Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Contributions to International Social Services Canada (ISSC)

(April 2003)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook an audit of Consular Affairs Bureau's (JPD) management of the Contributions to International Social Services Canada (ISSC) as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to provide assurance as to whether ISSC contribution payments are managed in accordance with the Department's policy on grant and contribution programs and to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices.

The files for the contribution agreement with ISSC were audited and found to be in compliance with Departmental policy. The criteria used to assess the contribution program were derived from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) and Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) policies, guidelines and procedures and were discussed with and agreed to by Consular Affairs Bureau (JPD) management. Notwithstanding that the files contained the relevant documentation and proper approvals for payments, the program files could be better organized and more complete. The activities of the recipient are being monitored by both the Director, Program Services (JPP) and Case Management Officers (JPO).

Scope, Objectives and Methodology

1.1 Scope

1.1.1 This audit focussed on JPD's practices and controls related to the management of its contributions to ISSC. The contribution agreement is in effect for the fiscal years 2001-2002 to 2005-2006. The Audit Team audited JPD's role in managing the contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

1.2 Objectives

1.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • the contribution agreement was justified under appropriate authorities;
  • the contribution agreement was prepared in accordance with DFAIT's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • the terms and method of payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved terms and conditions; and,
  • the Program Officers conducted project monitoring.

1.3 Methodology

1.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the contribution agreements at DFAIT. The examination phase of the audit was conducted during the period December 2002 and January 2003.

1.3.2 We conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed key personnel in the Consular Affairs Bureau's Case Management and Program Services, Area Management Office (SAM), Supplier Accounts (SMFS) and Program Analysis (SMPT).

Overview

2.1.1 ISSC is a non-governmental, non-profit organization that has been providing consular assistance to Canadian citizens in Canada and abroad since 1979.

2.1.2 Treasury Board approved the terms and conditions for the renewal of Canada's contribution to the ISSC up to $80,000 annually for the five-year period 2001-2002 to 2005-2006. The funds are charged to the Department's Vote 10, Grants and Contributions.

2.1.3 DFAIT's contribution represents the key source of funding for the ISSC's operational expenditures. Other funding sources are from the provinces, memberships, and donations. In addition, DFAIT maintains a service contract with ISSC for individual case referrals at $2,000 per referral.

2.1.4 SIV provided support to the program in developing its Risk-based Audit Framework (RBAF) in February 2001. The overall level of risk associated with funding the ISSC is low. This is largely due to the fact that the amounts involved are relatively small ($80,000 per year) and the Department has had many years of experience working with ISSC. In addition, the Evaluation Division (SIE) conducted an evaluation of ISSC. The report, dated May 14, 2002, concluded that ISSC provides a cost-effective response mechanism to distressed Canadians, as well as high quality services at a cost less than DFAIT could provide internally.

2.1.5 The contribution agreement provides an undertaking by ISSC to provide DFAIT an annual report of its annual general meeting, as well as financial statements verified by an accredited audit firm. SIV reviewed the annual reports for the fiscal years ended March 31, 2001 and 2002 and the audited financial statements for the fiscal years ended March 31, 2001 and 2002.

2.1.6 The annual report identified results, significant issues and gaps in services for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2002. Services were conducted in 77 countries in fiscal year 2000-2001 and 65 countries in fiscal year 2001-2002, with family and child welfare cases representing the majority of the services provided.

2.1.7 The appointed auditors gave a clear and unqualified opinion on ISSC's financial statements as at March 31, 2002 in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

Observations and Recommendations

3.1 Annual Report and Audited Financial Statements

3.1.1 Annex A of the contribution agreement describes the undertakings agreed to by the ISSC. One undertaking states, "...ISSC will provide to DFAIT an annual report of the annual general meeting of ISSC as well as financial statements verified by an accredited audit firm". This undertaking was fulfilled for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2001 but neither the annual report nor the audited financial statements were on file for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2002 at the time of the audit. Before the audit was completed, the recipient had provided both the annual report and the audited financial statements but this was 10 months after the end of the fiscal year. It is essential that these reports are received and reviewed by JPD as an important element of its management control framework.

Recommendation for JPD

3.1.2 JPD should ensure that it receives and reviews ISSC's annual report and audited financial statements within the first quarter following the end of the ISSC's fiscal year-end.

JPD Response

3.1.2 The importance of JPD receiving ISSC's annual report and audited financial statements promptly has been discussed with the Executive Director of ISSC, who will ensure that, in future, the reports are made available to the Consular Bureau on a timely basis for review by Consular staff. Follow-up will be undertaken as needed.

