Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of the Canadian Embassy, Ouagadougou

(May 2005)

Executive Summary

The audit of the General Relations, International Business Development, Consular Services and Administration programs was limited to interviews and the review of certain files from April 26 to 27, 2004. The Administration, Consular Services and International Business Development programs had previously been audited in February 1997.

The Head of Mission is doing excellent work in difficult conditions. He is leading a team of two Canadians and eight locally engaged staff, in addition to local employees in the Support Unit. Despite renovations that have dragged on too long, he has been able to maintain good employee morale.

The next Summit of La Francophonie, which will be held in Ouagadougou next November, will require considerable efforts from Mission staff and will require additional resources from Headquarters. Logistical issues, including accommodations, will need to be examined carefully.

The renovations will result in the physical separation of the Mission from the Support Unit. However, certain human resources--as described in the Service Agreement between the Mission and the Support Unit--are still shared. For example, a local contract employee paid by the Support Unit keeps the Ambassador apprised of any developments of interest to Canada and supports Canadian businesspeople who use our services, and the Support Unit employs and pays a driver who works exclusively for the Mission. The same goes for the security guards.

Generally, the administration is doing good work, but it would be wise to make more use of the local Administrative Assistant and provide her training at our Mission in Abidjan.

Financial management is sound and the controls are effective.

Recommendations

This report contains 12 recommendations for the Mission. According to the responses received, the Mission has completed implementation of seven recommendations and has set reasonable time lines for the five recommendations that remain.

Scope, Objectives and Mission Resources

Audit scope and objectives

The scope of the audit included a review of Mission management and the Political, Economic and Administration programs. The length of the audit was limited to two days, and with the team reduced to two members, a full audit could not be conducted, as mentioned in the Executive Summary.

The audit objectives were to:

  • assess management controls and the systems, procedures and activities that make up the programs;
  • determine the extent of compliance with legislation, regulations and operating policies;
  • assess the reliability and adequacy of information available for decision-making and accountability purposes;
  • ensure resources are judiciously used and that the Department is receiving value for money; and
  • make recommendations, where warranted, to improve the economy, efficiency and effectiveness of programs.

Physical resources

AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery 1
Warehouse 1
Official Residencen/a
Staff Quarters (SQ) 3
Vehicles3 

Financial information (2003-2004)

Operating budget (N001)$579,900
Capital budget (N005)$52,200
CBS salaries budget (N011)$74,866
LES salaries budget (N012)$131,200
Total$838,166

Organizational Chart

Organizational chart

Mission Management

1.1.1 The Head of Mission (HOM) manages his various HOM duties very well, taking care of his main responsibility as Head of Cooperation, as well as political reporting, support for commercial and consular issues, and sound administration of the Chancery. There is close contact between him and the members of his team. He cooperates closely with several of his ambassador colleagues on various projects and stands out through his leadership role in the implementation of an education program.

1.1.2 The management committee is made up of most of the Mission staff and operates somewhat informally. An agenda is set but there are no minutes. The committee does not play its traditional decision-making role; instead, it is a forum for sharing ideas and information.

Recommendation for the Mission

1.1.3 Establish a formal management committee and draft minutes of the decisions made at committee meetings.

Mission Action and Time Frame

1.1.3 The Mission has taken steps to set up its management committee. The committee is already up and running.

General Relations

2.1.1 Political reporting is timely and regular. It is of high quality and carried out in full by the HOM, who has no other support in this endeavour.

2.1.2 The Public Affairs Program is particularly active; one LES supports the HOM in delivering this program. In addition to an interesting program geared towards the media, our presence can be seen in the field of filmmaking (Burkina Faso is a filmmaking leader among African nations), at the Ouagadougou International Book Fair, through our participation in prizes for the winners of the radio spelling bee, visits by Canadian artists and various project launches.

