Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

international.gc.ca

Inspection of the Canadian Embassy Phnom Penh

PDF Version (270 KB) *

March 2009

Table of Contents

Overview

1.1 An Inspection of our Embassy in Cambodia was conducted in Phnom Penh November 18 and 19, 2008. The Mission was last audited in January, 1996. The Embassy in Phnom Penh is a micro mission with two Canada-based staff (CBS), a Head of Mission (HOM) and a Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) Officer and five Locally-engaged staff (LES), a Trade Commissioner, an Office Manager, a Driver and two Security Guards. The five local staff are officially employees of the Australian Embassy.

1.2 The Mission is co-located with the Australians who in addition to Chancery facilities and security provide administrative support to our mission as well as consular assistance to Canadians. A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Australian Embassy is on file for the services they provide as well as a Post Specific Financial Agreement covering our co-location. Back-up administration and consular is provided by our missions in Bangkok and Canberra. Bangkok also processes passports received from Phnom Penh.

Programs

2.1 The HOM as the sole DFAIT representative covers all aspects of operations for the Political Economic and International Business Development (IBD) Programs and for aspects of the Administrative and Consular Programs not covered per above. Program activities are centered on Canada’s obligations under the Paris Accords to monitor Cambodia’s development, governance and respect for human rights. In support of Cambodia’s efforts in these areas, Canada is a major development assistance donor with CIDA projects delivered through a Post Support Unit. With Cambodia having one of the fastest growing economies in the region, the Mission’s trade objectives and activities include monitoring sectors of interest and providing Canadian business with identified prospects and promoting educational and training opportunities in Canada.

2.2 There is *** teamwork and moral amongst the staff with *** support and leadership from the HOM. *** procedures and documentation were in place on the Program side such as a Country Strategy, Reporting Agreement, HOM Performance Management Plan (PMP), and IBD business plan. As well, all relevant administrative procedures and controls were in place and up to date such as hospitality diaries, inventories, vehicle logs, staffing files, security reports and passport inventories (which were verified with the Australian custodian).

Observations and Recommendation

3.1 There is one *** issue relating to ongoing operations that needs to be addressed on a priority basis by the Department in order to ensure the on-going viability of our mission in Phnom Penh.

3.2 The co-location agreement with the Australians is scheduled to terminate as of May 15, 2009, coinciding with their move to a new chancery. While known for some time by the Mission and the Department, *** giving our mission notice that they will no longer be able to support our operations both as to the premises they provide to us and all that that entails (security and maintenance) and the administrative services that are performed by their staff.

3.3 This leaves the Mission with having to find new offices, rehire staff already working for us and to hire new staff to carry out the services being provided by the Australians.

3.4 In reviewing the resources currently expended by the Australian mission on our behalf, and in consultation with the HOM regarding minimal resource requirements for a stand alone mission, we conclude that at least three new full time equivalent positions will be required as well as contract funds for property maintenance, cleaning and guard services. It should be noted that most of these costs are not incremental as we are paying for them via our financial co-location agreement with the Australians.

3.5 The bigger issue facing the Mission is finding suitable space for a stand alone mission that will accommodate at least eight staff and be accessible to clients. Given the short time frame between now and May 15, 2009 (less than six months) and the fact that Headquarters (HQ) property and security experts cannot visit until the end of January, 2009, it is unlikely that a fully functioning chancery will be ready in time. In fact it will more likely be six months to one year after May 15, given the lack of viable options in Phnom Penh and the time frames required to properly plan for, purchase and fit-up a stand alone chancery.

3.6 Between the May 15th deadline and the establishment of a new chancery, a temporary solution will be required. Possible options include operating out of the HOM’s Staff Quarter (SQ), the CIDA Post Support Unit or some other temporary office site, such as a hotel or serviced apartment. All options would require security and communications fit-up and relocation for the HOM *** if the SQ is chosen. At the same time new staff would have to be hired and trained.

