Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Contributions to the Secretariat of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

(December 2002)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook an audit of the Contributions to the Secretariat of the United Nations (UN) Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The scope of the audit focussed on the Environmental Relations Division's (AER) management of these contribution arrangements. The Audit Team did not audit the Secretariat itself, but rather AER's efforts to manage this contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Policy.

Overall, we found that AER has taken reasonable steps to manage DFAIT's relationship with the CBD. AER, however, needs to exercise its authority to request audit reports prepared by the UN Board of External Auditors. Although appropriate steps are taken to monitor the Secretariat's activities and the use of contribution funds, audit reports would provide additional assurance that funds have been used as intended.

Recommendation Status

There was a total of four recommendations in this report for which the Division is responsible for their implementation. The current status finds that the Division has implemented two of these recommendations while two are in the process of being implemented.

Scope, Objectives and Methodology

1.1 Scope

1.1.1 This audit focussed on the Environmental Relations Division's (AER) management of the Contributions to the UN Secretariat of the CBD. The Audit Team did not audit the Secretariat itself, but rather AER's efforts to manage this contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Policy.

1.1.2 The primary focus of the audit was on the three contribution agreements in effect during fiscal year 2000-01. This audit examined AER's practices in accordance with the revised Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments, which came into effect on June 1, 2000.

1.2 Objectives

1.2.1 The objectives of this audit were to review AER's practices and controls in place for the management of the CBD contribution program as well as to identify potential improvements that would assist the Division in its administrative and operational frameworks surrounding this program. AER's practices were reviewed to ensure:

  • Contribution agreements were justified under appropriate authorities;
  • Contribution agreements were prepared in accordance with DFAIT's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • Payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved Terms and Conditions;
  • Funds paid out were spent by the Secretariat as intended and prudently; and,
  • Value-for-money was received through project monitoring and examination of final reports.

1.3 Methodology

1.3.1 To undertake this audit, relevant program documentation was reviewed and personnel in AER, the Area Management Office, Supplier Accounts and Program Analysis were interviewed.

Overview

2.1.1 The Convention on Biological Diversity came into effect in December 1993, pursuant to an agreement reached at the United Nations Conference of Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro. At that time, 168 nations were signatories to the Convention. The three main objectives of this Convention are:

  • the conservation of biological diversity;
  • the sustainable use of biological resources; and,
  • the equitable sharing of benefits derived from the use of genetic resources.

2.1.2 The Conference of the Parties (COP) is the governing body of the Convention. It meets periodically to advance implementation of the Convention through its decisions, including approval of activities for which DFAIT provides discretionary contributions.

2.1.3 The Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity was established under Article 24 of the Convention. Its functions are:

  • "To arrange for and service meetings of the Conference of the Parties provided for in Article 23;
  • To perform the functions assigned to it by any protocol;
  • To prepare reports on the execution of its functions under this Convention and present them to the Conference of the Parties;
  • To coordinate with other relevant international bodies and, in particular to enter into such administrative and contractual arrangements as may be required for the effective discharge of its functions; and,
  • To perform such other functions as may be determined by the Conference of the Parties." (1)

2.1.4 The Secretariat is administered by the United Nations Environmental Program (UNEP). The Secretariat is financed through contributions made to its three trust funds:

  • "BY" Trust Fund: General Trust Fund for the Convention. Represents the Secretariat's major source of funding and is comprised of assessed contributions from Parties, in accordance with the UN scales of assessment.
  • "BE" Trust Fund: Discretionary contributions in support of approved activities under the Convention (as approved by the COP).
  • "BZ" Trust Fund: Discretionary contributions to facilitate participation of Parties in the Convention Process (mostly travel costs).

DFAIT's contributions to the Secretariat are paid through the UNEP.

Observations and Recommendations

3.1.1 AER makes use of two Treasury Board authorities in fulfilment of DFAIT's obligations under the Convention on Biological Diversity. These authorities are reflected under two Funds; T602 and T689.

