Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian High Commission Pretoria (including Johannesburg and Cape Town)

(July 2003)

Executive Summary

An audit of the General Relations, Consular, and Administration Programs in South Africa was conducted in Pretoria during the period April 29 to May 7, 2002, and in Cape Town on May 2, 2002. An audit of the International Business Development Program (IBD) in South Africa was conducted in Johannesburg on May 2 and 3, 2002. Pretoria (including Johannesburg and Cape Town) was last audited in May 1995.

The Immigration Program in South Africa was audited separately but concurrently in Pretoria by a team from Citizenship and Immigration Canada. Interface issues between the two audits in the areas of Finance, Physical and Human Resources, and Information Technology were addressed collaboratively. The DFAIT aspects of such issues appear in the relevant sections of this Report.

Management of the Mission

The Mission is managed on the basis of "one mission - three offices". It is long established and well managed, despite the challenges of the numerous high level visits and having to deliver its programs through three separate offices. Communication and co-ordination between the offices are very good, and special efforts are made to engender a teamwork atmosphere. The HOM also devotes time to her multilateral responsibilities in Nairobi. Her responsibilities are therefore divided amongst four sites, which has added to the challenges of Mission management but not decreased its quality. All Mission programs are individually well managed.

Management of the Mission - Detailed Report

General Relations Program

Frequent high level visits and shortage of resources have forced a reactive style of reporting. A new junior Political Officer position to be added this summer will alleviate some of the pressure in Pretoria. The Political Officer and sole CBS in Cape Town currently reports to the GR Program Manager in Pretoria. Because of the multiple roles he plays in Cape Town, he should report to the HOM, with whom he interacts directly. The Mission has recommended to Headquarters that a Consul General be appointed in Cape Town, but a final decision has not been made. To ease the administrative burden on this officer, Pretoria should assume more of the administrative responsibility for Cape Town.

General Relations Program - Detailed Report

International Business Development Program

The same visits situation has forced this Program into a reactive mode as well. Increased outcall activity is planned, and Headquarters (TCS) is being asked to provide outcalls skills training and tools development for the benefit of Johannesburg, and of missions generally. Johannesburg should increase its activity reporting in WIN Exports Online to include all services provided to Canadian companies. The four other countries of accreditation should be visited at least once annually. The roles and responsibilities of the Mission's Honorary Consuls in the delivery of the IBD Program should be clarified and formalized in written agreements with each one, and an Additional Service Provider list should be developed for each of their regions.

International Business Development Program - Detailed Report

Consular Program

The Consular Program is well managed and delivered effectively. Consular Emergency Contingency Plans for South Africa, Swaziland and Namibia should be completed.

Consular Program - Detailed Report

Administration Program

The Program operates more in an organic than in a visibly structured manner. This works well given the inspirational management style of the Program Manager, but it may not serve others as well. Roles and responsibilities need to be clarified and formalized for all administrative services performed by Pretoria. Similarly, relationships and respective roles and responsibilities need to be clarified with respect to services provided to Johannesburg and Cape Town. This would include standards and levels of service, training, and schedules of regular visits to the other offices. Information Technology services need special attention in this regard. A procedure for Immigration applicants to deposit their visa fees directly to the Mission's bank needs development, with the direct attention of the MCO to ensure successful implementation. Employer/employee relationships involving long-serving individuals retained on contract or in unofficial term positions need to be regularized.

Administration Program - Detailed Report

Recommendation Status

There were 34 recommendations contained in this report, 32 of which applied to the Mission and two for which Headquarters is responsible for implementation. The current status finds that the Mission has implemented 16 of the recommendations and 16 are in the process of being implemented. The two Headquarters recommendations have been implemented.

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Pretoria

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
HOM235
General Relations314
Defence Liaison2-2
Solicitor General112
International Development213
Immigration31316
Consular-33
Administration51116
Total183351

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery-1
OR-1
SQs812
Vehicles-9

Financial Information 2001-2002
(Includes Pretoria, Johannesburg and Cape Town)

LES Salaries (N012)$889,300
Operational (N001)1,283,000
CBS (Salary, Allowance, Overtime)1,204,000
Capital (N005)239,700
Total$3,616,000

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Johannesburg

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
International Business Development235
Administration-33
Total268

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery1-
SQs-2
Vehicles-1

Mission Resources Fact Sheet - Cape Town

Personnel (FTEs)

 CBSLESTotal
General Relations1-1
Consular-11
Administration-33
Total145

Physical Resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery1-
SQs2 *-
Vehicles-3
Parking3-

One SQ is used by the HOM during stays in Cape Town.

Next

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2010-02-09

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du haut-commissariat du Canada, Pretoria (y compris Johannesburg et Le Cap)

(Juillet 2003)

Sommaire

Une vérification des programmes suivants : Relations générales (RG), Services consulaires et Services administratifs a été menée à Pretoria, entre le 29 avril et le 7 mai 2002, et au Cap, le 2 mai 2002. Une vérification du programme de Développement du commerce international (DCI) en Afrique du Sud a été effectuée à Johannesburg les 2 et 3 mai 2002. La précédente vérification de la mission de Pretoria (y compris les bureaux de Johannesburg et du Cap) datait de mai 1995.

Le programme d'Immigration en Afrique du Sud a fait l'objet d'une vérification séparée mais concomitante à Pretoria par une équipe de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada. Les problèmes conjointement décelés dans les domaines des finances, des ressources matérielles et humaines ou de la technologie de l'information ont été traités en collaboration. Les aspects de ces problèmes concernant directement le MAECI sont traités dans les sections pertinentes de ce rapport.

