Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Santiago

(February 2002)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Political, Economic Reporting and Public Affairs Program (PERPA), the International Business Development Program (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Santiago during the period of October 30 to November 3, 2000. The previous audit of the Consular and Administration Programs was a follow-up audit conducted in March 1994.

Mission Management

The Mission has benefited from recent management initiatives introduced by the new Head of Mission (HOM). There is an experienced management team in place and with the exception of the Administration Program, morale of staff is good and cooperation between Programs is effective. Strategic, operational and management priorities are set in the HOM's Accountability Agreement from which Program objectives have been developed.

There is a need for developing and utilizing work plans as a tool for management and a guide for staff in all Programs. Staff have expressed the desire for more communication to provide greater opportunities for interaction between staff and to foster teambuilding.

Mission Management - Detailed Report

Political, Economic Reporting and Public Affairs

The PERPA Program is well managed and has a full and active agenda on both the Political and Economic Reporting side and the Public Affairs area. The Program is effectively utilizing the Post Initiative Fund and the Public Diplomacy Fund. The Program needs to develop specific work plans and to hold more operational meetings.

Political, Economic Reporting and Public Affairs Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development

The IBD Program's workload is extremely heavy and the pressure constant as a result of numerous missions, enquiries and management of the five priority sectors as well as other sectors of interest. Moreover, as the Canada Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA) becomes better known and with Chile now coming out of its first recession in fifteen years, demands on the Program are expected to increase.

The Program Manager should be less operationally oriented and provide more structure to managing the Program. This will involve better planning and prioritizing of work and moving away from a culture of addressing each and every demand. The Program will also need to more fully embrace the Trade Commissioner Service's New Approach which will allow staff to be more focussed on value-added work.

The Program should be making a business case to add two incremental support positions and the Info Centre should be realigned with the appointment of a full-time manager and a redistribution of duties.

International Business Development - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program provides timely and effective service. The Consular Officer and Assistant work with the DMCO, to whom they report. The current workload primarily comprises of issuing passports and handling requests for Citizenship documents and diplomatic or official passports. The Mission has two Honorary Consuls both of whom are working well with the Mission.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

There are serious issues with respect to the management of the Administration Program. The Program is not focussed on the delivery of services to CBS and to Programs and inequities in service have been noted. Management of the Program is reactive and there is little evidence of sound management fundamentals, in particular with respect to planning and the lack of control in the areas of Finance and Physical Resources. Communications with the LES are not effective and consequently morale is low. The DMCO's responsibilities and workload should be reviewed to determine the continuing need for a CBS in this position.

With respect to housing, Departmental policies have been circumvented, TB guidelines have been exceeded and unnecessary expenses have been incurred.

Physical resources are generally not well managed particularly with respect to the condition and maintenance of Staff Quarters (SQs). Several issues arose with respect to the leasing of an SQ and corrective action is recommended. There are significant inconsistencies in the application of funds for the repair of SQs, creating a situation of "haves" and "have nots".

Knowledge of IMS by Program management is limited. Consequently, control over finances at the Mission is not effective.

Human Resources and Informatics run well but a number of recommendations have been made to improve overall effectiveness.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations and Management Responses

A total of 46 audit recommendations are raised in the report. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made as well as future action. Of the 46 recommendations, management has stated that 31 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the 15 remaining recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
HOM257
International Business Development3710
PERPA235
Consular11.52.5
Administration18.59.5
Immigration123
Development112
Total112839

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery0.50.5
OR 1
SQs54
Vehicles 3

Financial Information 2000/01

LES Salaries (N012)$1,015,468
Operational (N001)1038791
CB Overtime (N011/0104)8600
Capital (N005)110275
Total$2,173,134

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-26

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada, Santiago

(Février 2002)

Sommaire

Une vérification des programmes suivants : Relations politiques et économiques et Affaires publiques (RPEAP), Promotion du commerce international (PCI), Services consulaires et Services administratifs a été menée à Santiago du 30 octobre au 3 novembre 2000. La vérification précédente, qui portait sur les Services consulaires et administratifs, était une vérification de suivi effectuée en mars 1994.

Gestion de la mission

La mission a bénéficié de récentes initiatives de gestion adoptées par le nouveau chef de mission (CDM). L'équipe de direction a de l'expérience et, sauf au sein des Services administratifs, le moral du personnel est bon et la coopération entre les sections est efficace. Les priorités stratégiques, opérationnelles et de gestion sont fixées selon le cadre de responsabilisation du CDM, à partir duquel les objectifs des programmes ont été établis.

