Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Contributions to International Environmental Programs

(December 2004)

Executive Summary

The Audit Division (SIV) undertook an audit of the management of the contributions to the International Environmental Program, which is administered by the Environment and Sustainable Development Relations Division (ESR), as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements.

The scope of the audit encompassed total ESR funding of $4,351,560, which included 34 grants and/or contributions.

The ESR audit strategy, as per the TB approved RBAF, indicates that, on an annual basis, three recipients are to be audited. As of the date of this report, the three recipient audits planned for this year are currently ongoing.

The contribution programs are managed with sound comptrollership practices and comply with legislative and regulatory requirements. The contribution agreements are justified under appropriate authorities. The contribution agreements were found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the TB and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution agreements respect the template as set out by SMD. Practices and processes were found to be in place that ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies. The contribution files contained the relevant documentation and indicated that proper approvals had been obtained for the contribution payments.

In conclusion, the contribution program is managed with sound comptrollership practices and complies with legislative and regulatory requirements. There are no audit recommendations.

Overview

1.1.1 On February 12, 1998, the Treasury Board approved the payment of contributions to support secretariats and programs formerly covered by the international portion of the Green Plan Program.

1.1.2 Treasury Board Ministers provided Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) with the authority to make contributions to international environmental programs, initiatives, organizations, and international secretariats administering environmental agreements to which Canada is a party, or which support Canadian foreign policy environmental objectives.

1.1.3 The Environment and Sustainable Development Relations Division (ESR) is responsible to administer several environmental programs, among which is the International Environmental Program, and other Treasury Board authorities relating to pre-commitments, such as to the United Nations and Convention on Biological Diversity.

1.1.4 The International Environmental Program funds are in support of different categories of expenditures and activities of which some are:

  • non-discretionary, such as annual contributions based on a scale of assessment; and,
  • discretionary, divided into two sub-categories:
    • contributions made to international environmental agreements and organizations for events and projects; and,
    • contributions made to other organizations and NGOs in support of international environmental cooperation and/or Canadian foreign policy objectives.

Scope, Objectives and Methodology

2.1 Scope

2.1.1 This audit focused on the administrative practices, processes (systems) and controls related to the management of the contributions to the International Environmental Programs. The contribution agreements have been in effect since the 1997/98 fiscal year. The Audit Team audited the contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

2.2 Objectives

2.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the contribution programs were managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focused on determining whether:

  • the contribution agreements were justified under appropriate authorities;
  • the contribution agreements were prepared in accordance with FAC's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • the terms and method of payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved terms and conditions; and,
  • the Program Officers conducted project monitoring.

2.3 Methodology

2.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the contribution agreements at FAC. The examination phase of the audit was conducted during the period December 2003 to February 2004. The contribution files reviewed were for the 2002/03 and 2003/04 fiscal years.

2.3.2 We conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed key personnel in the Environment and Sustainable Development Affairs Bureau (ESD) and Corporate Finance, Planning and Systems Bureau (SMD).

Observations

3.1 Contribution Agreements

3.1.1 The contribution agreements were justified under appropriate authorities.

3.1.2 The elements of the contribution agreements were found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution agreements respect the template as set out by SMD. Contribution agreements have SMFH approval and where needed, suggested corrections were made before they were being issued to the recipients.

3.2 Terms, Methods of Payments and Monitoring

3.2.1 Practices and processes were found to be in place that ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies and the contribution agreements terms and methods of payments. One exception was found where a lump sum payment of $150,000 was made without a contribution agreement being in place (UNEP GEMS/Water Programme Office). However, since Environment Canada plays a major role in the UNEP GEMS/Water Programme, contributions from ESR to this organisation are processed by means of an interdepartmental memorandum of understanding with Environment Canada as opposed to a contribution agreement, which is consistent with Treasury Board Policy. To reflect proper lines of accountability, ESR ensures that all documentation and applicable approvals are documented in ESR's files to support the disposition of project funds.