3.2 Monitoring, Contribution Payments and Program File Management

3.2.1 JPP monitors the quarterly financial reports and requests for payments by the recipient, and prepares the quarterly quality performance reports which are based on performance assessments submitted by JPO. JPD receives and reviews JPP's comments before approving the request for payment on behalf of the Program. The request is then forwarded to the Area Management Advisor (SAM) where another review is conducted and the payment is certified under Section 34 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA). Finally, SMFS will certify payment under Section 33 of the FAA.

3.2.2 The quarterly performance report prepared by JPP is a summary of all of the assessments of the quality of the ISSC's services reported by case management officers. The quality performance report will provide an overall satisfaction rating of the services provided by ISSC. On a scale of 1 to 10, scores have been consistently above 8.

3.2.3 The method of payment in Annex B of the contribution agreement provides for advance payments based on quarterly forecasts. SAM did not have a complete copy of the contribution agreement and all payments were made based on a report of actual costs reported and consequently all payments were made after the fact. ISSC can and may request advance payments allowed for in the contribution agreement.

3.2.4 Program files were generally incomplete and disorganized. Documents that comprised the audit trail from program proposal to its approval were filed in a loose fashion and were, in some instances, missing from the file, but subsequently found. Some files contained an assortment of documents such as invoices related to the service contract, requests for payments related to the contribution agreement and quality assessment forms and quarterly performance reports. In the Department's Policy on Grants and Contributions under the Management of Grant and Contribution Programs, Section 6.2 (a) it states: "Proper program and accounting records and other relevant documents must be maintained to provide documentary evidence of decisions made (both initial agreements and any changes subsequently) and to enable disclosure of the amounts paid to the payment recipients". It further states that SXIS can assist divisions in record keeping, e.g. file creation, management and retention periods for the files. JPD may want to consider one file for the Treasury Board proposals and approvals and contribution agreement, a second file for invoices related to the service contract, a third for payments related to the contribution agreement and a fourth for assessment forms and quarterly performance reports.

Recommendation for SAM

3.2.5 SAM should have a complete copy of the contribution agreement, including payment procedures.

SAM Response

3.2.5 SAM now has a complete copy of the contribution agreement, including payment procedures.

Recommendation for JPD

3.2.6 JPD should properly organize its program files with all required documentation easily accessible.

JPD Response

3.2.6 Arrangements were made with SXIS for a member of their team to work with JPP staff to better organize the program files. This project was completed on March 14, 2003.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-12-01

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions ministérielles au Services social international du Canada (SSIC)

(Avril 2003)

Résumé

La Direction de la vérification interne (SIV) a entrepris une vérification de la gestion des contributions versées au Service social international du Canada (SSIC) par la Direction générale des Affaires consulaires (JPD), dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et des contributions du Ministère. Cette vérification avait pour objet de fournir l'assurance que les paiements de contribution étaient versés au SSIC en conformité avec la politique du Ministère sur les programmes de subvention et de contribution et de définir dans quelle mesure le programme de contribution était géré à l'aide de pratiques de contrôle efficaces.

Les dossiers relatifs à l'accord de contribution avec le SSIC ont été vérifiés et jugés conformes à la politique ministérielle. Les critères utilisés pour évaluer le programme de contribution ont été tirés des politiques, directives et procédures du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) et du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT). Ces critères ont ensuite été étudiés avec les gestionnaires de la Direction générale des Affaires consulaires (JPD) qui les ont acceptés. Indépendamment du fait que les dossiers contenaient de la documentation pertinente et des approbations en bonne et due forme des paiements, les dossiers de programmes pourraient être mieux organisés et plus complets. Les activités du bénéficiaire sont contrôlées par le directeur du Service des programmes (JPP) et des agents de la Gestion des cas (JPO).

Portée, objectifs et méthode

1.1 Portée

1.1.1 La présente vérification était plus particulièrement axée sur les pratiques et les contrôles utilisés par JPD pour gérer les contributions versées au SSIC. L'accord de contribution est en vigueur pour les exercices 2001-2002 à 2005-2006. L'équipe de vérification a vérifié le rôle joué par JPD pour gérer le programme de contribution en conformité avec les politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert.

