Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Contributions for the Northern Dimension Program

(July 2005)

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (ZIV) undertook an audit of the management of the contributions for the Northern Dimension Program as part of its review of Departmental Grants and Contributions. The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements.

We observed that some good management and administrative practices are in place. Overall, three of the five audit objectives were achieved. The contribution agreements were found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the TB and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. However, we noted opportunities for improvements to ensure that program funds are managed with due diligence and that payments are made in accordance with the policies. Specifically, these opportunities relate to:

  • compliance with all the Program's Terms and Conditions;
  • justification and timeliness of expenditures;
  • implementation of a formal mechanism for contribution agreement amendments; and,
  • the management of the process involved with recipient audits.

A total of five audit recommendations are raised in the report and all are addressed to the Northern Dimension Program. Management has responded to each recommendation indicating action already taken or decision made, as well as future action. Management has stated that all five recommendations have been implemented.


Overview

1.1.1 The Northern Dimension of Canada's Foreign Policy (NDFP) was announced by the Minister of Foreign Affairs on June 8, 2000. The announcement also included a commitment of $10 million over five years, from a reallocation of existing departmental resources. Details of the policy were ratified by Cabinet in September 2000.

1.1.2 Treasury Board approved the terms and conditions for the creation of a new Class of Contributions in support of the DFAIT Northern Dimension of Canada's Foreign Policy.

1.1.3 NDFP is framed by three principles - meeting our commitments and taking a leadership role; establishing partnerships within and beyond government; and engaging in ongoing dialogue with Canadians, especially northerners. In keeping with this framework, the NDFP has four overarching objectives:

  1. To enhance the security and prosperity of Canadians, especially northerners and Aboriginal peoples;
  2. To assert and ensure the preservation of Canada's sovereignty in the North;
  3. To establish the Circumpolar region as a vibrant geopolitical entity integrated into a rules-based international system; and,
  4. To promote the human security of northerners and the sustainable development of the Arctic.

1.1.4 These objectives have been pursued through a focus on five priority areas for action over several years: (1) strengthening the Arctic Council; (2) helping to establish the University of the Arctic and enhancing a Canadian and Circumpolar research network; (3) strengthening co-operation with northern Russia; (4) promoting sustainable development through economic and trade opportunities; and (5) implementing the Canada-EU Joint Statement on Northern Cooperation.

1.1.5 While the Northern Dimension Program is managed by the Aboriginal and Circumpolar Affairs Division (AGA), its benefits affect a large number of divisions and missions, as well as FAC's relationships with a number of key domestic departments, from which it serves to leverage matching funds.

1.1.6 As it is focussed on the circumpolar region, the NDFP has become a key component of Canada's bilateral relations with the other seven Arctic key partner countries: Russia, the United States (Alaska), Norway, Iceland, as well as the European Union and the three countries that are members of both the EU and the Arctic Council (i.e., Finland, Sweden and Denmark - including Greenland). The Northern Dimension of Canada's Foreign Policy provides resources to support cooperative activities undertaken by Missions and by geographic divisions to advance Canada's bilateral relations. It is also the instrument to implement high-level political commitments such as the 1999 Canada-EU Joint Declaration on Northern Cooperation, or December 2000's Joint Statement between Canada and the Russian Federation of Cooperation in the Arctic and the North.

1.1.7 The NDFP also represents one of the major sources of funding for Canada's participation in the Arctic Council, the principal international forum where circumpolar issues are addressed.

1.1.8 Approximately half of the funding for the NDFP is provided in the form of contribution funds (Vote 10). This allows the Department to enter into joint projects with other levels of government, Indigenous organizations, non-government organizations, academic institutions and others throughout Canada that have interests in the North.

1.1.9 ZIV supported the program in developing its Risk-Based Audit Framework (RBAF) in February 2001 and overall, the level of risk associated with funding the NDFP is considered to be medium. The overall risk is assessed as medium because of such factors as *** the diversified number of partners and target groups seeking financial support; the total program value; recipients that are both inside and outside Canada; the many and varied recipients; the almost unlimited scope for action; the variable interest; willingness of potential partners to cooperate; the requirement to reallocating FAC resources from competing programs to fund the NDFP; and finally, the need for a close partnership with many partners and target groups.


