Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Internal Audit of the Going Global Science and Technology Contribution Fund

(June 2005)

Executive Summary

The Audit Division (ZIV) undertook an audit of the internal management of the Going Global Science and Technology Fund (TBR) contribution program. This audit was conducted by ZIV as part of its review of departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements.

The scope of the audit encompassed total TBR funding of $390,000 for fiscal year 2004/05. At the time of the audit, 18 contribution agreements had been entered into by the program. The Audit Team reviewed a sample of eight projects, with a total approved budget of $117,830, 30% of the Program's contribution funding.

The Audit Team found that the contribution program is managed with sound comptrollership practices and complies with legislative and regulatory requirements. The contribution agreements are justified under the appropriate authorities and were found to be in agreement with the requirements of the Treasury Board and departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The practices and processes in TBR ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies. The contribution files contained the relevant documentation and indicated that proper approvals had been obtained for the contribution payments. There are no audit recommendations.

The Audit Team also undertook a follow-up to the recommendations made in the November 2001 Going Global Audit Report and found that all recommendations made in that report had been implemented.

The TBR audit strategy, as per the Treasury Board approved Risk Based Audit Framework (RBAF), requires that in addition to the internal audit, three recipient audits be completed on an annual basis. As of the date of this internal audit report, three recipient audits had been completed for projects undertaken in the 2003/2004 fiscal year.

1.0 Overview

1.1 Treasury Board Ministers provided the Department (ITCan) with the authority to make discretionary contributions to Canadian researchers to promote Canada's International Science and Technology collaboration by identifying and establishing new international collaborative research and development (R&D) initiatives. Emphasis is given to the support of projects that build on Canada's science and technology and foreign policy priorities; facilitate the access of Canadian researchers to major international research networks; and ensure that Canadian companies can gain access to cutting edge research and technologies not available in Canada.

1.2 The "Going Global S&T" Program supports projects that are aimed at establishing coordination mechanisms/platforms for exploring international R&D collaborative opportunities with foreign partners or international programs.

1.3 Recipients eligible for funding under Going Global are non-federal government researchers who require support to explore opportunities for collaborative R&D projects. Funding is intended to support efforts towards the initiation of collaborative R&D efforts, not to support research activities themselves. Going Global will contribute up to 50% of the expenses eligible under the program, to the maximum of $50,000. Eligible expenses include travel, accommodation and other non-research expenses associated with establishment of collaborative R&D activities.

2.0 Scope, Objectives and Methodology

2.1 Scope

2.1.1 This audit focussed on the administrative practices, processes (systems) and controls related to the management of the contributions made under the Going Global S&T Program during the 2004/05 fiscal year. The Audit Team audited the contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

2.2 Objectives

2.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • the contribution agreements (CAs) were justified under appropriate authorities;
  • the CAs were prepared in accordance with the Department's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • the terms and method of payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved terms and conditions; and,
  • the program officers conducted project monitoring.

2.3 Methodology

2.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the CAs in TBR. We conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed key TBR personnel.

2.3.2 The examination phase of the audit was conducted during December 2004. Out of a total of 18 projects underway or completed at that time, an initial sample of eight completed project files were selected accounting for $117,830, 30% of program budget.(1) Based on the positive results found in the initial sample, the sample was not expanded.

2.3.3 The Audit Team reviewed the Recipient Audit Reports that have been conducted during the 2004/2005 fiscal year for projects undertaken in 2003/2004 fiscal year.

2.3.4 In addition to the interviews and file review, the Audit Team also performed a follow-up on the recommendations made in the November 2001 Audit of the Going Global Science and Technology Program. All recommendations were found to have been actioned appropriately.

3.0 Observations

3.1 Application, Assessment and Approval

3.1.1 Applicants apply for program funding by completing the application form and submitting it to the program administrator. All applicants that do not adhere to the application form are contacted and asked to do so. Once the project proposal has met this basic requirement it is given to a program officer for review.

3.1.2 The designated program officer reviews the project proposal by evaluating it against an established set of criteria and recommending it for acceptance or refusal. The assessment is documented through the use of an assessment form and is maintained on file.

3.1.3 The proposal is then submitted to the two deputy directors for review. Once the deputies have approved the project, the proposal is then given to the director for final approval. The approval is documented using a project approval form and is maintained on file.

3.2 Contribution Agreements (CAs)

3.2.1 The CAs respect the template as set out by SMD and were justified under appropriate authorities.

3.2.2 The Audit Team found that, with the exception of the clause relating to class of air travel, the clauses of the CAs were in agreement with the applicable requirements of the Treasury Board and departmental Transfer Payment Policies. CAs have SMFH approval and, where needed, suggested corrections were made before being issued to the recipients.

