Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Human Security Program (HSP)

(February 2002)

Executive Summary

At the request of the Peacebuilding and Human Security Division (AGP), the Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook, in the fall of 2001, an audit of selected Human Security Program (HSP) project files. This audit was conducted to provide AGP with an assessment of its compliance with the Departmental policy as it applies to contributions.

The Peacebuilding and Human Security Division (AGP) delivers DFAIT's Human Security Program. The program is funded until 2005, and is managed by two Program Managers. The total value of the Human Security Program is $10 million, with approximately 90 projects funded. Nine files were audited, representing ten percent of the total number of projects.

The project files audited were in compliance with Departmental policy. The nine project files were audited against a generic SIV audit checklist that is used for grants and contributions audits. Files were well organized and contained all of the required documentation. All Contribution Agreements reviewed included clauses obligating recipients to keep records and to provide reports, and the right of the Minister to audit.

Although the project files audited were in compliance with Departmental Policy, AGP could improve its documentation of each recipient's performance by preparing an overall assessment report, providing a sound base to evaluate each project and complete the file.

This report contains four recommendations. All four have been effectively dealt with by Program Management.

Scope and Objective

The scope of this audit included an examination of nine project files from the fiscal year 2000/2001. The approach included an examination of relevant documentation on file and interviews with divisional staff. AGP requested this audit to assess program compliance with Departmental Procedures and Policy with respect to its processes in grants and contributions management. This was the first time AGP had requested an independent audit of the Human Security Program project files.

Oberservations and Recommendations

1.1 Project Applications

1.1.1 All the files reviewed contained the applicants' request for funding. Requests contained sufficient information to enable Program Managers to assess the project against program criteria.

1.2 Review, Eligibility and Approval

1.2.1 All the files examined contained a project assessment in the form of a Human Security Program project proposal sheet. The proposal sheet included a project description and assessment of relevance and sustainability, as well as a performance framework showing identifiable risks and mitigation strategies. The risks identified related to the project not succeeding or results not being achieved, and these were succinctly addressed in the proposal document. Files showed that project stakeholders (for example, other Divisions and CIDA) were consulted, and all files contained a Project Approval document. Approval of the Minister was obtained as per requirements of the Treasury Board Submission.

1.3 Agreements and Payments

1.3.1 All agreements examined made use of a Departmental template created for Contribution Agreements, with Annex A, "Estimated Budget", duly completed in each case.

1.3.2 The vetting of all draft agreements by SMFH prior to signature of the recipient is an AGP best practice. Vetting of agreements by SMFH was found in only four of the project files, representing 45 percent of the sample. Those files not vetted by SMFH were found to incorporate the appropriate terms and conditions in the Contribution Agreement.

1.3.3 In each file examined, it was found that final payment was made based on a project activity report, which provided a detailed analysis on project outcomes, accompanied by a financial report showing a summary of expenditures incurred. The financial reports varied in format and level of detail and were not certified by an appropriate recipient representative. Discussions with management revealed they were searching for the best practices on closing the financial component of projects, including certification of financial reports or the actual audit of recipients.

Recommendations for AGP

1.3.4 Draft Contribution Agreements should be vetted by SMFH prior to their being sent for signature to the recipient organization.

1.3.5 For purposes of closing the financial component of projects, procedures should be developed that include the following elements: risk assessment of recipients; program requirements for recipient financial reports, including sign off by recipient representative; and program requirements for audit of recipients. AGP should take into account the directives provided by the Treasury Board Guide on Transfer Payments.

AGP Responses

1.3.4 SMFH has agreed to AGP's request to review the standard HSP Contribution Agreement template. SMFH will indicate to us those words or phrases that we can modify to suit specific projects without incurring the need for subsequent vetting by SMFH. It is agreed that any HSP Contribution Agreement that we modify beyond the words or phrases that SMFH has indicated will in future be vetted by SMFH prior to their being sent for signature to the recipient organization.

1.3.5 AGP has added a new section and revised the terms of its "Project Administration Risk Management Framework". This new 'check-list' is placed on each project file.

