Canada and the Americas

Canada is a country of the Americas and, as such, we place great value in fostering lasting and meaningful relationships with countries in North America, Latin America and the Caribbean.

The North American relationship

Canada, the United States and Mexico have long collaborated as continental partners in the world’s most prosperous region. Close collaboration between our governments is critical to addressing economic, security and environmental challenges. For more information, see The North American relationship.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Canada values the deep, long-standing relationships that it has with the countries and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as with the region's multilateral organisations. For more information, see Canada and Latin America and the Caribbean.

Canada and the Organization of American States

The Organization of American States (OAS) and inter-American institutions are important multilateral vehicles for advancing Canada's goals of increasing mutual economic opportunity, strengthening security and institutions, and fostering lasting relationships. For more information, see Permanent Mission of Canada to the OAS.

Canada and the Pacific Alliance

The Pacific Alliance is a regional integration initiative created in 2011 by Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru that seeks the free movement of goods, services, capital and people. Canada became the first non-Latin American observer to the Pacific Alliance in 2012 and is committed to deepening its relationship further. For more information, see Canada and the Pacific Alliance.

Venezuela crisis

Canada is deeply concerned by the rapidly deteriorating political and economic crisis in Venezuela and reaffirms its commitment to the promotion and protection of democracy and human rights. More...

Trade Commissioner offices abroad

The Trade Commissioner Service can assist with export advice and provide guidance to help you achieve your international business goals.