Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Assurance Audit of Prepaid Expenditures

(October 2003)

Executive Summary

This report presents the findings of the audit of the Departmental practices associated with recording prepaid expenditures. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the Department appropriately and consistently accounts for its prepaid expenditures in accordance with prescribed accounting standards and relevant policies.

The Department's Chart of Accounts contains nine Prepaid asset General Ledger (GL) accounts. We are concerned with the accuracy of the balance in each of these GL accounts.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) policy on Accounting for Prepaid Expenses does not provide clear direction, nor does it clearly assign the responsibility for monitoring prepaid expenditures to the various departmental stakeholders. Our audit tests indicate that there is a high degree of inconsistency in the accounting treatment of prepaid expenditures both between, and within, missions. We attribute the inconsistency, in large part, to the noted policy deficiencies. We are, therefore, unable to conclude that the balances recorded in IMS for Prepaid Rent, and related expense accounts, are accurate and complete. Consequently, the accuracy of the Prepaid asset financial information disclosed in the Department's financial statements is questionable.

Recommendation Status

A total of 3 audit recommendations are raised in the report; 2 are addressed to SMS and one is addressed to SMF. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decisions made, as well as future action. Of the 3 recommendations, management has stated that one recommendation has been implemented. For each of the remaining 2 recommendations, management has indicated the initiatives in progress or the intended future action.

Audit Scope, Objectives, Approach and Timing

1.1 Audit Scope

1.1.1 The audit covered the Departmental accounting practices related to prepaid expenditures. More specifically, the audit assessed the IMS posting practices that apply to Crown Leased property payments by missions to ensure that prepayments and related expenses are properly recorded in the Department's financial records.

1.2 Audit Objectives

1.2.1 The overall audit objective was to determine the extent to which the Department appropriately, consistently and efficiently accounts for its prepaid expenditures in accordance with prescribed accounting standards and relevant policies. In particular, the audit focused on determining whether:

  • The DFAIT policy on Accounting for Prepaid Expenses clearly articulates the scope, objective, definitions, procedures and reporting requirements related to prepayments;
  • Roles, responsibilities and authorities of Departmental stakeholders with respect to the accounting of prepayments are clearly defined, communicated, understood and adequately discharged; and,
  • Crown-Lease prepayments and related expenditures are properly recorded in the Department's financial records.

1.3 Audit Approach and Timing

1.3.1 The internal audit was conducted in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Internal Audit and the Institute of Internal Auditors Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

1.3.2 The audit examined the major posting processes and practices associated with Crown Leased property payments at Missions, as recorded in IMS. The examination phase of the audit was conducted during February 2003.

1.3.3 We conducted a comprehensive review of the transactions posted to 15 General Ledger (GL) accounts during the 2002/03 fiscal year, both prepaids (9 accounts) and expenses (6 accounts), to determine their purpose and use.

1.3.4 Twenty-two other expense GL accounts capture expenditures that may contain prepayments. These accounts were analyzed to assess the potential impact of any prepayments on financial reporting requirements based on the materiality of the expenses involved.

1.3.5 Based on the information gathered, the Audit Team identified potential audit issues and made decisions regarding which GL accounts to examine in detail, as reflected in the following table.

GL Account #DescriptionNotes
Prepaid Asset GL Accounts
15500 to 15504Five specific Prepaid Expense accounts1
15520Prepaid Expense - O & M1
15525Prepaid Expense - Capital1
15530Prepaid Expense - Rent2
15560Advance for Contributions3
Crown-Lease Expense GL Accounts
41450Rental of residential buildings2
41470Rental of office buildings2
41471Rental of other office buildings2
41475Rental of commercial buildings2
41480Rental of recreational property2
41481Rental of other buildings (excluding office space)2
Other Expenditures GL Accounts
41208Storage and warehousing5
41496Rental - other4
41522Condominium charges4
40721 to 41495Nineteen other expense accounts that have the potential to include prepaid expenses5

Notes:

  1. Accounts not subject to audit - GL balance was zero or immaterial and no, or few, transactions were processed during the 2002/2003 fiscal year.
  2. Full coverage - review focused on whether Crown lease payments were properly accounted for and reported as either a prepayment or an expense.
  3. Excluded from coverage as SIV has an ongoing program which separately examines contribution expenditures.
  4. Limited coverage - review focused on whether account postings included amounts that should have been coded to one of the Crown Lease Expense GL accounts.
  5. Limited coverage - review focused on whether account postings included amounts that should have been coded to one of the Prepaid Asset GL accounts.

