Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Caracas

(November 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations (GR), International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Caracas during the period October 28 to November 1, 2002. The last audit of the Mission was conducted in March 1994. Its scope of audit was limited to a follow-up of the previous year's Administration audit and a full review of the Consular Program.

Management of the Mission

The arrival of the new Head of Mission (HOM) and the Senior Trade Commissioner (STC) has brought a level of optimism to staff of the Mission that has not been seen in recent years. The HOM's arrival has introduced leadership to the organization, improved communication and provided a vision of where the Mission is headed.

The new HOM has, in his ten weeks at the Mission, been focussing on communications and improving team building and synergy. He has activated a number of committees which had been dormant and institutionalized weekly Committee on Mission Management (CMM) meetings whereby the minutes are circulated to all staff. A Wellness Committee has also been established, which includes both internal and external resources, with a mandate to improve the daily professional life at the Mission. In the short time since the HOM's arrival, there has been a noticeable improvement in staff morale.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

The General Relations (GR) Program is providing political reporting that is analytical and informative. The Program Manager has a sound knowledge of Venezuela and has established an excellent array of contacts. The Academic Relations and Public/Cultural Affairs Program is active. Canada's profile could be further raised through a re-focussing of the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives and the Post Initiative Fund. Communications within the Program itself could also improve.

General Relations - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The IBD Program is under effective leadership with the new STC. The new STC is a strong proponent of the Trade Commissioner Service's New Approach and has already introduced a sound structure of management. Accountability Agreements have been established in consultation with all Officers to ensure commitment to the goals and objectives that have been defined for each of the key sectors.

IBD - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program, while staffed with knowledgeable and dedicated employees, lacks effective leadership. The Management and Consular Officer (MCO) is detached from the Program and has devolved its management to the Deputy MCO. Communications need to improve. Few meetings are held and there is no work plan for the Program. Emergency and Contingency Plans have not involved LES staff who believe these Plans, in light of the current political climate in the country, warrant review and rationalization. Many of the 21 wardens have not been contacted in several years.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

In the summer of 2001, a changeover of all four Canada-based staff in Administration took place. The new MCO was faced with a Mission that had a history of serious financial problems, a new Chancery to manage and a difficult environment in which to operate, particularly with Venezuela's current political instability. An experienced Officer would have found the situation to be a formidable challenge. Program management is very inexperienced as the MCO, an AS-03, is on his first posting as Program Manager and is filling an AS-06 position. The Program can be best characterized as being "over-administered and under-managed". Headquarters must assume some responsibility for the current situation.

The Program is in need of more structured management and improved communications. Program management believes its workload is excessive even though resources are in line with Missions of similar size. Procedures require streamlining and staff need to work smarter and more effectively. Certain staff are not being fully utilized. The Program is seen as impeding rather than supporting the delivery of services in other Program areas. Much of management's attention has focussed on accounting issues. It was believed at the time of the audit that the Senior Accountant needed additional training and closer supervision.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Discovery Of Fraud

Subsequent to the audit, as part of Mission management's efforts to resolve longstanding bank reconciliation issues (See 5.4.3 to 5.4.13), a fraud was discovered which resulted in the Accountant being dismissed for cause. The overall scope of the fraud is in the $1.9 to $2.1 million range. The final figure is subject to verification once the investigation is completed. Remedial action is being pursued aggressively before the courts and the Mission has taken the necessary measures to prevent a recurrence of this problem.

Recommendation Status

This report contains 50 recommendations, 49 of which are directed at the Mission to implement. Based on the responses received, the Mission has implemented 42 of the recommendations while the other seven are in various stages of being implemented. The recommendation directed at Headquarters for action is in the process of being implemented.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
HOM268
General Relations235
IBD279
Immigration134
Administration and Consular41317
RCMP213
Total133346

There are Honorary Consuls in Margarita and Netherlands Antilles

Physical Resources

AssetsOwenedLeased
Chancery10
OR10
SQs012
Vehicles60

Financial Information (2002-2003)

Operating Budget$2,139,905
LES Salaries1,730,047
CBS Salaries1,174,351
Capital186,300
Total$5,230,603

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'Ambassade du Canada à Caracas

(Novembre 2003)

Résumé

Une vérification a été effectuée à la mission de Caracas du 28 octobre au 1er novembre 2002. Elle visait les programmes suivants : Relations générales (RG), Promotion du commerce international (PCI) et Services consulaires et administratifs. La dernière vérification de la mission remontait à mars 1994; sa portée avait été limitée au suivi de la vérification des services administratifs de l'année précédente et à une vérification complète des services consulaires.

Gestion de la mission

L'arrivée du nouveau chef de mission (CDM) et du délégué commercial principal (DCP) a propulsé le sentiment d'optimisme du personnel de la mission à son niveau le plus élevé des dernières années. Le nouveau CDM a insufflé un leadership, amélioré la communication et donné une orientation à la mission.