Scope, Objectives and Methodology

2.1 Scope

2.1.1 This audit focussed on the administrative practices, processes (systems) and controls related to the management of the contributions for the Northern Dimension Program. The contribution agreement is in effect for the fiscal years 2000/01 to 2004/05. The Audit Team audited the contribution program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

2.2 Objectives

2.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the contribution program was managed with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • the contribution agreement was justified under appropriate authorities;
  • the contribution agreement was prepared in accordance with FAC's Policy on Transfer Payments;
  • the terms and method of payments were in compliance with Treasury Board approved terms and conditions;
  • the Program Officers conducted project monitoring; and,
  • there is an adequate management process concerning contribution recipient audits.

2.3 Methodology

2.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the contribution agreements at FAC. The contribution files examined were dated from the onset of the program, i.e. 2000/01, with a focus on the years 2002/03 and 2003/04.

2.3.2 We conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed key personnel in the Northern Dimension Program, Area Management Office (IAM), and Corporate Finance, Planning and Systems.


Observations and Recommendations

3.1 Practices and Processes

3.1.1 NDFP's Terms and Conditions state the following points:

  1. Under Stacking, #2.3: The Program will require all potential recipients to disclose all sources of funding for a proposed project at the start and end of a project.

    The Program does not currently ensure that all recipients provide this information.

  2. Under Application Documentation, # 2.4: For contribution requests, potential recipients must submit a proposal describing the project, its objectives, implementation plan and time frame, potential risks, total estimated budget, total government assistance being sought from other sources and total being sought from the NDFP. A standardized application process will be developed for all potential recipients who submit a proposal.

    The application process does not ensure that potential recipients provide all the above-stated information.

  3. Under Payments, #3.4: ...advances shall be based on prudent cash management principles reflecting the immediate cash requirements of the recipient...

    Where advances are issued in several installments, cash flow information is not always provided/requested.

  4. Under Management Framework, #4: The NDFP will use an electronic project tracking and management system which, for each proposal, will track applicant information.

    The Audit Team observed that applicant information is either captured in the spreadsheet "NDFP Implementation", or is held in the application file itself. No electronic tracking and management system exists.

Recommendation for AGA

3.1.2 AGA should ensure compliance with all the Program's Terms and Conditions regarding the sections on "Stacking", "Application Documentation" and " Payments", as stated above.

Regarding the section "MANAGEMENT FRAMEWORK", AGA should amend the Terms and Conditions to reflect the current project tracking and management system.

AGA Action and Time Frame

3.1.2 AGA has a standardised system in place that requires all recipients to provide information on stacking, relevant application documentation and cash flow information. Furthermore, an enhanced electronic tracking system has been implemented.

3.2 Monitoring, Contribution Payments and Program File Management

3.2.1 AGA monitors, for quality and relevance, the project reports received from the recipients and where needed will consult with the proper authorities before proceeding with the payment process. When the reports or other outputs have been accepted, the documents submitted with the request for payment are reviewed by the Officer for payment approval. The acceptability of all submitted expenditures is determined by the responsible officers. However, there is no evidence on file indicating a follow-up of expenditures that are questionable by their nature and timing. For example:

  • expenditures reported in financial statements that have occurred after the end of the contribution agreement; and,
  • administrative expenditures for an entire year submitted for reimbursement the day after the contribution agreement was signed.

In addition, results of recipient audits reflect the need to increase scrutiny.

Recommendation for AGA

3.2.2 AGA should ensure that all expenditures are clearly justified, timely and relevant.

Action Plan and Time Frame

3.2.2 As part of the standardised system implemented, one officer manages the record keeping which ensures consistent document management and effective scrutiny of all expenditures. Requests to include already incurred expenses are provided by the recipient when Contribution Agreements are signed by both parties after verbal agreement, and after some expenses have already been incurred. AGA is in regular contact with recipients and guidelines on financial reporting requirements are sent to all recipients. Follow-up with recipients is done at the beginning of the fourth quarter to ensure that they will have all their documentation in on time.

3.2.3 Contribution files were found to be incomplete and disorganized. Not all the information pertaining to an application is on file. For example, application requests; e-mails that stand as proof that the contribution agreement has been approved by SMFH before being finalized; and final reports are not always placed on file. This situation was brought to the attention of AGA's management who, during the course of the audit, took corrective action to complete and organize all current and open files.