1.3.6 For the GL's included in the audit scope, audit programs were developed to test compliance with policies and procedures which govern prepayments.

Background

2.1 Policy Direction

2.1.1 Treasury Board (TB) Accounting Standard 3.3 states that, for accrual accounting purposes, prepaid expenses are payments made for goods/services to be received in future fiscal years. In addition, the standard states that amortization of any prepayment should be expensed in a systematic and rational basis.

2.1.2 Chapter 10 of the DFAIT Accounting Manual describes prepaid expenses as "current assets that arise when payment for a good or service is made prior to when the service is rendered or the good received within the same accounting period". The Policy also states that any prepayment with a monthly value greater than $50K is required to be set up as a prepaid expenditure and expensed on a monthly basis. Several options are then provided as to how prepayments with monthly values less than $50k should be processed. The policy finally notes that a year-end entry at March 31 is required to expense an appropriate amount if the prepayment period crosses fiscal years.

2.1.3 Several GL accounts are established in the Chart of Accounts for prepaid expenditures. The only account with significant activity is GL 15530 - Prepaid Rent. Other accounts available include prepaid postage, transportation and communication, professional services, utilities, repair and maintenance, operation and maintenance, and capital.

2.2 Roles and Responsibilities

2.2.1 Roles, responsibilities and Central Agency Reporting requirements, as they pertain to Prepaid Expenses, are described in Chapter 10, Section 6 of the DFAIT Accounting Manual. Responsibilities are assigned to:

  • SMS for developing and publishing a departmental policy and procedures on prepaid expenses;
  • SMS for ensuring that systems functionality and configuration are complete for the proper recording and reporting of prepaid expenses;
  • SMF for implementing and administering the departmental Prepaid Expenses accounting policy and procedures and ensuring that a proper financial coding structure exists for the recording and reporting of prepaid expense; and,
  • HQ/Mission Managers for recording all prepaid expenses in IMS and charging the appropriate expense GL account as the good/service is consumed.

2.3 Prepaid Expenditures - Tombstone Financial Data

2.3.1 The following table provides the March 31, 2002 and 2003 IMS balance of the General Ledger (GL) accounts selected for examination.

Selected Crown Lease GL Accounts - Tombstone Financial Data
GL #GL Account TitleBalance at 31/03/02Balance at 31/03/03
Prepaid Asset GL Account
15530Prepaid Expense - Rent$ 5,646,000$ 4,199,000
Crown Lease Expense GL Accounts
41450Rental of residential buildings$ 58,963,000$ 66,297,000
41470Rental of office buildings$ 39,075,000$ 44,680,000
41471Rental of other office buildings$ 157,000$ 159,000
41475Rental of commercial buildings$ 689,000$ 1,699,000
41480Rental of recreational property$ 129,000$ 145,000
41481Rental of other buildings$ 423,000$ 392,000
Total$ 99,436,000$ 113,372,000
Other Expenditure GL Accounts
41496Rental - other$ 23,000,000$ 25,203,000
41522Condominium charges$ 6,800,000$ 6,793,000
41208Storage and warehousing$ 604,000$ 654,000
Total$ 30,404,000$ 32,650,000

Summary Observations and Recommendations

3.1 Policy Direction and Procedures

3.1.1 Treasury Board Accounting Standard 3.3 specifies four categories of prepayments: prepaid expenses, deferred charges, transfer payments paid in advance and payments made prior to the completion of the work, delivery of goods or rendering of the service. The DFAIT policy on Accounting for Prepaid Expenses (herein referred to as the Prepaid policy) deals only with the prepaid expenses category. It does not describe the rationale for excluding the other three categories from its scope of coverage.

