Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian High Commission, Kingston

(April 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations, the International Business Development, the Consular and the Administration Programs was conducted in Kingston during the period May 20 to 24, 2002. The previous audit of the Mission was a follow-up audit conducted in March 1994. The Mission is responsible for relations with Jamaica, the Bahamas, Belize, the Cayman Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Management of the Misssion

The Mission has a strong management team and very capable leadership in the Head of Mission (HOM). The Committee on Mission Management is used to coordinate and monitor activities and anticipate future events. However, a formal Mission plan, as well as individual Program plans, would enhance oversight and accountability. Also, more communication and team building efforts, including a restructured LES Committee, would improve morale and Program integration.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations (GR) Program

More attention and effort is required in the Public Affairs area. This would require upgrading existing resources and can be accomplished by redistributing the workload between the HOM's Office, Administration and the GR Program and converting the SCY position in the GR Program into LES positions.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development (IBD) Program

The IBD Program under the new Senior Trade Commissioner (STC) has adopted a team approach which has focussed the Program's direction and improved coordination of activities. The Program is following the New Approach providing the six core services to its clients. More effort is required to document plans and to develop targets for outcall activity. Also, HQ support is required to ensure the success of the Program's Virtual Trade Show initiative.

IBD Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is effectively managed. Continency plans and travel reports have recently been updated and a warden system is in place. Passports and other document assets are adequately secured and accounted for. Consideration needs to be given to establishing an Honorary Consul in the Cayman Islands versus the continuing need for one in the Turks and Caicos Islands. Also the high operating costs of the Bahamas Honorary Consul need to be reviewed.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Administration Program is well managed and operating effectively. Improvements are required in documenting objectives and priorities and enhancing communications. There is also a need to evaluate the resource configuration of the Program, particularly the roles of the Office Manager and the Property Manager positions. Savings are possible by combining these positions into one Deputy MCO position.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendations and Management Responses

A total of 32 audit recommendations are raised in the report. Of these, 30 are addressed to the Mission and 2 are addressed to Headquarters (HQ). Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 32 recommendations, management has stated that 15 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining 17 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLesTotal
Total155166
HOM257
General Relations213
IBD134
Immigration42125
Development224
RCMP213
Administration and Consular21820

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Chancery10
OR10
SQs86
Vehicles60

Financial Information (2001-2002)

Operating Budget (N001)$2,112,432
LES Salaries (N012)1,606,565
CBS Overtime (N011)8,200
Capital (N005)102,200
Total$3,829,397

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-11

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du Haut-commissariat du Canada, Kingston

(Avril 2003)

Résumé

Du 20 au 24 mai 2002, le Programme des relations générales, le Programme de développement du commerce international, le Programme des services consulaires et le Programme d'administration ont fait l'objet d'une vérification à Kingston. La mission n'avait pas fait l'objet d'une vérification depuis 1994; il s'agissait d'une vérification de suivi. La mission est responsable des relations avec la Jamaïque, les Bahamas, le Belize, les îles Caïmans ainsi que les îles Turks et Caicos.

Gestion de la mission

La mission est dirigée par une équipe de gestion solide et un chef de mission (CDM) fort compétent. Le Comité de gestion de la mission coordonne et surveille les activités et planifie les événements à venir. Toutefois, l'élaboration d'un plan officiel pour la mission et de plans pour chaque programme améliorerait la supervision et la reddition de comptes. De plus, l'intensification des communications et de la promotion du travail d'équipe, y compris la restructuration du Comité des ERP, favoriserait le moral et l'intégration des programmes.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme des relations générales (PRG)

Il faudra consacrer davantage d'attention et d'efforts au secteur des affaires publiques, ce qui nécessitera la mise à niveau des ressources actuelles, par exemple en redistribuant la charge de travail entre le bureau du CDM, le Programme d'administration et le PRG et en convertissant en postes d'ERP les postes de SCY au sein du PRG.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Programme de développement du commerce international (PDIC)

Le PDIC, sous la direction du nouveau délégué commercial principal, a adopté une stratégie de travail d'équipe qui a permis de mieux cibler l'orientation du programme et d'améliorer la coordination des activités. Le Programme suit la Nouvelle Approche dans la prestation de ses six services de base à la clientèle. Il faudra toutefois déployer des efforts supplémentaires pour établir des plans et fixer des objectifs en matière de visites. De plus, la réussite de l'initiative Foire commerciale virtuelle nécessitera le soutien de l'AC.

PDIC - rapport détaillé

Programme des services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires est bien géré. Les plans d'urgence et les Conseils aux voyageurs ont été mis à jour récemment, et un réseau de coordonnateurs d'urgence est en place. La sécurité et la comptabilité des passeports et du reste du fonds documentaire sont adéquates. Il faudra évaluer la pertinence d'établir un consul honoraire aux îles Caïmans qui remplacerait celui des îles Turks et Caicos. De plus, il faudra examiner les coûts de fonctionnement élevés du consul honoraire des Bahamas.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

Le Programme d'administration est bien géré et fonctionne efficacement. La description des objectifs et priorités ainsi que les communications doivent toutefois être améliorées. Il faut également évaluer la configuration des ressources du Programme, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les fonctions du chef de bureau et du gestionnaire immobilier. La fusion de ces deux postes en un poste d'agent-gestionnaire consulaire (AGC) adjoint permettrait de réaliser des économies.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Recommandations et réponses de la direction

Le rapport de vérification contient un total de 32 recommandations, soit 30 adressées à la mission et 2 adressées à l'Administration centrale (AC). La direction a répondu à chacune en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions déjà prises ainsi que les mesures qui seront prises ultérieurement. Sur les 32 recommandations, la direction a indiqué que 15 avaient été mises en oeuvre. Pour les 17 autres, elle a mentionné les initiatives en cours ou les mesures qui sont prévues.

Fiche d'information sur les ressources de la mission

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
CDM257
Relations générales213
Promotion du commerce international134
Immigration42125
Développement224
GRC213
Administration et services consulaires21820
Total155166

Ressources matérielles

Éléments d'actifPropriétés de l'étatLoués par l'état
Chancellerie10
Résidence officielle10
Logements du personnel86
Véhicule60

Information financière pour 2001-2002

Exploitation (N001)2 112 432 $
Salaires des ERP (N012)1 606 565 $
Travail supplémentaire des EC (N011)8 200 $
Dépenses en capital (N005)102 200 $
Total3 829 397 $

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-11