Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of Contributions to the Catholic World Youth Day 2002 Council

(September 2003)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook a management audit of the role of the Special Task Force (RXW) vis-a-vis the two contributions to the Catholic World Youth Day (CWYD) 2002 Council as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and comply with legislative and regulatory requirements.

The two contribution agreements, totalling $2 M, were found to be in compliance with the Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution files contained the relevant documentation and indicated that proper approvals had been obtained for the contribution payments. The activities of the recipient were monitored by RXW Program staff.

Scope, Objectives and Methodology

1.1 Scope

1.1.1 This audit focussed on RXW's practices and controls related to the management of its contributions to the CWYD 2002 Council. The Audit Team did not audit RXW in its role as Federal Co-ordinator and chair of the Inter-governmental Co-ordinating Committee (IGCC), but rather RXW's role as it relates to managing its contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

1.2 Objectives

1.2.1 The overall objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • Contribution agreements were prepared in accordance with DFAIT's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • Payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved Terms and Conditions; and,
  • Program officers conducted project monitoring.

1.3 Methodology

1.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the contribution agreements at DFAIT. The examination phase of the audit began August 2002 and could not be finalized until August 2003 when SIV received a copy of the audited financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2002, prepared by the external auditor for the National Office.

1.3.2 A comprehensive review of all relevant program documentation was carried out and key personnel in RXW, the Area Management Office (RAM), Supplier Accounts (SMFS) and Program Analysis (SMPT) were interviewed.

Overview

2.1.1 Toronto was selected as the host city for the CWYD 2002, the largest gathering of young people in the world. It was a Holy See event, created by Pope John-Paul II in 1984.

2.1.2 The Minister of Foreign Affairs was tasked with coordinating the Government's support for CWYD 2002. The Federal Government's role was that of facilitator. The Holy See held the Cardinal of Toronto and the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) responsible for organizing the event, while the City of Toronto, the Province of Ontario and the Federal Government were committed to supporting the organizing committee.

2.1.3 Youth from 173 countries attended a series of events that took place in Toronto and across Canada from July 18 to 28, 2002. Approximately 800,000 people attended the papal mass at Downsview on Sunday, July 28, 2002. Overall, the CWYD 2002 was considered a success, exceeding all expectations in terms of the number of visiting youths from around the world.

2.1.4 The first contribution of $1M to the CWYD 2002 Council was for operating costs of the National Office in Toronto, specifically salaries and office rent. Between July 2001 and March 2002, nine accountable advances of $111,111 each were made to the National Office.

2.1.5 The second contribution of $1M to the CWYD 2002 Council was for security services. One payment was made on July 31, 2002.

2.1.6 The RXW-CWYD Task Force Office in Ottawa wound-up its operations at the close of business on August 30, 2002. The Office of the Federal Coordinator in Toronto wound-up its operations on September 30, 2002.

2.1.7 SIV reviewed the event report dated September 13, 2002 prepared by the Federal Coordinator for CWYD 2002 and submitted to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. The event report covered results achieved, activities and services offered, lessons learned and individual assessments by CWYD partners. The report concluded that the Government of Canada benefited from its association with the CWYD 2002.

Observations

3.1 Contribution Agreements

3.1.1 The original contribution agreement for $1 M was reviewed by SIV with the Program Manager in relation to two specific risks: (1) the risk of failing to meet the Program objectives; and, (2) the risk of failure to manage the contribution funds with due diligence, probity and prudence. The two contributions, each $1 M, were approved by Treasury Board Decisions ***.

3.1.2 Program Managers are satisfied that the Program objectives were met, as noted in the Department's website and the Task Force's event report.

3.1.3 The National Office has provided RXW its audited financial statements for the years ended December 31, 2001 and 2002. The audited opinions for both years stated that the financial statements, with the exception of revenue, present fairly the financial position of the CWYD Council as at December 31, 2001 and 2002. The majority of revenue for the Council was derived from donations which are not susceptible to satisfactory audit verification, typical of many non-profit organizations. Further, a note to the audited financial statements on commitments and contingencies made reference to certain legal claims of which the Council is a defendant or potential defendant and that no loss or liability has been provided for in the financial statements regarding those claims. The Council intends to defend its position regarding these legal claims. RXW has met all of the conditions of the Risk Based Audit Framework (RBAF).

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-22

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions faites au Conseil de la Journée mondiale de la jeunesse catholique 2002

(Septembre  2002)

Résumé

La Direction de la vérification (SIV) a entrepris, dans le cadre de son examen des Subventions et contributions ministérielles, une vérification de gestion du rôle joué par le Groupe spécial de travail (RXW) à l'égard des deux contributions faites au Conseil de la Journée mondiale de la jeunesse catholique (JMJC) 2002. Cette vérification avait pour objectif de déterminer dans quelle mesure le programme de subventions a été géré selon les bonnes pratiques d'exercice de la fonction de contrôleur moderne et a été conforme aux exigences législatives et réglementaires.

On a constaté que les deux accords de contribution, totalisant 2 millions de dollars, étaient conformes aux Politiques sur les paiements de transfert du Ministère et du Conseil du Trésor. Les documents pertinents ont été versés aux dossiers de contribution et les approbations nécessaires concernant le paiement des contributions ont été obtenues. Les activités du bénéficiaire ont été supervisées par les membres du personnel du programme de RXW.