3.1.2 The Prepaid policy and procedures provide unclear direction. For example, it:

  1. mentions the multi fiscal-year impact as the last consideration to take into account when deciding whether an expense should be recorded as a prepayment. TB Accounting Standard 3.3 views the fiscal year overlap as the key criteria supporting a prepayment accounting treatment;
  2. provides too many options for recording a prepaid asset and subsequently expensing it in future accounting periods;
  3. does not clearly indicate which Funds to use when recording a prepaid asset and subsequently expensing it in future accounting periods;
  4. does not clearly describe the circumstances under which each of the nine Prepaid asset GL accounts, contained in the Department's Chart of Accounts, are to be used by stakeholders in support of achieving the Policy's objective;
  5. does not, in the case of Crown-Lease payments, specify:
    • the mandatory content and format of the information to be entered in the Text and Allocation data fields of IMS input documents;
    • how to use Order numbers when posting entries to the prepaid rent and expense GL accounts;
    • the requirement to identify the period covered by the lease payment;
  6. does not clearly assign the responsibility for monitoring prepaid expenditures.

3.1.3 SMF and SMS confirmed that the Prepaid asset account balance should, for internal and external reporting purposes, only reflect expenditures which relate to activities covering more than one fiscal year. While the DFAIT Prepaid Policy recognizes this reporting standard, it also calls for the recording of prepaids that are subsequently expensed within the fiscal year. The requirements of the Prepaid policy are, therefore, not consistent with SMF's expectations as to the basis for recording and reporting prepaids.

3.1.4 The results of our audit tests indicate that there is an inconsistent accounting treatment of prepaid expenditures between and within Missions. We attribute, in large part, this inconsistency to the policy deficiencies described above. Examples of the inconsistency include:

  • prepayments for lease periods within the same fiscal year are either charged directly to an Expense GL account or charged to the Prepaid asset GL account and then either expensed on the same day or by fiscal year end;
  • prepayments are properly recorded in the Prepaid asset GL account but are not always charged to an Expense GL account in a subsequent fiscal year;
  • prepayments are charged to an Expense GL account but are not always adjusted to reflect the prepaid amount (i.e., asset) attributable to future fiscal years by the year end;
  • the entire balance in the Prepaid asset GL account is sometimes transferred to an Expense GL account before the lease's payment term has expired.

The above noted inconsistencies adversely impact the accuracy of the Department's financial statements and any corporate use made of the related IMS data.

Recommendations for SMS

3.1.5 SMS, in consultation with SMF and other stakeholders, should simplify and strengthen DFAIT's Prepaid Policy and procedures by:

  • specifying whether its scope covers all four, or just the prepaid expense, category of prepayments specified in the TB Accounting Standard 3.3 and describing the supporting rationale;
  • removing the requirement to record prepayments that are subsequently expensed in the fiscal year;
  • identifying which Fund to use when recording a prepaid asset and subsequently expensing it in future accounting periods;
  • describing the type of transactions that are to be recorded against each of the prepaid asset and related expense GL accounts;
  • defining the content and establishing a standard format for the Text and Allocation fields for the IMS entries posted to leased property prepaid and expense GL accounts; and,
  • articulating and assigning the responsibility for monitoring prepaid asset and expense GL account balances.

3.1.6 SMS should provide CFSI officials with the revised Prepaid Policy per 3.1.5 so that they may update the IMS training materials and manual accordingly.

SMS Response

3.1.5 SMS agrees with all recommendations and has assigned them to SMSP who will consult with all stakeholders for development of a revised departmental policy. The headquarters policy was completed and posted on the departmental web site. The Mission policy will be completed by January 2004.

3.1.6 SMSP has also been assigned the responsibility to liaise with CFSI. The policy was sent to CFSI on July 2003. CFSI is to arrange a meeting with the trainers and SMSP to review the new policy for incorporation into the IMS training material by February 2004.

Recommendation for SMF

3.1.7 SMF should update, as necessary, the Department's Chart of Accounts to ensure that it is consistent with the Prepaid asset and Expense GL Accounts referred to in the revised Prepaid Policy.

SMF Response

3.1.7 The proposed adjustments were discussed with SMSP and the resulting changes to the Department's Chart of Accounts were made before in July 2003 for headquarters GLs. Mission GLs will be changed in January 2004, when SMS have finalized the policy.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-23

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Attestation de qualité dépenses payées d'avance

(Octobre 2003)

Sommaire

Le présent rapport fait état des résultats d'une vérification des pratiques du Ministère liées à l'inscription des dépenses payées d'avance. La vérification avait pour objet de déterminer dans quelle mesure le Ministère comptabilise convenablement et uniformément les dépenses payées d'avance selon les normes comptables prescrites et les politiques pertinentes.