Recommendation for AGA

3.2.4 AGA should ensure that all contribution files are complete and organized.

AGA Action and Time Frame

3.2.4 All contribution files are now complete and organized.

3.2.5 Accounting records and other relevant documents are maintained and disclose the amounts paid to recipients.

3.2.6 The contribution agreement was found to be in agreement with the majority of the requirements of the TB and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies. The contribution agreement respects the template as set out by SMD.

3.2.7 Amendments to the contribution agreement are communicated informally through a letter to the recipient. There were no amendments to the contribution agreement reflecting the changes.

Recommendation for AGA

3.2.8 AGA should ensure that all amendments are reflected in a new agreement and approved by SMFH.

Action Plan and Time Frame

3.2.8 All amendments which are requested to contribution agreements are sent to SMFH for approval. The email documentation of correspondence with SMFH is kept on file under the respective contribution agreement. Amendments are sent to the recipient for their signature and kept on file as well as sent to IAM.

3.3 Management of Contribution Recipient Audits

3.3.1 With respect to finalizing the recipient audit report, there is a lack of coordination between the Department and the recipient. Program management is responsible to conclude the process to the satisfaction of all involved. This includes resolution of any disagreement between the Department and the recipient, as well as determining if recovery of audit adjustments will be initiated by SMD through an invoice or from subsequent recipient payments. In the latter case, this recovery process needs to be controlled by program management.

Recommendation for AGA

3.3.2 AGA should ensure proper management of the process involved with recipient audits, at all stages, including the conclusion stage.

AGA Action and Time Frame

3.3.2 AGA works in close collaboration with ZIV on all recipient audits. AGA determines which recipients should be audited and then informs ZIV. AGA contacts the recipients (by email and telephone) to let them know that an audit is planned and also introduces ZIV to the recipient. Once the audit is completed, ZIV provides a copy of the draft audit to both the recipient and AGA. If necessary, AGA provides comments to the draft audit report. If follow-up is required, AGA discusses options with ZIV.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-21

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions au titre du Programme nordique

(Juillet 2005)

Sommaire

La Direction de la vérification (ZIV) a entrepris une vérification du processus de gestion des contributions au titre du Programme nordique dans le cadre de son examen des subventions et contributions du Ministère. Cette vérification avait pour objectif de déterminer si la gestion du programme de contributions était assortie de bonnes pratiques de contrôle et si le programme répondait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires.

Nous avons constaté que de bonnes pratiques de gestion et d'administration sont en place. Dans l'ensemble, trois des cinq objectifs de vérification étaient atteints. Les accords de contribution satisfaisaient à la plupart des exigences des politiques sur les paiements de transfert du CT et du Ministère. Néanmoins, nous avons relevé des points à améliorer afin que les fonds du programme soient gérés avec toute la diligence voulue et que les paiements soient effectués conformément aux politiques. Plus précisément, les points à améliorer sont les suivants :

  • conformité aux modalités du Programme;
  • justification et date des dépenses;
  • application d'un mécanisme officiel de modification des accords de contribution;
  • gestion du processus de vérification des bénéficiaires.

Au total, nous avons présenté cinq recommandations dans le rapport de vérification, qui portent toutes sur le Programme nordique. La direction a réagi à chacune de ces recommandations en précisant qu'elle avait déjà pris des mesures ou des décisions à cet égard et qu'elle comptait en prendre d'autres. La direction a déclaré avoir appliqué toutes les recommandations.


Aperçu

1.1.1Le 8 juin 2000, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a annoncé le Volet nordique de la politique étrangère du Canada (VNPE), qui s'accompagnait d'un engagement de 10 millions de dollars pour les cinq années suivantes provenant d'une réaffectation des ressources dont disposait le Ministère. Le Cabinet a ratifié la politique détaillée en septembre 2000.

1.1.2Le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé les modalités d'une nouvelle catégorie de contributions créée à l'appui du Volet nordique de la politique étrangère du Canada d'AEC.

