Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Contributions for Canada's Clean Development  Mechanism and Joint Implementation Office (CDM & JI)

(July 2004)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (SIV) undertook a management audit of the Contributions for Canada's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) and Joint Implementation (JI) Office as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements.

Practices and processes were found to be in place that ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies. The elements of the contribution agreement were found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the TBS and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution agreement respects the template as set out by SMD. The contribution files contained the relevant documentation and indicated that proper approvals had been obtained for the contribution payments. The activities of the recipient are being monitored by the program staff.

 

Scope, Objectives and Methodology

1.1 Scope

1.1.1 The audit focussed on the administrative practices, processes (systems) and controls related to the management of the contributions for Canada's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) and Joint Implementation (JI) Office. The contribution agreement is in effect for the fiscal years 2001-02 to 2005-06. The Audit Team audited the contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

1.2 Objectives

1.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • the contribution agreement was justified under appropriate authorities;
  • the contribution agreement was prepared in accordance with DFAIT's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • the terms and method of payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved terms and conditions; and,
  • the Program Officers conducted project monitoring.

1.3 Methodology

1.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the contribution agreements at DFAIT. The examination phase of the audit was conducted during the period February 2003 to June 2003. The contribution files reviewed were dated after August 2002.

1.3.2 We conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed key personnel in the CDM and JI Office, Area Management Office (EAM) and Corporate Finance, Planning and Systems (SMP).

 

Overview

2.1.1 Canada's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) & Joint Implementation (JI) Office was set up in the fall of 1998 to maximize Canada's ability to use the Kyoto mechanisms to help meet its emission reduction commitments in a cost-effective manner. The Office acts as the focal point for CDM and JI and has the mandate to facilitate the participation of the Canadian private sector in projects for which they can eventually receive credits.

2.1.2 Under Action Plan 2000, the CDM & JI Office received funds of $25.25 million for the period 2001/02-2005/06 to pursue the following three objectives:

  • To strengthen Canada's capacity to take maximum advantage of the Kyoto Mechanisms. These include the Clean Development Mechanism, Joint Implementation, and emission trades backed up by emission reduction projects.
  • To encourage and facilitate Canadian participation in the Kyoto Mechanisms by building awareness, promoting cost-effective opportunities and lowering transactions costs, while also engaging developing countries and countries-in-transition in such activities.
  • To assist Canadian entities in obtaining emissions reductions credits from CDM- and JI-type projects according to international rules and guidelines which can assist Canada in meeting its Kyoto target.

2.1.3 The CDM and JI Office works under the general guidance of an Interdepartmental Steering Committee (consisting of representatives from Natural Resources Canada, Environment Canada, Industry Canada, CIDA, Agriculture Canada, and the Climate Change Secretariat) which is consulted on decisions regarding major expenditures, program directions and project approvals.

2.1.4 SIV provided support to the program in revising its Risk-based Audit Framework (RBAF) in January 2003. The overall level of risk associated with funding CDM & JI is medium. This is largely due to the fact that the total program value falls within the medium range for DFAIT contribution programs and because there are multiple contributions to a variety of organizations, both within and outside of Canada. In addition, on the one hand, the mandate and activities are flexible enough to allow for changing scenarios resulting from the negotiations; on the other hand, the international negotiations may have an effect on domestic obligations hence the incentives for companies to participate in the market mechanisms may change.

2.1.5 ***

 

Observations

3.1 Practices and Processes

3.1.1 Sound administrative practices were found to be in place. The Project Review Committee meets on a weekly basis to discuss submitted projects. All decisions are documented. When a project is endorsed and is for $100 K or more, it is submitted to the Interdepartmental Committee for consultation.

3.1.2 The program has personnel with the appropriate competencies to manage the program. Building in-house technical capacity has been key and measures are being taken to expand this knowledge.

3.1.3 In August 2002, the financial instrument used was changed from procurement contracts to contribution agreements, where appropriate.

3.1.4 The Program Strategy for 2003/2004 will focus more on key countries with significant emission reduction potential and those where Canadian industry is active.