3.2.3 The standard clause used by TBR for air travel is not consistent with the Treasury Board guidelines as it does not restrict the recipient to purchase the lowest possible airfare, including charters and other discounts for each trip and to book immediately upon contract approval so as to take advantage of the lowest fares. In speaking with SMFH, the Audit Team understands that the template being used by all programs did not address this issue and has been subsequently revised (for fiscal year 2005/06) to reflect this requirement. As a result no recommendation is noted.

3.3 Terms, Methods of Payments and Monitoring

3.3.1 Practices and processes were found to be in place to ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies and the CA terms and methods of payment. To reflect proper lines of accountability, TBR ensures that all documentation and applicable approvals are documented in agreement files to support the disposition of project funds.

3.3.2 Good practices are in place for the monitoring of results. The program officers review the final reports to ensure that the recipients have met the requirements of the program. The program administrator reviews the financial report to ensure that the Department covers only 50% of the eligible costs of the project. One exception was noted during the course of a recipient audit (see 3.5). When warranted, the program administrator will consult with the proper authorities before proceeding with the payment process. Once the reports or other outputs have been accepted, they are submitted to the director for payment approval.

3.3.3 Contribution payments are approved by authorized persons, based on the achievement of performance objectives set out in the agreement or as a reimbursement of eligible costs incurred by the recipient. Payments are not made until all required reports have been received.

3.4 Records Management

3.4.1 Contribution files were found to be complete. While accounting records and other relevant documents were maintained and disclosed the amounts paid to recipients, the files were not always well organized. The program administrator explained to the Audit Team that a clean-up/organization of all files occurs at year-end.

3.5 Recipient Audits

3.5.1 TBR, in conjunction with ZIV, has developed a risk management assessment for recipient audits, which includes:

  • a determination of which recipients are to be audited;
  • a determination of whether the scope, frequency and scheduling of audits meet program requirements; and,
  • a determination of appropriate follow-up action of audit findings.

3.5.2 As required by TBR's RBAF, three recipients audits (for projects completed during fiscal year 2003/2004) were undertaken by ZIV during the 2004/2005 fiscal year.

3.5.3 Generally, the recipients that were audited maintained complete and comprehensive records of costs, expenditures and commitments incurred in the course of performing the obligations pursuant to the CA.

3.5.4 One recipient had incorrectly claimed expenditures over the amount allowed by the contribution agreement. Due to miscalculation, the overclaimed amount was $664 or 3% of the value and the recipient subsequently returned the excess amount.

1 The initial sample selected included projects that varied in size - small, medium and large. Of the $117,830 allocated for these projects, only $92,900 was disbursed (24% of the program budget) due to projects coming in on or under budget.(return to source paragraph)

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-18

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification interne du Fonds de contribution d'Horizon le monde en science et technologie

(Juin 2005)

Sommaire

La Direction de la vérification (ZIV) a entrepris une vérification de la gestion interne du programme de contribution Fonds Horizon le monde en science et technologie (TBR), dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et des contributions du Ministère. Cette vérification avait pour objectif de déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion du programme de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires.

La vérification englobait le financement total de TBR, qui se chiffrait à 390 000 $ au cours de l'exercice 2004-2005. Au moment de la vérification, 18 accords de contribution avaient été conclus dans le cadre du programme. L'équipe de vérification a examiné un échantillon de huit projets, dont le budget total approuvé était de 117 830 $, soit 30 % du financement accordé par le programme sous forme de contributions.

Selon l'équipe de vérification, la gestion du programme de contribution se fait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conforme aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. Les accords de contribution sont justifiés et ont été correctement autorisés. En outre, ils se conforment aux exigences des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère en matière de paiements de transfert. Les pratiques et processus en place à TBR garantissent que les fonds du programme sont gérés de façon prudente et que les paiements sont effectués en vertu des politiques. Les dossiers de contribution contiennent la documentation appropriée et font état des approbations obtenues pour les paiements de contribution. Nous n'avons aucune recommandation à formuler à la suite de la vérification.

L'équipe de vérification a également assuré le suivi des recommandations formulées dans le Rapport de vérification du programme Horizon le monde de novembre 2001. Elle conclut que toutes les recommandations du rapport ont été mises en oeuvre.

Conformément au Cadre de vérification fondé sur le risque (CVFR) approuvé par le Conseil du Trésor, la stratégie de vérification de TBR exige que trois vérifications soient menées tous les ans auprès des bénéficiaires parallèlement à la vérification interne. Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport de vérification interne, trois vérifications avaient été menées auprès des bénéficiaires pour des projets entrepris au cours de l'année financière 2003-2004.

