the LES Committee in Rome.

1.15 Smoking in the Chancery

1.15.1 At present, smoking is occurring in the Chancery. This is in contravention with Departmental policy, and is subject to disciplinary action.

Recommendation for the Mission and RWD

1.15.2 Disciplinary action should be taken against any employee found to be smoking in the Chancery.

Mission Response

1.15.2 Measures have been taken to ensure that Departmental policy is respected in this matter.

RWD Response

1.15.2 Appropriate disciplinary action has been taken.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-24

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'Ambassade du Canada, Vatican

(Décembre 2001)

Sommaire

Une vérification de la mission auprès du Saint-Siège a été effectuée entre le 27 mars et le 5 avril 2001. La dernière vérification datait de 1994. La mission auprès du Saint-Siège a le même programme d'administration que la mission de Rome en Italie. Les deux missions ont été vérifiées simultanément et la vérification du programme d'administration se trouve dans le rapport de Rome.

La mission vient de terminer une année de grande activité, puisque c'était celle du Jubilé au Vatican. Elle se prépare maintenant à la Journée mondiale de la jeunesse qui se tiendra à Toronto en juillet 2002. Le pape et plus d'un million de visiteurs sont attendus à cette occasion. Un poste temporaire a été accordé à la mission pour participer à l'organisation de l'événement, et les préparatifs de celui-ci mobiliseront une partie importante de ses ressources l'année prochaine. La mission a obtenu également un nouveau poste d'adjoint administratif pour une période déterminée de deux ans.

Au moment de la vérification, le chef de mission (CDM) était en poste depuis six mois. Il a instauré une nouvelle approche plus dynamique. La révision des tâches attribuées au personnel, entamée avec l'ancien CDM, se poursuit et les employés traversaient une période d'incertitude. Les descriptions de travail de l'ensemble du personnel devront être revues.

S'agissant d'une petite mission dotée de deux employés canadiens et de trois employés recrutés sur place (ERP), ses capacités sont limitées. Pour réussir, elle doit concentrer ses forces, définir des priorités claires et approuvées par l'Administration centrale.

Ce rapport contient 12 recommandations. A la lumière des réponses reçues de la Mission et de l'Administration centrale, toutes les recommandations ont été mises en application ou sont en voie de l'être.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
CDM (plus chauffeur et domestiques)145
Personnel administratif et du programme134
Total279

Nota : La mission est appuyée également par un consul honoraire ecclésiastique.

Ressources matérielles

BiensPossédésLoués
Chancellerie 1
RO1 
LP 1
Véhicules1 

Informations financières 2000/2001

Salaires des ERP339 876 $
Exploitation396 696 $
Immobilisations45 000 $
Total781 572 $

Gestion de la mission

1.1 Vue d'ensemble

1.1.1 La mission vient d'achever avec succès l'année du Jubilé du Vatican et se prépare à la Journée mondiale de la jeunesse 2002 qui se déroulera à Toronto en juillet 2002. Le pape et plus d'un million de jeunes venant de 150 pays sont attendus.

1.1.2 Le nouveau CDM a instauré dans la mission une approche plus dynamique qui favorise la créativité, un plus grand engagement à l'égard des responsables du Vatican et davantage de rapports à l'Administration centrale et aux autres missions. Les rôles du personnel de la mission, qui avaient commencé à changer avec l'ancien CDM, continuent d'évoluer. Au moment de la vérification, les ERP se trouvaient encore en phase d'adaptation, et la plupart se sentaient mal à l'aise au sujet de leurs tâches et ne comprenaient pas entièrement en quoi consistaient leurs rôles. La mission devra consacrer du temps et de l'énergie pour que ses employés s'adaptent à leurs nouvelles fonctions. Ce processus sera facilité par la création de deux postes à durée déterminée, qui aideront la mission à faire face à ses obligations opérationnelles accrues (elle vient de recruter un adjoint au CDM (LE-06) et un adjoint pour les préparatifs de la JMJ (LE-06).)

