Canada's Engagement in Afghanistan

Canada's Approach in Afghanistan

This year, Afghanistan will witness a number of significant milestones – ones that will involve Afghans taking on a greater responsibility for the future direction of their country, as well as ones that will address the vital needs of democratization, security and peace.

Canada remains committed to helping Afghans create a sustainable future, a more peaceful environment that is safe and secure, a country that is well governed and in control of its own destiny.  While Canada’s military mission has ended, we will continue to play an important role through our Embassy in Kabul in supporting efforts toward a better future for all Afghans.

To that end, building on the significant progress that has been achieved in the areas of security, diplomacy, human rights and development, Canada has committed to 2017 an additional $227 million in development assistance and $330 million to help sustain the Afghan National Security Forces. 

Canada’s engagement in Afghanistan between now and 2017 will focus on:

  • Supporting the advancement of Afghan women and girls though increased investments in education, maternal, newborn and child health, and the rights and empowerment of women and girls. 
  • Advancing security, democracy, rule-of-law and human rights.
  • Contributing to the capacity development for the management of humanitarian assistance.

These priority areas build on Canada’s past programming efforts, support Afghan-developed priorities and sustain progress in key areas that are essential to Afghanistan’s future. Based on Afghan needs, these priorities have been identified as areas in which Canada can continue making a significant contribution to tangible progress in Afghanistan.

News from the Embassy

Alert: Travel Advisory

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada advises against all travel to Afghanistan.

Reports to Parliament

facebook
flickr
youtube

L’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan

L’approche du Canada en Afghanistan

Cette année, l’Afghanistan sera témoin d’un certain nombre de jalons importants : certains amèneront les Afghans à assumer une plus grande responsabilité quant à l’orientation future de leur pays, et d’autres répondront aux besoins vitaux de démocratisation, de sécurité et de paix.

Le Canada demeure déterminé à aider les Afghans à créer un avenir durable, un environnement plus paisible qui est sûr et sécuritaire, un pays qui est bien gouverné et maître de son destin. Même si la mission militaire du Canada a pris fin, nous continuerons à jouer un rôle important par l’intermédiaire de notre ambassade à Kaboul en appuyant les efforts visant à assurer un meilleur avenir à tous les Afghans.

À cette fin, sur la lancée des progrès notables qui ont été accomplis dans les domaines de la sécurité, de la diplomatie, des droits de la personne et du développement, le Canada s’engage à verser, d'ici à 2017, 227 millions de dollars additionnels pour l’aide au développement et 330 millions de dollars pour aider à soutenir les forces de sécurité nationale afghanes.

L’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan d’ici à 2017 sera axé sur :

  • l’avancement des femmes et des filles afghanes par l’intermédiaire d’investissements accrus dans l’éducation, la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants et les droits et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles;
  • l’avancement de la sécurité, de la démocratie, de la primauté du droit et des droits de la personne;
  • le développement de la capacité de gestion de l’aide humanitaire.

Ces priorités s'inscrivent dans le droit fil des programmes exécutés par le passé par le Canada, elles vont dans le sens des priorités définies par les Afghans, et elles favorisent le progrès dans des domaines essentiels pour l'avenir de l'Afghanistan. Fondées sur les besoins des Afghans, elles ont été désignées comme secteurs où le Canada peut continuer d’apporter une contribution notable au progrès tangible en Afghanistan.

Nouvelles de l'ambassade

Alerte : Conseils aux voyageurs

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada recommande d'éviter tout voyage en Afghanistan.

facebook
flickr
youtube

Salle des médias