1.1.3Le VNPE est fondé sur trois principes : respecter nos engagements et assumer un rôle de chef de file, établir des partenariats à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du gouvernement, et amorcer et poursuivre le dialogue avec les Canadiens, surtout les habitants du Nord. À ce cadre correspondent quatre objectifs primordiaux :

  1. Accroître la sécurité et la prospérité des Canadiens, plus particulièrement des habitants du Nord et des Autochtones;
  2. Affirmer et préserver la souveraineté du Canada dans le Nord;
  3. Faire de la région circumpolaire une entité géopolitique dynamique, intégrée à un système international fondé sur des règles;
  4. Promouvoir la sécurité humaine des habitants du Nord et le développement durable de l'Arctique.

1.1.4Pour réaliser ces objectifs, on s'est concentré sur cinq activités prioritaires pendant plusieurs années : (1) renforcer le Conseil de l'Arctique; (2) appuyer l'établissement de l'Université de l'Arctique et améliorer le réseau de recherche canadien et circumpolaire; (3) renforcer la coopération avec le Nord russe; (4) promouvoir le développement durable en tirant parti des perspectives économiques et commerciales; (5) mettre en oeuvre la Déclaration commune Canada-Union européenne sur la coopération nordique.

1.1.5Même si le Programme nordique est géré par la Direction des affaires autochtones et circumpolaires (AGA), il profite à un grand nombre de directions et de missions ainsi qu'à un certain nombre d'autres ministères clés, ce qui permet d'aller chercher plus facilement des fonds de contrepartie.

1.1.6Axé sur la région circumpolaire, le VNPE est désormais un élément essentiel des relations bilatérales que le Canada entretient avec les sept autres grands pays partenaires nordiques, à savoir la Russie, les États-Unis (Alaska), la Norvège, l'Islande et les trois pays membres de l'Union européenne et du Conseil de l'Arctique, c.-à-d. la Finlande, la Suède et le Danemark, y compris le Groenland. Le Volet nordique de la politique étrangère du Canada fournit les moyens d'appuyer les activités de coopération menées par les missions et les directions géographiques en vue de faire avancer les relations bilatérales du Canada. Il a aussi permis de respecter de grands engagements politiques comme la Déclaration commune Canada-Union européenne sur la coopération nordique de 1999 ou la Déclaration commune du Canada et de la Russie sur la coopération dans l'Arctique et le Nord de décembre 2000.

1.1.7Le VNPE est également l'une des grandes sources de financement de la participation du Canada au Conseil de l'Arctique, principale tribune internationale consacrée aux questions circumpolaires.

1.1.8Environ la moitié des fonds attribués au VNPE sont des fonds de contribution (crédit 10). Cela permet au Ministère de prendre part à des projets avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement, des organismes autochtones, des organisations non gouvernementales, des établissements universitaires et d'autres organismes de toutes les régions du Canada qui ont des intérêts dans le Nord.

1.1.9ZIV a soutenu le programme en le dotant d'un cadre de vérification axé sur les risques (CVAR) en février 2001. Dans l'ensemble, le niveau de risque associé au financement du VNPE est jugé moyen en raison de facteurs comme *** la diversité des partenaires et des groupes cibles souhaitant obtenir une aide financière; la valeur totale du programme; les bénéficiaires tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur du Canada; le grand nombre et la grande diversité de bénéficiaires; le champ d'action presque illimité; l'intérêt variable; la volonté de coopération chez les éventuels partenaires; l'obligation de réaffecter les ressources de programmes concurrentiels d'AEC pour financer le VNPE; et enfin, la nécessité d'une association étroite avec de nombreux partenaires et groupes cibles.


Portée, objectifs et méthode

2.1 Portée

2.1.1La vérification a porté sur les pratiques administratives, les processus (systèmes) et les moyens de contrôle associés à la gestion des contributions attribuées au Programme nordique. L'accord de contribution s'applique aux exercices allant de 2000-2001 à 2004-2005. L'équipe de vérification a vérifié le programme de contributions conformément aux politiques sur les paiements de transfert du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère.

2.2 Objectifs

2.2.1La vérification avait pour objectif principal de déterminer si la gestion du programme de contributions était assortie de bonnes pratiques de contrôle et si le programme répondait aux exigences législatives et réglementaires. Plus précisément, elle visait à déterminer si :

  • l'accord de contribution était justifié aux termes des documents faisant autorité;
  • l'accord de contribution était conforme à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert d'AEC;
  • les modalités et méthodes de paiement étaient conformes aux modalités approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • les agents du programme effectuaient un contrôle des projets;
  • le processus de gestion associé à la vérification des bénéficiaires de contributions était adéquat.