1.1.3 Comme toutes les petites missions, celle du Saint-Siège doit chercher en permanence à concilier un programme dynamique avec la réalité de la gestion de ressources limitées. Il est essentiel de définir clairement des priorités, de concert avec l'Administration centrale, pour utiliser au mieux ces ressources restreintes. Le CDM a eu recours à l'entente de rendement à cette fin.

1.2 Personnel de la mission

1.2.1 Le CDM est appuyé par un conseiller canadien et par trois employés recrutés sur place : un assistant de recherche (LE 06), un coordinateur administratif (LE 05) et un assistant de communication/réceptionniste (LE 05). Tous les employés sont hautement qualifiés, peut-être même trop pour leurs tâches, et présentent une gamme étendue de compétences. Le CDM dispose également d'un chauffeur et de trois domestiques.

1.3 Rapports de la mission

1.3.1 La mission estime que ses rapports peuvent être utiles à d'autres missions et est en train maintenant d'élargir judicieusement son audience. Les relations avec le Vatican sont à la fois de nature bilatérale et multilatérale. Les objectifs de la mission sont fixés par le MAECI, mais la fréquence de ses rapports est laissée à sa discrétion. Aucun autre ministère n'attribue de tâche à la mission, bien que certains rapports soient susceptibles de les intéresser directement. Nous avons examiné un échantillon de rapports de la mission et les avons jugés de grande qualité.

1.4 Protocole d'entente pour les services administratifs

1.4.1 La mission a le même programme d'administration que la mission de Rome. Les relations avec ce programme sont régies par un protocole d'entente pour les services administratifs, aujourd'hui déposé et qui doit être mis à jour. Ce protocole d'accord doit notamment être élargi afin de porter sur tous les services fournis par le programme d'administration et doit contenir des normes de service. Il doit indiquer les services qui seront ou non assurés, et préciser leur prestataire. Il doit également définir le délai pour la fourniture des services, y compris ceux qui sont rares et urgents. Il doit être révisé au moins une fois par an. La mission peut également souhaiter déterminer avec Rome si d'autres services (de nature non administrative) pourraient être fournis le cas échéant, par exemple des services de traduction ou de presse.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.4.2 La mission doit renégocier son protocole d'entente pour les services administratifs, afin de le mettre à jour, de l'élargir et d'y inclure des normes de service. Elle doit également envisager d'autres domaines de collaboration avec la mission de Rome.

Réponse de la mission

1.4.2 Un nouveau protocole d'entente pour les services administratifs a été négocié et accepté par les deux missions. Il élargit sensiblement la portée de notre collaboration au-delà des secteurs administratifs. Le nouveau protocole d'entente doit être signé par les deux CDM dans les jours à venir.

1.5 Description de travail

1.5.1 Un examen des descriptions de travail des ERP a révélé qu'elles sont mal rédigées. La formulation était souvent maladroite et les tâches n'étaient pas indiquées clairement et en détail, les titulaires de deux postes doivent rendre compte à deux autorités en même temps. Il convient de reformuler toutes les descriptions de travail. Toutefois, il faut d'abord une période de stabilisation pour que les tâches à inclure dans les descriptions de travail soient précises et complètes et qu'elles reflètent bien le travail à accomplir. Les changements au sein de la mission et la mise à jour du protocole d'entente avec le programme d'administration risquent d'avoir des incidences sur les tâches. Par exemple, alors que les petites missions ont tendance à assumer la responsabilité du plus grand nombre de tâches administratives possibles, la mission aurait peut-être intérêt à s'assurer du soutien du programme d'administration et à recourir à son propre coordinateur administratif pour plus de fonctions.

1.5.2 Lorsque les descriptions de travail auront été reformulées, elles devront être soumises au comité de classification qui les examinera pour s'assurer qu'elles conviennent. Le comité de classification de Rome doit s'en charger et le conseiller de la mission auprès du Saint-Siège doit y participer.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.5.3 Examiner et reformuler toutes les descriptions de travail des ERP et les soumettre au comité de classification pour évaluation.