Le plan comptable du Ministère contient neuf comptes du grand livre général (GLG) concernant les actifs payés d'avance. Nous avons des réserves quant à l'exactitude du solde de chacun de ces comptes.

La politique du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) concernant la comptabilisation des dépenses payées d'avance ne donne pas de directive claire, ni n'attribue clairement la responsabilité de la surveillance de ces dépenses aux diverses parties concernées. Nos contrôles par sondage montrent que le traitement comptable des dépenses payées d'avance d'une mission à l'autre ou à l'intérieur d'une même mission, manque largement d'uniformité. Nous attribuons cette absence d'uniformité en grande partie aux lacunes de la politique mentionnées précédemment. Il nous est donc impossible de conclure que les soldes des loyers payés d'avance inscrits dans le SGI, et les comptes de dépenses connexes, sont exacts et complets. Par conséquent, l'exactitude des données financières concernant les actifs payés d'avance figurant dans les états financiers du Ministère est sujette à caution.

Situation concernant les recommandations

Le rapport de vérification contient trois recommandations en tout. Deux recommandations s'adressent à SMS et une à SMF. La direction a répondu à toutes les recommandations en indiquant les mesures ou les décisions déjà prises, ainsi que les mesures qui seront prises. Elle a déclaré qu'une recommandation sur les trois a déjà été appliquée. Quant aux deux autres, elle a indiqué les initiatives en cours ou la mesure qu'elle compte adopter.

Portée, objectif, approche et calendrier de vérification

1.1 Portée de la vérification

1.1.1 La vérification a porté sur les pratiques comptables du Ministère liées aux dépenses payées d'avance. De façon plus précise, les vérificateurs ont évalué les pratiques d'inscription dans le SGI que les missions appliquent au paiement des baux assumés par l'État, pour s'assurer que les paiements d'avance et les dépenses connexes sont correctement écrits dans les livres du Ministère.

1.2 Objectifs de la vérification

1.2.1 La vérification avait pour objectif global de déterminer la mesure dans laquelle le Ministère comptabilise correctement, uniformément et efficacement les dépenses payées d'avance selon les normes comptables prescrites et les politiques pertinentes. En particulier, elle avait pour objet de déterminer :

  • si la politique du Ministère concernant la comptabilisation des dépenses payées d'avance présente avec clarté les aspects portée, objectif, définition, procédures et présentation concernant les paiements d'avance,
  • si les rôles, les responsabilités et les pouvoirs relatifs à la comptabilisation des paiements d'avance sont clairement définis, communiqués et compris, et si les parties ayant ces rôles, responsabilités et pouvoirs les assument comme il se doit, et
  • si les paiements d'avance des baux assumés par l'État et les dépenses connexes sont correctement consignés dans les livres du Ministère.

1.3 Approche et calendrier de vérification

1.3.1 La vérification interne a été effectuée conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor en la matière, et selon les normes de l'Institut des vérificateurs internes pour ce qui est des méthodes professionnelles de la vérification interne.

1.3.2 Les vérificateurs ont examiné les principales méthodes et pratiques des missions qui se rapportent à l'inscription des paiements des baux assumés par l'État consignés dans le SGI. La phase examen de la vérification a eu lieu en février 2003.

1.3.3 Nous avons fait un examen complet des transactions inscrites dans 15 comptes du grand livre général (GLG) pendant l'exercice 2002-2003, transactions concernant autant des dépenses payées d'avance (9 comptes) que des dépenses (6 comptes), afin d'en connaître l'objet et l'utilisation.

1.3.4 Vingt-deux autres comptes du GLG contiennent des dépenses dont certaines sont peut-être des paiements d'avance. Les vérificateurs ont analysé ces comptes pour déterminer l'effet que pourraient avoir d'éventuels paiements d'avance sur les rapports financiers à produire, compte tenu de l'importance des dépenses en cause.

