Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the International Fund for Ireland

(January 2005)

1.0 Executive Summary

1.1 The Audit Division (SIV) has conducted an audit of the International Fund for Ireland (IFI) as part of its review of departmental Grants and Contributions. The IFI is a contribution program administered by the Northern European Division (REN). The audit focussed on the management and operational processes used by REN to manage the IFI contribution program.

1.2 Based on our review of REN's processes and files related to this contribution program, we have found the program to be well managed and make the following recommendations to improve program administration.

  • There is a need to determine which funding mechanism (i.e. grant or contribution) is the most appropriate for the IFI, and to ensure that the resulting agreement between Canada and the IFI contains all the mandatory provisions required by DFAIT and Treasury Board (TB) Policy.
  • There is a need to document the results of the ongoing review of IFI performance and to ensure these results are an integral part of the request for payment.

2.0 Scope, Objectives and Scope and Methodology

2.1 Background

2.1.1 The IFI was established in 1986 by the British and Irish governments to promote economic and social advance and to encourage contact, dialogue and reconciliation between Nationalists and Unionists within Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. In 1987, Canada agreed to commit $10 million to the IFI, half from government and half from matching private funds. By 1996 Canada had paid approximately $4.1 million of the total commitment, when financial constraints arose. The authority was again approved in October 1999, restoring funding towards the Canadian Government's commitment to the IFI. The program totalled $1 million over three years, representing annual payments of $333,333. This agreement is up for renewal at the end of Fiscal Year 2001-02.

2.1.2 The oversight of the IFI is provided by REN as part of its ongoing work in foreign policy and political affairs for the region. This oversight is carried out with the assistance of our missions in London and Dublin.

2.2 Scope and Objectives

2.2.1 The primary focus of the audit was a review of the management and operational processes used by REN in their management and oversight of the IFI. This audit examined REN's practices in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments.

2.2.2 The overall objective of this audit was to review REN's management control framework and to identify potential improvements that would assist REN in its management and operational procedures with respect to this program.

2.3 Methodology

2.3.1 The audit methodology included a review of relevant corporate and program documentation and interviews with personnel in REN and at two missions, London and Dublin.

3.0 Observations and Recommendations

3.1 Funding Instrument

3.1.1 DFAIT received authority through Treasury Board Submissions in 1987 and 1996 to make two grants to the IFI, $10 million and $600,000 respectively. After 1996 no further authority was requested until 1999, at which time the department made a request through a Treasury Board Submission to pay annual contributions to the IFI of up to $333,333 in each fiscal year 1999-2000, 2000-01 and 2001-02, for a total contribution of $1 million.

3.1.2 The rationale for changing the funding mechanism from a grant to a contribution was that under a contribution program the Treasury Board can authorize new contributions and changes in the amount paid without further parliamentary approval. Grant programs, however, cannot be increased or redirected without the authority of parliament because of the legislative authority.

3.1.3 The Audit Team examined the grant agreements established between the IFI and Canada for 1987 and 1996 and found these agreements to be in order. However, the contribution agreement prepared in 1999, for a three year period totalling $1 million, was of the same format and content of the previous two grant agreements. As a result, the 1999 contribution agreement did not include all the mandatory provisions required in a contribution agreement. For instance, the agreement lacks clauses relating to the reporting requirements expected of the recipient; the Minister's right to conduct an audit of a contribution; the requirement of the recipient to repay overpayments, unexpended balances and disallowed expenses; and a declaration that such amounts constitute debts due to the Crown.

3.1.4 The agreement is up for renewal at the end of Fiscal Year 2001-02. A recently completed evaluation of this Program concluded that Canada's contribution to the IFI has been a sound investment in promoting reconciliation and the peace process in Northern Ireland. It further concluded that it would be in Canada's best interests to continue to contribute to the IFI. REN is currently preparing a Treasury Board Submission for the purpose of renewing Canada's contribution to the IFI. In light of the 1999 change in the funding instrument from grant to contribution and the resulting absence of mandatory provisions that are to be included in all contribution agreements, REN should re-assess the funding instrument to be used. Which ever instrument is chosen, REN should ensure that the agreement between Canada and the IFI contains all the mandatory provisions required for a grant or contribution agreement as directed by DFAIT and TB Policy on Grants and Contributions.

Recommendation for REN

3.1.5 REN should determine the appropriate funding instrument for the IFI and ensure that the resulting agreement between Canada and the IFI contains all the mandatory provisions required by DFAIT and TB Policy on Grants and Contributions.

REN Response

3.1.5 The process of payment will continue to be a contribution, and changes have been made to the provisions so that there are clauses that relate to the reporting requirements expected of the recipient, the Minister's right to conduct an audit of a contribution, the requirement of the recipient to repay overpayments, and a declaration that such amounts constitute debts to the Crown.

3.2 Program Monitoring

3.2.1 REN liaises regularly with the missions in London and Dublin. Although REN and Mission staff in London have a higher level of responsibility and accountability for the policy development on the peace process, the staff in Dublin have a larger role in monitoring the IFI because of their location.

