Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Archived Document

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to Government of Canada Web Standards; as per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Audit of Contributions and Grants Made by the Ambassador for Mine Action

(June 2006)

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

The Internal Audit Division (ZIV) undertook an audit of the management control framework supporting the contributions and grants made by the Ambassador for Mine Action under the Canadian Landmine Fund Grant and Contribution Program (ILX). This audit was conducted by ZIV as part of its annual review of Departmental Grants and Contributions.

The objective of the audit was to determine the extent to which the program was managed by ILX in accordance with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements.

The scope of the audit encompassed Vote 10 Program funding of $6,164,515 for fiscal year 2004/05. At the time of the audit, 56 grant or contribution agreements had been entered into by ILX. The Audit Team reviewed a sample of 18 projects, with a total approved budget of $2,460,156, accounting for 40% of the Program's Vote 10 funding.

ILX has in place project approval and financial processes, as set out in the Treasury Board submission which renewed the Canadian Landmine Fund. There is a need, however, to strengthen the processes by ensuring the project files contain adequate documentation on a more consistent basis. For instance, the consultation with various stakeholders was not recorded, in most cases the rationale of the Project Review Board's decision to accept or reject a proposed project lacked detail, and in many cases communication with Recipients was not documented and placed on the project file. Notwithstanding the lack of documentation, other audit evidence indicated that a complete assessment of the application's eligibility was conducted prior to submission for decision to the four member interdepartmental Project Review Board (PRB).

The annual report published by ILX on behalf of the interdepartmental community, including DND and CIDA, clearly outlines the effect the program has had in achieving its objectives. The Audit Team found that systematic and consistent program monitoring practices have been implemented for grants and contributions. Reporting requirements are well stipulated in the grant and contribution agreements; however, in some of the grant agreement files reviewed the recipient had not submitted a final report. While ILX has attached a great deal of emphasis to obtaining outstanding final reports, there is a need to increase supporting documentation on project files to demonstrate that such communication has taken place with Recipients. ILX management has also made it clear, both internally and externally, that lack of reporting will influence the prospects of future Canadian support to the partners.

The Audit Team concludes that comptrollership practices in ILX consist of both formal and informal processes. ILX management has built on past practices and lessons learned, formalizing certain existing informal processes, with a particular emphasis on establishing the PRB, developing a manual of best practices for programming staff, and ensuring appropriate training is available for staff.

Overview

1.1.1 Following the Implementation of the Convention on the Prohibition, Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Landmines and on their Destruction (Ottawa Convention), the Canadian Landmine Fund was established in 1998, for a period of five years. It was launched with a total fund allocation of $100 Million to support early ratification and universal acceptance and compliance with its provision. It was also established to support mine-affected countries in the areas of capacity building for indigenous mine action programs, mine awareness, training and local capacity building and assistance to victims. The funding was assigned to the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFAIT), Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Department of National Defence (DND) and Industry Canada (IC). DFAIT's portion totalled $10.35 million over five years, including both Vote 1 and Vote 10 funds. The mandate to approve disbursements under this fund rests with the respective departments and agencies.

1.1.2 In 1998, the Treasury Board Secretariat provided DFAIT with the authority to make contributions under the Canadian Landmine Fund. It also provided the authority to create a policy support unit within DFAIT, with a notional budget of up to $1 million per year, to develop an action plan to ensure the long-term sustainability of resources for Canadian mine action.

1.1.3 The Office of Ambassador for Mine Action (ILX) was created in recognition of the lead role played by DFAIT with respect to the landmines initiative. The program is managed by ILX which consists of a team of 12 individuals (see table 1 below). ILX is divided into three groups: Administrative and Financial Management; Policy, Research, Partnership and Outreach; and Ottawa Convention Universalization and Implementation. Project Coordinators are each assigned a geographic region. ILX manages meetings of the State Parties; reports on Canadian compliance as per the Ottawa Convention; and liaises with international government and non-governmental partners to develop partnerships, identify opportunities and facilitate complementarity of international activities relating to universalization, entry into force, global priority-setting and international coordination. ILX also develops the governmental communications plan for Mine Action within which implementing departments develop and manage their own communications activities.

1.1.4 In 2003, the Treasury Board Secretariat agreed to extend the program for an additional five years (ending March 31, 2008) with total additional funding of $72 Million, of which $28 Million is allocated to DFAIT. This increase included the authority for the Department to enter into grant arrangements in support of activities related to mine action and explosive remnants of war.

