Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Budapest

(October 2002)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations (GR), the International Business Development (IBD), the Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Budapest during the period June 5 to11, 2001. A previous audit took place in August, 1994. The Mission is accredited to both Hungary and Slovenia and is the Hub to the Spoke Missions of Zagreb and Sarajevo providing support to their trade, investment and administrative activities.

Management of the Mission

The Mission is experiencing management difficulties. The management team is not working together as a cohesive unit, the MCO position has been vacant since the fall of 2000, and there is a need for more communication at all levels. Recommendations are being raised regarding more regular CMMs, effective use of work plans and development of communication strategies.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations (GR) Program

The GR Program requires improved management. Staff require objectives and work plans that outline activities, expected results and due dates. Some staff are experiencing difficulties in carrying out their work, but the style in managing these difficulties needs to be improved if they are to be corrected. The Mission has a very active Public Affairs Program which is impressive.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The IBD staff are dedicated, experienced and hard-working officers. The Program Manager is a long serving professional Trade Commissioner who is held in high regard by his staff and local business contacts. The Program Manager is renewing the Program for the region. He has developed an ambitious plan that calls for an active out-call program to re-establish old and acquire new contacts. The success of the plan will draw heavily upon effective integration and communications between all parties in the region. The Trade Commissioner needs to communicate more frequently and effectively to the HOM.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is operating effectively under the management of the DMCO and an experienced and dedicated Consular Officer. Assistance is provided to the Spoke Missions of Sarajevo and Zagreb as stipulated in the Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) between the Spokes and the Hub (Budapest).

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Program was operating without a full-time MCO for eight months until the new MCO arrived in June, 2001. The absence of an MCO has placed considerable strain on the Administration Program which is reflected in the issues raised in this report. Program planning needs to be strengthened and roles and responsibilities need to be adjusted. Communications within the Program and with clients would benefit from regular Program meetings, the development of service standards and increased dialogue with other Programs.

Greater compliance with Departmental administrative policies is required relating to the employment status of certain LES, hospitality guidelines, the hiring of contractors and financial procedures concerning signing authorities and account verification.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations and Management Responses

A total of 55 audit recommendations are raised in the report, 54 are addressed to the Mission and one is addressed to HQ. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 55 recommendations, management has stated that 44 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the 11 remaining recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
HOM Office246
General Relations145
International Business Development156
Administration3912
Consular 11
DND2 2
Development 22
Total92534

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery-1
OR-1
SQs44
Vehicles6 

Financial Information 2001-2002

LES Salaries N012$497,692
Operational N0011,119,681
CB Overtime N011/01047,900
Capital N00588,000
Total$1,713,273

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-09

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada, Budapest

(Octobre 2002)

Sommaire

Une vérification a été menée à Budapest du 5 au 11 juin 2001. Elle visait les programmes suivants : Relations générales (RG), Promotion du commerce international (PCI) et Services consulaires et administratifs. La dernière vérification remontait au mois d'août 1994. La mission de Budapest est accréditée en Hongrie et en Slovénie; elle joue le rôle de plaque tournante pour les missions satellites de Zagreb et de Sarajevo, auxquelles elle accorde son assistance dans les secteurs du commerce, des investissements et de l'administration.

Gestion de la mission

La mission connaît certaines difficultés sur le plan de la gestion : l'équipe pêche par manque de cohésion et le poste d'AGC est vacant depuis l'automne 2000. Une amélioration des communications à tous les niveaux est indispensable. Plusieurs recommandations ont été formulées en faveur de rencontres plus fréquentes du CGM, d'une utilisation efficace des plans de travail, ainsi que de la mise en place de stratégies de communication.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

La gestion du Programme des relations générales demande à être améliorée. Le personnel a besoin d'objectifs et de plans de travail qui définissent les activités, précisent les résultats escomptés et fixent les échéances. Plusieurs employés rencontrent des difficultés pour accomplir leur travail; l'approche de ces problèmes doit être affinée si l'on veut remédier à la situation. La mission dispose par ailleurs d'un Programme d'affaires publiques très dynamique et impressionnant.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Promotional du commerce international

Le personnel du Programme de promotion du commerce international (PCI) est composé d'agents dévoués, expérimentés et travailleurs. Le gestionnaire de programme est un délégué commercial professionnel et chevronné, qui est très estimé de ses subordonnés et de ses contacts dans les milieux d'affaires locaux. Il a entrepris une refonte du programme régional et a mis au point un plan ambitieux de sollicitation d'entreprises canadiennes, dans le but de réactiver ses relations avec d'anciens contacts ou pour en trouver de nouveaux. La réussite de l'opération nécessitera une intégration effective ainsi que des communications efficaces entre toutes les parties prenantes. Le délégué commercial se doit de communiquer plus fréquemment et plus efficacement avec la CDM.

Promotion du commerce international (PCI) - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires fonctionne sous la direction de l'AGCA et d'un agent consulaire expérimenté et dévoué. Le Programme bénéficie du soutien des missions satellites de Sarajevo et de Zagreb, comme le prévoient les protocoles d'entente (PE) conclus entre les satellites et la mission centrale (Budapest).

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

Le Programme des services administratifs a fonctionné sans AGC à temps plein pendant huit mois, jusqu'à l'arrivée du nouvel AGC en juin 2001. L'absence d'un AGC s'est fait cruellement ressentir sur le fonctionnement du Programme comme l'attestent les problèmes relatés dans ce rapport. Il faudrait que la planification du Programme soit consolidée et que les rôles et responsabilités soient modifiés. La tenue de rencontres régulières au sein du Programme, la mise en place de normes de services et l'instauration d'un dialogue plus fécond avec les responsables des autres programmes profiteraient aux communications internes ou avec les clients.

Une application plus rigoureuse des politiques administratives du Ministère est nécessaire, notamment en ce qui concerne le statut de certains employés recrutés sur place, les directives sur la représentation, l'embauche des entrepreneurs ou encore les procédures financières relatives au pouvoir de signature et à la vérification des comptes.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Ce rapport contient 55 recommandations, dont 54 s'adressent à la mission et une à l'Administration centrale. La direction a répondu à chaque recommandation en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions qui ont déjà été prises, ainsi que celles à venir. Sur les 55 recommandations, la direction a fait savoir que 44 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour chacune des 11 autres recommandations, la direction a indiqué quelles étaient les initiatives déjà en cours ou les actions futures envisagées.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
Cabinet CDM246
Relations générales145
Promotion du commerce international156
Services administratifs3912
Services consulaires 11
MDN2 2
Développement 22
Total92534

Ressources matérielles

BiensPossédés Loués
Chancellerie-1
RO-1
LP44
Véhicules6 

Informations financières 2001-2002

Salaires N012497 692 $
Exploitation N0011 119 681
Heures supplémentaires EC N011/01047 900
Immobilisations N00588 000
Total1 713 273 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-09