1.4 Monitoring and Reporting

1.4.1 In each of the nine files examined, a final activity report, as well as an expenditure report, had been received as stipulated in the Contribution Agreement. In seven of the files, there was no assessment of the final project activity reports by Project Officers in the form of commentary on or challenge to the recipient reports. AGP has developed a "Project Administration Risk Management Framework" control checklist which is quite detailed. Being a recently developed tool, it was used in only three of the projects, and was not fully completed in those cases. The Project Officer's overall assessment, plus the Human Security Program checklist, would not only complete the file but also provide a sound base to evaluate each project. It would facilitate a year-end assessment of all program activities that is not currently being completed for all projects.

Recommendations for AGP

1.4.2 The Human Security Program developed control checklist should be utilized throughout the project life-cycle to improve ongoing monitoring.

1.4.3 A project completion or summary report should be developed and implemented to improve evaluation of program objectives.

AGP Responses

1.4.2 All Project Officers in AGP and IDC will be instructed to use the above check-list throughout the project life-cycle and sign off at the end of each project thereby closing the file.

1.4.3 The new 'Project Closing' section of the revised project checklist contains space for "project notes". Project Officers will be directed to provide a summary or evaluation of the project, as needed, or for them to make observations or lessons-learned about the project where these are not found in the recipient's final narrative or financial report.

1.5 Project Management

1.5.1 All files were well organized. The status of all files was apparent, making it easy to transfer files to a new officer.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-10

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du programme de sécurité humaine (PSH)

(Février 2002)

Résumé

À la demande de la Direction de la consolidation de la paix et de la sécurité humaine (AGP), la Division de la vérification interne (SIV) a entrepris à l'automne 2001 une vérification de certains dossiers de projets touchant le Programme de sécurité humaine (PSH). Il s'agissait de s'assurer qu'AGP se conformait à la politique ministérielle en matière de contributions.

AGP est responsable du PSH du MAECI, programme financé jusqu'en 2005 et dirigé par deux gestionnaires. La valeur totale du PSH atteint 10 millions de dollars répartis entre environ 90 projets. Neuf dossiers ont été vérifiés, ce qui représente 10 % du nombre de projets.

Les dossiers étaient conformes à la politique ministérielle. Ils ont été examinés en regard d'une liste de contrôle générique de SIV utilisée dans le cadre de la vérification des contributions et des subventions. Les dossiers étaient bien préparés et contenaient toute la documentation nécessaire. Tous les accords de contribution examinés comprenaient des clauses obligeant les bénéficiaires à tenir des registres et à fournir des rapports et octroyant au ministre le droit d'effectuer des vérifications.

Bien que les dossiers aient été conformes, AGP pourrait améliorer la documentation du rendement des bénéficiaires en préparant un rapport d'évaluation général, de façon à étayer l'évaluation de chaque projet et à clore les dossiers.

Le présent rapport contient quatre recommandations auxquelles les gestionnaires ont donné effectivement suite.

Portée et objectif

Il s'agissait d'examiner neuf dossiers traités pendant l'exercice de 2000-2001, particulièrement les documents pertinents et les entrevues tenues avec le personnel de la Direction. AGP a demandé la vérification afin de s'assurer que le programme était conforme aux procédures et politiques ministérielles touchant les processus de gestion des subventions et des contributions. C'était la première fois qu'AGP demandait une vérification indépendante des dossiers du PSH.

Observations et recommandations

1.1 Soumission de projets

1.1.1 Tous les dossiers examinés comprenaient les demandes de subvention, qui étaient suffisamment détaillées pour permettre aux gestionnaires d'évaluer le projet en fonction des critères du programme.

1.2 Étude, admissibilité et approbation

1.2.1 Tous les dossiers examinés faisaient l'objet d'une évaluation rédigée selon la formule de proposition de projet du PSH où étaient consignés la description du projet et l'évaluation de la pertinence et de la durabilité ainsi que le cadre de rendement établissant les risques identifiables et les stratégies d'atténuation. Les risques constatés pouvant faire échouer le projet ou nuire à l'atteinte de ses objectifs étaient traités de manière succincte dans la proposition. Il s'avérait que les intéressés (par exemple les autres directions et l'ACDI) avaient été consultés et les dossiers contenaient tous un document d'approbation. L'approbation du ministre a été obtenue conformément aux exigences de présentations au Conseil du Trésor.