1.0 Aperçu

1.1 Les membres du Conseil du Trésor ont donné au Ministère (CICan) le pouvoir d'accorder des contributions discrétionnaires aux chercheurs canadiens, dans le but de promouvoir la participation internationale du Canada dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie, grâce à l'établissement de nouvelles initiatives de collaboration internationale en recherche et développement (R et D). L'accent est mis sur les projets qui mettent à profit les priorités du Canada en science et technologie, et en politique étrangère, qui facilitent l'accès des chercheurs canadiens aux grands réseaux de recherches internationaux, et qui veillent à ce que les entreprises canadiennes accèdent aux dernières recherches et technologies non encore offertes au Canada.

1.2 Le programme Horizon le monde en science et technologie appuie des projets qui visent à établir des mécanismes ou des plate-formes de coordination pour l'étude des occasions en R et D avec des partenaires étrangers ou dans le cadre de programmes internationaux.

1.3 Les bénéficiaires pouvant recevoir du financement dans le cadre de Horizon le monde sont des chercheurs non à l'emploi du gouvernement fédéral qui ont besoin d'une aide pour étudier les occasions de projets de collaboration en R et D. Le financement vise à appuyer les efforts que ces chercheurs déploient pour faire démarrer des projets de collaboration en R et D et non pour mener les activités de recherche mêmes. Horizon le monde prendra en charge jusqu'à 50 % des dépenses admissibles dans le cadre du programme, jusqu'à concurrence de 50 000 $. Les dépenses admissibles comprennent les frais de déplacement et d'hébergement, et les dépenses qui ne sont pas liées à la recherche, mais qui ont un lien avec l'établissement des activités de collaboration en R et D.

2.0 Portée, objectifs  et méthodologie

2.1 Portée

2.1.1 La vérification s'est attardée aux pratiques, processus (systèmes) et contrôles administratifs liés à la gestion des contributions accordées dans le cadre du programme Horizon le monde en science et technologie pendant l'exercice 2004-2005. L'équipe de vérification a procédé à la vérification du programme de contribution conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert.

2.2 Objectifs

2.2.1 L'objectif global consistait à déterminer jusqu'à quel point la gestion du programme de contribution se faisait dans le respect de saines pratiques de contrôle et se conformait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. À cet effet, la vérification s'est plus particulièrement appliquée à déterminer si :

  • les accords de contribution (AC) étaient justifiés et avaient été correctement autorisés;
  • les AC étaient rédigés conformément à la politique du Ministère en matière de paiements de transfert;
  • les modalités et les méthodes de paiement étaient conformes aux modalités et aux conditions approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • les agents du programme assuraient le suivi des projets.

2.3 Méthodologie

2.3.1 Les vérificateurs ont examiné les principaux processus administratifs et contrôles associés à la gestion des AC à TBR. Ils ont effectué une analyse exhaustive de la documentation pertinente du programme tout en rencontrant le personnel clé de TBR.

2.3.2 La phase de l'examen a eu lieu en décembre 2004. Des 18 projets en cours ou terminés à ce moment, nous avons choisi un échantillon initial de huit projets terminés, qui totalisaient 117 830 $, soit 30 % du budget du programme.(1) Selon les résultats positifs obtenus, l'échantillon n'a pas été élargi.

2.3.3 L'équipe de vérification a examiné les rapports des vérifications menées sur les bénéficiaires au cours de l'exercice 2004-2005 pour les projets entrepris au cours de l'exercice 2003-2004.

2.3.4 Outre les entrevues et l'examen des dossiers, l'équipe de vérification a également assuré le suivi des recommandations formulées lors de la vérification du programme Horizon le monde en science et technologie en novembre 2001. Elle a conclu que toutes les recommandations avaient été mises en oeuvre de façon appropriée.

3.0 Observations

3.1 Application, évaluation et approbation

3.1.1 Les personnes désireuses d'obtenir du financement présentent une demande en remplissant un formulaire et en l'envoyant à l'administrateur du programme. On communique avec toutes les personnes qui ne remplissent pas le formulaire, pour leur demander de le faire. Lorsque la proposition de projet répond à cette exigence de base, elle est acheminée à un agent de programme pour qu'il l'étudie.

3.1.2 L'agent de programme désigné évalue la proposition de projet selon des critères établis et recommande son approbation ou son rejet. L'évaluation est documentée grâce à un formulaire et conservée dans les dossiers.

3.1.3 La proposition est ensuite présentée à deux directeurs adjoints qui l'étudient et l'approuvent, après quoi elle est acheminée au directeur pour approbation finale. L'approbation est documentée grâce à un formulaire d'approbation de projet et conservée dans les dossiers.