Gestion de la mission

La mission est gérée selon le modèle « une mission - trois bureaux ». La mission existe depuis longtemps et elle est bien gérée, en dépit des défis posés par les nombreuses visites de délégations de haut niveau et la prestation de programmes par l'entremise de trois bureaux distincts. Les communications et la coordination du travail entre les bureaux sont excellentes, et des efforts exceptionnels sont déployés pour entretenir un esprit de corps. La CDM consacre aussi du temps à ses responsabilités multilatérales à Nairobi. Elle a donc la responsabilité de quatre bureaux, ce qui accroît la difficulté de la gestion de la mission sans que la qualité en soit amoindrie. Tous les programmes sont bien gérés.

Gestion de la mission - rapport détaillé

Relations générales

Les fréquentes visites de délégations de haut niveau et la pénurie de ressources a créé des rapports hiérarchiques circonstanciés. Le nouveau poste d'agent politique subalterne qui devrait être créé cet été allégera en partie la pression à Pretoria. L'agent politique, qui est le seul EC au Cap, relève à l'heure actuelle du gestionnaire des RG de Pretoria. Vu les multiples rôles qu'il assume au Cap, il devrait plutôt relever de la CDM, avec laquelle il collabore directement. La mission a recommandé à l'Administration centrale la nomination d'un consul général au Cap, mais aucune décision définitive n'a encore été prise. Afin d'alléger le fardeau administratif de cet agent, Pretoria devrait prendre en charge une partie plus importante des tâches administratives du Cap.

Relations générales - rapport détaillé

Développement du commerce international (DCI)

La même situation, en ce qui concerne les visites de délégations, a forcé les responsables de ce programme à adopter également une attitude réactive. On prévoit une augmentation du nombre des visites d'entreprises, et l'Administration centrale (SDC) devrait mettre en place certains outils ainsi qu'une formation adéquate à la visite des entreprises à l'intention des employés de Johannesburg, et des autres missions en général. La mission de Johannesburg devrait accroître sa production de rapports sur WIN Exports en ligne afin qu'ils portent sur tous les services offerts aux entreprises canadiennes. Les quatre autres pays d'accréditation devraient être l'objet d'au moins une visite par an. Les rôles et responsabilités des consuls honoraires de la mission, en ce qui concerne l'exécution du programme de DCI, ont besoin d'être clarifiés et formalisés dans le cadre d'accords écrits individuels, et une liste des prestataires de services additionnels devrait être établie pour chacune de leurs régions.

DCI - rapport détaillé

Services consulaires

Les services consulaires sont bien gérés et le programme fonctionne efficacement. Il faudrait pourtant élaborer des plans consulaires d'urgence pour l'Afrique du Sud, le Swaziland et la Namibie.

Services consulaires - rapport détaillé

Services administratifs

Le programme fonctionne sur le mode spontané plutôt que d'une façon apparemment structurée. Cela donne de bons résultats compte tenu du style de gestion créatif du gestionnaire de programme, mais ce n'est peut-être pas toujours jugé approprié par d'autres. Les rôles et responsabilités ont besoin d'être clarifiés et formalisés pour tous les services administratifs qu'assure Pretoria. De même, les relations, ainsi que les rôles et responsabilités respectifs devraient être clarifiés en ce qui concerne les services fournis à Johannesburg et au Cap. On pense en particulier aux normes et aux niveaux de service, à la formation, aux programmes de visites régulières dans les autres bureaux. Les services touchant la technologie de l'information doivent à cet égard faire l'objet d'une attention particulière. Une procédure permettant aux demandeurs de visas de déposer directement à la banque de la mission les droits requis devrait être développée, sous la supervision directe de la CDM afin d'assurer la réussite de sa mise en oeuvre. Les contrats de service de personnes travaillant depuis longtemps à contrat ou occupant des postes à titre officieux ont besoin d'être régularisés.

Services administratifs - rapport détaillé

État des recommandations

Ce rapport contenait 34 recommandations, dont 32 à l'intention de la mission, et 2 à l'intention de l'Administration centrale. Jusqu'ici, la mission en a appliqué 16, et 16 sont en cours d'exécution. Les deux recommandations adressées à l'Administration centrale ont été mises en oeuvre.

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission - Pretoria

Ressources humaines (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
CDM235
Relations générales314
Liaison Défense2-2
Solliciteur général112
Développement international213
Immigration31316
Services consulaires-33
Services administratifs51116
Total183351

Ressources matérielles

BiensLouésPossédés
Chancellerie-1
RO-1
LP812
Véhicules-9

Informations financières 2001-2002
(Comprend Pretoria, Johannesburg et Le Cap)

Salaires ERP (N012)889 300 $
Exploitation (N001)1 283 000 $
EC (Salaires, indemnités, heures supplémentaires)1 204 000 $
Immobilisations (N005)239 700 $
Total3 616 000 $

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission - Johannesburg

Ressources humaines (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
Développement du commerce international235
Services administratifs-33
Total268

Ressources matérielles

BiensLouésPossédés
Chancellerie1-
LP-2
Véhicules-1

Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission - Le Cap

Ressources humaines (ETP)

 ECERPTotal
Relations générales1-1
Services consulaires-11
Services administratifs-33
Total145

Ressources matérielles

BiensLouésPossédés
Chancellerie1-
LP2 *-
Véhicules-3
Stationnement (places)3-

Un LP est utilisé par la CDM lors de ses séjours au Cap.

Suivant

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2010-02-09