Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Mexico City (including Monterrey and Guadalajara)

(June 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations (GR), International Business Development (IBD), Consular, and Administration Programs in Mexico was conducted in Mexico City during the period March 3 to 14, 2003. The Trade Consulates in Guadalajara and Monterrey were audited during the period March 10 to 12, 2003. Three of the seven Honorary Consuls in Mexico were visited during the period March 10 to 13, 2003 (Acapulco, Oaxaca and Puerto Vallarta). Mexico was last audited in June 1998.

Management of the Mission

The Mission is undergoing a workload crisis caused by the increasing importance of Mexico as a country of bilateral and multilateral priority, and by a large and continuing number of high level visits. Resources by no means have kept pace with the workload. Although excellent results have been achieved to date, Mexico is handling this workload at a pace that is unsustainable. The effects of the resultant pressure on staff in terms of stress and burnout are evident. A twofold solution is required. First, the Mission's immediate resource needs must be addressed. Instances are cited where this is already taking place. Second, Mission management with help from Headquarters must alter its approach to dealing with the workload, and take immediate steps to improve staff morale and alienation. A number of interpersonal actions for management to implement are set out, including the adoption of established departmental approaches (e.g. e3)(1) that are aimed at reducing the problems caused by workload vs. resource imbalances.

Mexico's increasing size and importance also creates a need for a Deputy Head of Mission position for the Embassy, and Consul General status for Monterrey. The former would spread the managerial load of the Head of Mission (HOM), and the latter would improve coverage of Northern Mexico and reduce some of the Embassy's workload.

Chancery overcrowding is being addressed by a combination of internal office space rationalization and by having the Canada Education Centre (CEC) vacate the office space they occupy on the ground floor. The CEC will move out when their MOU with the Department expires in March 2005.

The establishment of a proposed visits unit as a common service within the Administration Program should reduce the administrative and logistical burden of visits on Mission programs.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

Mexico is a key bilateral relationship, as set out in the Department's Strategic Priorities. Workload has escalated dramatically since the election of the new Mexican government in 2000, and the program has established an enviable record of excellence and effectiveness. Nevertheless, the Program is experiencing the same unsustainable workload pressures as the rest of the Mission. In partial recognition of this, an additional FS 01 Officer will be assigned to the Political Section in the Summer of 2003. Communications and strategic planning need to be strengthened through periodic staff retreats and planning sessions, and more area travel and outreach are needed to enhance exposure to all areas of the country. The Congressional and Public Affairs Section represents too large a span of control for one manager, given the growing importance of each unit. Congressional relations should be transferred to the Economics Section for the short term, leaving the re-titled Public Affairs Section to be headed by a specialist in that field. Recommendations are raised on resource issues. Library services need to be upgraded and refocused so that the Mission's programs are better served.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development Program

  1. Mexico City
    The Mexico IBD Program has experienced considerable workload increase over the last three years with no anticipated let-up foreseen in the near future. The Program clearly lacks sufficient resources to meet current operational demands as evidenced by the largely uncompensated overtime routinely worked by all IBD staff to keep up with the workload. The creation of an additional Commercial Assistant position has been recommended. Increased delegation of responsibility to the Deputy Program Manager and other Canada-based staff (CBS) Officers should alleviate the time spent by the Program Manager on administrative functions. Generally, good program design exists, but there is scope for improvement in the areas of communications and teamwork. Annual tri-post staff retreats with participation from Headquarters should be convened for team building and strategic planning purposes.
  2. Guadalajara
    The Consulate in Guadalajara is hard pressed to keep up with an expanding IBD and Consular workload. It suffers from lack of office space, but additional space could be leased. Such space would also be required for an incremental Commercial Assistant and Commercial Officer, which are supported by the Audit Team.
  3. Monterrey
    The Consulate in Monterrey is facing increasing client demand to provide a wide range of programs and services in northern Mexico in support of bilateral relations. Monterrey as a Consulate General, with a commensurate increase in resources, would be better placed to deal with the breadth and depth of this workload. Recommendations are raised to provide for an incremental Commercial Assistant and Commercial Officer, and increased travel and hospitality budgets.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

Mexico is the Department's most sensitive consular program, given the large numbers of Canadian tourists and residents and the ten points of consular service delivery in the country. In general, the Program is running well, and Mission management and Headquarters are closely monitoring issues of client service quality. Given the importance of the Honorary Consuls to the program delivery network, serious attention should be focussed on their remuneration, so that it is commensurate with effort expended.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

Growth in DFAIT and Other Government Department (OGD) programs in the Embassy and Consulates, and the number of provincial and other chancery co-locators need to be accompanied by an appropriate growth in administrative staff. The current imbalance is being addressed by the arrival during the Summer of 2003 of a fourth CBS Deputy Management/Consular Officer (MCO), and a request to regularize a locally-engaged staff (LES) Property Assistant contract position. Recommendations are raised for additional resources for fiscal year (FY) 2003-2004.