3.7 One interim solution that would require minimal cost and coordination would be to have the HOM operate out of her SQ which already has as a back-up office with a photocopier and fax. Signet remote could be used for communication. The CIDA Officer could temporarily work from the PSU on the same basis. ***

3.8 This is a low cost albeit low profile solution, but it would be the most pragmatic under the circumstances. Recommendation for the South, Southeast Asia Oceania Bureau (GSD)

Recommendation for the South, Southeast Asia Oceania Bureau (GSD)

3.9 The Geographic in consultation with the Property, Security and Consular bureaux, needs to develop a transition plan to deliver core services in Phnom Penh from May 15th, 2009 until a permanent Chancery is established.

GSD Response and Timeframe

3.9 We agree with the recommendation and will take action to deliver a transition plan before the end of April 2009.

Appendix A: Inspection Scope and Objectives

The scope of the Inspection included a review of Mission management and the General Relations, International Business Development, Consular and Administration programs.

The inspection objectives were to:

  • Assess management controls and systems, procedures and activities that make up the programs;
  • Determine the extent of compliance with legislation, regulations and operating policies;
  • Assess the reliability and adequacy of information available for decision-making and accountability purposes;
  • Ensure resources are judiciously used and that the Department is receiving valuefor- money; and,
  • Make recommendations, where warranted, to improve the economy, efficiency and effectiveness of programs.

The focus and extent of on-site work was based on an assessment of materiality and related risk. This was done through communication with Headquarters bureaux, including briefings by line management and the functional bureaux, review of relevant HQ and mission documentation, past audit findings, and an analysis of recurring trends and systemic issues.

During the inspection, inspection issues and lines of enquiry were further refined from information gathered through interviews with the HOM and LES, and the review of documentation. The level of inspection work was therefore based on issues and information identified and gathered at all levels, HQ, Mission management and Mission operations.

Appendix B: Mission Resources Fact Sheet

Table 1: Mission Resources Fact Sheet Physical Resources
Physical Resources
AssetsCrown LeasedCrown Owned
Chancery1-
Official Residence--
Staff Quarters2-
Vehicles-1

Table 2: Mission Resources Financial Information
Financial Information 2007- 08 (CAD$)
Total$304,343
Operating Budget (N001)$289,102
Capital Budget (N005)$15, 241
LES Salary Budget (N012)N/A

Appendix C: Organization Chart

Organization Chart

Table 3: Organization Chart
Head of mission (FS-04)Chef de mission (FS-04)
Canadian International Development Agency
(1CBS)
Agence canadienne de développement international
(1CBS)
International Business Development
(1 LES)
Expansion internationale des affaires
(1 LES)
Administration
(2 LES)
Administration
(2 LES)


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Footer

Date Modified:
2012-11-20

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

international.gc.ca

Inspection de L'Ambassade du Canada à Phnom Penh

Version PDF (280 ko) *

Mars 2009

Table des Matières

Sommaire

1.1 Une inspection a été réalisée à notre ambassade du Cambodge, à Phnom Penh, les 18 et 19 novembre 2008. La dernière inspection remontait à janvier 1996. L’ambassade de Phnom Penh est une micromission qui emploie deux employés canadiens (EC), une chef de mission (CDM), un fonctionnaire de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), cinq employés recrutés sur place (ERP), un délégué commercial, un chef de bureau, un chauffeur et deux gardes de sécurité. Les cinq ERP sont officiellement employés par l’ambassade de l’Australie.

1.2 La mission loge dans le même immeuble que l’ambassade de l’Australie qui fournit, outre les installations de la chancellerie et les services de sécurité, un soutien administratif à la mission et une aide consulaire aux Canadiens. Un protocole d’entente (PE) et un accord financier propre à la mission concernant notre occupation ont été conclus avec les Australiens pour ces services. Des services administratifs et consulaires auxiliaires sont fournis par nos missions de Canberra et de Bangkok, cette dernière traite aussi les passeports en provenance de Phnom Penh.