Chart 1 - Office of Ambassador for Mine Action Organization Chart

Organization Chart

Scope, Objective And Methodology

2.1 Scope

2.1.1 The audit focussed on the administrative practices, processes and controls related to the management of the grants and contributions (Vote 10) made under the program during the 2004/05 fiscal year. The Audit Team audited the program in accordance with Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

2.2 Objective

2.2.1 The overall objective was to determine the extent to which the grant and contribution program was managed in accordance with sound comptrollership practices and complied with legislative and regulatory requirements. In particular, the audit focussed on determining whether:

  • effective financial and program controls are designed and implemented within the grant and contribution program;
  • departmental capacity exists to effectively deliver and administer the grant and contribution program;
  • due diligence is exercised in the selection and approval of recipients;
  • the agreements with the recipients are based on Treasury Board approved terms and conditions for the program;
  • adequate monitoring of results is achieved and suitable information is obtained to ensure departmental accountability; and,
  • proper program and accounting records and other relevant documents are maintained to provide documentary evidence of decisions made and results achieved.

2.3 Methodology

2.3.1 The audit examined the major business processes and key controls associated with the management of the grants and contributions within ILX. The Audit Team conducted a comprehensive review of relevant program documentation and interviewed ILX personnel.

2.3.2 The examination phase of the audit was conducted during the period from May 1 to June 30, 2005. The Audit Team reviewed a sample of grant and contribution project files as detailed below.

Table 1: The management of the grants and contributions within ILX
Payment TypeProjects Completed$ Value ExpendedFiles Reviewed$ Value Reviewed% Reviewed
Totals56$6,164,51518$2,460,15640%
ILX - Vote 10 Contributions31$2,736,64710$1,178,96543%
ILX - Vote 10 Grants25$3,427,8688$1,281,19137%

2.3.3 In addition to interviews and file reviews, the Audit Team completed a follow-up on the recommendations made in the September 2000 Audit Report - Contributions made by the Ambassador for Mine Action.

Observations And Recommendations

3.1 Application, Assessment and Approval

3.1.1 ILX has developed a Grant and Contribution Guide providing Project Coordinators (PC) guidelines for reviewing applications, approving projects, processing payments, and evaluating projects upon completion. The guide contains the Departmental Policy on Grants and Contributions as well as guidelines and templates for managing grants and contributions. It is an effective training tool for new PCs as well as a useful reference guide.

3.1.2 Applications for program funding are submitted by way of proposals. Proposals are assigned to the appropriate regional PC in ILX who registers the project in the Division's grant and contribution registry and then reviews the proposal. If the application is incomplete, the PC communicates with the applicant requesting additional information. While ILX does not use a standard application form, having developed effective alternatives, 94% of the files reviewed had sufficient information for an assessment to be conducted of proposed projects.

3.1.3 A Project Assessment Form is prepared by the PC for each proposal received. The PC's recommendation to approve or reject the project is indicated on the assessment form. The assessment process also includes consultations with key partners such as missions abroad (that may be involved with the project or had other dealings with the organization), headquarter bureaux and OGDs. Project files identified the consultations that had taken place; however, in most cases, the detail and results of those consultations were not included in the file.

3.1.4 ILX has established a selection committee to review and decide upon applications against specific selection criteria that are in line with the program's terms and conditions. Project Assessment Forms are submitted to the Project Review Board (PRB) for review. The PRB is composed of four members: the Ambassador for Mine Action; the Coordinator for Mine Action Team; the Head of Section Policy, Research and Outreach; and the Chief of CIDA Mine Action Unit. The PRB meets as required. When meetings are deemed non-essential, on a highly exceptional basis where urgency is demonstrated, the PRB will approve or reject projects through internal correspondence. Such "virtual PRB" meetings require the same documentation for approval to be obtained. Minutes and decisions taken at PRB meetings are kept in a central file. The process documents the conclusion reached by the PRB; however, the minutes and project files do not contain an audit trail of the discussions that led to the eventual conclusion.

Recommendations for ILX

3.1.5 Records of consultation with key stakeholders should be produced and kept in project files on a systematic basis.

3.1.6 PRB records should include a rationale for approving the grant or contribution.

ILX Actions and Time Frames

3.1.5 Agreed. ILX has issued instructions to its staff and the ILX Best Practices Document will be amended by 30 June 2006.