2.3 Méthode

2.3.1Les vérificateurs ont examiné les principaux processus administratifs et moyens de contrôle associés à la gestion des accords de contribution à AEC. Les dossiers de contributions examinés dataient de l'année de lancement du programme, c'est-à-dire 2000-2001, mais surtout de 2002-2003 et de 2003-2004.

2.3.2Nous avons examiné à fond les documents utiles et interrogé le personnel clé du Programme nordique, du Bureau de l'administration du secteur (CAM) et de la Direction générale des finances, de la planification et des systèmes ministériels.


Constatations et recommandations

3.1 Pratiques et processus

3.1.1Dans les modalités du VNPE, on précise ce qui suit :

  1. À la section sur le cumul, point 2.3 : Le programme exige que tous les bénéficiaires éventuels déclarent toutes les sources de financement d'un projet donné au début et à la fin du projet.

    Actuellement, le programme ne permet pas de voir à ce que tous les bénéficiaires fournissent cette information.

  2. À la section sur les documents relatifs à la demande, point 2.4 : Pour les demandes de contribution, les bénéficiaires éventuels doivent remettre une proposition décrivant le projet, ses objectifs, le plan de mise en oeuvre et le calendrier d'exécution, les risques potentiels, une estimation du budget total, le montant total de l'aide gouvernementale cherchée auprès d'autres sources et le montant total demandé au titre du VNPE. On normalisera le processus de demande suivi par les bénéficiaires éventuels qui présentent une proposition.

    Le processus de demande actuel ne garantit pas que les bénéficiaires éventuels donnent tous les renseignements cités.

  3. À la section sur les paiements, point 3.4 : Les paiements anticipés seront effectués selon les principes de gestion judicieuse des fonds, en fonction des besoins immédiats du bénéficiaire.

    Lorsque les paiements anticipés sont faits en plusieurs versements, l'information relative aux encaissements n'est pas toujours fournie ni demandée.

  4. À la section sur le cadre de gestion, point 4 : on utilisera un système de suivi et de gestion électroniques des projets qui permettra d'effectuer, pour chaque proposition, un suivi de l'information fournie par les demandeurs.

    L'équipe de vérification a constaté que l'information fournie par les demandeurs est consignée dans le chiffrier « mise en oeuvre du VNPE » ou conservée dans le dossier proprement dit de la demande. Il n'y a pas de système de suivi et de gestion électroniques.

Recommandation à l'intention de AGA

3.1.2 AGA devrait veiller à se conformer à toutes les modalités du programme en ce qui concerne les sections portant sur le cumul, les documents relatifs à la demande et les paiements, comme on l'a vu précédemment.

En ce qui concerne la section portant sur le CADRE DE GESTION, AGA devrait modifier les modalités de façon à tenir compte du système actuel de suivi et de gestion des projets.

Mesures prises par AGA et échéancier

3.1.2 AGA a mis en place un système normalisé qui oblige tous les bénéficiaires à fournir des renseignements sur le cumul, les documents pertinents relatifs à la demande et l'information sur les encaissements. En outre, il a implanté un système de suivi électronique amélioré.

3.2 Contrôle, paiements de contribution et gestion des dossiers du programme

3.2.1AGA vérifie la qualité et la pertinence des rapports de projet envoyés par les bénéficiaires, et, au besoin, il consulte les autorités compétentes avant d'effectuer les paiements. Lorsque les rapports ou autres documents sont acceptés, l'agent chargé d'approuver les paiements examine les documents présentés avec la demande de paiement. Ce sont les agents responsables qui déterminent si les dépenses soumises sont acceptables ou non. Toutefois, rien n'indique dans les dossiers qu'on ait effectué un suivi des dépenses sujettes à caution en raison de leur nature ou de leur date. Par exemple :

  • on a comptabilisé dans les états financiers des dépenses faites après l'expiration d'un accord de contribution;
  • on a présenté une demande de remboursement des dépenses administratives d'une année complète le lendemain de la signature de l'accord de contribution.