A series of recommendations are raised to put in place the elements described in Management of the Mission that are required to raise staff morale and rebuild confidence and trust. They address conditions affecting the entire mission.

The Department needs to find an IMS solution to the problem of shadow accounting systems. Although the Mission considers it a best practice to maintain a large number of manually-updated spread sheets to track financial expenditures, the Department should provide system-generated, user-friendly reports for management that would eliminate the need for missions to invent their own reports. This same situation has been observed during other mission audits. Mexico's financial systems are running well, and recommendations are raised to fine-tune procedures, and to provide an incremental Assistant Accountant position.

A telecommunications annual work plan should be developed so that an equitable balance can be established between the Mission's needs, its responsibilities in Mexico to maintain the MITNET hub for nine offices, and the needs of the eight missions that have to be served by regional travel. A third telecommunications specialist may be required. Accountability Agreements should be established between the Mission, HQ and the SAs and ELs that clearly set out priorities, objectives and expected results.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

A total of 67 audit recommendations are raised in the report; 64 are addressed to the Mission and three are addressed to Headquarters (HQ). Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 67 recommendations, management has stated that 46 recommendations have been implemented. For each of the remaining 21 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Summary of Resource Increases

ProgramFY 2003-2004Medium TermLong Term
ManagementCBS  1 Deputy HOM 
General RelationsCBS1 Political Officer FS-01Position created April 1, 20031 Economic Officer FS-01 
  1 Congressional Officer FS-02 
LES1 Congressional OfficerConvert from term position1 General Relations Assistant 
1 Congressional AssistantConvert from term position1 Cultural Assistant 
1 Cultural OfficerRegularize contractor  
1 Media Assistant   
IBDLES1 Agriculture Canada Assistant - Mexico 1 IBD Assistant - Mexico 
1 IBD Assistant - Monterrey 1 IBD Officer - Monterrey 
1 IBD Assistant - Guadalajara 1 IBD Officer - Guadalajara 
  1 IBD Officer - Mexico 
ConsularLES1 Consular AssistantPosition created April 1, 2003  
AdministrationCBS1 DMCO AS-05Position created April 1, 2003 1 Technician (EL)
LES1 Property AssistantRegularize contractor1 Personnel OfficerLES for OGD Program support as required
1 Assistant Accountant 1 Visits Assistant
1 Administration Assistant 1 Translator (Regularize contractor)
OGDsCBS1 Agriculture Food SpecialistArriving Summer of 2003 New and/or increased presence

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Mexico City

Human Resources (FTEs)

strong>Program

CBSLES

Total

HOM2810
General Relations51318
IBD - Mexico City51217
EDC - Mexico City11.52.5
Immigration2911
Administration72330
Consular167
- Honorary Consul Staff *044
DND202
RCMP/Liaison224
Natural Resources01.51.5
Province of Alberta112
Total2881109

Honorary Consuls are located in Acapulco, Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan, Tijuana, Oaxaca and San Jose del Cabo. LES are located one each in Acapulco and Cancun, and two in Puerto Vallarta.

Physical Resources

Assets

Owned

Leased

Chancery - Mexico City10
OR10
SQs - Mexico City124
Vehicles100

There are currently two employee couples at the Mission.

Financial Information (2002-2003) (Includes Monterrey and Guadalajara)

Operating Budget$4,159,909
LES Salaries3,933,589
CBS Salaries2,879,224
Capital281,100
Total$11,253,822

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Monterrey

Human Resources (FTEs)

ProgramCBSLESTotal
IBD13.54.5
EDC - Monterrey01.51.5
Administration and Consular011
Total167

Physical Resources

AssetsOwnedLeased
Consulate01
SQs01

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Guadalajara

Human Resources (FTEs)

Program CBSLESTotal
IBD134
Administration and Consular011
Total145

Physical Resources

Assets

Owned

Leased

Consulate01
SQs01

1.  e3 = equilibrium, effectiveness and excellence. This is a departmental approach to striking a balance between clear priorities and the resources available to achieve them. It is a formal process that seeks to find new ways of doing things and new ways for staff to organize for the identification and delivery on priorities. It is also an informal process, a way of thinking about activities, objectives and clients.