1.3.5 À partir des données recueillies, l'équipe de vérification a découvert des problèmes possibles et a décidé des comptes du GLG à examiner de près, comme le montre le tableau suivant :

No de compte du GLGDescriptionRemarques
Compte du GLG des actifs payés d'avance
15500 à 15504Cinq comptes de paiement d'avance particuliers1
15520F et E payés d'avance1
15525Versements sur capital payés d'avance1
15530Loyer payé d'avance2
15560Avances sur contributions3
Comptes de dépenses du GLG liés aux baux assumés par l'État
41450Location de bâtiments résidentiels2
41470Location d'immeubles de bureau2
41471Location d'autres immeubles de bureau2
41475Location de bâtiments commerciaux2
41480Location de propriétés de loisirs2
41481Location d'autres bâtiments (sauf bureaux)2
Autres comptes de dépenses du GLG
41208Stockage et entreposage5
41496Location - Autres4
41522Charges de co-propriété4
40721 à 41495Dix-neuf autres comptes de dépenses qui pourraient comprendre des dépenses payées d'avance5

Remarques :

  1. Comptes non soumis à une vérification : le solde du GLG était de zéro ou insignifiant, et il y a eu très peu de transactions, voire aucune, pendant l'exercice 2002-2003.
  2. Vérification complète : l'examen visait principalement à déterminer si les paiements des baux assumés par l'État étaient correctement comptabilisés et présentés comme des dépenses ou des dépenses payées d'avance.
  3. Compte exclu de la vérification, car SIV a en place un programme pour examiner séparément les dépenses pour contributions.
  4. Vérification restreinte : l'examen visait principalement à déterminer si des inscriptions dans les comptes comprenaient des montants qui auraient dû être codés à un des comptes de dépenses du GLC liés aux baux assumés par l'État.
  5. Vérification restreinte : l'examen visait principalement à déterminer si les inscriptions dans les comptes comprenaient des montants qui auraient dû être codés à un des comptes du GLG des actifs payés d'avance.

1.3.6 Pour chacun des comptes du GLG englobé dans la vérification, il y a eu création de programmes de vérification de la conformité avec les politiques et les procédures régissant les paiements d'avance.

Généralités

2.1 Directives

2.1.1 Selon la Norme comptable 3.3 du Conseil du Trésor, aux fins de la comptabilité d'exercice, les frais payés d'avance sont des paiements effectués pour des biens ou de services qui seront reçus ou rendus dans des exercices futurs. Plus loin dans la norme, il est dit que l'amortissement des frais payés d'avance est constaté à titre de charge de manière systématique ou rationnelle.

2.1.2 Selon le chapitre 10 du Manuel de comptabilité du MAECI, les dépenses payées d'avance sont « les éléments d'actif à court terme qui existent lorsqu'un service est payé immédiatement alors que le service ne sera pas rendu dans la même période comptable ». La police énonce également que tout paiement d'avance donnant lieu à des frais mensuels supérieurs à 50 000 $ doit être inscrit comme une dépense payée d'avance et passée en charges tous les mois. Elle donne ensuite plusieurs options montrant la façon de traiter les paiements d'avance dont les frais mensuels sont inférieurs à 50 000 $. Enfin, la politique explique qu'il faut passer une écriture de fin d'exercice le 31 mars pour passer en charges le montant voulu, si la période du paiement d'avance s'étale sur plusieurs exercices.

2.1.3 Le plan comptable contient plusieurs comptes du GLG pour les dépenses payées d'avance. Le seul compte présentant une activité notable porte le numéro 15530 - Loyer payé d'avance. Les autres comptes concernent l'affranchissement, le transport et les communications, les services professionnels, les services publics, les réparations et l'entretien, le fonctionnement et l'entretien et le capital payés d'avance.

2.2 Rôles et responsabilités

2.2.1 Les rôles, les responsabilités et les rapports à remettre aux organismes centraux sont décrits dans le paragraphe 6 du chapitre 10 du Manuel de comptabilité du Ministère. Les responsabilités sont réparties de la façon suivante :

  • SMS : élaborer et publier les politiques et procédures du Ministère relatives aux dépenses payées d'avance;
  • SMS : veiller à ce que les systèmes soient fonctionnels et à ce que leur configuration permette la comptabilisation et la présentation adéquate des dépenses payées d'avance.
  • SMF : appliquer et administrer les politiques et procédures du Ministère relatives à la comptabilisation des dépenses payées d'avance, et veiller à ce qu'il y ait une structure de codification financière adéquate pour la comptabilisation et la présentation des dépenses payées d'avance.
  • Gestionnaires de l'AC et des missions : enregistrer toutes les dépenses payées d'avance dans le SGI, et imputer les comptes de dépenses correspondant du GLG au fur et à mesure que les produits ou les services sont consommés.