International Business Development

3.1.1 Although the volume of our trade remains modest, a certain number of Canadian companies, including more recently SMEs, are interested in Burkina Faso, several in the areas of service and investment. This includes mining companies, transportation companies and service companies.

3.1.2 The injection of capital by the African Development Bank (ADB) and the World Bank is closely monitored by a local contract worker paid by the Support Unit. He keeps the HOM apprised of any developments of interest to Canada and seeks his intervention when required, while supporting Canadian businesspeople who use our services. See the recommendation in the Administration section about normalizing services provided to the Mission by the Support Unit.

Consular Services

4.1.1 Management of this program poses no particular problem and is assured by the Management Consular Officer (MCO), who is supported by the Receptionist, who does excellent work. The Receptionist efficiently takes care of reception duties, immigration applications, consular issues, general inquiries and some clerical work. There are 257 Canadians registered with the Mission.

Administration

5.1.1 Administrative services are provided by an experienced MCO, supported by a local Administrative Assistant, an Accountant and the Receptionist who, among other things, does clerical work for the Administrator.

5.1.2 Generally, the administration is doing good work but it would be wise to make more use of the local Administrative Assistant. A training period at our Mission in Abidjan would help mitigate various deficiencies, including an urgently needed review of the working conditions of our local employees, based on the drafting of a new LES Handbook, which dates back to 1991.

5.1.3 It would be to the advantage of locally engaged staff (LES) to form an LES committee to monitor their interests more closely and to pursue regular discussions with Mission management. Along the same lines, we asked the MCO to meet once a week with his staff to keep them informed of any developments, update them on delegated activities and indicate the priorities for the week.

5.1.4 We note that those responsible for supervision at the Mission must endeavour to develop specific objectives every year for each employee, review them mid-year and prepare their appraisal report within the prescribed time frames.

5.1.5 As noted in the Executive Summary, several positions reporting to the Support Unit also provide services to the Mission. It would be wise to normalize the situation because there is considerable risk that an employer-employee relationship already exists.

5.1.6 Renovations on the Chancery are finally being wrapped up after too long a wait and numerous problems, which were not without effect on employee morale. However, with the end of the work, morale has improved. We will have premises that are highly suitable, modern and functional. The three-storey building is in a good location downtown. We share the building with Denmark, which occupies the third floor.

5.1.7 The Official Residence is suitable for official hospitality, but it is old, dark and in a less secure neighbourhood. We should perhaps think about replacing it. The MCO's residence is suitable, while that of the Cooperation Officer, though acceptable, deserves to have its walls stripped and a new paint job.

5.1.8 Provisions should be made now to replace the official vehicle (which is more than three years old) since the roads are not in good condition.

Recommendations for the Mission

5.1.9 Provide training to the local Administrative Assistant.

5.1.10 Complete the Locally Engaged Staff Handbook.

5.1.11 Form an LES committee.

5.1.12 The MCO should hold a weekly meeting with his staff.

5.1.13 Develop specific objectives for all employees and prepare appraisal reports within the prescribed time frames.

5.1.14 Examine the feasibility of normalizing services provided to the Mission by employees of the Support Unit by integrating them into the Mission.

5.1.15 Paint the Cooperation Officer's residence.

5.1.16 Plan to replace the official vehicle.

Mission Actions and Time Frames

5.1.9 The local Administrative Assistant received two weeks of onsite training in Abidjan in June 2004, had a visit from an SRMP officer for one week in November 2004, and took a two-week course in Ottawa on goods and services management in February 2005. She is now registered for the two-week course in Ottawa for office managers.

5.1.10 Revision of the Staff Handbook has been completed and will be submitted to HRL by the end of May 2005.

5.1.11 The employees meet regularly with the MCO and as required with the Ambassador to discuss various issues concerning them. To formalize and systemize an employee/mission dialogue process, employees have set up a committee to represent them. The meeting schedule and procedures are mutually agreed upon.

5.1.12 The MCO meets with his employees as needed. However, as of now he is going to systemize these meetings.

5.1.13 Appraisal reports are prepared for the anniversary date of each employee's entry into duties and include specific objectives.