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-11-27

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada à Mexico (y compris Monterrey et Guadalajara)

(Juin 2003)

Sommaire

Les programmes des relations générales (RG), de la promotion du commerce international (PCI), des affaires consulaires et d'administration du Mexique ont fait l'objet d'une vérification du 3 au 14 mars 2003. La vérification des consulats commerciaux de Guadalajara et de Monterrey s'est déroulée du 10 au 12 mars 2003. Trois des sept consuls honoraires du Mexique (soit ceux d'Acapulco, d'Oaxaca et de Puerto Vallarta) ont quant à eux reçu la visite des vérificateurs entre le 10 et le 13 mars 2003. La dernière vérification de la mission du Mexique remonte au mois de juin 1998.

Gestion de la mission

À l'heure actuelle, la mission doit composer avec une charge de travail excessive attribuable au rôle de plus en plus important que joue le Mexique sur les plans bilatéral et multilatéral et au nombre élevé et continu de visites de dignitaires. Or, les ressources n'ont pas augmenté au rythme de la charge de travail. Bien que la mission du Mexique ait obtenu d'excellents résultats jusqu'à maintenant, la charge de travail est gérée à un rythme qui ne saurait être maintenu. Cette situation a créé une pression évidente sur le personnel, entraînant un stress et de l'épuisement professionnel. Il faut appliquer une solution en deux volets. D'abord, il faut répondre aux besoins immédiats en ressources de la mission. Des mesures sont déjà prises à cet égard. Ensuite, la direction de la mission, avec le soutien de l'Administration centrale, doit modifier sa façon de gérer la charge de travail et prendre sans tarder des mesures visant l'amélioration du moral du personnel et l'élimination du sentiment d'aliénation. Nous avons défini des mesures interpersonnelles à l'intention de la direction, par exemple l'adoption d'approches déjà mises en place au Ministère (p. ex., e3)(1) visant à réduire les problèmes associés à l'importance de la charge de travail par rapport au niveau de ressources.

Aussi, compte tenu de la taille et de l'importance accrues de la mission du Mexique, il faut créer un poste de chef de mission adjoint à l'ambassade et un poste de consul général à Monterrey. Le chef de mission adjoint assumerait une partie de la charge de travail du chef de mission (CDM), tandis que le consul général s'occuperait davantage des activités dans le nord du Mexique et assumerait une partie de la charge de travail du personnel de l'ambassade.

Pour régler le problème de surpeuplement des locaux de la chancellerie, on a trouvé une solution en deux volets : on procédera à une réorganisation des locaux et on demandera au Centre d'études canadiennes (CEC) de libérer les locaux qu'il occupe au rez-de-chaussée. Le CEC déménagera en mars 2005, soit à l'expiration du PE conclu avec le Ministère.

La création d'une section des visites au sein du Programme d'administration devrait permettre de réduire le fardeau administratif et logistique que représentent les visites pour les programmes de la mission.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Programme des relations générales

Le Canada entretient des liens bilatéraux importants avec le Mexique, comme l'indiquent les priorités stratégiques du Ministère. La charge de travail s'est considérablement accrue depuis l'élection d'un nouveau gouvernement au Mexique en 2000, et le programme a atteint des niveaux d'excellence et d'efficacité enviables. La charge de travail demeure toutefois difficile à gérer, comme c'est le cas dans le reste de la mission. Afin de régler le problème, on affectera un nouvel agent FS 01 à la Section des affaires politiques dès l'été de 2003. Il faut améliorer les communications et la planification stratégique en organisant des séances de réflexion périodiques et des séances de planification. Par ailleurs, il faut prévoir davantage de déplacements et d'activités de communication pour faire connaître les services de la mission dans toutes les régions du pays. Le gestionnaire de la Section des relations avec le Congrès et des affaires publiques a trop de responsabilités, compte tenu de l'importance de plus en plus grande de chaque unité. À court terme, il faudrait transférer les activités de relations avec le Congrès à la Section des affaires économiques; la nouvelle section des affaires publiques serait dirigée par un spécialiste de ce secteur. Certaines recommandations sont formulées au sujet des ressources. Il faut moderniser et réorienter les services de bibliothèque pour offrir de meilleurs services aux programmes de la mission.