3.2 Fund T602

3.2.1 The first authority which AER uses for annual payments is TB***, which pertains to DFAIT's authority "to make contributions to international environmental programs, initiatives, organizations and international secretariats administering environmental agreements to which Canada is a party, or which support Canadian foreign policy environmental objectives"(2). Under this authority, AER makes, inter alia, payments to cover Canada's annual voluntary contribution. The Secretariat determines each country's annual fee. This annual contribution is paid under Fund T602 (International Environmental Agreements). Canada's share is approximately three percent of the total assessment. AER was not required to produce a contribution agreement in this instance, due to the nature of the contribution.

3.2.2 The Audit Team examined the authority under which US$49,500 was provided to the Secretariat to convene the First Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Forest Biological Diversity. This amount was for the support of on-going activities and was made under T602 (International Environmental Agreements) to support Canadian foreign policy objectives, consistent with the relevant TB Authority.

3.2.3 Upon project completion, the Secretariat submitted its final deliverables including: a final financial statement and narrative report as required in the agreement. The financial statement identified total incurred costs of US$17,767. As per terms of agreement, the recipient is required to return to the Receiver General of Canada funds which are not disbursed or accounted for, unless the funds can be accounted for under a different but related project. AER informed the Audit Team that it is working with the Secretariat to clarify the status of any unspent funds.

Recommendation for AER

3.2.4 AER should clarify the status of any unspent funds to ensure that they are directed to different but related projects as allowed under the authority before initiating recovery of the potential overpayment to the Secretariat.

AER Response

3.2.4 AER will seek information on the unspent funds to which the audit report makes reference and ensure they are being used appropriately, as per this recommendation. AER will ensure this approach is taken in following up on future ad hoc contributions.

3.3 Fund T689

3.3.1 In keeping with Canada's special responsibilities as the host country of the Secretariat of the Convention a US$400,000 contribution agreement was signed to provide financial assistance for the on-going activities of the Secretariat, to support approved activities in the implementation of the Convention during the period January to March 2001.

3.3.2 For this contribution, AER uses the second Treasury Board authority which is comprised of two components. DFAIT provided the Secretariat with a one-time contribution of $200,000 in 1995-96 to assist with the physical relocation of the Secretariat from Geneva to Montreal. The second component is DFAIT's authority to make contribution payments of US$800,000 per calendar year to the Secretariat in support of its on-going activities, in particular, to cover the cost of participation and travel of other member states. These contributions are paid under Fund T689 (Permanent Secretariat of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity).

3.3.3 The Audit Team observed that DFAIT made only one payment of US$400,000 to the Secretariat in 2000/01. In the same year, $400,000 was transferred to T602, under the International Environment Program authority. Although the transfer did not exceed the authority of T602, there was no documentation on file explaining the $400,000 transfer to T602.

Recommendation for AER

3.3.4 AER should ensure that all authority shortfalls and subsequent transfers to other authorities are fully documented and placed on file.

AER's Response

3.3.4 AER will continue to work closely with EAM and SMP, as appropriate, to ensure all transactions are properly documented. The Department will need to continue to demonstrate flexibility to ensure that the fact its budget year is not coterminous with that of the Secretariat does not result in funding shortfalls for the Secretariat.

3.4 Contribution Agreements

3.4.1 Both contribution agreements negotiated in 2000-01 met the basic requirements as per the new Policy on Grants and Contributions, with the one exception - the right of the Department to undertake an audit was not identified. For discretionary contributions to the Secretariat, ambiguity exists regarding the ability to exercise the audit provisions. It is important, however, to identify the dilemma between the Department and UN organizations, in terms of audit. Given the numerous member countries in these organizations, it is difficult for the Department to undertake an audit, without the support of other members. The Treasury Board's requirement to incorporate a clause indicating the Department's right to audit conflicts with the UN's practice on audits. This practice consists of audits being prepared by the UN Board of External Auditors. Canada is not specifically consulted by the UN on the scope of examination, relevance, objectives, reporting requirements or results of UN audits. However, it is our understanding that the reliability and integrity of the data will be consistent with the standards maintained by the UN in its financial managing and audit process.

3.4.2 The Secretariat has been subject to at least two audits by the UN Board of External Auditors, however, AER has not requested copies. These reports would provide AER with an assessment of the reliability and integrity of the financial information and provide an additional assurance that funds have been used as intended. While the Secretariat provides details on expenditures, there are no receipts to substantiate amounts shown. Reviewing independent audit reports would provide assurance regarding the integrity of financial claims for reimbursement of costs.