3.2.2 Monitoring activities undertaken include twice-yearly visits to Northern Ireland made by departmental staff based in London. Meetings with the IFI management form a regular part of the visit itinerary. In addition, the IFI sends DFAIT its Corporate Annual Report and monitoring and evaluation reports produced for the organization and other governments. These documents include the recent impact assessments of the IFI and a management audit. Information obtained by Mission staff through these monitoring activities and documentation is used in furthering departmental policy objectives.

3.2.3 The Board of the IFI is appointed jointly by the British and Irish Governments. As an IFI donor country, Canada has had the ability to oversee IFI operations with the long-term appointment of a prominent Canadian representative as one of five Observers to the Board. There is no formal process by which Board deliberations are communicated to REN and the Missions.

3.2.4 On an annual basis, the IFI makes a request for payment by way of an invoice, accompanied by a letter, without any supporting documents such as a financial report as required by the terms and conditions of the Treasury Board. There is no formal review by Program Management of the IFI request for payment prior to its payment.

Recommendations for REN

3.2.5 REN, with assistance from the missions in London and Dublin, should establish a formal process by which the Board's deliberations are communicated to the Department.

3.2.6 REN should review its process for payments to ensure that the file contains documented evidence of program managements review and approval of invoices.

REN Responses

3.2.5 REN, with assistance from the missions in London and Dublin, obtains copies of the minutes from each meeting of the Board in order to ensure that the Department is aware of all deliberations that take place regarding the Fund.

3.2.6 Payment process was reviewed and all payments are now supported by the appropriate documents.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-18

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification du Fonds international pour l'Irlande

(Janvier 2005)

1.0 Sommaire

1.1 La Direction de la vérification (SIV) a procédé à la vérification du Fonds international pour l'Irlande (FII) dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et contributions ministérielles. Le FII est un programme de contributions administré par la Direction de l'Europe du Nord (REN). La vérification a porté sur la gestion du programme et les processus opérationnels utilisés par REN à cette fin.

1.2 Après examen des processus utilisés par REN et des dossiers liés à ce programme, nous avons constaté que celui-ci est bien géré, mais faisons néanmoins les recommandations suivantes pour en améliorer l'administration :

  • Il faudrait déterminer quel mécanisme de financement (c'est-à-dire subvention ou contribution) convient le mieux dans le cas du FII, et veiller à ce que l'accord résultant entre le Canada et le FII comporte toutes les dispositions obligatoires requises par AEC et la politique du Conseil du Trésor.
  • Il faudrait documenter les résultats de l'examen constant de la performance du FII et veiller à ce que ces résultats fassent partie intégrante de la demande de paiement.

2.0 Historique, portée et méthodologie de la vérification

2.1 Historique

2.1.1 Créé en 1986 par les gouvernements britannique et irlandais, le Fonds international pour l'Irlande a pour but de promouvoir le progrès économique et social, et de favoriser les contacts, le dialogue et la réconciliation entre nationalistes et unionistes en Irlande du Nord et en République d'Irlande. En 1987, le Canada a accepté de remettre 10 millions $ au FII, la moitié de cet argent devant provenir du gouvernement, le reste de sources privées. En 1996, il avait versé environ 4,1 millions $ de la somme promise, lorsque des contraintes financières l'ont forcé à reporter les paiements. L'autorisation de reprendre les contributions a été accordée en octobre 1999. Le programme a versé 1 million $ sur trois ans, soit des paiements annuels de 333 333 $. L'accord doit être renouvelé à la fin de l'année financière 2001-2002.

2.1.2 La contribution au FII est supervisée par REN dans le cadre de ses attributions courantes en matière de politique étrangère et autre, dans la région. Cette supervision se fait en collaboration avec nos missions à Londres et Dublin.

2.2 Portée et objectifs

2.2.1 La vérification visait d'abord à passer en revue la façon dont REN gère le FII et les processus opérationnels utilisés à cette fin. Les pratiques de REN ont été examinées en conformité avec la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert.

2.2.2 L'objectif général de la vérification était de revoir le cadre de contrôle de gestion adopté par REN, et de signaler les améliorations qui pourraient aider REN sur le plan de l'administration du programme et des procédures opérationnelles connexes.

2.3 Méthodologie

2.3.1 La méthodologie de la vérification a comporté un examen des documents pertinents concernant le Ministère et le programme, ainsi que des entrevues avec le personnel de REN dans les missions de Londres et de Dublin.

3.0 Observations et recommandations

3.1 Mécanisme de financement

3.1.1 Après avoir fait des Présentations au Conseil du Trésor en 1987 et en 1996, AEC a reçu l'autorisation de verser deux contributions au FII, à savoir 10 millions $ et 600 000 $ respectivement. Après 1996, aucune nouvelle autorisation n'a été demandée jusqu'en 1999. Cette année-là le Ministère a demandé au Conseil du Trésor de l'autoriser à verser au FII une contribution annuelle de 333 333 $ pour chacun des exercices 1999-2000, 2000-2001 et 2001-2002, soit un montant total de 1 million $.

