Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Belgrade

(May 2002)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations (GR), the International Business Development (IBD), the Consular and the Administration Programs was conducted in Belgrade during the period June 12 to 15, 2001. A previous audit took place in May, 1996.

Management of the Mission

The Mission has focussed on and made considerable progress in re-establishing services in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) since it reopened in August 1999, after the March 1999 evacuation. Greater efforts are underway by Headquarters (HQ) and the Mission to determine future direction and resource requirements for all the Missions in the region.

However, more attention is required by the Mission in developing detailed work plans, at the Program level, to better define and control operational objectives, activities and outputs. Communications can be enhanced through more effective use of formal structures and administrative processes such as CMMs, retreats, staff meetings, an LES Committee, a Health and Safety Committee, appraisals and training plans.

Clarification is required, through consultations with HQ and the Missions in Skopje and Pristina, regarding the provision of Administrative and Consular services and the role of Belgrade as a Hub. An MOU outlining responsibilities and related services would eliminate existing confusion and improve effectiveness and efficiency.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations (GR) Program

Since the HOM reopened the Mission, she has been rebuilding the Program. The Program is now very active. However, Program planning could be improved. More effort is required to develop action plans outlining activities/strategies to accomplish Program objectives. In addition, Section meetings with other programs would help improve the communications and synergies within and between the GR and other programs.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The Commercial Section is small, consisting of a Commercial Officer and a Commercial Assistant. Soon after the Mission reopened, the Commercial Officer completed an extensive out-call program to former clients. The information gained from these meetings provided the basis for a very clear, well-documented IBD Strategy for the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY), taking into account the many sensitivities resulting from the NATO Campaign. The Program is experiencing an increase in commercial activity and, should the trend continue, there may be a point when the Section would benefit from the direction of an experienced Trade Commissioner to implement the IBD Strategy.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Program is well managed and operating in accordance with Program standards. However, there is no MOU governing the working relationship between Belgrade, Skopje and Pristina. Responsibilities are not clearly understood and practised. The Mission is making every effort to correct the situation. However, little cooperation is being received from the Spoke Missions. ***

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

For the most part, the Program is effectively managed. However, closer attention by the MCO and stronger controls, particularly for the Finance function, are required. Work planning needs to be strengthened. Each sub-section is independently planning and managing its own tasks. Greater overall planning is necessary with increased integration of the various Administration functions and improved communication. Staff indicated a desire for more information regarding Mission planning, events, and Program planning.

The development of Administrative Service Standards needs to be completed. This will help all staff by describing service expectations and assist management in measuring the performance of the administrative function.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations and Management Responses

A total of 39 audit recommendations are raised in the report, all of which are addressed to the Mission. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 39 recommendations, management has stated that 32 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the 7 remaining recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotalL
HOM Office347
IBD022
GR134
Development101
Immigration2911
Administration31922
Consular022
Security505
Total153954

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery1 
OR1 
SQs 14
Vehicles8 

Financial Information 2001/2002

LES Salaries$1,119,271
Operations$1,360,973
Capital$   136,300
CB Overtime$    8,800
Total$2,625,344

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-22

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada, Belgrade

(Mai 2002)

Sommaire

Une vérification des programmes suivants : Relations générales (RG), Promotion du commerce international (PCI) et Services consulaires et administratifs à Belgrade a été menée du 12 au 15 juin 2001. La précédente vérification de la mission date de mai 1996.

Gestion de la mission

La mission s'est concentrée sur le rétablissement des services dans la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (RFY), et des progrès considérables ont été réalisés depuis sa réouverture en août 1999 après son évacuation en mars de la même année. De nouveaux efforts sont déployés par l'Administration centrale (AC) et la mission pour définir l'orientation future et les besoins en ressources de toutes les missions de la région.

Toutefois, la mission doit se montrer plus attentive au développement de plans de travail détaillés au niveau des programmes, afin de mieux définir et contrôler les objectifs opérationnels, les activités et les résultats. Les communications pourraient être améliorées par une utilisation plus efficace de structures formelles et de processus administratifs tels que CGM, retraites, réunions du personnel, Comité ERP, Comité de la santé et de la sécurité, évaluations et plans de formation.

Une mise au point est nécessaire, dans le cadre de consultations avec l'AC et les missions de Skopje et de Pristina, concernant la prestation des services administratifs et consulaires et le rôle de Belgrade en tant que plaque tournante. Un protocole d'entente définissant les responsabilités et les services connexes supprimerait la confusion actuelle et améliorerait l'efficacité et la rentabilité.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

Depuis la réouverture de la mission, la CDM a reconstruit le programme et lui a redonné beaucoup de dynamisme. Toutefois, sa planification pourrait être améliorée, et l'on devrait développer des plans d'action qui définissent les activités et les stratégies nécessaires à la réalisation des objectifs. En outre, des réunions sectorielles avec les responsables d'autres programmes contribueraient à améliorer les communications et les synergies intra- et inter-programmes.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Promotion du commerce international (PCI)

La Section commerciale est modeste, ne comprenant qu'un agent commercial et un assistant commercial. Peu après la réouverture de la mission, l'agent commercial a mené à bien un large programme de sollicitation auprès d'anciens clients. L'information recueillie lors de ces rencontres a servi de référence pour la mise en place d'une stratégie claire et bien documentée de PCI en République fédérale de Yougoslavie (RFY), compte tenu des innombrables questions délicates soulevées par la campagne de l'OTAN. L'activité commerciale est à la hausse et, si la tendance se maintenait, il pourrait arriver un moment où la section pourrait bénéficier d'une gestion par un délégué commercial expérimenté pour la mise en oeuvre de sa stratégie PCI.

Promotion du commerce international - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires est bien géré et fonctionne conformément aux normes énoncées. Toutefois, il n'y a pas de protocole d'entente régissant les relations de travail entre Belgrade, Skopje et Pristina. Les responsabilités ne sont pas clairement comprises ni affirmées. La mission fait l'impossible pour corriger la situation. Toutefois, la collaboration des missions satellites est insuffisante.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

Le Programme des services administratifs est, globalement, efficacement géré. Toutefois, une attention plus soutenue du CF et des contrôles renforcés, notamment sur la fonction Finances sont nécessaires. Le travail de planification a également besoin d'être renforcé. Chaque sous-section planifie et gère indépendamment ses propres tâches. Une plus grande planification de base est nécessaire, avec une meilleure intégration des diverses fonctions administratives et une amélioration des communications. Le personnel a exprimé le souhait d'être mieux informé des projets de la mission, des événements prévus et des plans touchant les programmes.

La définition de normes pour le service administratif doit être menée à bonne fin. L'ensemble du personnel en bénéficiera du fait qu'elles décriront les attentes au niveau du service et aideront la gestion à mesurer le rendement de la fonction administrative.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Ce rapport contient 39 recommandations, qui s'adressent toutes à la mission. La direction a répondu à chaque recommandation en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions qui ont déjà été prises ainsi que celles à venir. Sur les 39 recommandations, la direction a fait savoir que 32 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour chacune des sept autres recommandations, la direction a indiqué quelles étaient les initiatives déjà en cours ou les actions futures envisagées.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammesECERPTotal
Bureau de la CDM347
PCI022
RG134
Promotion101
Immigration2911
Services administratifs31922
Services consulaires022
Sécurité505
Total153954

Ressources matérielles

BiensPropriétaireLocataire
Chancellerie1 
RO1 
LP 14
Véhicules8 

Informations financières 2001-2002

Salaires ERP1 119 271 $
Exploitation1 360 973 $
Immobilisations136 300 $
Heures supplémentaires EC8 800 $
Total2 625 344 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-22