Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Consulate General, Atlanta

(March 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Political and Economic Relations and Public Affairs (PERPA), International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Atlanta during the period October 15 - 25, 2001. The previous audit of the Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in August 1994. The Consulate in Miami reports to the Head of Mission in Atlanta and is the subject of a separate report.

Management of the Mission

More involvement of the HOM and Program Managers in day-to-day operations is being recommended, with greater rigour applied to planning, monitoring and assessing operational activities and outputs and with stronger supervision and control mechanisms to ensure administrative effectiveness. Improvements to Program planning and reporting and increased communication and team building are required. The Mission committee structure needs to include an LES Committee, a Contract Review Board and a proper functional Housing Committee.

The Mission is experiencing increasing difficulty regarding operational coordination and supervision of the Miami Mission. Headquarters needs to consider the existing relationship and the benefits of having Miami operate autonomously.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

Political and Economic Relations and Public Affairs (PERPA) Program

The PERPA Program has been able to demonstrate productive results given its resource base and large territory. The Program faces challenges in resourcing upcoming staff departures and in providing an environment that enhances teamwork. The Program will also need to better prioritize its heavy workload to address the constant and competing demands being placed on it.

PERPA Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The IBD Program in Atlanta presents a formidable challenge to manage. The large territory for which it is responsible includes a wide diversity of rapidly growing sectors as well as 54 of the Fortune 500 companies offering tremendous opportunities for Canada both in business development and investment. The HOM, the Senior Trade Commissioner (STC) and the Business Development Officers all need to be more engaged in corporate liaison visits. The Program needs to be managed more firmly, particularly with a staff whose performance is mixed, and an example needs to be set for officers to follow in making and reporting on these corporate out-calls. The IBD Business Plan continues to be a point of contention with Headquarters because its content is not always sector specific and it is the Program's belief that more flexibility should be provided for horizontal issues (e.g., Women in International Trade) and unanticipated activities. Initiatives, deemed to be important to the Program, remain unfunded with only five months to go before the end of the fiscal year. The Program has had limited success in implementing the Trade Commissioner Service's New Approach.

IBD Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program in Atlanta is operating efficiently and effectively and has successfully negotiated with two states to adopt the Transfer of Offenders Treaty. Recommendations are being raised regarding formalizing work plans, developing a contingency plan for the region and ensuring that inventory reconciliations are performed monthly by the Program Manager.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

Recent resource turnover, combined with the need for at least another one-half FTE, has put considerable strain on the Program. The Mission Administration Officer (MAO) is faced with handling many day-to-day duties rather than supervising and managing. This has resulted in inadequate planning and insufficient supervision. Many of the deficiencies noted in the previous audit report persist. More involvement is required by the HOM to ensure that controls are in place and functioning as intended. Formal work plans for the Program would serve as a management tool and provide direction to staff. Long-term planning and follow-up systems regarding the property function are required to alleviate concerns related to SQs and their maintenance. More attention and rigour are required in processing purchasing and financial documents to ensure adherence to Departmental and Government policies and regulations.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

A total of 57 audit recommendations are raised in the report; 54 are addressed to the Mission and three are addressed to Headquarters (HQ). Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 57 recommendations, management has stated that 28 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining 29 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
Head of Mission112
IBD3710
PERPA134
Consular011
Administration099
Total52126

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedCrown LeasedPrivate Leased
Chancery 1 
OR1  
SQ3 1
Vehicles2  

Financial Information 2001-2002

LES Salaries$1,684,324
Operational874,173
Capital35,000
CB Overtime3,000
Total$2,596,497

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-11

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du Consulat général du Canada, Atlanta

(mars 2003)

Sommaire

Une vérification a été menée à Atlanta du 15 au 25 octobre 2001. Elle visait les programmes suivants : Programme de relations politiques et économiques, et d'affaires publiques (PERPA), Programme de développement du commerce international (PDCI), Programme des services consulaires et Programme d'administration. La dernière vérification de ces deux derniers programmes datait d'août 1994. Le consulat de Miami relève de la chef de mission d'Atlanta et fait l'objet d'un rapport séparé.

Gestion de la mission

On recommande un engagement accru de la CDM et des gestionnaires de programme dans les opérations quotidiennes. De manière générale, il faut faire preuve de davantage de rigueur dans la planification, le contrôle et l'évaluation des activités opérationnelles et des résultats; il importe également de renforcer la surveillance et les mécanismes de contrôle afin d'accroître l'efficacité des services administratifs. La mission doit améliorer la planification des programmes, le système de comptes rendus, la communication et la cohésion dans les équipes. Elle doit mettre sur pied un comité des ERP, un Comité d'examen des marchés et un vrai comité de logement efficace.