3.2 Monitoring, Contribution Payments and Program File Management

3.2.1 The elements of the contribution agreement were found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the TBS and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution agreement respects the template as set out by SMD.

3.2.2 Good practices are in place for the monitoring of results and request for payments. The Project Review Committee is also involved with this final stage of the project where reports and monitoring results obtained by Program Officers are presented. The Program Officers monitor, for quality and relevance, the project reports received from the recipients and where needed will consult with the proper authorities before proceeding with the payment process. When the reports or other outputs have been accepted, the documents submitted with the request for payment are reviewed by the Program Officer and when accepted, the request for payment is processed.

3.2.3 Program files were found to be complete and organized. Accounting records and other relevant documents are maintained and disclose the amounts paid to recipients.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2009-02-04

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions au Bureau canadien du Mécanisme pour un développement propre et de l'Application conjointe

(Juillet 2004)

Résumé

La Direction de la vérification interne (SIV) a entrepris une vérification de la gestion des contributions accordées au Bureau canadien du Mécanisme pour un développement propre et de l'Application conjointe (Bureau du MDP et de l'AC) dans le cadre de son analyse des contributions et des subventions ministérielles. Cette vérification avait pour objectif de déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion du programme de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires.

Des pratiques et des processus sont en place pour assurer la gestion prudente des fonds du programme et la conformité avec les politiques de paiement en vigueur. Les éléments de l'accord de contribution respectent avec la plupart des exigences des politiques du SCT et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert. L'accord de contribution est en outre conforme au modèle défini par SMD. Les dossiers de contribution comprenaient la documentation pertinente et indiquaient que les paiements de contribution avaient reçu les approbations appropriées. Les activités du bénéficiaire sont surveillées par le personnel du programme.

 

Portée, objectifs et méthode

1.1 Portée

1.1.1 La vérification s'est attardée aux pratiques, processus (systèmes) et contrôles administratifs liés à la gestion des contributions au Bureau canadien du Mécanisme pour un développement propre et de l'Application conjointe (Bureau du MDP et de l'AC). L'accord de contribution est en vigueur pour les exercices 2001-2002 à 2005-2006. L'équipe a procédé à la vérification du programme de contribution en ce qui a trait aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert.

1.2 Objectifs

1.2.1 L'objectif global consistait à déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion du programme de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. À cet effet, la vérification s'est plus particulièrement appliquée à déterminer si :

  • l'accord de contribution était justifié et correctement autorisé;
  • l'accord de contribution était rédigé conformément à la politique du MAECI en matière de paiements de transfert;
  • les modalités et les méthodes de paiement étaient conformes aux modalités et aux conditions approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • les responsables du programme assuraient le suivi des projets.

1.3 Méthode

1.3.1 Les principaux processus gestionnels et contrôles associés à la gestion des accords de contribution au MAECI ont fait l'objet d'analyses dans le cadre de la vérification. La période d'analyse s'est ainsi étendue de février à juin 2003. Les dossiers de contribution touchés portaient une date ultérieure à août 2002.

1.3.2 Nous avons effectué une analyse exhaustive de la documentation pertinente du programme tout en rencontrant le personnel clé du Bureau du MDP et de l'AC, du Bureau d'administration de secteur (EAM) et de la Direction générale des finances, de la planification et des systèmes ministériels (SMD).

 

Vue d'ensemble

2.1.1 Le Bureau canadien du Mécanisme pour un développement propre et de l'Application conjointe (Bureau du MDP et de l'AC) a été mis sur pied à l'automne de 1998 pour rendre le Canada plus à même de se servir des mécanismes du Protocole de Kyoto dans le but de respecter de façon économique ses engagements en matière de réduction des émissions. Le Bureau joue un rôle central pour ce qui est du MDP et de l'AC et a pour mandat d'encourager la participation des entreprises privées canadiennes à divers projets pour lesquels elles peuvent avoir droit à des crédits.