Étendue, objectifs et méthodologie

1.1 Étendue

1.1.1 La présente vérification a porté sur les pratiques et les contrôles exercés par le Groupe spécial de travail en ce qui concerne la gestion des contributions accordées au Conseil de la JMJC 2002. L'équipe de vérification n'a pas vérifié les rôles de coordonnateur fédéral et de président du Comité consultatif intergouvernemental (CCI) joué par RXW, mais plutôt son rôle de gestionnaire du programme de contribution conformément aux Politiques sur les paiements de transfert du Ministère et du Conseil du Trésor.

1.2 Objectifs

1.2.1 L'objectif global de la vérification était de déterminer dans quelle mesure le programme de contribution a été géré selon les bonnes pratiques de la fonction de contrôleur moderne et a respecté les exigences législatives et réglementaires. Tout particulièrement, cette vérification s'est attachée à déterminer :

  • si les accords de contribution ont été préparés conformément à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du MAECI;
  • si les paiements ont été conformes aux termes et conditions approuvés par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • si les responsables du programme ont effectué un suivi du projet.

1.3 Méthodologie

1.3.1 Dans le cadre de la vérification, les principaux processus administratifs et les contrôles clés associés à la gestion des accords de contribution au MAECI ont été examinés. La phase d'examen de la vérification a commencé en août 2002 et n'a pu être complétée qu'en août 2003, au moment où SIV a reçu copie de la vérification finale des états financiers au 31 décembre 2002 effectuée par les vérificateurs désignés auprès du Bureau national.

1.3.2 L'équipe de vérification a effectué une étude détaillée de toute la documentation pertinente du programme et procédé à des entrevues avec le personnel clé de RXW, du Bureau de l'administration du secteur (AMO), des Comptes de fournisseurs (SMFS) et de l'Analyse des programmes (SMPT).

Aperçu

2.1.1 La ville de Toronto a été sélectionnée comme ville hôte de la JMJC 2002, le plus grand rassemblement de jeunes au monde. La JMJC est un événement organisé par le Saint-Siège et elle a été décrétée par le pape Jean-Paul II en 1984.

2.1.2 Le ministre des Affaires étrangères était chargé de coordonner la participation du gouvernement à la JMJC 2002. Le gouvernement fédéral a joué un rôle de facilitateur. Le Saint-Siège a chargé le cardinal de Toronto et la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) d'organiser l'événement, tandis que la ville de Toronto, la province de l'Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral devaient appuyer le comité organisateur.

2.1.3 Du 18 au 28 juillet 2002, des jeunes de 173 pays ont pris part à une série d'activités organisées à Toronto et dans tout le Canada. Environ 800 000 personnes ont participé à la messe papale au parc Downsview, le dimanche 28 juillet 2002. Dans son ensemble, la JMJC 2002 a été considérée comme une réussite; elle a dépassé toutes les attentes quant au nombre de jeunes qui sont venus des quatre coins du monde.

2.1.4 Une première contribution de 1 million de dollars a été versée au Conseil de la JMJC 2002 afin de couvrir les coûts de fonctionnement du Bureau national à Toronto, en particulier les salaires et le loyer. De juillet 2001 à mars 2002, le Bureau national a reçu neuf avances à justifier de 111 111 $ chacune.

2.1.5 Une deuxième contribution de 1 million de dollars a été versée au Conseil de la JMJC 2002 afin de couvrir les dépenses imputables aux services de sécurité. Elle a été faite en un seul versement le 31 juillet 2002.

2.1.6 Le bureau du Groupe spécial de travail de la JMJC (RXW) à Ottawa a mis fin à ses activités à la fin de la journée du 30 août 2002. Le 30 septembre 2002, le Bureau de la coordonnatrice fédérale à Toronto a mis fin à ses activités.

2.1.7 SIV a examiné le rapport de l'événement, daté du 13 septembre 2002, préparé par la Coordinatrice fédérale à l'issue de la JMJC 2002 et présenté au ministre des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international. Le rapport fait état des résultats obtenus, des activités et des services offerts, des leçons apprises et des évaluations individuelles effectuées par les partenaires de la JMJC. Aux termes des conclusions du rapport, le gouvernement du Canada a retiré des avantages de sa participation à la JMJC 2002.

Observations

3.1 Accords de contribution

3.1.1 SIV a examiné l'accord de contribution initial de 1 million de dollars avec le gestionnaire du programme en tenant compte de deux risques spécifiques : 1) le risque que les objectifs du programme ne soit pas atteints; et 2) le risque que les fonds accordés ne soient pas gérés avec la diligence voulue, avec probité et prudence. Les deux contributions, s'élevant à 1 million de dollars chacune, ont été approuvées par les Décisions du Conseil du Trésor ***.

3.1.2 Les gestionnaires du programme sont convaincus que les objectifs du programme ont été atteints, comme le mentionnent le site Web du Ministère et le rapport du Groupe spécial sur l'événement.

3.1.3 Le Bureau national a remis ses états financiers vérifiés à RXW pour les exercices financiers qui se sont terminés les 31 décembre 2001 et 31 décembre 2002. Les états vérifiés indiquent que les états financiers, à l'exception du revenu, donnent une bonne idée de la position financière du Conseil de la JMJC au 31 décembre 2001 et au 31 décembre 2002. La majorité des revenus du Conseil provenaient de dons qui ne sont pas susceptibles de satisfaire aux exigences d'une vérification, ce qui est typique des organismes à but non lucratif. RXW a satisfait à toutes les conditions du Cadre de vérification fondé sur le risque (CVFR).

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-22