Programme des relations générales - rapport détaillé

Programme de promotion du commerce international (PCI)

  1. Mexico
    Les activités du Programme de PCI de la mission à Mexico se sont multipliées ces trois dernières années et on ne prévoit pas de ralentissement à court terme. Les ressources affectées au Programme sont nettement insuffisantes pour répondre aux besoins opérationnels, comme l'indique le nombre d'heures supplémentaires non rémunérées qu'effectuent régulièrement tous les employés affectés au programme pour s'acquitter de leur charge de travail. La création d'un nouveau poste d'adjoint commercial est recommandée. La délégation d'un plus grand nombre de responsabilités au gestionnaire adjoint du Programme et à d'autres agents canadiens devrait alléger la charge de travail administrative du gestionnaire du Programme. Dans l'ensemble, le Programme est bien structuré, mais des mesures pourraient être prises pour améliorer les communications et l'esprit d'équipe. Il y aurait lieu d'organiser des séances de réflexion annuelles réunissant le personnel des trois missions et des représentants de l'Administration centrale afin de solidifier l'esprit d'équipe et d'améliorer la planification stratégique.
  2. Guadalajara
    Le consulat de Guadalajara doit composer avec l'augmentation de la charge de travail consulaire et l'élargissement des activités du Programme de PCI. Les locaux du consulat sont trop exigus; on pourrait louer des locaux supplémentaires. Il faudra un bureau pour un nouvel adjoint commercial et un nouvel agent commercial, dont l'embauche est recommandée par l'équipe de vérification.
  3. Monterrey
    Le consulat de Monterrey reçoit de plus en plus de demandes concernant l'exécution de divers programmes et services dans le nord du Mexique à l'appui des relations bilatérales. La désignation du bureau de Monterrey comme consulat général et l'augmentation de ses ressources permettraient de répondre plus facilement à ces nouvelles demandes. Nous recommandons l'embauche d'un adjoint commercial et d'un agent commercial supplémentaires, ainsi que l'augmentation des budgets de déplacement et d'hébergement.

Programme de la promotion du commerce international - rapport détaillé

Programme des services consulaires

Le Programme des services consulaires au Mexique est le programme consulaire le plus névralgique du Ministère, compte tenu du nombre élevé de touristes et de résidents canadiens qui voyagent au Mexique et du fait que le Programme compte dix points de services partout au pays. Dans l'ensemble, l'exécution du Programme est efficace; la direction de la mission et l'AC surveillent de près la qualité du service à la clientèle. Compte tenu du rôle important que jouent les consuls honoraires au sein du réseau d'exécution du Programme, il faudrait s'assurer qu'ils reçoivent une rémunération adéquate.

Programme des services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Programme d'administration

L'augmentation du nombre de programmes du MAECI et d'autres ministères exécutés à l'ambassade et dans les consulats, ainsi que le nombre d'organismes provinciaux et d'autres chancelleries qui sont colocataires des locaux nécessitent une augmentation du personnel administratif. L'arrivée, à l'été de 2003, d'un quatrième agent gestionnaire consulaire (AGC) adjoint (EC), et la régularisation d'un poste contractuel d'adjoint à la gestion des biens immobiliers recruté sur place devraient rectifier un tant soit peu la situation. Nous recommandons l'embauche de nouvelles ressources pour l'exercice 2003-2004.

Diverses recommandations visent la mise en place des éléments décrits dans la section relative à la gestion de la mission qui sont nécessaires à l'amélioration du moral du personnel et au rétablissement de la confiance. Ces recommandations se rapportent à des situations qui touchent l'ensemble de la mission.

Le Ministère doit simplifier son SGI pour régler le problème relatif aux systèmes de comptabilité « parallèles ». Même si la mission estime comme exemplaire sa façon de faire, c'est-à-dire la mise à jour manuelle des feuilles de calcul pour faire le suivi des dépenses, le Ministère devrait fournir à la direction de la mission des rapports électroniques conviviaux, de sorte que celle-ci n'ait plus à créer ses propres rapports. Cette situation avait déjà été observée dans le cadre d'autres vérifications de la mission. Les systèmes financiers de la mission du Mexique sont efficaces et les recommandations formulées visent l'amélioration des procédures et l'embauche d'un comptable adjoint.

