Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Bucharest

(July 2003)

Executive Summary

The Canadian Embassy in Bucharest, Romania was audited from October 4 to15, 2002, covering the General Relations, International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs. A previous audit was conducted in 1998. The Consulate in Sofia, Bulgaria, which reports to Bucharest, was also visited, and observations pertaining to that office are included in this report. Also visited during this period was the office in Skopje, Macedonia, and a separate report will be issued for this spoke of Bucharest. This Mission is also responsible for relations with Moldova.

Management of the Mission

This Mission is headed by an experienced Head of Mission (HOM) who is familiar with the region, having previously served in Belgrade, and who is thus sensitive to the relations between the relevant countries. He leads a dedicated and team-oriented group of Program Managers, most of whom have had previous and extensive experience in managing Programs. Current resources in each Program are sufficient to deliver all aspects of operational requirements. Mission planning and objective setting are underway in all Programs as a result of a recent Mission planning retreat. Efforts to improve communications are required to enhance information sharing among Programs and between management and staff.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

This is an active Program providing valuable support to the HOM and appropriate reporting to Headquarters (HQ). The many demands on its resources have necessitated more structured planning efforts to help define and prioritize objectives and specifically to strengthen the Public Affairs Program.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

New leadership has brought better cohesion to the IBD Program with greater emphasis on the New Approach and a more proactive agenda that includes broader coverage throughout the area of accreditation. A solid planning process has been initiated and efforts are being made to keep staff up to date and informed of the latest developments, tools and HQ requirements.

IBD Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is well managed, with effective services being provided to Canadians. The Program has a work plan in place to guide its operations. There is a need to update the ROCA system, and a full count of the passport blanks on hand is required to ensure the numbers entered into the PMP are accurate.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is well managed by a very experienced MCO. A detailed work plan exists that has been shared with all staff and approved by the CMM. The Program has successfully upgraded some Staff Quarters and will continue this initiative. More communication is required to keep staff informed regarding progress of the new Chancery project and decisions are required concerning required Official Residence maintenance. Other minor issues are raised relating to finance, human resources and informatics.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations And Management Responses

A total of 26 audit recommendations are raised in the report, all addressed to the Mission. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 26 recommendations, management has stated that 19 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining seven recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
HOM246
General Relations123
IBD134
Development123
Immigration41620
Administration and Consular318.521.5
Total1245.557.5

There are 2 Honorary Consuls: one in Sofia, Bulgaria and one in Skopje, Macedonia

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery01
Annex (on leased land)10
OR01
SQs010*
Vehicles50

*There is one employee-couple at the Mission.

Financial Information (2002-2003)

Operating Budget (N001)$1,736,280
LES Salaries (N012)932,091
CBS Overtime (N011)5,000
Capital (N005)127,400
Total$2,800,771

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-12-01

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'Ambassade du Canada, Bucarest

(juillet 2003)

Sommaire

L'ambassade du Canada à Bucarest, en Roumanie, a fait l'objet, entre le 4 et le 15 octobre 2002, d'une vérification qui a porté sur les programmes suivants : Relations générales, Développement du commerce international (DCI) et Services consulaires et administratifs. La dernière vérification remontait à 1998. Les vérificateurs ont également visité le consulat à Sofia, en Bulgarie, qui relève de l'ambassade à Bucarest, et leurs observations au sujet de ce bureau sont incluses dans ce rapport. Le bureau de Skopje, en Macédoine, a aussi été visité au cours de cette période, et un rapport distinct sera publié pour cette mission satellite de celle de Bucarest. Cette mission est aussi responsable des relations avec la Moldova.

Gestion de la mission

Cette mission est dirigée par un chef de mission d'expérience qui connaît bien la région, puisqu'il a déjà été affecté à Belgrade, et qui est donc sensible aux relations entre les pays concernés. Il mène un groupe consciencieux de gestionnaires de programmes qui travaillent en équipe et dont la plupart possèdent une vaste expérience de la gestion de programmes. Les ressources actuellement affectées à chacun des programmes sont suffisantes pour satisfaire à tous les aspects des exigences opérationnelles. Dans tous les programmes, on a entrepris, à l'issue d'une récente séance de planification, d'élaborer des plans pour la mission et de fixer des objectifs. Il faudrait améliorer les communications pour accroître l'échange de renseignements entre les programmes ainsi qu'entre la direction et le personnel.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme des relations générales

Il s'agit d'un programme actif qui assure un soutien précieux au chef de mission et produit des rapports appropriés pour l'Administration centrale (AC). Les nombreuses exigences imposées à ses ressources ont nécessité des efforts de planification plus structurés pour aider à définir les objectifs et déterminer leur priorité et notamment pour renforcer le Programme des affaires publiques.

Programme des relations générales - rapport détaillé

Programme de développement du commerce international (DCI)

La nouvelle direction a amélioré la cohérence du Programme de DCI et a mis davantage l'accent sur la nouvelle approche et une démarche plus proactive, qui inclut un plus grand rayonnement dans toute la région d'accréditation. Un processus de planification solide a été entamé, et l'on s'efforce de tenir les membres du personnel au courant des réalisations, outils et exigences de l'AC les plus récents.

DCI - rapport détaillé

Programme consulaire

Le Programme consulaire est bien géré, et des services efficaces sont assurés aux Canadiens. Ses responsables ont un plan de travail en place pour orienter son fonctionnement. Il faudrait mettre à jour le système ROCA et établir un relevé complet des passeports vierges dont on dispose pour faire en sorte que les chiffres entrés dans le PMP sont exacts.

Programme consulaire - rapport détaillé

Programme administratif

Le Programme administratif est bien géré par un AGC qui a beaucoup d'expérience. Il existe un plan de travail détaillé qui a été communiqué à tous les membres du personnel et approuvé par le CGM. Les responsables du Programme ont modernisé certaines résidences des employés et poursuivront cette initiative. Il faudrait accroître la communication pour tenir les membres du personnel au courant des progrès accomplis en rapport avec le projet de la nouvelle chancellerie; il y a également des décisions à prendre au sujet de l'entretien de la résidence officielle. D'autres points mineurs sont soulevés en ce qui a trait aux finances, aux ressources humaines et à l'informatique.

Programme adminstratif - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Ce rapport renferme 26 recommandations, qui s'adressent toutes à la mission. La direction a répondu à chacune de celles-ci pour indiquer les mesures ou décisions prises et les interventions futures. Sur les 26 recommandations, 19, d'après la direction, ont été mises en oeuvre. En ce qui concerne les sept autres, la direction a indiqué les initiatives en cours ou les mesures prévues.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTOTAL
Chef de mission246
Relations générales123
PCI134
Développement123
Immigration41620
Services administratifs et consulaires318,521,5
Total1245,557,5

Il y a deux consuls honoraires : un à Sofia, en Bulgarie, et un à Skopje, en Macédoine.

Ressources matérielles

BiensPossédésLoués
Chancellerie01
Annexe (sur un terrain loué)10
RO01
LP010*
Véhicules50

*Il y a à la mission un couple dont les deux conjoints sont des employés.

Information financière (2002-2003)

Budget de fonctionnement (N001)1 736 280 $
Salaires des ERP (N012)932 091
Heures supplémentaires des EC (N011)5 000
Immobilisations (N005)127 400
Total2 800 771 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-12-01