Réponse de la mission

1.5.3 La plupart des descriptions de travail des ERP ont été examinées et reformulées (y compris les deux nouvelles descriptions pour les nouveaux employés). Nous sommes également en train d'adapter la description de travail du coordinateur administratif. Elles seront bientôt soumises au comité de classification.

1.6 Calendrier de formation

1.6.1 Une formation, dispensée localement ou à l'Administration centrale, pourrait aider les employés à s'adapter à leurs nouvelles fonctions et à acquérir de nouvelles compétences et connaissances. Le processus d'évaluation est le meilleur moyen de cerner les besoins de formation.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.6.2 Élaborer un plan de formation pour l'ensemble du personnel.

Réponse de la mission

1.6.2 Un plan de formation a été élaboré et nous avons déjà proposé à notre coordinateur administratif de suivre un cours de gestion à Ottawa.

1.7 Politique en matière d'heures supplémentaires et son application

1.7.1 La mission n'a pas une approche cohérente en matière de rémunération des heures supplémentaires. Quand le personnel n'est pas traité d'une manière uniforme, son moral risque de s'en ressentir. La mission de Rome connaît un problème similaire et révisera sa politique en matière d'heures supplémentaires. La mission peut souhaiter coopérer avec Rome afin d'élaborer une politique et des pratiques communes.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.7.2 La mission doit veiller à pratiquer une politique en matière d'heures supplémentaires qui soit claire, comprise et appliquée de façon cohérente.

Réponse de la mission

1.7.2 Les mesures nécessaires ont été prises pour harmoniser notre politique en matière d'heures supplémentaires, et nous consultons l'ambassade de Rome afin d'appliquer des pratiques communes.

1.8 Création d'un site Web

1.8.1 La mission n'a pas encore de site Web. Comme un grand nombre des Canadiens qui communiquent avec la mission sont des touristes qui prévoient visiter le Vatican, un site Web pourrait être un excellent moyen de fournir des informations générales, de répondre à des questions fréquentes et d'offrir un lien vers les sites connexes (Vatican, ville de Rome, mission à Rome, etc). Ce site pourrait également réduire le nombre d'appels téléphoniques à la mission, libérant ainsi la réceptionniste pour d'autres tâches. La mission à Rome possède l'expérience de la création de sites Web et peut, de concert avec l'Administration centrale, aider la mission à mener ce projet à bien.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.8.2 Créer un site Web.

Réponse de la mission

1.8.2 Le projet de site Web est en cours de mise en oeuvre. Une proposition générale a déjà été préparée et, avec l'aide de SXIA et de REOP, notre site devrait être opérationnel d'ici fin novembre 2001.

1.9 Journaux d'accueil

1.9.1 Les journaux d'accueil du CDM ne sont pas signés conformément à la politique ministérielle d'accueil et à la LGFP. Le journal complet, y compris les reçus justificatifs, doivent être soumis à la signature d'autres employés canadiens. Nous préconisons que le conseiller et l'AGC procèdent à ces signatures de validation.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.9.2 Les journaux d'accueil du CDM doivent être signés conformément à la politique ministérielle d'accueil.

Réponse de la mission

1.9.2 Les journaux d'accueil du CDM qui, par erreur, n'ont pas été signés par l'AGC (deux rapports trimestriels) l'ont été. Tous les journaux sont signés conformément aux directives ministérielles d'accueil.

1.10 Réunions avec le programme d'administration

1.10.1 Bien que l'équipe d'administration de la mission réside à proximité, dans l'annexe de la chancellerie de Rome, cette séparation matérielle complique certainement les communications entre la mission auprès du Saint-Siège et l'équipe d'administration. Pour y remédier, des réunions régulières, tenues trois fois par an par exemple, devraient être organisées au Saint-Siège avec l'équipe d'administration, afin que l'environnement de travail et les besoins en services de la mission soient parfaitement compris. Il vaudrait mieux que ces réunions aient lieu au début de l'année financière à l'examen à mi-parcours et en fin d'année financière.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.10.2 La mission devrait rencontrer régulièrement l'ensemble de l'équipe d'administration.