Programmes

2.1 Comme seule représentante du MAECI, la CDM se charge de tous les aspects des activités liées aux programmes des affaires politiques et économiques, et d’expansion internationale des affaires (EIA), ainsi que des aspects des programmes d’administration et des affaires consulaires autres que ceux mentionnés ci-dessus. Les activités de programme découlent des obligations du Canada en vertu des Accords de Paris visant à surveiller l’amélioration, la gouvernance et le respect des droits de la personne au Cambodge. Pour soutenir les efforts de ce dernier dans ces domaines, le Canada est un des principaux fournisseurs d’aide au développement grâce à des projets de l’ACDI mis en oeuvre par une Unité d’appui au poste (UAP). Le Cambodge étant l'un des pays de la région dont l'économie progresse le plus rapidement, les objectifs commerciaux et les activités connexes de la mission consistent entre autres à surveiller divers secteurs d’intérêt, à fournir des débouchés aux entreprises canadiennes et à favoriser les possibilités d’études et de formation au Canada.

2.2 Le travail d’équipe et le moral sont *** à la mission, et la CDM fournit un appui et un leadership***. Les procédures et les documents liés aux programmes étaient dûment en place, dont une Stratégie pays, une entente sur l’établissement des rapports, un plan de gestion du rendement (PGR) du CDM et un plan de d’expansion internationale des affaires (EIA). Tous les contrôles et procédés administratifs pertinents étaient également en place et à jour : comptes rendus des activités de représentation, inventaires, livres de bord des véhicules, dossiers de dotation, rapports de sécurité et stocks de passeports (vérifiés en présence du gardien australien).

Observations et recommandation

3.1 Le Ministère doit donner la priorité *** à une question décisive au sujet des activités courantes pour assurer la viabilité de notre mission de Phnom Penh.

3.2 L’accord de cooccupation avec les Australiens prend fin le 15 mai 2009, date qui coïncide avec leur installation dans une nouvelle chancellerie. Même si le Ministère et la mission étaient au courant de ce fait depuis un certain temps, la mission *** , affirmant qu’il ne leur serait alors plus possible de soutenir nos activités dans ces locaux, y compris en ce qui concerne les services de sécurité, d’entretien et administratifs fournis par leur personnel.

3.3 Cela oblige la mission à s’installer ailleurs, à réembaucher des employés déjà à son emploi et à en embaucher de nouveaux pour fournir les services assurés par les Australiens.

3.4 Après avoir examiné les ressources actuellement déployées par la mission australienne en notre nom, et consulté la CDM concernant les exigences minimales en matière de ressources pour une mission autonome, nous avons conclu qu’au moins trois nouveaux équivalents temps plein seraient nécessaires, de même que des fonds destinés aux marché de services d’entretien, de nettoyage et de sécurité. Soulignons qu’il ne s’agit pas de coûts différentiels puisque la plupart sont déjà engagés en vertu de l’accord de cooccupation avec les Australiens.

3.5 La priorité de la mission consiste à trouver un lieu convenable pour une mission autonome pouvant loger au moins huit employés et être accessible aux clients. Compte tenu de la courte échéance du 15 mai 2009 (moins de six mois) et du fait que les experts en matière de sécurité et d’immobilisations à l’Administration centrale (AC) ne peuvent se rendre sur place avant la fin de janvier 2009, il est peu probable qu’une chancellerie pleinement fonctionnelle soit prête à temps. En fait, il faudra plutôt compter de six à douze mois à compter du 15 mai, au vu des solutions viables à Phnom Penh peu nombreuses et du temps requis pour planifier, acquérir et aménager de manière adéquate une chancellerie autonome.

3.6 Entre la date butoir du 15 mai et l’ouverture d’une nouvelle chancellerie, il faudra trouver un emplacement temporaire pour assurer les activités. Les solutions possibles incluent la résidence de fonction de la CDM, l’Unité d’appui au poste de l’ACDI ou un autre bureau temporaire, notamment dans un hôtel ou un logement avec services. Toutes les options exigent l’aménagement de services de sécurité et de communications ainsi que le relogement de la CDM ***, si l’option de la résidence de fonction est retenue. Il faudra aussi embaucher et former du nouveau personnel.