Recommendation for AER

3.4.3 AER should request audit reports prepared by the UN Board of External Auditors.

AER's Response

3.4.3 AER will request reports on the audits prepared to date by the UN Board of External Auditors and will further request that the Secretariat make future such reports available in a timely manner.

3.5 Monitoring and Reporting

3.5.1 Departmental monitoring of results achieved under the contribution agreements is carried out in part through DFAIT's representation at funded activities, after which a report is prepared on the content of the activity. Also the Deputy Director and Program Manager of AER attend the COP meetings. COP meets every second year to review budgets, to ascertain whether or not activities took place in accordance with expectations and to ensure funding to the recipient is used for agreed purposes. A report is prepared by the COP outlining the findings and the decisions made by member countries. Departmental representatives also prepare a report and debrief before and after the COP meetings, providing AER with appropriate monitoring to sustain program accountability.

3.5.2 The Secretariat provides AER with final reports including a detailed expenditure report as well as a substantive report as outlined in each contribution agreement. AER reviews the reports and ensures funds have been spent in accordance with the agreement. In one instance, the final narrative report prepared by the Secretariat identified member countries having provided funding for the conference, one of which being Canada. However, in the final report, Canada's financial contribution was excluded and the Program Manager did not bring this omission to the attention of the Secretariat. AER needs to follow up on these reports with the Secretariat when warranted.

Recommendation for AER

3.5.3 AER should follow up on project reports when the need arises.

AER Response

3.5.3 AER will continue to monitor project reports and ensure action is taken where necessary.


1 The Convention on Biological Diversity, Article 24.

2 Treasury Board submission

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-22

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions versées au secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique

(Décembre 2002)

Sommaire

Dans le cadre de l'examen ministériel des subventions et contributions, la Direction de la vérification (SIV) a vérifié les contributions versées au secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. La vérification a porté essentiellement sur la gestion par la Direction des relations environnementales (AER) des arrangements relatifs aux contributions. La mission de l'équipe de vérification n'avait pas pour objet le secrétariat lui-même, mais plutôt les efforts déployés par AER pour administrer ce programme de financement conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère.

Dans l'ensemble, nous avons constaté qu'AER a agi de manière raisonnable dans la gestion des rapports entre le MAECI et le secrétariat. Toutefois, AER se doit d'exercer son droit d'accès aux rapports de vérification du Comité des commissaires aux comptes de l'ONU. Malgré le fait que des mesures utiles soient prises pour faire le suivi des activités du secrétariat et de l'utilisation des fonds, les rapports de vérification fourniraient une assurance supplémentaire que les fonds ont été utilisés comme prévu.

État des recommandations

Globalement, quatre recommandations sont énoncées dans le présent rapport et la Direction est chargée de les mettre en oeuvre. L'examen de la situation actuelle révèle que la Direction a mis en oeuvre deux de ces recommandations, tandis que les deux autres sont en cours de mise en oeuvre.

Étendue de la vérification , objectifs et méthodes

1.1 Étendue de la vérification

1.1.1 La vérification a porté essentiellement sur la gestion par la Direction des relations environnementales (AER) des contributions versées au secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. La mission de l'équipe de vérification n'avait pas pour objet le secrétariat lui-même, mais plutôt les efforts déployés par AER pour administrer ce programme de financement conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère.

1.1.2 La vérification portait principalement sur les trois arrangements relatifs aux contributions en vigueur pendant l'exercice financier 2000-2001. L'examen visait les pratiques d'AER à la lumière de la politique révisée du Conseil du Trésor relativement aux paiements de transfert, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2000.