5.1.14 Discussions have been held with GAM and HRL to normalize the situation of Support Unit employees seconded to the Embassy. The Mission anticipates that these situations will be normalized by September 2005.

5.1.15 This residence was completely repainted upon the occupant's arrival. Unfortunately, the paint did not hold well. The administration and the occupant mutually agreed that they would wait until the occupant left in the summer of 2005 to re-do the work.

5.1.16 Because of insufficient budget resources, the Mission was not able to make this purchase under the 2004-05 budget. It will be made under the 2005-06 budget. The order form will be sent to Ottawa by the end of May.

Financial Management

6.1.1 Under the responsibility of the MCO, the accounting section is made up of a level-6 Accountant who is quite familiar with the IMS, having received training in Abidjan and Ottawa.

6.1.2 Financial management is sound and the control mechanisms are effective. Tasks are adequately divided between the Accountant, the Property and Material Manager and the MCO for processing payment requests and distributing cheques. The Mission has also set up good controls for managing vehicle use and gas consumption. Furthermore, the Mission makes use of several suppliers for maintenance and minor renovations in order to get the best service at the best price. The contracts committee meets when necessary and there is an agreement with the Support Unit for sharing common expenses.

6.1.3 Management of hospitality expenses is excellent. The HOM regularly uses the Official Residence to host his guests. The Mission has established unit costs for hospitality activities. The hospitality files contained journal vouchers supporting claimed expenses.

Safeguarding revenues and other valuable documents

6.1.4 Consular and immigration revenues are collected by the Receptionist. She issues an official receipt and keeps the revenues in a lockable metal box. This is stored in a cabinet that also locks but is not secure. She gives incoming revenues to the accounting section once a week. Blank official receipt books, passports and cheques for distribution are also stored in this cabinet.

Recommendation for the Mission

6.1.5 Acquire a safe for the Receptionist.

Mission Actions and Time Frames

6.1.5 The Mission locally acquired a small safe, which has been installed in the Receptionist's office.

Bank Reconciliations

6.1.6 Bank reconciliations are completed in the prescribed time frames and reviewed by the MCO and HOM monthly. An explanatory note is provided for all adjustments, which are put in order quickly, except for three adjustments dating back to 1999. These three adjustments, worth 3,726,000 CFAF (approximately C$8,900 at the 2004 rate), represent payments made for the Support Unit that were not recorded in the IMS accounting system by Abidjan. At that time, Abidjan was responsible for doing the data entry for Ouagadougou's financial transactions. The three payments were apparently recorded by the Support Unit. However, CIDA is having difficulty finding them in their accounting system. The Mission recently followed up with CIDA and informed SMFF of its steps to try to resolve this problem.

Recommendation for the Mission

6.1.7 Together with SMFF, the Mission should continue efforts to put the three adjustments dating back to 1999 in order.

Mission Actions and Time Frames

6.1.7 Thanks to SMFF's intervention, these three entries were put in order and no longer appear in our bank reconciliations.

Accountant's Replacement

6.1.8 The Property and Material Manager (PMM) replaces the accountant during his absences. However, she has not taken the training that enables her to enter accounting data in the IMS. This increases risk since payments are made before the data is entered in the IMS, which circumvents the financial and budgetary controls of the IMS system.

Recommendation for the Mission

6.1.9 The PMM should take the required course to enable her to enter accounting data in the IMS before making payments.

Mission Actions and Time Frames

6.1.9 The Mission will organize IMS distance training for the PMM. Late June seems to be a realistic deadline, that is to say, before the Accountant takes his annual vacation.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-19

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification de l'ambassade du Canada, Ouagadougou

(Mai 2005)

Résumé

Les programmes des relations générales, de l'expansion des affaires internationales, des services consulaires et de l'administration ont fait l'objet d'une vérification restreinte à des entrevues et à l'examen de certains dossiers du 26 au 27 avril 2004. Les programmes de l'administration, des services consulaires et de l'expansion des affaires internationales avaient déjà fait l'objet d'une vérification en février 1997.

