Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Consulate General, Dallas

(June 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Political and Economic Relations and Public Affairs (PERPA), International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Dallas during the period November 4 to 8, 2002. The last audit of the Mission was conducted in August 1994 and the scope of the audit was limited to the Administration and the Consular Programs. The Mission's territory is comprised of Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Kansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico.

Management of the Mission

The Head of Mission (HOM) has only been at the Mission for two months yet has made a very favourable impression with the staff. His effective leadership was immediately demonstrated in the manner in which he dealt with personnel issues affecting morale. Team building and an improved synergy is a priority with the HOM. Accountability Agreements need to be developed for all Program Managers. This will provide a baseline from which each manager can develop performance agreements with their staff to facilitate work planning and accommodate performance appraisals.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

Political and Economic Relations and Public Affairs Program

The PERPA Program focusses on priority areas identified in a results-based plan developed by the Geographic Bureau (NUR) and the Mission including issues such as advocacy, border relations and Trade Policy. There is no spare capacity to cover Cultural and Academic Relations. NUR has advised it is considering an enhanced representation in the US which may impact on adding incremental PERPA resources to Dallas and/or Houston.

PERPA Program - Detailed Report

Business International Business Development Program (IBD)

The IBD Program is responsible for trade and investment promotion in one of the largest geographic regions in the US. Efforts need to be concentrated on activities to improve the management of the Program. The lack of effective communications and non-inclusive management decisions have resulted in a tense atmosphere within the Program. A positive transition will require the support of outside facilitators and could be done in conjunction with training on the New Approach and the National Quality Institute management framework.

IBD Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is staffed by a knowledgeable and experienced Program Officer who has a very heavy caseload due to the large geographic area, the high number of Canadian prisoners and the increasing number of passport applications. Service standards cannot currently be achieved due to the workload. It is essential that management prepare a business case to support the need for an incremental Consular Assistant position.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is effective and service-oriented under the management of an experienced and knowledgeable Mission Administrative Officer (MAO). An annual training plan for all staff needs to be developed taking into account Mission priorities. Service standards are needed to ensure clients know the levels and timeliness of services to be delivered.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

A total of 36 audit recommendations are raised in the report; 34 are addressed to the Mission and two are addressed to Headquarters (HQ). Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 36 recommendations, management has stated that 23 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining 13 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)
ProgramCBSLESTotal
HOM112
PERPA and Consular134
IBD369
Administration066
Total51621

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown-OwnedCrown-LeasedPrivate-Leased
Chancery010
OR100
Dallas SQs103
Houston SQs0013
Wichita SQs002
Vehicles200

Note: CBS who are in Houston and Wichita are employed with the Canada Space Agency.

Financial Information (2002-2003)

Operating Budget$1,214,729
LES Salaries1,373,466
CBS Salaries (includes O/T)630,608
Capital20,300
Total$3,239,103

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du Consulat général du Canada, Dallas

(Juin 2003)

Résumé

Du 4 au 8 novembre 2002, nous avons effectué une vérification du Programme de relations politiques et économiques et d'affaires publiques (PERPA), du Programme de développement du commerce international (DCI) et des programmes consulaires et administratifs du consulat général du Canada à Dallas. La dernière vérification de la Mission remontait à août 1994, et sa portée s'était limitée aux programmes des services consulaires et administratifs. Le territoire couvert par la Mission comprend le Texas, l'Arkansas, la Louisiane, le Kansas, l'Oklahoma et le Nouveau-Mexique.

Gestion de la mission

Le chef de mission (CDM) n'est en poste que depuis deux mois, mais il fait déjà très bonne impression au personnel. L'efficacité de son style de leadership s'est immédiatement manifestée par la façon dont il a composé avec les problèmes de personnel qui sapaient le moral de la Mission. La promotion du travail d'équipe et l'amélioration de la synergie sont des priorités pour lui. Des ententes de responsabilité doivent être conclues avec tous les gestionnaires de programmes. Chaque gestionnaire aura ainsi un modèle à partir duquel élaborer des ententes de rendement avec son personnel, ce qui facilitera la planification du travail et les appréciations du rendement.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme de relations politiques et economiques et d'affaires publiques (PERPA)

Les axes prioritaires d'intervention du PERPA (la promotion des intérêts canadiens, les relations frontalières, la politique commerciale) figurent dans un plan fondé sur les résultats élaboré par la direction générale géographique (NUR) et par la Mission. Aucune capacité supplémentaire n'est prévue pour les relations culturelles et universitaires. NUR a indiqué qu'elle envisage une amélioration de sa représentation aux États-Unis, ce qui pourrait se traduire par l'ajout de ressources pour le PERPA à Dallas et/ou à Houston.

Programme PERPA - rapport détaillé

Programme de développement du commerce international (DCI)

Le Programme de DCI s'occupe de la promotion du commerce et de l'investissement dans l'une des plus grandes zones géographiques des États-Unis. Il faudrait s'efforcer d'améliorer la gestion de ce programme. Le manque d'efficacité dans les communications et certaines décisions de gestion non inclusives ont créé un climat tendu au sein du DCI. Pour redresser la situation, il faudrait recourir à des animateurs externes, ce qui pourrait être fait conjointement avec la formation sur la Nouvelle Approche et sur le cadre de gestion de l'Institut national de la qualité.

Programme DCI - rapport détaillé

Programme des services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires est doté d'un agent de programme bien informé et expérimenté dont la charge de travail est très lourde en raison de l'étendue de la zone géographique, du nombre élevé de prisonniers canadiens et du nombre croissant de demandes de passeport. La lourde charge de travail ne permet pas de respecter les normes de service pour l'instant. Il est essentiel que la direction prépare une analyse de rentabilisation à l'appui d'une demande d'ajout d'un poste d'adjoint consulaire.

Programme des services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Le Programme d'administration, efficace et axé sur la clientèle, est dirigé par un AAM (agent d'administration de la mission) expérimenté et bien informé. Il faudrait cependant élaborer pour tout le personnel un plan de formation annuel qui tienne compte des priorités de la Mission. Il faudrait également des normes de service pour s'assurer que les clients connaissent les niveaux et les délais de service auxquels ils peuvent s'attendre.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Bilan des recommandations

Le rapport de vérification comporte 36 recommandations, dont 34 s'adressent à la Mission et 2 à l'Administration centrale (AC). La direction a répondu à chacune des recommandations en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions qui seront prises ou qui l'ont déjà été. Sur les 36 recommandations, la direction indique que 23 ont été mises en oeuvre. Pour chacune des 13 recommandations restantes, la direction a indiqué si elle fait actuellement l'objet de mesures ou si l'on compte s'y attaquer prochainement et de quelle manière.

Fiche documentaire des ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)
ProgrammePersonnel canadienERPTOTAL
CDM112
PERPA et Services consulaires134
DCI369
Administration066
Total51621

Ressources matérielles

BiensAppartenant à la CouronneLoués par l'EtatLoués à titre privé
Chancellerie010
RO100
LP à Dallas103
LP à Houston0013
LP à Wichita002
Véhicules200

N.B. : les agents canadiens à Houston et Wichita sont employés par l'Agence spatiale canadienne.

Données financières (2002-2003)

Budget de fonctionnement1 214 729 $
Salaires des ERP1 373 466 $
Salaires du personnel canadien (heures suppl. comprises)630 608 $
Capital20 300 $
Total3 239 103 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-31