3.7 Une autre solution temporaire exigeant peu de coordination et de coûts serait que la CDM exerce ses activités depuis sa résidence de fonction, qui est déjà équipée d’un bureau auxiliaire, d’un photocopieur et d’un télécopieur. Les communications pourraient être assurées par un accès à distance au SIGNET éloigné. L’agent de l’ACDI pourrait travailler depuis l’UAP de la même façon. *** .

3.8 Il s’agit d’une solution à peu de frais, assurant certes peu de visibilité, mais tout de même la plus pratique compte tenu de la situation. Recommandation à la Direction générale de l’Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est et Océanie (GSD).

Recommandation à l’intention de la Direction générale de l’Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est et Océanie (GSD)

3.9 La Direction générale géographique, en consultation avec les directions des Biens, de la Sécurité et des Affaires consulaires, doit élaborer un plan de transition pour assurer la prestation des services principaux à Phnom Penh du 15 mai 2009 jusqu’à l’ouverture d’une chancellerie permanente.

Réponse et calendrier de GSD

3.9 Nous acceptons la recommandation et prendrons des mesures pour soumettre un plan de transition avant la fin d’avril 2009.

Appendix A: Portée et objectifs de l’inspection

L’inspection portait sur l’examen de la gestion de la mission et du Programme des relations générales, du Programme d’expansion internationale des affaires, du Programme des services consulaires et du Programme d’administration.

Les objectifs de l’inspection étaient les suivants :

  • Évaluer les contrôles et systèmes de gestion, les procédures et les activités qui composent les programmes;
  • Déterminer le degré de conformité avec les lois, les règlements et les politiques opérationnelles;
  • Évaluer la fiabilité et la pertinence des renseignements disponibles pour la prise de décisions et la reddition de comptes;
  • S'assurer de l'utilisation judicieuse des ressources et de leur optimisation par le Ministère;
  • Formuler, lorsqu’il est justifié de le faire, des recommandations afin de réduire les dépenses et d'améliorer l'efficience et l'efficacité des programmes.

L'orientation et l'étendue des travaux sur place reposaient sur l’évaluation de l'importance relative et des risques afférents. Pour ce faire, on a eu recours à des communications avec les directions générales de l'AC, notamment des séances d’information par la gestion hiérarchique et les directions générales fonctionnelles; on a également examiné les documents pertinents de l'AC et de la mission, ainsi que les conclusions des vérifications précédentes, et on a analysé les tendances récurrentes et les problèmes systémiques.

Au cours de l'inspection, les questions et les secteurs d’intérêt se sont affinés à partir de renseignements recueillis lors d’entretiens avec le CDM et avec les gestionnaires de programmes, d'une réunion avec le comité des ERP, d'entrevues individuelles avec le personnel, et d’un examen d'autres documents pertinents. Le niveau de l'inspection a donc été fondé sur les questions et les informations obtenues à tous les niveaux, à l’AC et auprès des responsables de la gestion et des opérations de la mission.

Appendix B: Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission

Tableau 1 : Fiche de renseignements sur les ressources de la mission des Biens
Biens
BiensLouées par l'ÉtatAppartenant à l'État
Chancellerie1-
Résidence officiellee--
Logements du personnel2-
Véhicules-1

Tableau 2 : Fiche de renseignements sur Information financière
Information financière 2007- 2008 ($CAN)
Total304,343 $
Budget d’exploitation (N001)289,102 $
Budget des immobilisations (N005)15, 241 $
Budget des salaires des ERP (N012)S/O

Appendix C: Organigramme

Organigramme

Tableau 3 : Organigramme
Head of mission
(FS-04)
Chef de mission
(FS-04)
Canadian International Development Agency
(1CBS)
Agence canadienne de développement international
(1CBS)
International Business Development
(1 LES)
Expansion internationale des affaires
(1 LES)
Administration
(2 LES)
Administration
(2 LES)


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-01-08