Le chef de mission accomplit un excellent travail dans des conditions difficiles. Il dirige une équipe de deux canadiens et de huit employés recrutés sur place, en plus des employés locaux que l'on retrouve à l'Unité d'appui. Malgré des travaux de rénovation qui ont duré trop longtemps, il a su maintenir un bon moral parmi les employés.

Le prochain Sommet de la Francophonie, qui se tiendra à Ouagadougou en novembre prochain, exigera des efforts considérables des effectifs de la mission et nécessitera des ressources additionnelles de la Centrale. Les questions de logistique, dont le logement, devraient être sujettes à un examen minutieux.

Les travaux de rénovation auront pour effet de physiquement séparer la mission de l'Unité d'appui. Par contre, le partage de certaines ressources humaines, tel que décrit dans l'Entente de service entre la mission et l'Unité d'appui, persiste. Par exemple : un contractuel local financé par l'Unité d'appui tient l'ambassadeur informé de tout développement d'intérêt canadien et appuie les gens d'affaires canadiens qui ont recours à nos services; et l'Unité d'appui emploie et paie un chauffeur qui travaille exclusivement pour la mission. Il en est de même pour les gardes de sécurité.

De façon générale, l'administration fait du bon travail, mais il y aurait lieu de mettre davantage à contribution l'adjointe administrative locale et de lui offrir de la formation auprès de notre mission à Abidjan.

La gestion financière est saine et les contrôles exercés efficaces.

Recommandations

Ce rapport contient 12 recommandations à l'intention de la mission. D'après les réponses reçues, la mission a complété la mise en oeuvre de sept recommandations et a établi des échéanciers raisonnables pour les cinq recommandations en voie d'achèvement.

Portée, objectifs, ressources de la mission

Portée de la vérification et objectifs

La vérification comporte un examen de la gestion de la mission et des programmes politique, économique et administratif. La durée de la vérification fut limitée à deux jours et la réduction de la composition de l'équipe à deux membres n'a pas permis d'effectuer une vérification complète, tel que mentionné dans le résumé du rapport.

Objectifs de la vérification :

  • évaluer les contrôles de gestion et les systèmes, les procédures et les activités qui constituent les programmes;
  • déterminer la conformité à la législation, aux règlements et aux politiques opérationnelles;
  • évaluer la fiabilité et la pertinence de l'information disponible pour la prise de décisions et la reddition de comptes;
  • veiller à ce que les ressources soient utilisées judicieusement et que le Ministère soit assuré de l'optimisation des ressources; et,
  • faire des recommandations, au besoin, pour améliorer l'économie, le rendement et l'efficacité des programmes.

Ressources matérielles

BiensPropriété de l'ÉtatBaux assumés par l'État
Chancellerie 1
Entrepôt 1
Résidence officielles/o
Logements du personnel (LP) 3
Véhicules3 

Informations financières (2003-2004)

Budget de fonctionnement (N001)579 900 $
Budget d'investissement (N005)52 200 $
Budget salarial des EC (N011)74 866 $
Budget salarial des ERP (N012)131 200 $
Total838 166 $

Organigramme

Organigramme

Gestion de la mission

1.1.1 Le chef de mission (CDM) contrôle très bien ses diverses tâches de CDM se préoccupant autant de sa principale responsabilité en tant que Chef de la coopération que du reportage politique, de l'appui à apporter aux questions commerciales et consulaires, ainsi que d'une administration judicieuse de la chancellerie. Il existe un contact étroit entre lui et les membres de son équipe. Il collabore étroitement avec plusieurs de ses collègues ambassadeurs sur différents projets et se distingue quant à son rôle de premier plan dans la mise en place d'un programme en matière d'éducation.