3.1.6 Agreed. The rationale for decision making is now recorded in more detail in the record of PRB.

3.2 Grant and Contribution Agreements

3.2.1 Approved Project Assessment Forms are returned to the PC who prepares the agreement. Agreements are forwarded to Financial Services - Headquarters (SMFH) for approval before being sent to the recipient. Agreements specify all necessary policy and program requirements of the recipient.

3.2.2 In cases where a project is rejected, the PC prepares a letter informing the applicant of the rejection.

3.2.3 The Audit Team found that the clauses of the agreements reviewed complied with the applicable requirements of the Treasury Board and Departmental Transfer Payment Policies.

3.2.4 The Audit Team found that amendments to agreements were completed when required and documented appropriately.

3.3 Terms, Methods of Payments and Monitoring

3.3.1 Payment terms are well stipulated in the Grant and Contribution agreements. In most cases, recipients send payment requests along with the required reports. The PC is responsible for ensuring all requirements have been met before a payment request is sent to the ILX Financial Officer. A new procedure has been implemented by SMFH as of April 1, 2006, whereby Divisions requesting Grant and Contribution payments must send, along with their Section 34 approval, a certification/note indicating that the program has received the narrative/final report and that they are satisfied with the report. While these reports are typically sent to SMFH along with the payment request, SMFH only requires the financial report for payment purposes.

3.3.2 The Financial Officer prepares a payment voucher which is approved by the PC and the Director of ILX for payment. The voucher is then sent to the Area Management Office - Global and Security Policy (IAM) for approval under Section 34 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA). SMFH is then responsible for Section 33 approval. A copy of all payment information is kept on file, including invoice(s), financial statement, budget and payment requisitions. As of April 1, 2005, the approval process has changed and ILX is now responsible for approving Section 34.

3.3.3 The Audit Team found that systematic and consistent program monitoring practices had been implemented for grants and contributions. Upon closing a file, a Project Completion Form is completed and placed in the project file. This serves as an assessment of the project by ILX in terms of relevance, outcome, outputs and recipient's performance, with a view to developing a track record, if the recipient requests subsequent funding. In the case of grants, the program has experienced difficulties in obtaining final reports from Recipients, despite numerous attempts. While it is a standard practice for PCs in ILX to ensure that all recipient organizations submit project reports, supporting documentation was not always found on file (i.e. e-mails or log of communication with Recipients) to show that communication had taken place. The PCs should ensure that this information is kept on file. In cases where the final report had not been received, the PCs were not able to complete the Project Completion Forms.

3.3.4 ILX produces an annual Report on the Canadian Landmine Fund. The report provides an overview of a sample of projects funded in the five main areas of activity. It highlights results achieved or anticipated for each of the projects selected, demonstrating the effects the program and the recipient have had on program objectives. The report provides spending summary by program and investment breakdown by thematic area and region.

Recommendation for ILX

3.3.5 Ensure that documents supporting communications with Recipients are maintained on file.

ILX Action and Time Frame

3.3.5 Documents supporting communications with Recipients will be maintained on file forthwith.

3.4 Records Management

3.4.1 Overall, files were found to be well organized and the status of projects were readily apparent to allow any project officer to assume responsibility for the file.

3.5 Recipient Audits

3.5.1 ILX, in conjunction with ZIV, has developed a risk management assessment for recipient audits, which includes a determination of the following:

  • recipients to be audited;
  • scope, frequency and schedule of audits; and,
  • appropriate follow-up action of audit findings.

3.5.2 As required by the Risk-Based Audit Framework (RBAF), five program recipients are to be audited on an annual basis. As of the date of this audit report, two of the five planned recipient audits for 2005/06 have been completed, the remaining three are in the process of being finalized.

3.6 Previous Internal Audit Report

3.6.1 The Audit Team's follow-up of recommendations contained in the September 2000 Internal Audit Report indicated that all recommendations had been fully implemented.

Office of the Inspector General

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-09-13

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Document archivé

L'information archivée sur le Web est disponible à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de dossiers seulement. Elle n’a été ni modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date d’archivage. Les pages archivées sur le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un format de rechange en communiquant avec nous.