2.3 Dépenses payées d'avance - Données financières générales

2.3.1 Le tableau suivant donne le solde, au 31 mars 2002 et au 31 mars 2003, des comptes du GLG tirés du SGI qui ont été choisis pour l'examen.

Comptes choisis du GLG de baux assumés par l'État Données financières de base
No de compte du GLGNom du compte du GLGSolde au 31/03/02Solde au 31/03/03
Compte du GLG des actifs payés d'avance
15530Loyer payé d'avance5 646 000 $4 199 000 $
Comptes de dépenses du GLG liés aux baux assumés par l'État
41450Location de bâtiments résidentiels58 963 000 $66 297 000 $
41470Location d'immeubles de bureaux39 075 000 $44 680 000 $
41471Location d'autres immeubles de bureaux157 000 $159 000 $
41475Location de bâtiments commerciaux689 000 $1 699 000 $
41480Location de propriétés de loisirs129 000 $145 000 $
41481Location d'autres bâtiments423 000 $392 000 $
Total99 436 000 $113 372 000 $
Autres comptes de dépenses du GLG
41496Location - Autres23 000 000 $25 203 000 $
41522Charges de copropriété6 800 000 $6 793 000 $
41208Stockage et entreposage604 000 $654 000 $
Total30 404 000 $32 650 000 $

Sommaire des observations et recommandations

3.1 Directives et procédures

3.1.1 La Norme comptable 3.3 du Conseil du Trésor établit quatre catégories de paiements anticipés : les frais payés d'avance, les charges reportées, les paiements de transfert versés au préalable et les paiements faits avant que le travail soit terminé, que les biens soient livrés ou que le service soit exécuté. La politique du MAECI relative à la comptabilisation des dépenses payées d'avance ne concerne que la catégorie frais payés d'avance. Elle n'expose pas les raisons pour lesquelles les trois autres catégories sont exclues.

3.1.2 La politique et les procédures relatives aux paiements d'avance ne donnent pas de directives claires. À titre d'exemple :

  1. L'incidence sur plusieurs exercices y est présentée comme le dernier facteur à prendre en considération lorsqu'il faut décider si une dépense doit être consignée comme un paiement d'avance. Or, la Norme comptable 3.3. du Conseil du Trésor fait de l'étalement sur plusieurs exercices un critère essentiel pour justifier une écriture de paiement d'avance.
  2. Ils donnent trop d'options pour la consignation des actifs payés d'avance puis leur passation en charges dans les périodes comptables subséquentes.
  3. Ils n'indiquent pas clairement les Fonds à utiliser pour inscrire les actifs payés d'avances puis les passer en charges dans les périodes comptables subséquentes.
  4. Ils ne décrivent pas clairement les situations dans lesquelles les parties concernées doivent utiliser l'un ou l'autre des neuf comptes d'actifs payés d'avance du GLG qui se trouvent dans le plan comptable du Ministère, pour contribuer à la réalisation de l'objectif de la politique.
  5. En ce qui concerne les paiements des baux assumés par l'État, ils ne précisent pas :
    • la forme et le contenu obligatoires de l'information à verser dans les champs Texte et Affectation des documents de saisie du SGI;
    • comment se servir des numéros d'Ordre lorsqu'on inscrit les loyers dans les comptes du GLG des dépenses et des dépenses payées d'avance;
    • l'obligation d'indiquer la période visée par le paiement de loyer;
  6. Ils n'attribuent pas clairement à quelqu'un la responsabilité de surveillance des dépenses payées d'avance.

3.1.3 SMF et SMS ont confirmé que le solde du compte des actifs payés d'avance devrait, pour les rapports internes et externes à présenter, être constitué seulement de dépenses qui se rapportent à des activités s'étalant sur plusieurs exercices. La politique du MAECI relative aux dépenses payées d'avance reconnaît cette règle pour la présentation des rapports, mais elle exige aussi l'inscription des paiements d'avance qui sont, par la suite, passés en charge pendant l'exercice. Donc, pour ce qui est de servir de base à la comptabilisation et à la présentation des paiements d'avance, les exigences de la politique relative aux dépenses payées d'avance ne concordent pas avec les attentes de SMF.