1.1.2 Le comité de gestion est composé de la grande majorité du personnel de la mission et opère de façon plutôt informelle. Un ordre du jour est établi, mais il n'y a pas de comptes rendus. Ce comité n'exerce pas son rôle traditionnel de prendre des décisions. Ce comité est plutôt un forum pour partager des idées et de l'information.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

1.1.3 Établir un comité de gestion formel et rédiger des comptes rendus des décisions prises lors des réunions du comité.

Mesure prise par la mission et échéancier

1.1.3 La mission a pris les mesures pour établir son comité de gestion. Le comité est déjà effectif.

Relations générales

2.1.1 Le reportage politique est ponctuel et régulier. De bonne qualité, il est entièrement réalisé par le CDM qui n'a pas d'autre appui à cet égard.

2.1.2 Le programme d'Affaires publiques est particulièrement actif; une employée locale appuie le CDM dans la livraison de ce programme. En plus d'un programme intéressant envers les médias, notre présence se manifeste au niveau de l'art cinématographique, pour lequel le Burkina Faso est à l'avant-garde des pays africains, lors de la Foire internationale du livre de Ouagadougou, par notre participation aux primes des lauréats de la dictée radiophonique, la venue d'artistes canadiens et divers lancements de projets.

Expansion international des affaires

3.1.1 Bien que le volume de nos échanges commerciaux demeure modeste, un certain nombre de sociétés canadiennes, incluant plus récemment des PME, s'intéressent au Burkina Faso, dont plusieurs dans le domaine des services ou de l'investissement. L'on dénote des sociétés minières, de transport et de services.

3.1.2 L'injection de capitaux par la Banque africaine de développement (BAD) et la Banque mondiale est suivie de près par un contractuel local financé par l'Unité d'appui. Il tient le CDM informé de tout développement d'intérêt canadien, sollicite son intervention lorsque requise, tout en appuyant les gens d'affaires canadiens qui ont recours à nos services. Voir la recommandation dans la section de l'Administration concernant la régularisation des services rendus à la mission par l'Unité d'appui.

Services consulaires

4.1.1 La gestion de ce programme ne pose aucun problème particulier et est assurée par l'Agent de gestion et des services consulaires (AGC) qui est appuyé par la réceptionniste qui accomplit de l'excellent travail. Cette dernière s'occupe efficacement de la réception, de demandes relatives à l'immigration, du consulaire, des demandes d'information générale et d'un certain travail de secrétariat. Il y a 257 Canadiens inscrits auprès de la mission.

Administration

5.1.1 Les services administratifs sont assurés par un AGC d'expérience, appuyé par une adjointe administrative locale, un comptable et la réceptionniste qui, entre autres, fait du travail de secrétariat pour l'administrateur.

5.1.2 De façon générale, l'administration fait du bon travail mais il y aurait lieu de mettre davantage à contribution l'adjointe administrative locale. Un séjour de formation auprès de notre mission à Abidjan permettrait de pallier à diverses lacunes dont une revue impérative des conditions de travail de nos employés locaux, sur la base de la rédaction d'un nouveau Guide des employés locaux qui date de 1991.

5.1.3 Il serait avantageux pour les employés recrutés sur place (ERP) de former un comité d'ERP afin de suivre de plus près leurs intérêts et de poursuivre des discussions régulières avec la gestion de la mission. Dans le même ordre d'idée nous avons demandé à l'AGC de se réunir une fois par semaine avec son personnel afin de les tenir au courant de tout développement, faire le point sur les activités déléguées et indiquer les priorités de la semaine.

5.1.4 Notons que ceux qui ont des responsabilités de supervision à la mission doivent s'appliquer à développer à chaque année des objectifs précis pour chacun des employés, les revoir à mi-terme et préparer dans les délais prescrits leur rapport d'appréciation.