Vérification des contributions et des subventions versées par l'ambassadeur pour l'action contre les mines

(Juin 2006)

Table des matières

Sommaire

La Direction de la vérification interne (ZIV) a effectué une vérification du cadre de contrôle de la gestion des subventions et contributions versées par l'ambassadeur pour l'action contre les mines dans le cadre du programme de subventions et de contributions du Fonds canadien contre les mines terrestres (ILX). ZIV a mené cette vérification dans le cadre de son examen annuel des contributions et subventions ministérielles.

La vérification avait comme objectif de déterminer si ILX gérait le programme à l'aide de saines méthodes de contrôle et en conformité avec les exigences législatives et réglementaires.

La vérification portait sur les fonds du crédit 10 du programme totalisant 6 164 515 dollars pour l'exercice 2004-2005. Au moment de la vérification, ILX avait conclu 56 accords de subvention ou de contribution. L'équipe de vérification a examiné un échantillon de 18 projets représentant un budget total approuvé de 2 460 156 dollars, soit 40 % des fonds du crédit 10.

ILX a mis en place le mécanisme d'approbation des projets et les processus financiers décrits dans sa présentation au Conseil du Trésor visant le renouvellement du Fonds pour l'action contre les mines. Elle doit toutefois améliorer ces processus en s'assurant que les dossiers des projets contiennent les documents pertinents. Par exemple, les échanges avec divers intervenants n'ont pas été versés aux dossiers, les raisons justifiant la décision du comité d'examen des projets d'accepter ou de refuser une proposition de projet ne sont généralement pas suffisamment détaillées et les échanges avec les récipiendaires ne sont pas documentés ni versés aux dossiers. Les vérificateurs ont par ailleurs constaté qu'ILX avait fait une évaluation complète de l'admissibilité des projets avant de transmettre les demandes aux quatre membres du comité interministériel d'examen des projets (CEP).

Le rapport annuel publié par ILX pour le compte des ministères concernés, dont le MDN et l'ACDI, souligne clairement l'impact que le programme a eu sur l'atteinte des objectifs. L'équipe de vérification a constaté que ILX utilisait des méthodes systématiques et uniformes de surveillance des subventions et des contributions. Les exigences en matière de rapport sont clairement énoncées dans les accords de subvention et de contribution; l'équipe a toutefois constaté que le rapport final des récipiendaires était absent de certains des dossiers de subvention. Malgré les efforts déployés par ILX pour obtenir ces rapports, elle doit verser aux dossiers plus de documents justificatifs, notamment en ce qui concerne ses échanges avec les récipiendaires. En outre, la direction de ILX a clairement fait savoir, tant à l'interne qu'à l'externe, que le défaut de produire des rapports risque de réduire les possibilités futures des partenaires à obtenir le soutien du Canada.

L'équipe de vérification conclut que le personnel d'ILX a recours à un mélange de mécanismes de contrôle officiels et officieux. La direction de ILX s'est appuyée sur les pratiques déjà éprouvées et les leçons apprises et a officialisé certains processus informels déjà en place; par exemple, elle a mis sur pied le comité interministériel d'examen des projets (CEP), rédigé un manuel des pratiques exemplaires à l'intention du personnel du programme et s'est assurée que le personnel recevait une formation appropriée.

Aperçu

1.1.1 Le Fonds canadien d'action contre les mines terrestres a été créé en 1998, pour une période de cinq ans, dans la foulée de la Convention sur l'interdiction de l'emploi, du stockage, de la production et du transfert des mines anti-personnel et sur leur destruction (la Convention d'Ottawa). À sa création, le Fonds disposait d'un budget total de 100 millions de dollars pour promouvoir la ratification rapide et l'acceptation universelle de la Convention ainsi que la mise en oeuvre de ses dispositions. Il vise également à aider les pays touchés par les mines à renforcer leur capacité et à mettre en place des programmes locaux d'action contre les mines, de sensibilisation, de formation, d'acquisition de compétences et d'aide aux victimes. Le financement relève du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et d'Industrie Canada (IC). La part du MAECI totalise 10,35 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, incluant les fonds des crédits 1 et 10. Il revient à chaque ministère et organisme d'approuver les débours consentis dans le cadre du fonds.

1.1.2 En 1998, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a autorisé le MAECI à verser des contributions par l'entremise du Fonds canadien d'action contre les mines terrestres. Il l'a également autorisé à créer une unité de soutien des politiques dotée d'un budget national maximal de un million de dollars et chargé d'élaborer un plan d'action visant à assurer la durabilité des ressources du Fonds canadien d'action contre les mines terrestres.

