Fellowships and Internships

Fellowships

There are two types of fellowship programs available to Canadian citizens or permanent residents:

Academic Studies Fellowship

These fellowships are awarded to persons to undertake graduate studies and/or research at a university or higher learning institution in a Member State. (In the past, the self-placed graduate scholarships, as referred to by the OAS Secretariat, were available to Canadian citizens and permanent residents under the PRA Fellowships Program).

Professional Development Fellowship

These fellowships provide opportunities for professional development through short-term courses in specialized areas of training. They are organized through programs of cooperation with member states, observer states, other non-member states, regional or international organizations, public or private agencies, philanthropic or commercial institutions, and institutes of higher learning and other sections of the OAS General Secretariat. Training may be carried out by on-site or by distance education or a combination of both. Canadian students need to apply directly through the International Scholarships. The program is administered by the Canadian Bureau for International Education.

Program of Horizontal Cooperation Fellowships for Training (CHBA)

These fellowships provide opportunities for professional development through short-term courses in specialized areas of training. They are organized through programs of cooperation with member states, observer states, other non-member states, regional or international organizations, public or private agencies, philanthropic or commercial institutions, and institutes of higher learning and other sections of the OAS General Secretariat. Training may be carried out by on-site or by distance education or a combination of both. Canadian students need to apply directly through the International Scholarships. The program is administered by the Canadian Bureau for International Education.

Internships

Citizens or permanent residents of Canada have a number of internship opportunities both at the OAS and at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the OAS.

OAS Internships

Internships are offered by the Office of Personal at the OAS. For further information on these internships, please refer to the OAS web site.

Permanent Mission/Canadian Embassy Internships

Assist the staff of the Permanent Mission in carrying out its duties representing Canada at the Organization of American States. Priority themes may include democratic governance, economic and social development, hemispheric security, human rights, and anti-corruption. The intern will assist in reporting on OAS meetings, including Permanent Council and Permanent Committee meetings, and undertake research related to negotiations of a Social Charter of theAmericas. This internship will allow an intern to gain a unique perspective into the workings of a hemispheric multilateral organization, and a greater understanding of Canada’s role in the OAS.

For information regarding application procedures and requirements, please consult the Canadian Embassy’s Internship Program.

Bourses et stages

Bourses

Il y a deux types de programme de bourses qui sont disponibles aux Canadiens et aux résidents permanents au Canada :

Bourses d'études supérieures

Ces bourses s'adressent à des étudiants désirant poursuivre des études supérieures ou faire de la recherche dans une université ou autre établissement d'enseignement supérieur dans un état membre. (Auparavant, ces bourses d'études supérieures ou de recherche en placement individuel, tel que désigné par le Secrétariat de l’OEA, étaient disponibles aux Canadiens et résidents permanents au Canada sous le nom: Programme de bourses PRA).

Bourses de développement professionnel

Ces bourses offrent des possibilités de développement professionnel par le biais de cours de courte durée dans des domaines spécialisés de formation. Elles sont organisées en partenariat, dans le cadre de programmes de coopération avec les états membres, états observateurs, autres états, organisations régionales ou internationales, agences publiques ou privées, institutions commerciales ou philanthropiques, institutions académiques et autres bureaux du Secrétariat général de l'OEA. La formation peut être offerte sur place ou à distance, ou les deux. Les étudiants canadiens peuvent appliquer directement en consultant le Bourses internationales. Le programme est administré par le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale.

Programme de bourses de recherche pour la formation en coopération horizontale

Les institutions canadiennes peuvent offrir une formation spécialisée aux étudiants provenant des Amériques. Dans le cadre de ce programme, les étudiants canadiens peuvent également suivre des cours offerts par les États membres. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la page « Fellowships » (bourses de recherche) du site de l'OEA.

Stages

Les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents au Canada ont accès à plusieurs possibilités de stage, tant à l'OEA qu'à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l'OEA.

Stages à l'OEA

Assister le personnel de la mission permanente dans l’exercice de ses fonctions de représentation du Canada à l’Organisation des États américains. Les thèmes principaux peuvent comprendre la gouvernance démocratique, le développement économique et social, la sécurité hémisphérique, les droits de la personne et l’élimination de la corruption. Le stagiaire aidera à la préparation des rapports des réunions de l’OEA, notamment les réunions du Conseil permanent et du Comité permanent, et effectuera de la recherche sur les négociations pour une Charte sociale des Amériques. Ce stage fera de l’étudiant un observateur privilégié des rouages d’une organisation multilatérale hémisphérique, et lui permettra de mieux comprendre le rôle du Canada au sein de l’OEA.

Pour plus d'informations concernant les procédures de demande et exigences, s'il vous plaît consulter le Programme de stages de l'ambassade du Canada.