5.1.5 Tel que noté dans le Résumé de ce rapport, plusieurs positions qui relèvent de l'Unité d'appui offrent aussi des services à la mission. Il y aurait lieu de régulariser cette situation, car le risque qu'il existe déjà des relations employés-employeur est grand.

5.1.6 Les travaux de rénovation de la chancellerie sont en voie d'être finalement terminés après une trop longue attente et de nombreux problèmes qui n'ont pas été sans affecter le moral des employés. Avec la fin des travaux le moral s'est cependant amélioré. Nous aurons des locaux très convenables, modernes et fonctionnels. L'édifice de trois étages est bien situé au centre-ville. Nous partageons celui-ci avec le Danemark qui occupe le troisième étage.

5.1.7 La résidence officielle est convenable sur le plan de l'hospitalité officielle mais ancienne, sombre et dans un quartier moins sécuritaire. Nous devrions éventuellement songer à la remplacer. La résidence de l'AGC lui convient, alors que celle de l'agente de coopération, quoique acceptable, mérite un nouveau travail de peinture et de décapage des murs.

5.1.8 L'on devrait dès maintenant prévoir le remplacement de la voiture officielle qui date de plus de trois ans alors que les routes ne sont pas en bonne condition.

Recommandations à l'intention de la mission

5.1.9 Offrir une formation à l'adjointe administrative locale.

5.1.10 Compléter le Guide des employés recrutés sur place.

5.1.11 Former un comité d'ERP.

5.1.12 L'AGC devrait tenir une réunion hebdomadaire avec son personnel.

5.1.13 Développer des objectifs précis pour tous les employés et préparer les rapports d'appréciation dans les délais prescrits.

5.1.14 Examiner la faisabilité de régulariser les services rendus à la mission par des employés de l'Unité d'appui en les intégrant au sein de la mission.

5.1.15 Effectuer des travaux de peinture à la résidence de l'agente de coopération.

5.1.16 Prévoir le remplacement de la voiture officielle.

Mesures prises par la mission et échéanciers

5.1.9 L'adjointe administrative locale a bénéficié de deux semaines de formation sur le tas à Abidjan en juin 2004, de la visite d'un agent de SRMP pour une semaine en novembre 2004, d'un cours de deux semaines à Ottawa sur la gestion des biens et services en février 2005. Elle est maintenant inscrite au cours de deux semaines à Ottawa pour les gérants de bureau.

5.1.10 La révision du Guide de l'Employé est complétée et sera soumise à HRL d'ici la fin mai 2005.

5.1.11 Les employé(e)s se rencontrent régulièrement avec l'AGC et au besoin avec l'Ambassadeur pour discuter divers problèmes les touchant. Pour formaliser et systématiser un processus de concertation employés/mission, les employés se sont dotés d'un comité les représentant. Le calendrier et les modalités de rencontre sont convenus d'un commun accord.

5.1.12 L'AGC rencontre ses employés au besoin. Il va cependant systématiser ces rencontres à partir de maintenant.

5.1.13 Les rapports d'appréciation sont préparés pour la date d'anniversaire de la prise de fonction de chaque employé(e) et incluent des objectifs précis.

5.1.14 Les discussions ont été entreprises avec GAM et HRL pour régulariser la situation des employés de l'Unité d'Appui détachés auprès de l'Ambassade. La mission prévoit que ces situations seront régularisées d'ici septembre 2005.

5.1.15 Cette résidence avait été complètement repeinte à l'arrivée de l'occupante. Malheureusement, la peinture a mal tenu. D'un commun accord Administration - Occupante, il fut convenu qu'on attendrait son départ à l'été 2005 pour reprendre les travaux.

5.1.16 Faute de ressources budgétaires suffisantes, la mission n'a pu procéder à cet achat sur le budget 2004-05. Elle le fera sur le budget 2005-06. La commande sera lancée à Ottawa d'ici la fin mai.

Gestion financière

6.1.1 Sous la responsabilité de l'AGC, la section de la comptabilité est composée d'un comptable de niveau 6. Celui-ci connaît bien le SGI ayant reçu de la formation à Abidjan et à Ottawa.