1.3 Accords et paiements

1.3.1 Tous les accords examinés avaient été élaborés selon le modèle ministériel créé pour les accords de contribution et l'annexe « A », « Budget prévu », avait été remplie dans chaque cas.

1.3.2 L'examen détaillé par SMFH de toutes les ébauches des accords préparées avant la signature du bénéficiaire est l'une des meilleures pratique d'AGP, mais il n'a été effectué que pour quatre dossiers, soit 45 % de l'échantillon, les cinq autres répondant par contre aux conditions requises dans l'Accord de contribution.

1.3.3 Pour chaque dossier examiné, on a constaté un paiement final effectué selon un rapport d'activités comprenant une analyse approfondie des résultats du projet et un rapport financier contenant un résumé des dépenses engagées. Le format et la quantité des détails variaient selon les rapports qui n'étaient par ailleurs pas approuvés par un représentant compétent du bénéficiaire. Les discussions tenues avec les gestionnaires ont fait ressortir qu'ils recherchaient les meilleures pratiques en matière de conclusion du financement des projets, notamment la certification des rapports financiers ou la vérification même du bénéficiaire.

Recommandations à l'intention d'AGP

1.3.4 L'ébauche d'accord de contribution devrait être examinée en détail par SMFH avant d'être signée par l'organisme bénéficiaire.

1.3.5 Pour conclure le financement des projets, des procédures devraient être élaborées comprenant les éléments suivants : évaluation des risques que présentent les bénéficiaires, exigences du programme quant aux rapports financiers des bénéficiaires, dont la signature d'un représentant et exigences du programme en matière de vérification des bénéficiaires. AGP devrait tenir compte des lignes directrices du guide du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert.

Réponses d'AGP

1.3.4 SMFH a accepté la demande d'AGP concernant la révision du modèle normalisé d'accord de contribution du PSH. Il nous indiquera les termes ou formulations à modifier en fonction de projets particuliers de façon à éviter des vérifications supplémentaires. Il est entendu que tout accord modifié au-delà des consignes indiquées devra être examiné avant d'être signé par l'organisation bénéficiaire.

1.3.5 AGP a ajouté une nouvelle section et révisé les conditions de son « cadre de gestion des risques de l'administration des projets ». Cette nouvelle « liste de contrôle » est ajoutée à chaque dossier.

1.4 Suivis et rapports

1.4.1 Dans tous les dossiers examinés, des rapports définitifs sur les activités et sur les coûts ont été reçus conformément aux termes de l'accord. L'évaluation des rapports finaux d'activités du projet, sous forme d'observations ou de contestation des rapports du bénéficiaire, manquait dans sept dossiers. AGP a élaboré une liste de contrôle très détaillée pour son « cadre de gestion des risques de l'administration des projets ». Créé récemment, cet outil n'a été utilisé, et ce partiellement, que dans trois projets. L'évaluation générale de l'agent de projet ainsi que la liste de contrôle du PSH compléteraient non seulement le dossier, mais serviraient également de base solide d'évaluation des projets. Elles faciliteraient en outre l'évaluation de fin d'année de toutes les activités du programme, évaluation qui n'est pas faite dans tous les cas.

Recommandations à l'intention d'AGP

1.4.2 La liste de contrôle du PSH devrait être utilisée tout au long du projet afin d'en améliorer le suivi.

1.4.3 Un rapport récapitulatif ou de fin d'évaluation devrait être élaboré et préparé afin d'améliorer l'évaluation des objectifs du programme.

Réponses d'AGP

1.4.2 Nous demanderons à tous les agents de projet d'AGP et d'IDC d'utiliser la liste susmentionnée durant tout le projet et d'apporter une signature à la fin de chaque projet pour clore le dossier.

1.4.3 La nouvelle section de « clôture du projet  » de la liste révisée comprend une partie réservée aux observations. Nous demanderons aux agents de projet de faire un rapport récapitulatif ou de fin d'évaluation, s'il y a lieu, ou de noter leurs observations ou les leçons à tirer lorsqu'il n'est pas fait mention dans le rapport financier ou compte rendu final du bénéficiaire.

1.5 Gestion de projet

1.5.1 Tous les dossiers étaient bien préparés et leur état respectif bien indiqué, facilitant ainsi leur éventuel transfert à un autre agent.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-10