Pendant ses dix premières semaines à la mission, le nouveau CDM s'est concentré sur les communications, le renforcement de l'esprit d'équipe et la synergie. Il a réactivé divers comités et instauré une réunion hebdomadaire du Comité de gestion de la mission (CGM), dont le procès-verbal est distribué à tous les employés. On a également créé un « comité pour le bien-être » qui fait appel aussi bien aux ressources internes qu'externes. Il a pour mandat d'améliorer le quotidien professionnel à la mission. Depuis l'arrivée du CDM, le moral du personnel s'est sensiblement amélioré.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

Le Programme des relations générales (RG) établit des rapports politiques analytiques et informatifs. Le gestionnaire de programme a une connaissance approfondie du Venezuela et il a développé un important réseau de contacts. Le Programme des relations dans les domaines académiques, publics et culturels est actif. Une réorientation du Fonds canadien d'aide aux initiatives locales et du Fonds discrétionnaire de la mission permettrait d'accroître le rayonnement du Canada. De plus, les communications au sein du Programme pourraient être plus efficaces.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Programme de promotion du commerce international (PCI)

Le Programme de PCI est bien géré depuis l'arrivée du nouveau DCP, un partisan de la « Nouvelle Approche » du Service de délégués commerciaux. Il a déjà d'ores et déjà instauré une structure de saine gestion. On a conclu des ententes de responsabilité en accord avec tous les agents afin d'assurer leur engagement à l'égard des buts et objectifs fixés pour chacun des secteurs clés.

PCI - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires compte sur un personnel compétent et dévoué mais il souffre de l'absence d'un leadership efficace. L'agent-gestionnaire consulaire (AGC) est détaché du Programme et il en a confié la gestion à l'AGC adjoint (AGCA). Il faut améliorer les communications. Les réunions sont rares, et le Programme ne possède aucun plan de travail. Les plans d'urgence n'ont pas fait appel aux ERP, qui jugent que ces plans doivent être revus et améliorés compte tenu du climat politique qui règne au Venezuela. D'ailleurs, bon nombre des 21 coordonnateurs d'urgence n'ont pas été contactés depuis plusieurs années.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

À l'été 2001, les quatre employés canadiens des services administratifs ont été remplacés en même temps. Le nouvel AGC s'est retrouvé avec une mission ayant des antécédents de problèmes financiers graves, une nouvelle chancellerie à gérer et un environnement rendu particulièrement difficile par l'instabilité politique du Venezuela. Cette situation aurait constitué un redoutable défi même pour agent expérimenté. L'AGC, un AS-03, en est à sa première affectation en tant que gestionnaire de programme, et il comble un poste AS-06. On pourrait donc dire que le Programme souffre donc d'une administration excessive et d'une gestion insuffisante. L'Administration centrale doit assumer une part de responsabilité dans cette situation.

Le Programme a besoin d'une gestion plus structurée et de communications plus efficaces. La direction du Programme juge que sa charge de travail est excessive, même si les ressources sont alignées sur celles des missions -comparables. Les procédures doivent être simplifiées, et le personnel doit travailler d'une manière plus fructueuse et plus efficace. Certains employés ne sont pas pleinement mis à contribution. On a l'impression que le Programme nuit à la prestation des services dans d'autres secteurs. La direction consacre la plus grande partie de son énergie à résoudre des problèmes de comptabilité. Au moment de la vérification, on était d'avis que le comptable principal avait besoin d'une formation supplémentaire et d'une supervision plus étroite.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

Découverte d'une fraude

À la suite de la vérification, la direction de la mission a découvert une fraude alors qu'elle tentait de régler un problème persistant de rapprochement bancaire (voir les sections 5.4.3 à 5.4.13). Cette découverte a entraîné le congédiement motivé du comptable. L'envergure de la fraude se situe entre 1,9 million et 2,1 millions de dollars. Le montant final sera confirmé après la conclusion de l'enquête. Des recours judiciaires ont été entrepris et la mission a pris les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher toute récurrence de ce problème.

État des recommandations

Le présent rapport formule 50 recommandations, dont 49 s'adressent à la mission. La mission a fait savoir que 42 recommandations avaient été mises en oeuvre et que des mesures étaient en cours pour sept autres recommandations. La recommandation s'adressant à l'Administration centrale est en voie d'être mise en oeuvre.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeERPECTotal
Chef de mission268
Relations générales235
Promotion du commerce international279
Immigration134
Services administratifs et consulaires41317
GRC213
Total133346

Consuls honoraires à l'île de Margarita et aux Antilles néerlandaises

Ressources matérielles

BiensAppartenant au maeciEn location
Chancellerie10
Résidence officielle10
Logements du personnel012
Véhicules60

Renseignements financiers (2002-2003)

Budget de fonctionnement2 139 905 $
Salaires des ERP1 730 047 $
Salaires des EC1 174 351 $
Immobilisations186 300 $
Total5 230 603 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-31