6.1.2 La gestion financière est saine et les mécanismes de contrôle efficaces. Il existe une bonne répartition des tâches entre le comptable, la gestionnaire des biens et du matériel et l'AGC pour le traitement des demandes de paiements et la distribution des chèques. La mission a aussi établi de bons contrôles pour gérer l'utilisation des véhicules et la consommation d'essence. De plus, elle fait appel à plusieurs fournisseurs pour l'entretien et les rénovations mineures afin d'obtenir les meilleurs services aux meilleurs prix. Le comité de contrats se réunit lorsque nécessaire et il existe une entente avec l'Unité d'appui pour le partage des coûts communs.

6.1.3 La gestion des frais d'accueil est excellente. Le CDM utilise régulièrement la résidence officielle pour accueillir ses invités. La mission a établi des coûts unitaires des activités d'accueil. Les dossiers d'accueil contenaient les pièces justificatives pour appuyer les dépenses réclamées.

Sauvegarde des revenus et autres documents de valeur

6.1.4 Les revenus consulaires et d'immigrations sont perçus par la réceptionniste. Elle émet un reçu officiel et les conserve dans un coffret métallique fermant à clef. Celui-ci est entreposé dans un cabinet fermant aussi à clef mais qui n'est pas sécuritaire. Elle remet à la comptabilité les revenus encaissés à chaque semaine. On entrepose aussi dans ce cabinet des carnets de reçus officiels vierges, des passeports et des chèques pour distribution.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

6.1.5 Obtenir un coffre-fort pour la réceptionniste.

Mesure prise par la mission et échéancier

6.1.5 La mission s'est procuré localement un petit coffre-fort qui est installé dans le bureau de la réceptionniste.

Rapprochements bancaires

6.1.6 Les rapprochements bancaires sont complétés dans les délais prescrits et revus par l'AGC et le CDM mensuellement. Tous les ajustements font l'objet d'une note explicative et sont régularisés rapidement, sauf pour trois ajustements datant de 1999. Ces trois ajustements, d'une valeur de 3 726 000 FCA (environ 8 900 $ canadiens au taux de 2004), représentent des paiements faits pour l'Unité d'appui qui n'ont pas été enregistrés dans le système comptable SGI par Abidjan. A cette époque, Abidjan était responsable de la saisie des transactions financières de Ouagadougou. Ces trois paiements auraient été comptabilisés par l'Unité d'appui. Cependant, l'ACDI éprouve de la difficulté à les retrouver dans leur système comptable. La mission a récemment relancé l'ACDI et informé SMFF de ses démarches pour tenter de résoudre ce problème.

Recommandation à l'intention de la Mission

6.1.7 De concert avec SMFF, la mission doit poursuivre ses efforts pour régulariser les trois ajustements datant de 1999.

Mesure prise par la mission et échéancier

6.1.7 Grâce à l'intervention de SMFF, ces trois écritures ont été régularisées et n'apparaissent plus dans nos rapprochements bancaires.

Remplaçant du comptable

6.1.8 La gestionnaire responsable des biens et du matériel (GBM) remplace le comptable lors de ses absences. Cependant, elle n'a pas suivi la formation lui permettant de saisir les entrées comptables dans le SGI. Cette lacune augmente le risque puisque les paiements sont effectués avant la saisie des données dans le SGI; ce qui a pour effet de contourner les contrôles financiers et budgétaires du système SGI.

Recommandation à l'intention de la mission

6.1.9 La GMB devrait suivre le cours requis pour lui permette de saisir les données comptables dans le SGI avant d'effectuer des paiements.

Mesure prise par la mission et échéancier

6.1.9 La mission organisera une formation à distance sur SGI pour le GBM. Fin juin semble une échéance réaliste, c'est-à-dire avant que le comptable ne prenne ses congés annuels.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-19