Message from the Ambassador

François RivestThank you for visiting our website.  I also invite you to follow us on social media in English and French (twitter: @CanEmbAFG, @AmbCanAFG, Facebook: Canada’s Engagement in Afghanistan, L’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan).

Canada remains committed, together with the international community and the Government of Afghanistan, to helping Afghans create a sustainable future, a more peaceful environment that is safe and secure and a country that is well governed and in control of its own destiny.  In July 2016, Canada announced a comprehensive package of $465 million in security and development support to Afghanistan.  

In keeping with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy announced in June 2017, our assistance and activities in Afghanistan prioritizes gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls while also emphasizing human dignity (which entails access to health care, nutrition and education) inclusive governance (gender equality, human rights, rule of law, and capacity building), and peace and security.

Canada is determined to improve the rights of women and girls and their participation in leadership roles which we see as profoundly linked to Afghanistan’s prospects for peace and stability. Lasting gains can only be made with the participation of all members of society.

Canada has a long and proud history of service in Afghanistan, including in Kandahar. This includes the sacrifices of the men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces and our civilian employees.

Like our predecessors, my team and I are passionate about working with the Government of Afghanistan, our partners and most importantly with the people of Afghanistan, to build a peaceful and prosperous future for all Afghans.

François Rivest
Ambassador to Afghanistan

Biography

François Rivest joined the Department of External Affairs and International Trade in 1991

He served twice at the Canadian embassy in Tokyo, including from 2002 to 2006 as program manager and head of the Agriculture and Natural Resources Section, where he also managed the Canadian government offices in Sapporo and Hiroshima.  From 2006 to 2008, he was senior trade commissioner at the Consulate General of Canada in Hong Kong. In 2008, he was appointed consul general of Canada in Guangzhou, China. From 2013 to 2016, he served as minister-counsellor and senior trade commissioner at the Canadian embassy in Mexico City, where he also acted for a period as deputy head of mission.

At Headquarters, Mr. Rivest completed assignments in ministerial outreach, international trade finance, overseas operations and trade policy. In 2016, Mr. Rivest was appointed deputy head of mission and minister-counsellor at the Canadian embassy in Kabul.

Prior to joining the Department, Mr. Rivest served in the Canadian Armed Forces (Air), worked for the City of Winnipeg and for the Canadian Urban Transit Association.

Mr. Rivest holds a Bachelor of Management Science from the University of Ottawa (1983) and an MBA from the University of Manitoba, (1991).

Message de l’ambassadeur

François RivestMerci de visiter notre site. Je vous invite aussi à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux en anglais et en français (Twitter : @CanEmbAFG, @AmbCanAFG; Facebook : Canada’s Engagement in Afghanistan, L’engagement du Canada en Afghanistan).

Le Canada maintient son engagement, en collaboration avec la communauté internationale et le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan, à aider les Afghans à construire un avenir durable, un milieu pacifique et sécuritaire et un pays bien gouverné ayant son destin en main. En juillet 2016, le Canada s’est engagé à verser 465 millions de dollars pour soutenir la sécurité et le développement en Afghanistan.

Conformément à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, annoncée en juin 2017, notre aide et nos activités en Afghanistan privilégient l’égalité entre les sexes et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles, tout en mettant l’accent sur la dignité humaine (à commencer par l’accès à des soins de santé, à des aliments nutritifs et à une éducation de qualité), sur la gouvernance inclusive (égalité entre les sexes, droits de la personne, état de droit et renforcement des capacités) et sur la paix et la sécurité.

Le Canada est déterminé à améliorer les droits des femmes et des filles, ainsi que leur participation dans des rôles de chef de file, que nous considérons comme étroitement liés aux perspectives de paix et de stabilité en l’Afghanistan. Des gains durables ne peuvent être réalisés qu’avec la participation de tous les membres de la société.

Le Canada a une longue et fière histoire de service en Afghanistan, y compris à Kandahar. Cela comprend les sacrifices faits par les hommes et femmes membres des Forces armées canadiennes et par nos employés civils.

Comme nos prédécesseurs, mon équipe et moi sommes enthousiastes à l’idée de collaborer avec le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan, avec nos partenaires et, surtout, avec le peuple afghan à la création d’un avenir pacifique et prospère pour tous les Afghans.

François Rivest
Ambassadeur en Afghanistan

Biographie

François Rivest est entré au Ministère des Affaires extérieures et du Commerce international en 1991.

Il a servi à deux reprises à l'ambassade du Canada à Tokyo, y compris de 2002 à 2006 en tant que gestionnaire de programme et chef de la section de l'agriculture et des ressources naturelles, quand il a aussi géré les bureaux du Gouvernement du Canada à Hiroshima et à Sapporo.  De 2006 à 2008, il a été délégué commercial principal au Consulat général du Canada à Hong Kong. En 2008, il a été nommé consul général du Canada à Guangzhou, République populaire de Chine. De 2013-2016, il a été ministre conseiller et délégué commercial principal à l'ambassade du Canada au Mexique, où il a également agi pour une période en tant que chef de mission adjoint. En 2016, M. Rivest a été nommé chef de mission adjoint et ministre conseiller à l'ambassade du Canada à Kaboul, en Afghanistan.

A la centrale, il a occupé des postes dans le rayonnement ministériel, la finance internationale, dans les opérations à l'étranger, et en politique commerciale.

Avant de se joindre au Ministère, M. Rivest a servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes (air), et a travaillé avec la ville de Winnipeg et avec l’Association canadienne du transport urbain.  

M. Rivest détient un Baccalauréat en Sciences de la gestion de l’Université d’Ottawa (1983) et une maitrise en Administration des Affaires de l’Université du Manitoba (1991).