En outre, les vérifications effectuées auprès des bénéficiaires montrent à quel point il importe de faire un examen plus attentif.

Recommandation à l'intention de AGA

3.2.2 AGA devrait s'assurer que toutes les dépenses sont clairement justifiées, qu'elles ont été engagées à la bonne date et qu'elles sont pertinentes.

Plan d'action et échéancier

3.2.2 Dans le cadre du système normalisé mis en place, un agent gère la tenue des dossiers de manière à assurer une gestion uniforme des documents et un examen efficace de toutes les dépenses. Le bénéficiaire présente une demande de remboursement des dépenses déjà engagées après qu'un accord de contribution a été signé par les deux parties à la suite d'une entente verbale, et après avoir réellement engagé des dépenses. AGA communique régulièrement avec les bénéficiaires et leur envoie à tous les instructions concernant les rapports financiers à présenter. Il fait un suivi auprès des bénéficiaires au début du quatrième trimestre pour être certain que ceux-ci enverront leurs documents à temps.

3.2.3Les dossiers de contribution étaient incomplets et en désordre. Ils ne contenaient pas tous les renseignements pertinents. Par exemple, les formulaires de demande, les courriels prouvant que l'accord de contribution avait été approuvé par SMFH avant d'être parachevé et les rapports finaux n'étaient pas toujours versés au dossier. Ce problème a été porté à l'attention de la direction d'AGA, qui a pris des mesures correctives pendant la vérification pour faire compléter et mettre en ordre tous les dossiers actifs et ouverts.

Recommandation à l'intention de AGA

3.2.4 AGA devrait s'assurer que tous les dossiers de contribution sont complets et en ordre.

Mesures prises par AGA et échéancier

3.2.4 Tous les dossiers de contribution sont maintenant complets et en ordre.

3.2.5Les livres comptables et les autres documents pertinents sont bien tenus et montrent les montants versés aux bénéficiaires.

3.2.6L'accord de contribution satisfait à la plupart des exigences des politiques sur les paiements de transfert du CT et du Ministère. Il respecte le modèle mis en place par SMD.

3.2.7Les modifications apportées à l'accord de contribution sont communiquées officieusement par lettre au bénéficiaire. L'accord de contribution n'est pas modifié en fonction des changements apportés.

Recommandation à l'intention de AGA

3.2.8 AGA devrait s'assurer que toutes les modifications font l'objet d'un nouvel accord et sont approuvées par SMFH.

Plan d'action et échéancier

3.2.8 Toutes les modifications qu'on demande d'apporter aux accords de contribution sont envoyées à SMFH pour approbation. La correspondance entretenue avec SMFH par courrier électronique est conservée au dossier relatif à l'accord de contribution visé. Les modifications sont envoyées au bénéficiaire pour signature, puis sont versées au dossier et envoyées à CAM.

3.3 Gestion du processus de vérification des bénéficiaires de contributions

3.3.1Pour conclure avec le rapport de vérification des bénéficiaires, on constate un manque de coordination entre le Ministère et le bénéficiaire. Il incombe à la direction du programme de conclure le processus de façon satisfaisante pour toutes les parties. Entre autres, elle doit régler tout désaccord entre le Ministère et le bénéficiaire, et déterminer si SMD procédera au recouvrement des redressements après vérification en envoyant une facture au bénéficiaire ou en modifiant les autres paiements à lui verser. Dans le dernier cas, le processus de recouvrement doit être contrôlé par la direction du programme.

Recommandation à l'intention de AGA

3.3.2 AGA doit veiller à ce que le processus de vérification des bénéficiaires soit bien géré à toutes les étapes, y compris la dernière.

Mesures prises par AGA et échéancier

3.3.2 AGA travaille en étroite collaboration avec ZIV dans tous les dossiers de vérification des bénéficiaires. Il détermine lesquels doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification, puis en informe ZIV. Il communique avec les bénéficiaires (par courrier électronique et par téléphone) pour les aviser d'une vérification, et il leur parle également de ZIV. La vérification terminée, ZIV remet une copie de la version préliminaire du rapport de vérification au bénéficiaire et à AGA. Au besoin, AGA donne ses commentaires. Si un suivi est requis, il discute des options avec ZIV.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-21