3.1.2 Le mécanisme de financement a alors été modifié, et on allait désormais verser une contribution plutôt qu'une subvention. Cela était dû au fait que, dans un programme de contributions, le Conseil du Trésor peut autoriser de nouvelles contributions et des changements aux montants remis sans devoir obtenir l'approbation du Parlement. Dans le cas des programmes de subventions par contre, il ne peut augmenter ou réorienter les montants prévus sans l'aval du pouvoir législatif.

3.1.3 L'équipe de vérification a examiné les accords de subventions conclus entre le FII et le Canada en 1987 et 1996, et constaté qu'ils étaient conformes aux règles applicables. Cependant, le format et le contenu de l'accord de contributions signé en 1999, pour une période de trois ans et un montant total de 1 million $, étaient les mêmes que pour les deux accords de subventions antérieurs, de sorte que cet accord ne comportait pas toutes les dispositions obligatoires en l'occurrence. Par exemple, il ne contient aucune clause concernant la présentation de rapports par le bénéficiaire, le droit du Ministre de procéder à une vérification de la contribution, l'obligation du bénéficiaire de rembourser les montants perçus en trop, les soldes non dépensés et les dépenses non approuvées, et une déclaration établissant que les montants en question constituent une dette envers l'État.

3.1.4 L'accord doit être renouvelé à la fin de l'année financière 2001-02. Une récente évaluation du programme a permis de conclure que la contribution du Canada au FII est un bon investissement pour promouvoir la réconciliation et le processus de paix en Irlande du Nord. Il a aussi été déterminé qu'il serait dans le meilleur intérêt du Canada de maintenir cette contribution. REN prépare actuellement une Présentation au Conseil du Trésor à cette fin. À la lumière du changement apporté en 1999 au mécanisme de financement, où les contributions ont remplacé les subventions, et vu l'absence conséquente de dispositions devant obligatoirement être incluses dans les accords de contributions, REN devrait réévaluer le mécanisme de financement utilisé. Quel que soit l'instrument choisi - subvention ou contribution - REN devrait voir à ce que l'accord conclu entre le Canada et le FII contienne toutes les dispositions obligatoires en l'occurrence, comme l'exigent AEC et la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les subventions et les contributions.

Recommandation à REN

3.1.5 REN devrait choisir le mécanisme de financement approprié concernant le FII, et voir à ce que l'accord résultant entre le Canada et le FII comporte toutes les dispositions obligatoires exigées par AEC et la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les subventions et les contributions.

Réponse de REN

3.1.5 Le financement versé au FII continuera d'être sous forme de contributions, et l'accord comportera désormais des dispositions concernant la présentation de rapports par le bénéficiaire, le droit du Ministre de procéder à une vérification de la contribution et l'obligation du bénéficiaire de rembourser les montants perçus en trop, ainsi qu'une déclaration établissant que les montants en question constituent une dette envers l'État.

3.2 Suivi du programme

3.2.1 REN est en liaison constante avec les missions de Londres et de Dublin. Si REN et le personnel de Londres interviennent davantage dans l'élaboration de la politique relative au processus de paix, le personnel de Dublin, étant sur place, joue par contre un rôle plus important en ce qui concerne le suivi du FII.

3.2.2 Les activités de suivi comportent notamment deux visites annuelles en Irlande du Nord par le personnel ministériel en poste à Londres, visites régulièrement assorties de rencontres avec la direction du FII. En outre, le FII envoie à AEC son Rapport annuel ainsi que les rapports de suivi et d'évaluation produits pour son compte et celui d'autres gouvernements. Ces documents incluent les récentes études d'impact du FII et une vérification de gestion. Les informations recueillies par le personnel des missions dans le cadre de ce suivi et de cette documentation contribuent à la réalisation des objectifs de la politique ministérielle.

3.2.3 Le Conseil du FII est nommé conjointement par les gouvernements britannique et irlandais. En tant que pays donateur, le Canada peut superviser les opérations du FII grâce à la nomination à long terme d'un éminent représentant canadien parmi les cinq observateurs que compte le Conseil. Aucun processus formel n'existe pour la communication des délibérations du Conseil à REN et aux missions.

3.2.4 Chaque année, le FII présente sa demande de paiement sous forme de facture, accompagnée d'une lettre mais sans aucun document à l'appui, par exemple un rapport financier, ce qui va à l'encontre des modalités établies par le Conseil du Trésor. Avant de verser la contribution, la direction du programme ne procède à aucun examen formel de la demande présentée par le FII.

Recommandations à REN

3.2.5 REN, avec l'aide des missions de Londres et de Dublin, devrait instituer un processus formel pour la communication au Ministère des délibérations du Conseil.

3.2.6 REN devrait revoir le processus de paiement pour s'assurer que le dossier contient la documentation montrant que la direction du programme a examiné la demande et approuvé les factures.

Réponses de REN

3.2.5 REN, avec l'aide des missions de Londres et de Dublin, obtient désormais le procès verbal de chaque réunion du Conseil, de manière que le Ministère soit informé de toutes les délibérations concernant le Fonds.

3.2.6 Le processus de paiement a été revu, et tous les versements sont maintenant accompagnés des documents pertinents.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-18