1.2 Objectifs

1.2.1 L'équipe de vérification avait pour objectifs d'examiner les pratiques et les contrôles en place à AER pour administrer le programme de financement de la Convention sur la diversité biologique ainsi que de déterminer les améliorations à apporter pour aider la Direction à préciser le cadre entourant l'administration et le fonctionnement de ce programme. Les pratiques en place à AER ont été examinées dans le but de vérifier si les critères suivants étaient respectés :

  • Les arrangements relatifs aux contributions étaient justifiés en vertu des autorisations pertinentes;
  • Les arrangements relatifs aux contributions respectaient la politique du MAECI en matière de paiements de transfert;
  • Les paiements étaient conformes aux modalités fixées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • Les fonds versés avaient été affectés comme prévu et avec prudence par le secrétariat;
  • Le suivi des projets et l'examen des rapports finaux ont révélé une utilisation optimale des ressources.

1.3 Méthode

1.3.1 Pour effectuer cette vérification, nous avons examiné des documents pertinents relatifs au programme et interrogé des membres du personnel d'AER, du Bureau de l'administration du secteur, des Comptes des fournisseurs et de l'Analyse de programme.

Aperçu

2.1.1 La Convention sur la diversité biologique est entrée en vigueur en décembre 1993, à la suite d'un accord conclu dans le cadre de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement et le développement tenue à Rio de Janeiro. À l'époque, on comptait 168 États signataires de la Convention. Les trois principaux objectifs visés par la Convention sont les suivants :

  • la conservation de la diversité biologique;
  • l'utilisation durable des ressources biologiques;
  • le partage juste et équitable des avantages découlant de l'exploitation des ressources génétiques.

2.1.2 La Conférence des Parties est l'organe directeur de la Convention. Les membres tiennent régulièrement des réunions pour faire progresser la mise en oeuvre de la Convention par la prise de décisions, notamment par l'approbation d'activités pour lesquelles le MAECI assure un financement discrétionnaire.

2.1.3 Le secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique a été institué en vertu de l'article 24 de la Convention. Ses fonctions sont les suivantes :

  • « Organiser les réunions de la Conférence des Parties prévues à l'article 23 et en assurer le service;
  • S'acquitter des fonctions qui lui sont assignées en vertu de tout protocole à la présente Convention;
  • Établir des rapports sur l'exercice des fonctions qui lui sont assignées en vertu de la présente Convention et les présenter à la Conférence des Parties;
  • Assurer la coordination avec les autres organismes internationaux compétents, et en particulier conclure les arrangements administratifs et contractuels qui pourraient lui être nécessaires pour s'acquitter efficacement de ses fonctions;
  • S'acquitter de toutes autres fonctions que la Conférence des Parties pourrait décider de lui assigner. »(1)

2.1.4 Le secrétariat est administré par le Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement (UNEP). Le financement du secrétariat est assuré au moyen de contributions à ses trois fonds d'affectation :

  • Fonds d'affectation « BY » : Fonds d'affectation générale pour la Convention et principale source de financement, constitué de versements estimatifs par les Parties, conformément au barème des quotes-parts de l'ONU.
  • Fonds d'affectation « BE » : Contributions volontaires destinées à certaines activités approuvées dans le cadre de la Convention (telles qu'elles sont autorisées par la Conférence des Parties).
  • Fonds d'affectation « BZ » : Contributions volontaires versées dans le but de faciliter la participation des Parties au processus de la Convention (principalement les frais de déplacement).

Les contributions du MAECI au secrétariat sont effectués par l'entremise de l'UNEP.

Observations et recommandations

3.1.1 AER s'appuie sur deux décisions du Conseil du Trésor pour remplir les obligations du MAECI en vertu de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. Ces décisions se matérialisent dans deux fonds : T602 et T689.

3.2 Fonds T602

3.2.1 La première décision en vertu de laquelle AER effectue les paiements annuels est la circulaire TB***, selon laquelle le MAECI est autorisé à « contribuer aux programmes internationaux et initiatives en matière d'environnement ainsi qu'aux organismes et secrétariats internationaux chargés d'administrer les accords sur l'environnement auxquels le Canada est partie ou qui soutiennent les objectifs de la politique étrangère du Canada dans le domaine de l'environnement » [traduction] (2). En vertu de cette décision, AER effectue, entre autres choses, des paiements correspondant à la contribution volontaire annuelle du Canada. Le secrétariat établit le financement annuel de chaque pays. Cette contribution annuelle est versée en vertu du Fonds T602 (accords internationaux sur l'environnement). La part du Canada se chiffre environ à trois pour cent de l'estimation globale. AER n'a pas eu à produire d'accord de financement dans ce cas-ci, en raison de la nature de la contribution.