1.1.3 L'Équipe d'action contre les mines (ILX) a été créée pour souligner le rôle de premier plan joué par le MAECI dans l'initiative contre les mines terrestres. Le programme est géré par ILX, une équipe de 12 personnes (voir le tableau 1). ILX se divise en trois groupes : Gestion administrative et financière, Politique, recherche, partenariat et sensibilisation et Universalisation et mise en oeuvre de la Convention d'Ottawa. Les coordonnateurs de projet sont responsables d'une région donnée. ILX organise les réunions des États membres, établit des rapports sur la conformité du Canada à la Convention d'Ottawa et assure la liaison avec les gouvernements des divers pays et les partenaires non gouvernementaux en vue de créer des partenariats, de trouver des occasions d'agir et de favoriser la complémentarité des activités internationales visant l'universalisation, la mise en oeuvre, l'établissement de priorités internationales et la coordination internationale. ILX établit également le plan de communication gouvernemental pour l'action contre les mines dans le cadre duquel les ministères responsables établissent et gèrent leurs propres activités de communication.

1.1.4 En 2003, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a accepté de prolonger de cinq ans le mandat du programme (jusqu'au 31 mars 2008) et de lui verser la somme additionnelle de 72 millions de dollars, dont 28 millions iront au MAECI. Parallèlement, le Ministère a obtenu l'autorisation de conclure des accords de subvention pour financer des activités de destruction des mines et d'autres débris de guerre explosifs.

Organigramme de l'équipe de l'action contre les mines

Organigramme

Portée, objectif et méthodologie

2.1 Portée

2.1.1 La vérification a surtout porté sur les méthodes, les processus et les contrôles administratifs associés à la gestion des subventions et contributions (crédit 10) versées dans le cadre du programme au cours de l'exercice 2004-2005. L'équipe a vérifié le programme à la lumière des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère sur les paiements de transfert.

2.2 Objectif

2.2.1 L'objectif général consistait à déterminer dans quelle mesure la gestion du programme de subventions et de contributions s'appuie sur de saines méthodes de contrôle et satisfait aux dispositions législatives et réglementaires. La vérification visait notamment à déterminer si :

  • le programme de subventions de contributions est doté de mécanismes efficaces de contrôle financier et de surveillance;
  • le Ministère a la capacité de mettre en oeuvre et d'administrer le programme de subventions et de contributions;
  • la sélection et l'approbation des récipiendaires font l'objet de diligence raisonnable;
  • les accords conclus avec les récipiendaires respectent les conditions et les modalités approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor à l'égard du programme;
  • les résultats font d'objet d'une surveillance appropriée et les renseignements sont suffisants pour assurer la reddition de comptes ministérielle;
  • des dossiers sur le programme, des registres comptables et d'autres documents pertinents sont établis pour justifier les décisions prises et les résultats obtenus.

2.3 Méthodologie

2.3.1 La vérification portait sur les principaux processus administratifs et les mécanismes de contrôle associés à la gestion des subventions et des contributions au sein de ILX. L'équipe de vérification a effectué un examen approfondi des documents relatifs au programme et rencontré des membres du personnel de ILX.

2.3.2 L'examen s'est déroulé entre le 1er mai et le 30 juin 2005. L'équipe de vérification a examiné un échantillon des dossiers des projets de subvention et de contribution (voir les détails ci-dessous).

Tableau 1 : La gestion des subventions et des contributions au sein de ILX
Type de paiementProjets terminésMontant dépensé ($)Dossiers examinésValeur des dossiers examinés ($)% de dossiers examinés
Totaux566 164 515 $182 460 156 $40 %
ILX - Contributions (crédit 10)312 736 647  101 178 96543 %
ILX - Subventions (crédit 10)253 427 86881 281 19137 %

2.3.3 En plus des entrevues et de l'examen des dossiers, l'équipe de vérification a fait le suivi des recommandations formulées dans le rapport de vérification de septembre 2000 - Contributions versées par l'ambassadeur pour l'action contre les mines.