3.2.2 Good practices are in place for the monitoring of results. The ESR Officers monitor the project reports received from the recipients and where needed will consult with the proper authorities before proceeding with the payment process. It is frequently the case that the relevant ESR Officer has the opportunity to see first hand the work being performed (e.g. a conference, a meeting, a publication, a workshop). Once the reports or other outputs have been accepted, the documents submitted with the request for payment are reviewed by the Administrative Staff and/or ESR Officer/Director for payment approval.

3.3 Practices and Processes

3.3.1 Sound administrative practices were found to be in place. The ESR Officer makes an initial assessment of the appropriateness of the application received and of the availability of funds, seeks any further information, then discusses the proposal with his/her Deputy Director or, and as appropriate, the Director. The Director and/or Officer discusses the proposal with the Director General before making a commitment.

3.3.2 Contribution files were found to be complete. Accounting records and other relevant documents are maintained and disclose the amounts paid to recipients.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2008-10-17

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérfication des contributions versées aux programmes environmentaux internationaux

(Décembre 2004)

Résumé

La Direction de la vérification (SIV) a entrepris une vérification de la gestion des contributions accordées au programme environnemental international, qui relève de la Direction des relations environnementales et du développement durable (ESR), dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et des contributions du Ministère. Cette vérification avait pour objectif de déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion du programme de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires.

La vérification englobait le financement total de ESR, qui se chiffrait à 4 351 560 $ et qui comprenait 34 subventions et/ou contributions.

La stratégie de vérification de ESR, qui est conforme au Cadre de vérification fondé sur le risque approuvé par le Conseil du Trésor (CT), indique qu'il faut procéder à la vérification de trois bénéficiaires tous les ans. Au moment de la rédaction du rapport, les trois vérifications de bénéficiaires prévues cette année étaient en cours.

La gestion des programmes de contribution se fait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conforme aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. Les accords de contribution sont justifiés et ont été correctement autorisés. En outre, ils sont conformes à la majorité des exigences des politiques du CT et du Ministère en matière de paiements de transfert et respectent le modèle établi par SMD. Les pratiques et processus sont en place de manière à garantir que les fonds du programme sont gérés de façon prudente et que les paiements sont effectués en vertu des politiques. Les dossiers de contribution contiennent la documentation appropriée et font état des approbations obtenues pour les paiements de contribution.

En conclusion, la gestion du programme de contribution se fait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conforme aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. Nous n'avons aucune recommandation à formuler à la suite de la vérification.

Aperçu

1.1.1 Le 12 février 1998, le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé le paiement des contributions visant à soutenir les secrétariats et programmes faisant auparavant partie de la portion internationale du Plan vert.

1.1.2 Les membres du Conseil du Trésor ont donné à Affaires étrangères Canada (AEC) le pouvoir d'accorder des contributions à des programmes, initiatives et organismes environnementaux internationaux ainsi qu'à des secrétariats internationaux chargés d'administrer les accords environnementaux auxquels le Canada participe ou qui appuient les objectifs de la politique étrangère du Canada en matière d'environnement.

1.1.3 La Direction des relations environnementales et du développement durable (ESR) est chargée de gérer plusieurs programmes environnementaux, dont le Programme environnemental international, et d'autres décisions du Conseil du Trésor liés à des engagements préalables, comme ceux concernant les Nations Unies et la Convention sur la diversité biologique.

1.1.4 Les fonds du Programme environnemental international sont destinés à soutenir différentes catégories de dépenses et d'activités, dont certaines sont :

  • non discrétionnaires, comme les contributions annuelles fondées sur un barème de quotes-parts;
  • discrétionnaires, soit divisées en deux sous-catégories :
    • contributions accordées à des accords et organismes environnementaux internationaux pour des activités et des projets;
    • contributions accordées à d'autres organismes et ONG en appui à la coopération internationale en matière d'environnement et/ou aux objectifs de la politique étrangère du Canada.