3.1.4 Les résultats de nos contrôles par sondage montrent que le traitement comptable des dépenses payées d'avance manque d'uniformité d'une mission à l'autre ou à l'intérieur d'une même mission. Nous attribuons cette absence d'uniformité en grande partie aux lacunes de la politique décrites précédemment. Voici des exemples de manque d'uniformité :

  • les loyers payés d'avance pour des périodes d'un même exercice sont imputés soit directement à un compte de dépenses du GLG soit au compte du GLG des actifs payés d'avance, puis passés en charges le même jour ou avant la fin de l'exercice;
  • les dépenses payées d'avance sont correctement inscrites dans le compte du GLG des actifs payés d'avance, mais ne sont pas toujours imputées à un compte des dépenses du GLG d'un exercice subséquent;
  • les dépenses payées d'avance sont imputées à un compte de dépenses du GLG, mais ne sont pas toujours ajustées de manière à rendre compte du montant payé d'avance (actif) à affecter à des exercices futurs avant la fin de l'exercice;
  • la totalité du solde du compte du GLG des actifs payés d'avance est parfois viré dans un compte de dépenses du GLG avant l'expiration de la période de loyer.

Ce manque d'uniformité nuit à l'exactitude des états financiers du Ministère et à toute utilisation ministérielle qui est faite des données connexes du SGI.

Recommandations à l'intention de SMS

3.1.5 Que SMS, en consultation avec SMF et les autres intéressés, simplifie et renforce la politique et les procédures du MAECI relatives aux dépenses payées d'avance :

  • en précisant si elles couvrent les quatre catégories de paiements anticipés définies dans la Norme comptable 3.3 du Conseil du Trésor ou seulement les paiements d'avance, et en donnant les raisons;
  • en supprimant l'obligation d'inscrire les paiements d'avance qui sont ensuite passées en charge au cours de l'exercice;
  • en précisant le Fonds à utiliser pour inscrire les actifs payés d'avance puis les passer en charges pendant des périodes comptables subséquentes;
  • en décrivant le type de transactions à inscrire pour chaque actif payé d'avance et les comptes de dépenses du GLG correspondants;
  • en définissant le contenu et en normalisant la présentation des champs Texte et Affectation où l'on fait, dans le SGI, les écritures de loyer dans les comptes dépenses payées d'avance et dépenses du GLG;
  • en formulant clairement et en attribuant la responsabilité de la surveillance des actifs payés d'avance et des soldes des comptes de dépenses du GLG.

3.1.6 Que SMS remette aux responsables de CFSI la politique relative aux paiements d'avance révisée d'après les indications données en 3.1.5, afin que ce dernier puisse actualiser le matériel de cours et le manuel du SGI en conséquence.

Réponse de SMS

3.1.5 SMS souscrit à toutes les recommandations et les a transmises à SMSP pour qu'il consulte tous les intéressés en vue de réviser la politique ministérielle. La politique concernant l'AC a été achevée et affichée sur le site Web du Ministère. La politique concernant les missions sera achevée d'ici janvier 2004.

3.1.6 SMSP s'est également vu confier la tâche d'assurer la liaison avec CFSI. La politique a été envoyée à ce dernier en juillet 2003. CFSI organisera une rencontre entre ses formateurs et des employés de SMSP pour examiner la nouvelle politique en vue de l'intégrer au matériel de cours du SGI d'ici février 2004.

Recommandation à l'intention de SMF

3.1.7 Que SMF actualise, au besoin, le plan comptable du Ministère afin qu'il y ait concordance avec les comptes d'actifs payés d'avance et les comptes de dépenses du GLG dont il est question dans la politique révisée relative aux dépenses payées d'avance.

Réponse de SMF

3.1.7 Les ajustements proposés ont fait l'objet de discussions avec SMSP et, à la suite de ces discussions, les changements aux comptes du GLG de l'AC ont été apportés avant juillet 2003. Les comptes du GLG des missions seront changés en janvier 2004, quand SMS aura finalisé la politique.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-23