Il faudrait élaborer un plan de travail annuel sur les télécommunications, afin de créer un équilibre entre les besoins de la mission, ses responsabilités au Mexique en ce qui concerne le maintien du service central du MITNET pour neuf bureaux, et les besoins des huit missions qui sont servis par des employés itinérants. Il faudra peut-être embaucher un troisième spécialiste des télécommunications. Des ententes de responsabilité devraient être établies entre la mission, l'AC, les AS et les EL pour définir clairement les priorités, les objectifs et les résultats souhaités.

Programme d'administration - rapport détaillé

Mise en oeuvre des recommandations

Le présent rapport de vérification renferme 67 recommandations; 64 d'entre elles visent la mission et 3 visent l'Administration centrale (AC). La direction a indiqué, pour chacune des recommandations, les mesures ou les décisions qui avaient déjà été prises et celles qui étaient prévues. Ainsi, selon la direction, 46 des 67 recommandations ont été mises en oeuvre. En ce qui a trait aux 21 autres recommandations, la direction a décrit les mesures en cours ou prévues.

Sommaire de l'augmentation des ressources

ProgrammeExercice 2003-2004Moyen termeLong terme
DirectionEC  1 CDM adjoint 
Relations généralesEC1 agent politique FS-01poste créé le 1er avril 20031 agent économique FS-01 
  1 agent des relations avec le Congrès FS-02 
ERP1 agent des relations avec le Congrèsconversion d'un poste d'une durée déterminée1 adjoint aux relations générales 
1 adjoint des relations avec le Congrèsconversion d'un poste d'une durée déterminée1 adjoint aux affaires culturelles 
1 adjoint aux affaires culturellesposte de contractuel régularisé  
1 adjoint média   
PCIERP1 adjoint, Agriculture Canada - Mexico 1 adjoint à PCI - Mexico 
1 adjoint à PCI - Monterrey 1 agent à PCI - Monterrey 
1 adjoint à PCI - Guadalajara 1 agent à PCI - Guadalajara 
  1 agent à PCI - Mexico 
Services consulairesERP1 adjoint aux services consulairesposte créé le 1er avril 2003  
AdministrationEC1 AGCA AS-05poste créé le 1er avril 2003 1 technicien (EL)
ERP1 adjoint aux biens immobiliersposte contractuel régularisé1 agent du personnelERP pour soutien aux AMF, au besoin
1 adjoint comptable 1 adjoint aux visites
1 adjoint administratif 1 traducteur (poste contractuel régularisé)
Autres ministèresEC1 spécialiste, agriculture et agro-alimentairedébut été 2003 présence nouvelle et/ou élargie

Fiche d'information sur les ressources de la mission - Mexico

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
CDM2810
Relations générales51318
PCI - Mexico51217
EDC - Mexico11.52.5
Immigration2911
Administration72330
Services consulaires167
- personnel du consul honoraire *044
MDN202
GRC/liaison224
Ressources naturelles01.51.5
Province de l'Alberta112
Total2881109

Les consuls honoraires sont établis à Acapulco, Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan, Tijuana, Oaxaca et San Jose del Cabo. Un ERP travaille à Acapulco, un autre à Cancun, et deux autres à Puerto Vallarta.

Ressources matérielles

BiensDétenusloués
Chancellerie - Mexico10
RO10
LP - Mexico124
Véhicules100

La mission compte actuellement deux couples d'employés.

Information financière, 2002-2003 (comprend Monterrey et Guadalajara)

Budget de fonctionnement4 159 909 $
Salaires des ERP3 933 589 $
Salaires des EC2 879 224 $
Immobilisations281 100 $
Total11 253 822 $

Fiche d'information sur les ressources de la mission - Monterrey

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
PCI13.54.5
EDC - Monterrey01.51.5
Administration et services consulaires011
Total167

Ressources matérielles

BiensDétenusLoués
Consulat01
LP01

Fiche d'information sur les ressources de la mission - Guadalajara

Ressources humaines (ETP)

ProgrammeECERPTotal
PCI134
Administration et services consulaires011
Total145

Ressources matérielles

BiensDétenusLoués
Consulat01
LP01

1. e3 = équilibre, efficacité et excellence. Cette approche ministérielle vise à établir un équilibre entre les priorités et les ressources disponibles. Il s'agit d'un processus officiel destiné à trouver de nouvelles façons de faire et de nouvelles méthodes de détermination des priorités et des mesures connexes à prendre. L'approche e3 est également une nouvelle façon d'aborder les activités, les objectifs et les clients.

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-11-27