Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian High Commission, Singapore

(February 2002)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations, International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Singapore during the period May 25 to June 1, 2001. The Administration and Consular Programs were previously audited in 1997.

Management of the Mission

Despite the fact this Mission has been at less than full strength for some time, the Head of Mission (HOM) has effectively raised the profile of Canada in Singapore. This has not been an easy Mission to manage. Vacancies in key positions, a large OGD component, and coping with a Mission that had been previously under-managed, posed a formidable challenge for the HOM in her first year there. Her energy and enthusiasm and her emphasis on team building has garnered the respect of the Program Managers. The HOM has effectively managed this Mission in spite of the many challenges faced.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

***

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The recent arrival of a new Program Manager, following an eight month vacancy in the position, has restored confidence and introduced guidance and vision to the Program. His style of management promotes team building and the changes introduced in the short time he has been at the Mission have ensured a more effective utilization of staff. Of concern, however, is the fact that the Program has not fully embraced the Trade Commissioner Service's New Approach. The Program Manager has yet to receive training on the New Approach and many of his staff require refresher courses. The Program Manager needs to become the champion for implementing the New Approach and should strongly discourage the "old practices" from continuing.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is a well managed Program. The staff are very knowledgeable. However, improvements can be made to the handling of revenues by ensuring that a daily reconciliation is completed.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is well managed. Staff are pleased with the Administration and the Program Managers are satisfied with the services provided. Goals and objectives need to be developed for the Section as do service standards for the Mission and the Brunei Spoke.

The Mission had developed a draft Hub and Spoke Agreement with Brunei. The Agreement needs to be more comprehensive in the area of Human Resources. There is a need for additional monitoring and guidance to be given to the Spoke in the areas of staffing and classification.

The Property portfolio at the Mission is well managed. There is a need to proceed with the staffing of the LES Office Manager position to alleviate the MCO's workload. The Mission has requested the conversion of this position to Canada-Based status. The Audit Team is of the opinion that the conversion is not warranted at this time.

The Finance function is operating effectively. Both Accountants have been with the Mission for over 10 years and are very capable. Of concern, however, is the treatment of ROLF refunds. The Mission needs to stop using bank drafts for refunds and, instead, should issue cheques.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

This report contains 48 recommendations, 45 of which are directed to the Mission to implement and 3 for which Headquarters is responsible for their implementation. According to the responses received, the Mission has implemented 24 of these recommendations, while 21 are currently in the process of being implemented. The 3 recommendations for Headquarters have been actioned.

Resources Fact Sheet

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
HOM Office279
General Relations213
International Business Development4711
Administration/Consular21517
Development246
Immigration72633
SolGen112
RCMP112
Total216283

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery01
OR01
SQs1011
Vehicles50

Financial Information 2000/2001

Operating$3,412,200
LES Salaries2,095,400
CB Overtime20,000
Capital157,000
Total$5,684,600

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-26

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du haut-commissariat du Canada, Singapour

(Février 2002)

Résumé

Entre le 25 mai et le 1er juin 2001, le Programme des relations générales, le Programme de développement du commerce international, le Programme des services consulaires et le Programme d'administration ont fait l'objet d'une vérification. Le Programme d'administration et le Programme des services consulaires avaient fait l'objet d'une vérification en 1997.

Gestion de la mission

Malgré le fait que la mission n'a pas disposé d'un effectif complet pendant un certain temps, la chef de mission (CDM) a réussi à rehausser l'image du Canada à Singapour. Cette mission n'a pas été facile à gérer et au cours de sa première année en fonction, la CDM a fait face à un défi de taille. Des postes clés étaient vacants, la représentation d'AMG est importante et la gestion de l'administration précédente n'avait pas été à la hauteur. La CDM a su s'attirer le respect des gestionnaires de programme par l'énergie et l'enthousiasme dont elle a fait preuve et l'esprit de corps qu'elle a cherché à favoriser. La mission a été gérée efficacement par la CDM en dépit des nombreux défis auxquels elle a été confrontée.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme des relations générales

***

Programme de développement du commerce international (PDCI)

Le poste de gestionnaire de programme a été vacant pendant huit mois. L'arrivée récente du nouveau titulaire a redonné confiance et imprimé une direction et une orientation au programme. Son style de gestion favorise le travail d'équipe et les changements qu'il a apportés en peu de temps ont contribué à une utilisation plus efficace du personnel. Toutefois, il n'a pas fait sienne la «nouvelle approche » du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC). Il n'a pas encore reçu la formation appropriée et bon nombre de ses employés ont besoin de cours de perfectionnement. Le gestionnaire de programme doit se faire le champion de la mise en application de la «nouvelle approche » du SDC et il devrait décourager le recours aux « pratiques anciennes».

Programme de développement du commerce international - rapport détaillé 

Programme de service consulaires

Ce programme est bien administré et le personnel est compétent. Toutefois, on pourrait améliorer la gestion des recettes en s'assurant qu'un rapprochement est effectué chaque jour.

Programme de services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Le Programme d'administration est bien géré. Le personnel de la mission et les gestionnaires de programmes sont satisfaits de la qualité des services administratifs. Les buts et les objectifs de la section doivent être déterminés, et des normes de service pour la mission ainsi que la mission satellite de Brunéi doivent être établies.

La mission a rédigé une entente relative à la gestion en étoile avec la mission satellite de Brunéi. La section de l'entente portant sur les ressources humaines doit être approfondie. La mission satellite a besoin davantage de directives et de suivi en matière de dotation et de classification.

Le portefeuille de la gestion des biens est bien géré. Pour alléger la tâche de l'AGC, il faut procéder à la dotation du poste de chef de bureau recruté sur place. La mission a demandé que ce poste soit converti pour être comblé par un employé canadien. De l'avis de l'équipe de vérification, la conversion n'est pas justifiée en ce moment.

La fonction financière est remplie efficacement. Les deux comptables sont en fonction depuis plus de dix ans et ils sont très compétents. Toutefois, la gestion des remboursements du DEPE est un sujet de préoccupation. La mission doit cesser l'utilisation de traites bancaires pour les remboursements et émettre des chèques.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

État des recommandations

Le présent rapport contient 48 recommandations dont 45 s'adressent à la mission et trois à l'Administration centrale. Selon les réponses reçues, la mission a mis en oeuvre 24 des 45 recommandations et 21 sont en cours de mise en oeuvre. L'AC a donné suite aux trois recommandations qui s'adressaient à elle.

Fiche d'information sur les ressources de la mission

Employés (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
Bureau de la CDM279
Relations générales213
Promotion du commerce international4711
Administration/services consulaires21517
Développement246
Immigration72633
Solliciteur général112
GRC112
Total216283

Ressources matérielles

Élements d'actifPropriétés de l'étatLoués par l'état
Chancellerie01
RO01
LP1011
Véhicules50

Information financière pour 2000-2001

Exploitation3 412 200 $
Salaires des ERP2 095 400 $
Travail supplémentaire des EC20 000 $
Dépenses en capital157 000 $
Total5 684 600 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-26