Observations et recommandations

3.1 Évaluation et approbation des demandes

3.1.1 ILX a rédigé un Guide des subventions et des contributions qui propose aux coordonnateurs de projet (CP) des lignes directrices relatives à l'examen des demandes, à l'approbation des projets, au traitement des versements et à l'évaluation des projets, une fois terminés. Le guide énonce également la politique ministérielle en matière de subventions et de contributions ainsi que des lignes directrices relatives à la gestion de celles-ci et propose des modèles de gestion. Ce document est un outil efficace de formation pour les nouveaux CP et un précieux guide de référence.

3.1.2 Les demandes de financement sont présentées sous forme de propositions. Chaque proposition est assignée au CP de la région concernée qui inscrit le projet dans le registre des subventions et des contributions de la Direction et examine ensuite la proposition. Si la demande est incomplète, il communique avec le promoteur pour lui demander des renseignements supplémentaires. ILX n'a pas de formulaire de demande normalisé, mais elle a mis au point des solutions de rechange efficaces et 94 % des dossiers examinés contenaient suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre l'évaluation des projets proposés.

3.1.3 Le CP remplit un formulaire d'évaluation de projet à l'égard de chaque proposition reçue. Il indique sur le formulaire s'il recommande l'approbation ou le rejet du projet. Le processus d'évaluation comporte également des consultations avec les principaux partenaires, notamment les missions à l'étranger (susceptibles de participer au projet ou d'avoir d'autres liens avec l'organisation), les bureaux de l'Administration centrale et d'autres ministères gouvernementaux. Les dossiers faisaient état de la tenue de consultations, mais la plupart du temps, ne contiennent pas de détails et n'indiquent pas les résultats de ces consultations.

3.1.4 ILX a mis sur pied un comité de sélection chargé d'examiner les demandes par rapport à des critères de sélection conformes aux conditions et modalités du programme. Les formulaires d'évaluation de projet sont ensuite soumis à l'examen du Comité d'examen des projets (CEP). Ce dernier se compose de quatre membres : l'ambassadeur pour l'action contre les mines, le coordonnateur de l'équipe pour l'action contre les mines, le chef de la section de la politique, de la recherche et de la sensibilisation et le chef de l'unité pour l'action contre les mines de l'ACDI. Le CEP se réunit aussi souvent que nécessaire. Lorsque les réunions ne sont pas jugées essentielles, par exemple, dans les circonstances exceptionnelles et urgentes, le CEP peut approuver ou rejeter les projets par courrier interne. Pour ces réunions « virtuelles », les membres doivent avoir en main les documents requis pour l'approbation. Les procès-verbaux des réunions et les décisions prises par le CEP sont conservés dans un fichier central. Ce processus justifie les décisions prises par le CEP; cependant, les procès-verbaux et les dossiers des projets ne contiennent pas de piste de vérification des discussions qui ont mené à la conclusion définitive.

Recommandations à l'intention d'ILX

3.1.5 Il y a lieu de rédiger des comptes-rendus systématiques des consultations avec des principaux intervenants et de les verser aux dossiers des projets.

3.1.6 Les comptes rendus du CEP doivent inclure les motifs sur lesquels est fondée la décision d'approuver une subvention ou de une contribution.

Réponse d'ILX

3.1.5 D'accord. ILX a donné des instructions en ce sens à son personnel et modifiera son document sur les pratiques exemplaires d'ici le 30 juin 2006.

3.1.6 D'accord. Les motifs des décisions sont maintenant exposés plus en détail dans les comptes rendus du CEP.

3.2 Accords de subvention et de contribution

3.2.1 Une fois approuvés, les formulaires d'évaluation de projet sont renvoyés au CP qui est chargé de préparer l'accord. Il fait ensuite parvenir celui-ci aux Services financiers, à l'Administration centrale (SMFH), en vue de son d'approbation, et l'envoie par la suite au récipiendaire. L'accord précise toutes les exigences des politiques et du programme auxquelles doit se conformer le récipiendaire.

3.2.2 Si le projet est rejeté, le CP rédige une lettre pour en informer le récipiendaire.

3.2.3 L'équipe de vérification a constaté que les clauses des accords ayant fait l'objet d'un examen étaient conformes aux exigences applicables des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et du Ministère relatives aux paiements de transfert.

3.2.4 L'équipe de vérification a constaté que les accords ont été modifiés au besoin et que les modifications étaient bien documentées.

