Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Dublin

(April 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the Political, Economic Reporting and Public Affairs (PERPA), International Business Development (IBD), Consular and Administration Programs was conducted in Dublin during the period October 17 to 22, 2002. An audit was last conducted in March 1994.

Management of the Mission

The Mission is well managed with structures in place that are providing appropriate direction, pro-active planning and good communications. The Head of Mission (HOM) is involved in all Programs and providing support that is appreciated by staff. Staff in the Mission are committed and enthusiastic and morale is good.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

The General Relations (GR) Program is productively engaged in monitoring European affairs and the Northern Ireland peace process as well as other issues of interest. The Program Manager, in conjunction with the HOM is prioritizing Program activities and renewing Public Affairs efforts.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The IBD Program is well managed and operating as a cohesive unit with a team approach instilled by the Senior Trade Commissioner. Efforts are underway to focus on areas where results can be maximized. This will require the Program to move away from traditional missions and events to more targeted trade and investment activities and to develop a measurement capability to assess results.

IBD Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program operates very effectively, managed by the GR Program Manager. A reduction in the hours the office is open to the public would allow staff to catch up on backlogs. As well, monthly passport reconciliations signed off by the Program Manager are required.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is well managed by a MAO. Major challenges facing the Mission are a possible Chancery relocation that requires immediate attention, and the future of the Official Residence. A successor needs to be considered in terms of replacement by a Locally-Engaged Staff (LES) or a Canada-Based Staff (CBS).

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations And Management Responses

A total of 31 audit recommendations are raised in the report of which 28 are addressed to the Mission and 3 are addressed to Headquarters (HQ). Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 31 recommendations, management has stated that 21 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining 10 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
HOM24.56.5
General Relations112
IBD12.53.5
Consular01*1
Administration03.53.5
Total412.516.5

* Filled by 2 half-time staff

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery01
OR10
SQs03
Vehicles20

Financial Information (2002-2003)

Operating Budget (N001)$881,905
LES Salaries (N012)597,765
CBS Overtime (N011)11,000
Capital (N005)41,400
Total$1,532,070

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-31

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'Ambassade du Canada, Dublin

(Avril 2003)

Sommaire

Une vérification des programmes suivants : Relations politiques et économiques et affaires publiques (PERPA), Promotion du commerce international (PCI), Services consulaires et Services administratifs, a été effectuée à Dublin du 17 au 22 octobre 2002. La précédente vérification de la mission remontait à mars 1994.

Gestion de la mission

La mission est bien gérée et les structures en place assurent un encadrement adéquat, une planification proactive et de bonnes communications. Le chef de mission (CDM) s'implique dans tous les programmes et apporte un soutien apprécié par le personnel. Ce personnel est dévoué et enthousiaste, et le moral est bon.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

La section des Relations générales (RG) suit activement les affaires européennes, le processus de paix en Irlande du Nord et d'autres dossiers importants. Le gestionnaire de programme établit, en conjonction avec le CDM, les priorités du programme et contribue à un nouvel essor des activités dans le domaine des Affaires publiques.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Promotion du commerce international (PCI)

La section de la PCI est bien gérée et fonctionne comme une entité soudée, animée par l'esprit d'équipe inculqué par le délégué commercial principal. Plusieurs initiatives sont en cours pour recentrer les énergies sur les secteurs où les résultats pourraient être optimisés. Cela nécessitera que cette section s'écarte des missions et des événements auxquels elle participe traditionnellement et qu'elle favorise des activités mieux ciblées dans le domaine du commerce ou des investissements, en plus de se doter d'outils qui lui permettront de mesurer ses résultats.

PCI - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Les Services consulaires fonctionnent très efficacement, sous la tutelle du gestionnaire du programme RG. Une réduction des heures d'ouverture au public du bureau permettrait au personnel de s'atteler aux dossiers en attente. Par ailleurs, des contrôles de rapprochement mensuels des passeports, signés par le gestionnaire de programme, seraient nécessaires.

Services consulaire - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Le Programme d'administration est bien géré par un AAM. La mission doit régler deux questions épineuses : la relocalisation de la chancellerie, un dossier qui exige une attention immédiate, et l'avenir de la résidence officielle.Sa succession devrait être envisagée dans l'optique d'un remplacement par un employé recruté sur place (ERP) ou par un employé canadien (EC).

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Un total de 31 recommandations ont été formulées dans le rapport de vérification, dont 28 s'adressent à la mission et trois à l'Administration centrale (AC). La direction a répondu à chacune d'entre elles en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions qui ont déjà été prises, ainsi que celles qui sont à venir. La direction a fait savoir que sur les 31 recommandations, 21 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour chacune des dix autres recommandations, la direction a indiqué quelles étaient les initiatives déjà en cours ou les actions envisagées dans l'avenir.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTOTAL
CDM24,56,5
Relations générales112
PCI12,53,5
Services consulaires01*1
Administration03,53,5
Total412,516,5

* Poste occupé par deux employés à temps partiel

Ressources matérielles

BiensPossédésLoués
Chancellerie01
RO10
LP03
Véhicules20

Information financière (2002-2003)

Budget d'exploitation (N001)881 905 $
Salaires ERP (N012)597 765
Heures supplémentaires EC (N011)11 000
Immobilisations (N005)41 400
Total1 532 070 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-31