3.2.2 L'équipe de vérification a examiné la décision en vertu de laquelle la somme de 49 500 dollars américains a été versée au secrétariat pour tenir la première réunion du Groupe spécial d'experts techniques sur la diversité biologique des forêts. Cette somme, destinée aux activités courantes, a été tirée du Fonds T602 (accords internationaux sur l'environnement) en appui aux objectifs de la politique étrangère du Canada, conformément à la décision pertinente du Conseil du Trésor.

3.2.3 À l'expiration du projet, le secrétariat a présenté ses extrants, soit notamment une déclaration finale et un rapport détaillé, conformément à l'accord. Selon les états financiers, les frais engagés s'élèvent globalement à 17 767 dollars américains. Selon l'accord, le bénéficiaire est tenu de remettre au Receveur général du Canada les fonds qui ne sont pas versés ou affectés à un projet différent, mais connexe. AER a informé l'équipe de vérification que la Direction collabore avec le secrétariat pour préciser la situation relative de tous les fonds inutilisés.

Recommandation à l'intention d'AER

3.2.4 AER devrait préciser la situation de tous les fonds inutilisés afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient réaffectés à des projets différents, mais connexes, conformément à la décision, avant d'amorcer le recouvrement des trop-payés éventuels auprès du secrétariat.

Réponse d'AER

3.2.4 AER cherchera à obtenir de l'information au sujet des fonds inutilisés auquel fait référence le rapport et veillera à ce qu'ils soient affectés correctement, en conformité avec la recommandation. AER fera en sorte que cette approche soit adoptée relativement au suivi des contributions spéciales futures.

3.3 Fonds T689

3.3.1 En conformité avec les responsabilités spéciales du Canada à titre de pays d'accueil du secrétariat de la Convention, un accord de financement se chiffrant à 400 000 dollars américains a été signé en vue de financer les activités courantes du secrétariat, afin de soutenir les activités approuvées dans la mise en oeuvre de la Convention pendant la période allant de janvier à mars 2001.

3.3.2 En ce qui concerne ce mécanisme de financement, AER se sert de la deuxième décision du Conseil du Trésor, qui comporte deux volets. Le MAECI a versé au secrétariat une contribution unique d'une valeur de 200 000 dollars pendant l'exercice 1995-1996 pour la réinstallation matérielle du secrétariat de Genève à Montréal. Le deuxième volet relève de la décision du MAECI d'effectuer des versements de 800 000 dollars américains par année civile au secrétariat destinés à soutenir ses activités courantes, en particulier aux frais de participation et de déplacement d'autres États membres. Ces contributions sont effectuées en vertu du Fonds T689 (secrétariat permanent de la Convention sur la diversité biologique).

3.3.3 L'équipe de vérification a noté le fait que le MAECI a effectué un seul versement au secrétariat de 400 000 dollars américains pendant l'exercice 2000-2001. Au cours du même exercice, une somme de 400 000 dollars a été versée au Fonds T602, en vertu de la décision relative aux programmes internationaux en matière d'environnement. Malgré le fait que le transfert n'était pas supérieur à la décision relative au Fonds T602, il n'y avait aucune documentation au dossier pour expliquer le transfert de 400 000 dollars au Fonds T602.

Recommandation à l'intention d'AER

3.3.4 AER devrait veiller à ce que tout document manquant relatif aux décisions et aux transferts ultérieurs en vertu d'autres décisions soit produit et versé au dossier.

Réponse d'AER

3.3.4 AER continuera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec le Bureau de l'administration du secteur - Politique commerciale et économique (EAM) et la Direction de la planification, de l'analyse des programmes et des budgets (SMP), s'il y a lieu, afin de veiller à ce que tous les documents pertinents soient produits à l'appui des opérations. Le Ministère devra continuer à faire preuve de souplesse afin de s'assurer que le fait que son année budgétaire ne coïncide pas avec celle du secrétariat ne résulte pas en un manque de financement du secrétariat.