2.1.2 Dans le cadre du Plan d'action 2000, le Bureau du MDP et de l'AC a reçu 25,25 millions $, pour les exercices 2001-2002 à 2005-2006, afin de poursuivre les trois objectifs suivants :

  • Permettre au Canada de profiter au maximum des mécanismes prévus au Protocole de Kyoto, notamment en ce qui concerne le mécanisme de développement propre, de l'application conjointe et les échanges de droits d'émission appuyés par des projets de réduction des émissions.
  • Encourager et promouvoir la participation du Canada aux mécanismes du Protocole de Kyoto en rehaussant la sensibilisation, en faisant la promotion des opportunités rentables et en abaissant les coûts de transaction tout en suscitant la participation des pays en voie de développement ou en transition à de telles activités.
  • Aider les entités canadiennes à obtenir des crédits de réduction des émissions en vertu de projets MDP et AC, conformément aux règles et aux directives internationales, dans le but d'aider le Canada à atteindre les objectifs définis dans le cadre du Protocole de Kyoto.

2.1.3 Le Bureau du MDP et de l'AC travaille sous l'orientation générale d'un comité de direction interministériel (formé de représentants de Ressources naturelles Canada, d'Environnement Canada, d'Industrie Canada, de l'ACDI, d'Agriculture Canada et du Secrétariat du changement climatique) qu'il consulte lors de décisions portant sur les dépenses importantes, l'orientation des programmes ou l'approbation des projets.

2.1.4 SIV a apporté son appui au programme en procédant à l'analyse du cadre de vérification axé sur les risques (RBAF) en janvier 2003. Dans cette optique, le degré de risque global associé au Bureau du MDP et de l'AC est moyen. Cela est en grande partie attribuable au fait que la valeur totale du programme le classe parmi les programmes de contribution à risque moyen du MAECI et parce que les multiples contributions visent une vaste gamme d'organisations, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. En outre, les mandats et les activités sont d'une part suffisamment souples pour permettre l'adoption de scénarios changeants par suite des négociations internationales qui, d'autre part, peuvent avoir une influence sur les obligations nationales et, par le fait même, sur les incitatifs pouvant encourager les entreprises à participer aux mécanismes du marché.

2.1.5 ***

 

Observations

3.1 Pratiques et processus

3.1.1 De saines pratiques administratives sont en place. Le comité d'examen des projets se réunit chaque semaine pour discuter des projets soumis. Toutes les décisions sont amplement documentées. Lorsqu'un projet de plus de 100 000 $ est appuyé, on fait appel aux conseils du comité d'orientation interministériel.

3.1.2 Le personnel chargé de la gestion du programme possède des compétences appropriées. Le développement de capacités techniques à l'interne a été mis de l'avant dès le départ et des mesures sont prises pour poursuivre dans cette voie.

3.1.3 En août 2002, on a changé d'instrument financier pour passer, au besoin, des marchés aux accords de contribution.

3.1.4 La stratégie du programme pour 2003-2004 sera axée sur les pays clés possédant un important potentiel de réduction des émissions et sur les pays où l'industrie canadienne est active.

3.2 Suivi, paiements de contribution et gestion des dossiers du programme

3.2.1 Les éléments de l'accord de contribution respectent la plupart des exigences des politiques du SCT du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert. L'accord de contribution est en outre conforme au modèle défini par SMD.

3.2.2 De bonnes pratiques sont en place pour le suivi des résultats et des demandes de paiement. Le comité d'examen des projets participe en outre à l'étape finale des projets, au cours de laquelle sont présentés les résultats et les rapports des responsables du programme. Ces derniers vérifient la qualité et la pertinence des rapports de projet fournis par les bénéficiaires et consultent les autorités appropriées, au besoin, avant de poursuivre le processus de paiement. Une fois les rapports et les autres données acceptés, le responsable analyse la documentation qui accompagne la demande de paiement et procède au règlement sur acceptation.

3.2.3 Les dossiers du programme étaient complets et bien organisés. Les dossiers comptables et les autres documents pertinents sont accessibles et révèlent clairement les sommes versées aux bénéficiaires.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2009-02-04