Regional Institutions

Canada maintains relationships with important hemispheric partners and is an active partner in key organizations who share common interests in the Americas.

The Organization of American States (OAS)

Canada joined the Organization of American States (OAS) as a Permanent Observer in 1972 and became a full member on January 8, 1990. Canada remains fully committed to a strong and effective OAS, which serves as the primary political forum for addressing hemispheric challenges. As part of its deepened engagement in the Americas, Canada is working collaboratively with other OAS members to address key hemispheric issues including, democracy, security and human rights.

Since becoming a full member, Canada has made important contributions to the OAS’s collective achievements. Highlights include the establishment of the Inter-American Democratic Charter, which makes democracy an explicit condition of OAS membership and the elaboration of the Declaration on Security in the Americas, which creates a multidimensional security framework for the region. Canada also promoted the establishment of the Unit for Promotion of Democracy within the OAS as a further means of consolidating democratic principles within the region.

Inter-American Development Bank

Canada has been a strong and reliable partner of the Inter-American Development Bank since 1972. Among the IDB’s 48 member states, Canada is the seventh largest shareholder, contributing just over 4 percent of the bank’s ordinary capital. The Canadian government has consistently demonstrated its commitment to the IDB and its goals of reducing poverty and inequality in Latin America and the Caribbean. In 2009, Canada temporarily increased its callable capital at the Bank by $4 billion, to support lending for economic, social and institutional development in the Americas during the global economic crisis. Canada also played a leading role in the negotiations to conclude the IDB’s Ninth General Capital Increase, which was agreed to in 2010. In March 2012, Canada established the Canadian Climate Fund for the Private Sector in the Americas at the IDB, a $250 million fund which is providing concessional financing to advance private sector climate change actions in Latin America and the Caribbean.

In addition, Canada has been a significant contributor to the IDB’s Multilateral Investment Fund (MIF), a leading promoter of microfinance in Latin America and the Caribbean. Since its creation in 1993, the MIF has funded more than 1,700 projects in this region and has financed over $1.1 billion in grants and investments towards private sector development projects. 

Summit of the Americas

The Summit of the Americas brings together the leaders of the 34 democratic countries of the Americas to address common challenges. Through this process, leaders advance a shared agenda for strengthening democracy, human rights, security and prosperity.

Institutions régionales

Le Canada entretient des relations avec des partenaires hémisphériques importants et participe activement aux travaux d’organisations clés avec lesquelles il partage des intérêts communs dans les Amériques.

Organisation des États américains (OEA)

Le Canada a adhéré à l’Organisation des États américains(OEA) à titre d’observateur permanent en 1972, avant d’en devenir membre à part entière le 8 janvier 1990. Il demeure pleinement résolu à œuvrer en faveur d'une OEA forte et efficace, qui serve de forum politique principal pour aborder les enjeux hémisphériques. Dans le cadre de son engagement approfondi dans les Amériques, le Canada collabore avec d’autres États membres de l'OEA sur des enjeux importants pour l'hémisphère, y compris la démocratie, la sécurité et les droits de la personne.

Depuis qu'il est devenu membre à part entière de l’OEA, le Canada apporte une contribution importante aux réalisations collectives de cette organisation. Cela comprend, entre autres, l’adoption de la Charte démocratique interaméricaine, qui fait du respect de la démocratie une condition formelle de l'adhésion à l'OEA. À cela s’ajoute l'élaboration de la Déclaration sur la sécurité dans les Amériques, qui crée un cadre de sécurité multidimensionnel pour la région. Le Canada a aussi plaidé en faveur de la création de l'Unité pour la promotion de la démocratie à l'OEA, en tant que mécanisme permettant de renforcer encore davantage les principes démocratiques dans la région.

Banque interaméricaine de développement

Le Canada est un partenaire solide et fiable de la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID) (anglais) depuis 1972. La BID compte 48 États membres et le Canada en est le septième actionnaire, puisqu’il contribue à hauteur d'un peu plus de 4% à son capital ordinaire. Le gouvernement du Canada a constamment témoigné de son attachement à la BID ainsi qu’à ses objectifs de réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes. En 2009, le Canada a augmenté temporairement, de 4 milliards de dollars, le montant de son capital exigible à la BID. L’objectif était de l’aider à consentir des prêts pour le développement économique, social et institutionnel dans les Amériques pendant la crise économique mondiale. Il a également joué un rôle de premier plan dans les négociations en vue de la neuvième augmentation du capital général de la BID, qui ont abouti en 2010. En mars 2012, notre pays a institué le Fonds canadien de lutte contre les changements climatiques pour le secteur privé dans les Amériques, à la BID. Ce mécanisme, auquel 250 millions de dollars sont affectés, permet d’accorder un financement concessionnel afin de promouvoir les mesures du secteur privé visant à lutter contre les changements climatiques en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes.

De plus, le Canada apporte une contribution importante au Fonds d'investissement multilatéral (FIM) de la BID, l’un des principaux mécanismes de promotion du microfinancement en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes. Depuis sa création en 1993, le FIM a financé plus de 1 700 projets dans cette région. Il a aussi octroyé des subventions et des investissements de plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars à l’appui de projets de développement du secteur privé.

Sommet des Amériques

Le Sommet des Amériques réunit les leaders des 34 pays démocratiques des Amériques qui se penchent sur les moyens de surmonter les défis communs. À cette occasion, les leaders se donnent des pistes communes pour renforcer la démocratie, les droits de la personne, la sécurité et la prospérité.