La mission connaît des difficultés croissantes sur le plan de la coordination opérationnelle avec la mission de Miami et de la supervision de celle-ci. L'administration centrale doit examiner les relations qu'entretiennent les deux missions et étudier les avantages que représenterait le fonctionnement autonome de Miami.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme de relations politiques et économiques et d'affaires publiques

Le Programme PERPA a donné de bons résultats compte tenu des ressources dont il dispose et de l'ampleur du territoire couvert. Des problèmes se posent tout de même pour remplacer le personnel dont le départ est imminent et pour instaurer une ambiance de travail qui contribue à améliorer le travail d'équipe. Le personnel doit également mieux établir ses priorités de travail - car le travail ne manque pas - afin d'être en mesure de répondre aux demandes concurrentes qui lui sont constamment adressées.

PERPA - rapport détaillé

Programme de développement du commerce international (PDCI)

Le Programme de développement du commerce international (PDCI) représente une vraie gageure en matière de gestion. Le vaste territoire à couvrir accueille une grande diversité de secteurs à croissance rapide et 54 des 500 entreprises du palmarès Fortune : tout cela représente des occasions d'affaires exceptionnelles pour le Canada, aussi bien en matière d'expansion commerciale que d'investissement. La CDM, le délégué commercial principal (DCP) et les agents du DCI doivent tous intensifier les visites de liaison avec les entreprises. Il faut gérer le programme avec davantage de fermeté, particulièrement avec le personnel dont le rendement est mitigé. Il faut donc établir un protocole de visites de liaison avec les entreprises et établir des normes de compte rendu de ces visites. Le personnel disposera ainsi d'un exemple à suivre. Le Plan d'activités pour le DCI reste un point litigieux avec l'Administration centrale. En effet, son contenu n'est pas toujours axé sur des secteurs précis. Le personnel du programme est d'avis qu'il faut se montrer plus souple vis-à-vis des questions horizontales (p. ex. : les femmes et le commerce international) et des activités imprévues. Certaines initiatives pourtant jugées importantes par le personnel du programme n'ont pas encore été financées alors qu'il ne reste que cinq mois avant la fin de l'exercice. Le programme n'a pas spécialement réussi la mise en oeuvre de la Nouvelle approche du Service des délégués commerciaux.

PDCI - rapport détaillé

Programme des services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires de cette mission est géré de façon efficace et efficiente. Ses responsables ont habilement négocié avec deux États pour adopter le Traité sur le transfèrement des détenus. On peut toutefois formuler des recommandations sur la normalisation des plans de travail, l'élaboration d'un plan d'urgence régionale et le rapprochement mensuel des inventaires par le gestionnaire de programme.

Programme des services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Une récente rotation des ressources ajoutée au besoin de recruter au moins une autre demi-année-personne imposent des pressions considérables au personnel de ce programme. L'agente d'administration de la mission (AAM) est contrainte d'effectuer de nombreuses tâches ordinaires au quotidien au lieu d'assurer ses fonctions de supervision et de gestion. Par conséquent, la planification est inadéquate et la supervision insuffisante. Nombre des anomalies relevées dans la vérification précédente persistent. La CDM doit faire preuve d'un engagement plus rigoureux et voir à la mise en place de contrôles adéquats et efficaces. Si des plans de travail normalisés étaient élaborés, le personnel disposerait de véritables outils de gestion et d'orientation. Il faut établir des systèmes de planification et de suivi des biens à long terme pour atténuer les préoccupations liées aux LP et à leur entretien. La mission est également appelée à prêter plus d'attention et de rigueur aux achats et à la gestion des documents financiers afin d'observer les politiques et dispositions ministérielles et gouvernementales.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Recommandations

Le présent rapport contient 57 recommandations, dont 54 doivent être mises en oeuvre par la mission et 3 par l'Administration centrale (AC). La direction de la mission a répondu à chacune des recommandations en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions qui ont déjà été prises, ainsi que celles qui font l'objet de mesures à venir. Sur les 57 recommandations, la direction a fait savoir que 28 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour les 29 restantes, la direction a précisé quelles sont les initiatives en cours ou les mesures envisagées.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
Chef de mission112
DCI3710
PERPA134
Services consulaires011
Services administratifs099
Total52126

Ressources matérielles

BiensAppartenant à la couronne   LouésLoués à titre privé
Chancellerie 1 
RO1  
LP3 1
Véhicules2  

Informations financières 2001-2002

Salaires ERP1 684 324
Exploitation874 173
Immobilisations35 000
Heures supplémentaires EC3 000
Total2 596 497

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-11