Portée, objectifs et méthodologie

2.1 Portée

2.1.1 La vérification s'est attardée aux pratiques, processus (systèmes) et contrôles administratifs liés à la gestion des contributions des programmes environnementaux internationaux. Les accords de contribution sont en vigueur depuis l'exercice 1997-1998. L'équipe a procédé à la vérification du programme de contribution conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert.

2.2 Objectifs

2.2.1 L'objectif global consistait à déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion des programmes de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. À cet effet, la vérification s'est plus particulièrement appliquée à déterminer si :

  • les accords de contribution étaient justifiés et avaient été correctement autorisés;
  • les accord de contribution étaient rédigés conformément à la politique d'AEC en matière de paiements de transfert;
  • les modalités et les méthodes de paiement étaient conformes aux modalités et aux conditions approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • les agents du programme assuraient le suivi des projets.

2.3 Méthodologie

2.3.1 Les vérificateurs ont examiné les principaux processus administratifs et contrôles associés à la gestion des accords de contribution à AEC. La période d'examen s'est ainsi étendue de décembre 2003 à février 2004. Les dossiers de contribution touchés portaient sur les exercices 2002-2003 et 2003-2004.

2.3.2 Nous avons effectué une analyse exhaustive de la documentation pertinente du programme tout en rencontrant le personnel clé de la Direction générale des affaires environnementales et du développement durable (ESD) et de la Direction générale des finances, de la planification et des systèmes ministériels (SMD).

Observations

3.1 Accords de contribution

3.1.1 Les accords de contribution étaient justifiés et avaient été correctement autorisés.

3.1.2 Les éléments des accords de contribution sont conformes à la majorité des exigences des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert. Les accords de contribution sont en outre conformes au modèle défini par SMD et reçoivent l'approbation de SMFH, qui suggère, au besoin, des corrections avant de verser les paiements aux bénéficiaires.

3.2 Modalités, méthodes de paiements et suivi

3.2.1 Les pratiques et processus sont en place de manière à garantir que les fonds sont gérés de façon prudente et que les paiements sont effectués en vertu des politiques, modalités et méthodes de paiements des accords de contribution. Nous avons trouvé une exception, soit celle concernant un paiement forfaitaire de 150 000 $ effectué sans l'existence d'un accord de contribution (programme GEMS/EAU du PNUE). Toutefois, puisque Environnement Canada joue une rôle de premier ordre dans le programme GEMS/EAU du PNUE, c'est un protocole d'entente interministériel conclu avec Environnement Canada, et non un accord de contribution, qui traite les contributions que verse ESR à cette organisation, ce qui est conforme à la politique du Conseil du Trésor à cet égard. Pour mettre en évidence les bons liens hiérarchiques, ESR voit à ce que toute la documentation et les approbations applicables soient consignés dans ses dossiers pour appuyer l'utilisation des fonds du projet.

3.2.2 De bonnes pratiques sont en place pour assurer le contrôle des résultats. Les agents de ESR surveillent les rapports de projet que leur envoient les bénéficiaires et, au besoin, consultent les autorités compétentes avant de procéder au paiement. Il est fréquent que l'agent de ESR constate de lui-même le travail accompli (p. ex. une conférence, une réunion, une publication, un atelier). Après l'acceptation des rapports ou autres textes, le personnel administratif et/ou l'agent/directeur de ESR examinent les documents soumis en même temps que la demande pour approuver le paiement.

3.3 Pratiques et processus

3.3.1 Nous avons constaté que de saines pratiques de gestion sont en place. L'agent de ESR effectue une évaluation initiale afin de déterminer la justesse de la demande reçue et la disponibilité des fonds. Il cherche également toute autre information dont il aurait besoin et discute de la proposition avec son directeur adjoint ou, et si nécessaire, le directeur. Le directeur et/ou l'agent discute de la proposition avec le directeur général avant de prendre un engagement.

3.3.2 Les dossiers relatifs aux contributions sont bien remplis. Les dossiers de comptabilité et autres documents pertinents sont tenus à jour et font état des montants payés aux bénéficiaires.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2008-10-17