1.2 Objectifs

1.2.1 L'objectif général consistait à définir dans quelle mesure le programme de contribution était géré à l'aide de pratiques de contrôle efficaces et dans quelle mesure il respectait les exigences législatives et réglementaires. Plus particulièrement, l'équipe de vérification s'est attachée à définir les points suivants :

  • si l'accord de contribution était justifié en vertu des autorisations pertinentes;
  • si l'accord de contribution était préparé en conformité avec la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du MAECI;
  • si les modalités et le mode de paiement étaient conformes aux modalités et conditions approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • si les agents de programme effectuaient un contrôle des projets.

1.3 Méthodes

1.3.1 L'équipe de vérification a examiné les principaux processus administratifs et les contrôles clés associés à la gestion des accords de contribution au sein du MAECI. La phase d'examen de la vérification a été mise en oeuvre pendant les mois de décembre 2002 et janvier 2003.

1.3.2 Nous avons procédé à un examen complet de la documentation pertinente relative au programme et interrogé des membres clés du personnel de la Gestion des cas et du Service des programmes de la Direction des Affaires consulaires, du Bureau de l'administration du secteur (SAM), du Chef, comptes de fournisseurs (SMFS) et de l'Analyse des programmes - Directions générales fonctionnelles (SMPT).

Vue d'ensemble

2.1.1 Le SSIC est un organisme non gouvernemental à but non lucratif qui fournit une aide consulaire aux citoyens canadiens, au Canada et à l'étranger, depuis 1979.

2.1.2 le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé les modalités et conditions du renouvellement de la contribution du Canada au SSIC, d'un montant maximum de 80 000 dollars par an, pour la période quinquennale de 2001-2002 à 2005-2006. Les fonds sont imputés au crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions du Ministère.

2.1.3 La contribution du MAECI représente une source essentielle de financement pour les dépenses d'exploitation du SSIC. D'autres sources de financement proviennent des provinces, des membres et des donateurs. En outre, le MAECI a conclu un marché des services avec le SSIC pour des renvois de cas individuels à 2 000 dollars par renvoi.

2.1.4 SIV a fourni un appui au programme en élaborant un cadre de vérification fondé sur les risques en février 2001. Le niveau de risque global associé au financement du SSIC est faible. Ceci est principalement dû au fait que les montants versés sont relativement limités (80 000 dollars par année) et que le Ministère compte de nombreuses années d'expérience de travail avec le SSIC. Par ailleurs, la Direction de l'évaluation (SIE) a procédé à une évaluation du SSIC. Les conclusions du rapport, qui date du 14 mai 2002, ont signalé que le SSIC offrait un mécanisme de réponse rentable aux Canadiens en détresse, ainsi que des services de haute qualité à un coût moins élevé que ce que le MAECI pouvait offrir à l'interne.

2.1.5 L'accord de contribution prévoit l'engagement, par le SSIC, de fournir au MAECI un rapport annuel de son assemblée générale annuelle, ainsi que les états financiers vérifiés par un cabinet de vérificateurs accrédité. SIV a examiné les rapports annuels pour les exercices se terminant le 31 mars 2001 et 2002 ainsi que les états financiers vérifiés pour les exercices se terminant le 31 mars 2001 et 2002.

2.1.6 Le rapport annuel a permis de dégager des résultats, ainsi que des lacunes et des problèmes importants pour l'année fiscale se terminant le 31 mars 2002. Des services ont été fournis dans 77 pays au cours de l'exercice 2000-2001 et dans 65 pays au cours de l'année fiscale 2001-2002, les cas de protection de l'enfance et de la famille représentant la majorité des services fournis.

2.1.7 Les vérificateurs attitrés ont soumis une opinion claire et sans réserve sur les états financiers du SSIC au 31 mars 2002, conformément à des principes comptables généralement reconnus.

Observations et recommandations

3.1 Rapport annuel et états financiers vérifiés

3.1.1 L'annexe A de l'accord de contribution décrit les engagements convenus par le SSIC. Un engagement énonce que le SSIC fournira au MAECI un rapport annuel de l'assemblée générale annuelle du SSIC ainsi que des états financiers vérifiés par un cabinet de vérification accrédité. Cet engagement a été rempli pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2001, mais ni le rapport annuel, ni les états financiers vérifiés n'avaient été produits, au moment de la vérification, pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2002. Avant que la vérification soit achevée, le bénéficiaire avait fourni le rapport annuel et les états financiers vérifiés mais ceci, 10 mois après la fin de l'exercice. Il est capital que ces rapports soient reçus et examinés par JPD car ils constituent un élément important de son cadre de contrôle de la gestion.