3.3 Modalités, mode de paiement et surveillance

3.3.1 Les modalités de paiement sont bien expliquées dans les accords de subvention et de contribution. La plupart du temps, les récipiendaires joignent leur demande de paiement à leurs rapports. Le CP doit s'assurer que toutes les conditions ont été satisfaites avant d'envoyer la demande de paiement à l'agent financier de ILX. Depuis le 1er avril 2006, SMFH utilise une nouvelle méthode en vertu de laquelle les Directions qui demandent des versements de subvention et de contribution doivent envoyer, conjointement avec l'approbation accordée en vertu de l'article 34, une attestation ou une note indiquant qu'elles ont bien reçu le rapport détaillé ou final et qu'elles le jugent satisfaisant. Ces rapports sont habituellement envoyé aux Services financiers avec la demande de paiement, mais ces derniers n'ont besoin que du rapport financier aux fins de paiement.

3.3.2 L'agent financier prépare un bon de paiement qui doit être approuvé par le CP et le directeur de ILX aux fins de paiement. Il l'envoie ensuite au Bureau de l'administration des secteurs de la sécurité internationale et des enjeux mondiaux (IAM) aux fins d'approbation, conformément à l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP). SMFH doit ensuite l'approuver, conformément à l'article 33. Une copie de toutes les données relatives au paiement est consignée au dossier, notamment la ou les factures, le relevé financier, le budget et les demandes de paiement. Le 1er avril 2005, le mécanisme d'approbation a été modifié et c'est désormais ILX qui accorde l'approbation conformément à l'article 34.

3.3.3 L'équipe de vérification a constaté que des méthodes de surveillance systématiques et uniformes étaient en place à l'égard des subventions et des contributions. À la clôture du dossier, un formulaire d'achèvement du projet est rempli et consigné dans le dossier du projet. Ce formulaire indique que ILX a évalué la pertinence, les résultats et les extrants du projet ainsi que le rendement du récipiendaire et constitué un dossier sur ce dernier au cas où celui-ci présentait une nouvelle demande de financement. En ce qui concerne les subventions, le personnel du programme a eu de la difficulté à obtenir les rapports finals des récipiendaires, malgré de nombreuses tentatives. Les CP de ILX veillent généralement à ce que toutes les organisations récipiendaires présentent des rapports de projet, mais les dossiers ne contenaient pas toujours les documents justificatifs (courriels ou journal des échanges avec les récipiendaires) démontrant que des échanges avaient eu lieu. Les CP devraient s'assurer que ces renseignements sont versés aux dossiers. Lorsqu'ils n'avaient pas reçu le rapport final, les CP ne pouvaient pas compléter le formulaire d'achèvement du projet.

3.3.4 ILX produit un rapport annuel sur le Fonds canadien d'action contre les mines terrestres. Le rapport donne un aperçu d'un échantillon de projets financés dans les cinq grands secteurs d'activité. Il fait état des résultats obtenus ou prévus dans le cadre de chaque projet retenu, démontrant ainsi le rôle du programme et du récipiendaire dans l'atteinte des objectifs. Le rapport présente un sommaire des dépenses par programme et une ventilation des investissements, par secteur thématique et région.

Recommandation à l'intention d'ILX

3.3.5 ILX doit s'assurer que les documents relatifs aux communications avec les récipiendaires sont versés aux dossiers.

Réponse d'ILX

3.3.5 Les documents relatifs aux échanges avec les récipiendaires seront désormais versés aux dossiers.

3.4 Gestion des dossiers

3.4.1 Dans l'ensemble, les dossiers étaient bien organisés et indiquaient clairement l'état d'avancement des projets, de sorte que n'importe quel agent de projet pouvait assumer la responsabilité du dossier.

3.5 Vérification des récipiendaires

3.5.1 ILX, en collaboration avec ZIV, a établi un mécanisme d'évaluation de la gestion des risques portant sur les éléments suivants :

  • les récipiendaires devant faire l'objet d'une vérification;
  • la portée, la fréquence et le calendrier des vérifications;
  • les mesures de suivi des conclusions des vérifications.

3.5.2 Conformément au cadre de vérification axé sur les risques (CVAR), cinq récipiendaires doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification chaque année. Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport, deux vérifications étaient terminées, les trois autres étant sur le point de l'être.

3.6 Rapport de vérification interne précédent

3.6.1 L'équipe a effectué le suivi des recommandations contenues dans le rapport de vérification interne de 2000 et constaté que toutes les recommandations avaient été pleinement mises en oeuvre.

Bureau de l'inspecteur général

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2012-09-13