3.2 Accords de contribution (AC)

3.2.1 Les accords de contribution sont conformes au modèle défini par SMD. En outre, ils sont justifiés et correctement autorisés.

3.2.2 L'équipe de vérification a constaté que les clauses des AC, sauf celles relatives à la classe des voyages par avion, respectaient les exigences applicables des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère en matière de paiements de transfert. Les AC ont l'approbation de SMFH et, au besoin, des corrections leur sont apportées avant qu'ils ne soient remis aux bénéficiaires.

3.2.3 La clause type qu'utilise TBR pour les voyages par avion ne respecte pas les directives du Conseil du Trésor, puisqu'elle n'oblige pas le bénéficiaire à acheter le billet d'avion le moins cher possible, ce qui comprend les vols nolisés et les autres rabais offerts pour les déplacements, et à le réserver dès l'approbation du contrat pour profiter des meilleurs tarifs. En discutant avec SMFH, l'équipe de vérification a cru comprendre que le modèle utilisé par tous les programmes ne tenait pas compte de la question. Le modèle a donc été révisé pour rendre compte de cette exigence (exercice 2005-2006). En conséquence, aucune recommandation n'est formulée.

3.3 Modalités, méthodes de paiement et suivi

3.3.1 Les pratiques et processus sont en place de manière à garantir que les fonds sont gérés de façon prudente et que les paiements sont effectués en vertu des politiques, modalités et méthodes de paiements des AC. Pour mettre en évidence les bons liens hiérarchiques, TBR voit à ce que toute la documentation et les approbations applicables soient consignées dans ses dossiers pour appuyer l'utilisation des fonds du projet.

3.3.2 De bonnes pratiques sont en place pour assurer le suivi des résultats. Les agents de programme examinent les rapports finaux pour garantir que les bénéficiaires ont répondu aux exigences du programme. L'administrateur de programme étudie quant à lui le rapport financier pour avoir l'assurance que le Ministère ne paie que 50 % des coûts admissibles du projet. On a toutefois observé une exception lors de la vérification d'un bénéficiaire (voir 3.5). L'administrateur de programme consulte, s'il y a lieu, les autorités compétentes avant d'effectuer le paiement. Après l'acceptation des rapports ou autres textes, ces derniers sont acheminés au directeur pour faire approuver le paiement.

3.3.3 Les paiements de contribution sont approuvés par les personnes autorisées, en fonction de l'atteinte des objectifs de rendement établis dans l'accord ou en tant que remboursement des coûts admissibles engagés par le bénéficiaire. Les paiements ne sont effectués qu'une fois tous les rapports nécessaires reçus.

3.4 Gestion des dossiers

3.4.1 Les dossiers relatifs aux contributions sont complets. Même si les dossiers de comptabilité et autres documents pertinents étaient tenus à jour et faisaient état des montants payés aux bénéficiaires, ils n'étaient pas toujours bien organisés. L'administrateur de programme a expliqué à l'équipe de vérification qu'un nettoyage/organisation des dossiers a lieu à la fin de l'exercice.

3.5 Vérifications des bénéficiaires

3.5.1 TBR, en collaboration avec ZIV, a conçu un modèle d'évaluation de la gestion des risques pour les vérifications de bénéficiaires, qui permet :

  • de choisir les bénéficiaires à vérifier;
  • de voir à ce que la portée, la fréquence et l'horaire des vérifications respectent les exigences du programme;
  • de déterminer les mesures de suivi appropriées concernant les conclusions de la vérification.

3.5.2 Comme l'exige le CVFR de TBR, ZIV a effectué trois vérifications sur les bénéficiaires (concernant des projets terminés au cours de l'exercice 2003-2004) au cours de l'exercice 2004-2005.

3.5.3 En général, les bénéficiaires qui ont fait l'objet d'une vérification tiennent à jour des dossiers exhaustifs sur les coûts, dépenses et engagements qui découlent des obligations relatives à l'AC.

3.5.4 Un bénéficiaire a réclamé des dépenses au-delà du montant permis par l'accord de contribution. En raison d'une erreur de calcul, le montant réclamé en trop se chiffrait à 664 $, soit 3 % de la valeur. Le bénéficiaire a par la suite remis l'excédent.

1 L'échantillon initial choisi comprenait des projets de diverses envergures, soit des petits, des moyens et des grands projets. Des 117 830 $ accordés à ces projets, seuls 92 900 $ ont été versés (24 % du budget du programme) en raison du dépassement ou non du budget par les projets.(retour au paragraphe du source)

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-18