Recommandation à l'intention de JPD

3.1.2 JPD devrait faire en sorte de recevoir et d'examiner le rapport annuel et les états financiers vérifiés au cours du premier trimestre suivant la clôture de l'exercice du SSIC.

Réponse de JPD

3.1.2 On a discuté du fait qu'il est important que JPD reçoive le rapport annuel et les états financiers vérifiés du SSIC dans les plus brefs délais avec le directeur exécutif du SSIC. Ce dernier veillera à ce que, à l'avenir, les rapports soient soumis à la Direction des affaires consulaires en temps opportun pour être examinés par le personnel des services consulaires. On entreprendra, selon les besoins, des activités de suivi.

3.2 Contrôle, paiements de contribution et gestion des dossiers de programmes

3.2.1 JPP contrôle les rapports financiers trimestriels et les demandes de paiement présentées par le bénéficiaire et prépare les rapports trimestriels sur la qualité du rendement, lesquels sont fondés sur des évaluations du rendement soumises par JPO. JPD reçoit et examine les commentaires de JPP avant d'approuver la demande de paiement pour le compte du programme. La demande est ensuite transmise au Conseiller de l'administration du secteur (SAM) où un autre examen est entrepris, puis le paiement est certifié en vertu de la section 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Pour finir, SMFS certifie le montant demandé en vertu de la section 33 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

3.2.2 Le rapport trimestriel sur la qualité du rendement préparé par JPP est un résumé de toutes les évaluations de la qualité des services du SSIC déclarés par les agents de gestion des cas. Les rapports sur la qualité du rendement fourniront une cote de satisfaction globale des services fournis par le SSIC. Sur une échelle de 1 à 10, les scores ont été régulièrement supérieurs à 8.

3.2.3 En ce qui concerne le mode de paiement décrit dans l'annexe B de l'accord de contribution, ce dernier prévoit le versement de paiements anticipés fondés sur des prévisions trimestrielles. SAM ne possédait pas un exemplaire intégral de l'accord de contribution et tous les paiements ont été effectués à partir d'un rapport des coûts réels déclarés; par conséquent, tous les paiements ont été effectués après coup. Le SSIC peut et doit demander les versements anticipés autorisés dans l'accord de contribution.

3.2.4 En règle générale, les dossiers de programme étaient incomplets et confus. Les documents comprenant la piste de vérification depuis la proposition de programme jusqu'à l'approbation de ce dernier étaient classés pêle-mêle et, dans certains cas, étaient manquants bien qu'ils aient été retrouvés par la suite. Certains dossiers contenaient un assortiment de documents tels que des factures relatives au marché de services, des demandes de paiement relatives à l'accord de contribution ainsi que des formulaires d'évaluation de la qualité et des rapports trimestriels sur le rendement. Dans la section 6.2 a) de la politique sur les subventions et les contributions du Ministère en vertu de la gestion des programmes de subventions et de contributions, il est stipulé que les dossiers comptables et dossiers de programme requis ainsi que d'autres documents pertinents doivent être tenus à jour pour fournir une preuve documentaire des décisions rendues (tant les accords initiaux que toute modification apportée ultérieurement) ainsi que pour permettre la communication des montants payés aux bénéficiaires des paiements. Il est ensuite énoncé que SXIS peut aider les différentes divisions pour tout ce qui concerne la tenue des dossiers, p. ex., la création et la gestion de dossiers, ainsi que le délai de conservation de ces derniers. Nous suggérons à JPD d'envisager de créer un premier dossier pour les propositions soumises au Conseil du Trésor, les approbations et l'accord de contribution, un deuxième pour les factures relatives au marché de services, un troisième pour les paiements liés à l'accord de contribution et un quatrième pour les formulaires d'évaluation et les rapports trimestriels sur le rendement.

Recommandation à l'intention de SAM

3.2.5 SAM devrait détenir un exemplaire intégral de l'accord de contribution, y compris des procédures de paiement.

Réponse de SAM

3.2.5 SAM est désormais en possession d'un exemplaire intégral de l'accord de contribution, y compris des procédures de paiement.

Recommandation à l'intention de JPD

3.2.6 JPD devrait organiser ses dossiers de programmes en bonne et due forme et faire en sorte que l'on puisse avoir accès facilement à toute la documentation requise.

Réponse de JPD

3.2.6 Des arrangements ont été pris avec SXIS pour qu'un membre de leur équipe travaille conjointement avec le personnel de JPP, afin de mieux organiser les dossiers de programmes. Ce projet a été mené à bonne fin le 14 mars 2003.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-12-01