Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian High Commission, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei

(February 2002)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations (GR), International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei during the period June 11 and 12, 2001. This is the first audit of the Mission since it opened in 1996.

Management of the Mission

For a Mission with only one Canada-Based Staff, the Head of Mission (HOM) is performing admirably in having Canada one of, if not, the highest profile Mission in Brunei. In addition, he is doing a sound job in managing the eight Locally-Engaged Staff (LES) and ensuring all Program objectives are being achieved. He is emphasizing a need for incremental resources, a decision the Department must take based on what it expects from this Mission. The Audit Team's view is that the Mission should move towards being more "fiscally conservative" given the limited returns that might be expected by adding more resources.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

The Public and Cultural Affairs component of this Program is very active. Extensive and positive media coverage on Canada is being generated thanks to the efforts of the HOM and a part-time Public Affairs consultant, on contract. The HOM believes a full-time Public Affairs Officer is needed. The Audit concludes there is adequate capacity within the Commercial Officer job packages to maintain a reasonable and cost-effective Program. The Audit Team believes the furthering of our already excellent image in Brunei would not necessarily translate into additional trade and investment opportunities.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

This is the dominant Program at the Mission and is consuming the greater part of the HOM's time. The HOM is assisted by two capable and enthusiastic Officers who are both relatively new to the Mission and are eager to learn. There is a requirement to prepare a Mission Business Plan to serve as a guide for all business development activities and an accountability document for assessing the performance of the Program. More emphasis needs to be placed on the Trade Commissioner Service's New Approach to ensure Brunei is consistent in delivering the same quality of services provided by our other missions to Canadian business people.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is a small one but it is well managed. The Mission has not yet issued its first passport although it is equipped to do so. The Consular Contingency Plan needs to be updated. The Mission will be reviewing the number of wardens required to provide effective coverage of Brunei.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program operates well, given the realities of micro-Mission life. However, goals and objectives need to be developed for the Section. The Hub and Spoke Agreement with Singapore needs to be strengthened, particularly with respect to Human Resources. There are issues that call for improved management of the Human Resources function. The Physical Resources, Finance and Information Management functions are all operating effectively.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

There were 21 recommendations contained in this report, 17 of which applied to the Mission and four for which Headquarters is responsible for their implementation. The current status finds that the Mission has implemented eight of the recommendations and nine are in the process of being implemented. The four Headquarters recommendations are currently in the process of being implemented.

Mission Resource Fact Sheet

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
International Business Development0.533.5
General Relations0.3 0.3
Consular 0.50.5
Common Services0.24.54.7
Total189

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery10
SQs10
Vehicles02

Financial Information 2001/02

LES Salaries (N012)$186,692
Operational (N001)180,283
CB Overtime (N011)45,800
Capital (N005)15,000
Total$427,775

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-21

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du Haut-commissariat du Canada, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei

(Février 2002)

Sommaire

Une vérification des programmes suivants : Relations générales (RG), Développement du commerce international (DCI) et Services consulaires et administratifs a été réalisée à Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunéi les 11 et 12 juin 2001. Il s'agit de la première vérification de la mission depuis son ouverture en 1996.

Gestion de la mission

Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une mission composée d'un seul employé canadien (EC), le chef de mission (CDM) réalise un excellent travail parvenant à faire de la mission une des plus en vue à Brunéi, sinon la première. Par ailleurs, il supervise très bien les huit employés recrutés sur place (ERP) et veille à ce que tous les objectifs des programmes soient atteints. Il souligne la nécessité de débloquer des fonds supplémentaires, décision que le Ministère doit prendre au vu de ses attentes concernant la mission. L'équipe de vérification pense que la mission devrait se montrer plus « fiscalement conservatrice » étant donné les retombées limitées d'éventuels crédits supplémentaires.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

Le volet Affaires publiques et culturelles de ce programme est très active. Grâce aux efforts du CDM et d'un consultant sous contrat à temps partiel, le Canada fait l'objet d'une vaste couverture médiatique positive. Le CDM juge nécessaire de disposer d'un agent des affaires publiques à plein temps. La vérification conclut que le poste d'agent commercial suffit à assurer un programme raisonnable et rentable. L'équipe de vérification pense que promouvoir davantage notre image déjà excellente à Brunéi ne se traduirait pas nécessairement par plus de débouchés commerciaux et d'investissement.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Programme de promotion du commerce international (DCI)

Il s'agit du programme phare de la mission et le CDM y consacre une grande partie de son temps. Ce dernier est assisté de deux agents compétents et enthousiastes, en poste depuis peu et qui ont soif d'apprendre. Il est nécessaire d'élaborer un plan d'activités pour la mission qui doit servir à encadrer toutes les activités de promotion du commerce et à l'aune duquel on mesurera le rendement du programme. Il convient d'accorder davantage d'importance à la Nouvelle approche du Service des délégués commerciaux pour s'assurer que Brunéi fournit la même qualité de services que nos autres missions aux gens d'affaires.

Programme de développement du commerce international - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires est modeste, mais bien géré. La mission n'a pas encore délivré son premier passeport, mais elle est équipée pour le faire. Le plan consulaire d'urgence doit être réactualisé. La mission révisera le nombre de coordinateurs d'urgence nécessaires pour assurer une couverture efficace de Brunéi.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

Les services administratifs fonctionnent bien au vu des réalités de la vie d'une micro-mission. Toutefois, des buts et des objectifs doivent être fixés pour cette section. L'accord de structure en étoile avec Singapour doit être renforcé, surtout au plan des ressources humaines. En effet, certaines questions exigent une amélioration du volet Ressources humaines. Les postes Ressources matérielles, Finances et Gestion de l'information sont tous gérés de manière efficace.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

Mise en oeuvre des recommandations

Le présent rapport a formulé 21 recommandations : 17 adressées à la mission et à l'Administration centrale, responsable de leur mise en oeuvre. À l'heure actuelle, la mission a suivi 8 de ces recommandations et 9 sont en cours d'application. Les quatre recommandations à l'Administration centrale sont en passe d'être appliquées.

Fiche technique des ressources de la mission

Personnel (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
Développement du commerce international0.533.5
Relations générales0.3 0.3
Services consulaires 0.50.5
Services généraux0.24.54.7
Total189

Ressources matérielles

BiensLoués par l'étatPossédés par l'état
Chancellerie10
LP10
Véhicules02

Informations financières 2001-2002

Salaires ERP (N012)186 692 $
Exploitation (N001)180 283
Heures supplémentaires EC (N011)45 800
Immobilisations (N005)15 000
Total427 775

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-21