3.4 Accords de financement

3.4.1 Les deux accords de financement négociés pour l'exercice 2000-2001 répondaient aux exigences de base de la nouvelle Politique relative aux subventions et contributions, à une exception près : le droit du Ministère d'effectuer une mission de vérification n'était pas précisé. En ce qui concerne les contributions discrétionnaires au secrétariat, il existe une ambiguïté quant aux dispositions relatives à la vérification. Il importe donc de sortir du dilemme existant entre le Ministère et les organismes de l'ONU quant aux missions de vérification. Compte tenu du nombre élevé d'États membres de ces organisations, il est difficile pour le Ministère d'entreprendre une mission de vérification sans l'appui des autres membres. L'exigence du Conseil du Trésor d'intégrer une clause indiquant que le Ministère est habilité à effectuer des vérifications n'est pas conforme aux pratiques de l'ONU en matière de vérification. Selon ces pratiques, les vérifications relèvent du Comité des commissaires aux comptes de l'ONU. Le Canada n'est pas consulté expressément par l'ONU au sujet de l'étendue de la vérification, de la pertinence, des objectifs, des exigences relatives aux déclarations ou des résultats des vérifications de l'ONU. Cependant, il est entendu que la fiabilité et l'intégrité des données doivent respecter les normes mises en place par l'ONU dans son processus de gestion et de vérification financière.

3.4.2 Le secrétariat a été l'objet d'au moins deux vérifications par le Comité des commissaires aux comptes de l'ONU, mais AER n'a pas demandé de copies des rapports. Ces rapports fourniraient à AER une évaluation de la fiabilité et de l'intégrité de l'information financière, de même qu'une assurance supplémentaire que les fonds ont été utilisés comme prévu. Le secrétariat fournit des renseignements détaillés sur les dépenses, mais aucune pièce justificative n'accompagne les montants indiqués. L'examen des rapports de vérification indépendants fournirait l'assurance de l'intégrité des demandes de remboursement des frais.

Recommandation à l'intention d'AER

3.4.3 AER devrait demander à recevoir les rapports de vérification du Comité des commissaires aux comptes de l'ONU.

Réponse d'AER

3.4.3 AER demandera à recevoir les rapports de vérification établis jusqu'à ce jour par le Comité des commissaires aux comptes de l'ONU et demandera en outre que le secrétariat rende dorénavant ces rapports accessibles en temps opportun.

3.5 Suivi et déclarations

3.5.1 Le suivi ministériel des résultats relatifs aux accords de financement est effectué en partie au moyen de la représentation du MAECI aux activités financées, puis de l'élaboration d'un rapport sur le contenu de l'activité. En outre, le directeur adjoint et le gestionnaire de programme d'AER participent aux réunions de la Conférence des Parties. La Conférence des Parties se réunit tous les deux ans pour examiner les budgets, vérifier si les activités se sont déroulées comme prévu et s'assurer que les fonds remis au bénéficiaire sont utilisés comme il se doit. La Conférence des Parties établit un rapport sur les constatations et les décisions des États membres. Des représentants ministériels établissent aussi un rapport et tiennent une séance d'information avant et après les réunions, fournissant à AER un suivi pertinent à l'appui de la reddition de comptes en ce qui concerne le programme.

3.5.2 Le secrétariat fournit à AER des rapports finaux, notamment un compte rendu détaillé des dépenses ainsi qu'un rapport de fond, comme il est précisé dans chacun des accords de financement. AER examine les rapports et vérifie si les affectations de fonds sont conformes à l'accord. Dans l'un des cas, le rapport final établi par le secrétariat indiquait les États membres qui avaient financé la conférence et l'un d'entre eux était le Canada. Toutefois, dans le rapport final, le financement par le Canada était exclu et le gestionnaire de programme n'avait pas signalé cette omission au secrétariat. AER doit faire le suivi de ces rapports avec le secrétariat au besoin.

Recommandation à l'intention d'AER

3.5.3 AER devrait faire le suivi des rapports au besoin.

Réponse d'AER

3.5.3 AER continuera de faire le suivi des rapports de projet et veillera à ce que les mesures nécessaires soient prises au besoin.


1 Convention sur la diversité biologique, article 24.

2 Présentation au Conseil du Trésor

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-22