Des plans de travail doivent être préparés pour tous les programmes et ils doivent être utilisés comme outils de gestion et comme guides à l'intention du personnel. Le personnel souhaiterait que l'on mette davantage l'accent sur la communication et que l'on multiplie les occasions d'interaction entre les employés pour favoriser l'esprit d'équipe.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations politiques et économiques, et affaires publiques

Le programme RPEAP est bien géré, et l'activité est intense tant du côté des relations politiques et économiques que des affaires publiques. Le programme utilise judicieusement le Fonds d'initiative de la mission et le Fonds pour les initiatives de diplomatie ouverte. Il faudrait préparer des plans de travail précis et tenir davantage de réunions opérationnelles.

Relations politiques et économiques, et affaires publiques - rapport détaillé

Promotion du commerce international (PCI)

La charge de travail liée à la PCI est extrêmement lourde et la pression est constante en raison des nombreuses missions, demandes de renseignements et de la gestion des cinq secteurs prioritaires en plus des autres secteurs dignes d'intérêt. De plus, l'Accord de libre échange Canada-Chili (ALECC) commence à être mieux connu et du fait que le Chili sort de sa première récession en quinze ans, on s'attend à des pressions accrues sur le programme.

Le gestionnaire du programme devrait adopter une approche moins opérationnelle et gérer le programme de façon plus structurée. Pour ce faire, il devrait mieux planifier et prioriser le travail et éviter de traiter chacune des demandes. Le programme devra également suivre davantage la Nouvelle approche du Service des délégués commerciaux qui permettra au personnel de se concentrer sur le travail à valeur ajoutée.

Une analyse de rentabilité devrait être faite dans le but d'ajouter deux nouveaux postes de soutien, et l'Infocentre devrait être restructuré en nommant un gestionnaire à temps plein et en répartissant différemment les tâches.

Promotion du commerce international - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Le programme consulaire offre un service efficace et rapide. L'agent consulaire et l'adjoint travaillent avec l'AGCA, dont ils relèvent. Le travail actuel consiste surtout à délivrer des passeports et à traiter des demandes de documents de citoyenneté et de passeports diplomatiques et officiels. La mission compte deux consuls honoraires qui travaillent tous les deux très bien avec la mission.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

La gestion des services administratifs pose de graves problèmes. Le programme ne vise pas la prestation de services aux employés canadiens et le soutien des autres programmes, et l'on a constaté des inégalités dans le service. La gestion du programme est réactive, et ne repose pas sur l'application des principes de base en la matière, en particulier pour ce qui est de la planification et du contrôle des finances et des ressources matérielles. Les communications avec les ERP ne sont pas efficaces et le moral en souffre. Les responsabilités et la charge de travail de l'AGCA devraient être révisées afin de voir s'il est toujours nécessaire d'avoir un employé canadien à ce poste.

En ce qui concerne le logement, les politiques ministérielles ont été contournées, les lignes directrices du CT n'ont pas été respectées, et des dépenses inutiles ont été engagées.

En général, les ressources matérielles ne sont pas très bien gérées, notamment en ce qui concerne l'état et l'entretien des logements du personnel (LP). La location d'un LP a soulevé plusieurs problèmes et une mesure corrective est recommandée. L'emploi des fonds pour les réparations des LP est très incohérent et crée des inégalités.

Les gestionnaires du programme ne connaissent pas bien le SGI. Par conséquent, l'administration des finances à la mission n'est pas efficace.

Les ressources humaines et l'informatique sont bien gérées, mais un certain nombre de recommandations ont été formulées pour améliorer l'efficacité générale.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Le rapport de vérification contient un total de 46 recommandations. La direction a répondu à chacune en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions déjà prises ainsi que les mesures qui seront prises ultérieurement. Sur les 46 recommandations, la direction a indiqué que 31 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour les 15 autres, elle a mentionné les initiatives en cours ou les mesures qui sont prévues.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Personnel (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
CDM257
Promotion du commerce international3710
RPEAP235
Services consulaires11.52.5
Services administratifs18.59.5
Immigration123
Développement112
Total112839

Ressources matérielles

BiensLouésPossédés
Chancellerie0,50.5
RO 1
LP54
Véhicules 3

Informations financières 2000/01

Salaires ERP (N012)1 015 468 $
Exploitation (N001)1 038 791   
Heures supplémentaires EC (N011/0104)8 600   
Immobilisations (N005)110 275   
Total2 173 134 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-26