Réponse de la mission

1.10.2 Les deux CDM communiquent régulièrement ainsi que l'équipe d'administration, avec la mission auprès du Vatican à laquelle elle fournit des services très efficaces. Maintenant que les employés sont de retour des vacances d'été, la mission organisera bientôt une réunion avec l'équipe d'administration au complet.

1.11 Informations financières

1.11.1 La mission n'a pas l'accès immédiat aux informations sur l'état de ses budgets. Elle reçoit ces informations périodiquement, ou sur demande, du programme d'administration. Pour permettre à la mission de disposer de données en temps voulu pour prendre ses décisions, elle doit être dotée du SGI pour simple lecture, et le personnel doit être formé pour extraire les informations requises.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.11.2 La mission doit demander qu'on lui fournisse le SGI pour simple lecture et la formation correspondante.

Réponse de la mission

1.11.2 La mission dispose maintenant du SGI pour simple lecture.

1.12 Avances et paiements en espèces

1.12.1 Le programme d'administration verse au personnel des avances en espèces. Les paiements aux employés de la RO sont également effectués par le CDM. Pour réduire la charge administrative et les risques pour le personnel et les fonds, tous les paiements aux employés doivent être effectués directement par virement sur leurs comptes bancaires.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.12.2 Tous les paiements au personnel doivent être virés directement sur leurs comptes bancaires.

Réponse de la mission

1.12.2 Déjà mis en oeuvre.

1.13 Personnel de remplacement

1.13.1 Dans une petite mission, l'absence temporaire d'un employé a une incidence sur les activités. De même, dans une mission où l'on travaille souvent le dimanche, les employés peuvent être contraints à faire plus d'heures supplémentaires qu'ils ne le souhaiteraient. Dans ces deux cas, la mission devrait constituer une liste d'employés ou d'entrepreneurs qui peuvent facilement remplacer un employé absent ou compléter le personnel pendant les visites ou en cas d'urgence. Même si elle reste en contact avec les employés en retraite, elle doit également envisager de recourir à des employés à temps partiel de la mission de Rome, car ils connaissent déjà les activités de la mission. On pourrait aussi envisager de demander aux chauffeurs de Rome de travailler les fins de semaine afin de réduire le nombre d'heures supplémentaires accomplies par le chauffeur du CDM.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.13.2 Dresser une liste d'employés ou d'entrepreneurs à temps partiel afin de remplacer le personnel permanent pendant ses absences.

Réponse de la mission

1.13.2 Un système plus rationnel de remplacement du personnel absent est désormais en place et une liste d'employés disponibles et possédant une expérience du travail en ambassade a été établie pour cette mission.

1.14 Comité des ERP

1.14.1 Bien que la mission soit trop petite pour avoir son propre comité des ERP, ces derniers auraient tout à gagner à ce qu'au moins un d'entre eux au Saint-Siège soit membre du comité des ERP de Rome.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.14.2 La mission doit veiller à ce qu'un de ses ERP soit membre du comité des ERP de Rome.

Réponse de la mission

1.14.2 C'est chose faite. Notre coordinateur administrateur est désormais membre du comité des ERP de Rome.

1.15 Fumeurs à la chancellerie

1.15.1 Actuellement, certaines personnes fument à la chancellerie. Cette pratique est contraire à la politique ministérielle et expose les contrevenants à des sanctions disciplinaires.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission et de RWD

1.15.2 Des sanctions disciplinaires doivent être prises à l'encontre de tout employé surpris en train de fumer dans la chancellerie.

Réponse de la mission

1.15.2 Des mesures ont été prises pour que la politique ministérielle en la matière soit respectée.

Réponse de RWD

1.15.2 Les sanctions disciplinaires qui s'imposaient ont été prises en la matière.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-24