Model OAS

What is the Model OAS General Assembly?

(www.moas.oas.org/)

The Model OAS General Assembly (MOAS) is a program of the Organization of American States (OAS) that is designed to promote democratic values among the youth of the hemisphere. Organized by the Department of International Affairs (DIA) of the OAS Secretariat for External Relations, the MOAS comprises a simulation exercise in which students represent a member state of the OAS General Assembly and negotiate resolutions to promote democracy, human rights, hemispheric security and development in the Americas. This hands-on experience seeks to familiarize students, faculty and academic institutions with the work of the OAS and its member states, while reinforcing the Organization’s role as the premier political forum in the hemisphere.

The MOAS program began in 1980 as a purely U.S.-based event, and has since expanded to include students from countries of the Americas. Participating in this exercise gives students the tools they need to develop negotiation, leadership and communication skills, which are key components in the practice of representative democracy.

The MOAS program seeks to reach as many students as possible through the organization of model assemblies in OAS member states. There are two kinds of models, one for high schools and another for universities. The high school MOAS is held annually at OAS headquarters in Washington DC, at the end of November. Participation is open to high schools of OAS member states. Meetings are conducted in English.

The MOAS for universities is more widespread, with several now being annually:

  • The Washington MOAS (WMOAS) is held in Washington DC every April and is conducted in English. Participation is open to universities of OAS member states.
  • The MOAS abroad can be held in any OAS member country that offers to host it, and can be sponsored by a government, a university or an NGO. Generally, it is conducted in the language of the host country, unless the sponsoring entity is able to provide translation services. MOAS abroad may be national, international (invitations are sent to all OAS member states), or sub-regional (for universities in a particular region such as North America, Central America, Southern Cone, Andean Region or CARICOM).

The MOAS is held immediately before the OAS General Assembly, with the purpose of familiarizing the youth and the citizens of that country or region with the priorities of the Inter-American Agenda. The MOAS may be national or international.

Recent MOAS for universities have been held in Edmonton, Canada (2000); San Martin de los Andes, Argentina (2001); Queretaro, Mexico (2003); Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (2006); Barranquilla, Colombia (2006); Buenos Aires, Argentina (2007); Medellin, Colombia (2008-National); Santiago, Chile (2008); and San Pedro Sula, Honduras (2009).

Some MOAS Accomplishments:

  • An average of 1,500 students per year attend the MOAS exercises.
  • Many colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, and Latin America have developed a rich course curriculum based on the MOAS. Some universities borrow the model’s name for their courses, while others offer seminars based on the MOAS within their faculties of Latin American studies, international studies, political science, government, history or other related programs. Universities offering these courses include: Université de Sherbrooke (Canada); Grant MacEwan College (Canada); College of Charleston (U.S.); Baylor University (U.S.); College of Notre Dame of Maryland (U.S.); Frostburg State University (U.S.); Plattsburgh University (U.S.); University of the District of Columbia (U.S.); University of Maryland University College (U.S.); Universidad Francisco Marroquin (Guatemala); Universidad del Norte (Paraguay); Universidad Nacional de la Matanza (Argentina), among others.
  • The MOAS for universities held immediately before the OAS General Assembly in the host country have enjoyed extensive local media coverage, thereby successfully raising the MOAS profile among the youth and the general population of those countries and highlighting the main issues in the hemisphere and the role and mission of the OAS. In addition, they provide a “rehearsal” for the host countries as they prepare to host the actual General Assembly.
  • The MOAS program is a valuable tool for the development of negotiation, leadership and communications skills, as well as a networking source for teachers and students in the Americas.
  • Resolutions approved by the students during the MOAS are presented during the OAS General Assembly by a student chosen by his/her peers, thus making the youths’ perspective known.
  • For more information regarding the MOAS program, as well as past and upcoming models, visit www.moas.oas.org. A tutorial CD to help faculty and students prepare for the MOAS is also available on the site.
     

Contact Information:

Irene Klinger
Director, Department of International Affairs (DIA)
Secretariat for External Relations (SER)
Organization of American States
17th & Constitution Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Email: moas@oas.org
Phone: 202-458-6897

Simulation de l'Assemblée générale de l'OEA

Programme de simulation de l’Assemblée générale de l’Organisation des États Américains

(www.moas.oas.org/)

Le programme de simulation de l’Assemblée générale de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) vise à sensibiliser les jeunes du continent américain aux valeurs démocratiques. Dans le cadre de ces simulations organisées par le Département des affaires internationales et le Secrétariat des relations extérieures de l’OEA, les étudiants sont appelés à représenter un État membre et à négocier des résolutions visant à promouvoir la démocratie, le respect des droits de la personne, la sécurité et le développement sur le continent américain. Cette expérience pratique leur permet, de même qu’aux professeurs et aux établissements d’enseignement participants, de se familiariser avec le travail accompli par les États membres de l’OEA, principal cadre de dialogue politique panaméricain.

Lors de la mise sur pied du programme en 1980, les simulations ne regroupaient que des participants des États-Unis. Elles s’adressent désormais à des étudiants de tout le continent, qui ont ainsi la chance d’acquérir des compétences en négociation, en leadership et en communication, compétences essentielles à l’exercice de la démocratie représentative.

Des assemblées modèle sont organisées dans différents États membres afin qu’un maximum de personnes aient la chance d’y participer. Il existe deux types de simulations. Celles du premier type, qui s’adressent aux écoles secondaires, ont lieu tous les ans vers la fin novembre, au siège de l’OEA à Washington, et elles se déroulent en anglais. Toutes les écoles secondaires des pays membres y sont les bienvenues.

Les simulations à l’intention des universités sont de plus grande envergure. Plusieurs d’entre elles ont d’ailleurs lieu chaque année.

  • L’Assemblée modèle de Washington se déroule en anglais, tous les mois d’avril. Toutes les universités des pays membres y sont les bienvenues.
  • Les pays membres qui le désirent peuvent être l’hôte d’une simulation, dont l’organisation peut être appuyée financièrement par le gouvernement, par une université ou par une organisation non gouvernementale. Généralement, les délibérations ont lieu dans la langue du pays hôte, à moins que le commanditaire soit en mesure d’offrir des services de traduction. Les simulations peuvent être de portée nationale, internationale (pour les universités de tous les pays membres de l’OEA) ou infrarégionale (pour les universités d’une région en particulier, comme l’Amérique du Nord, l’Amérique centrale, le Cône sud, la région des Andes ou la Communauté des Caraïbes).

Les simulations, nationales ou internationales, qui ont lieu immédiatement avant l’Assemblée générale de l’OEA, visent à familiariser les jeunes et les citoyens du pays ou de la région hôte avec les priorités de l’Amérique.

Des assemblées modèles à l’intention des universités ont eu lieu récemment à Edmonton, au Canada (2000), à San Martin de los Andes, en Argentine (2001), à Queretaro, au Mexique (2003), à Saint-Domingue, en République dominicaine (2006), à Baranquilla, en Colombie (2008), à Buenos Aires, en Argentine (2007), à Medellin, en Colombie (2008-nationale), à Santiago, au Chili (2008) ainsi qu’à San Pedro Sula, au Honduras (2009).
 

Faits saillants

  • En moyenne, 1 500 étudiants participent chaque année à une simulation de l’Assemblée générale de l’OEA.
  • Bon nombre de collèges et d’universités des États-Unis, du Canada et d’Amérique latine ont élaboré un programme d’enseignement exhaustif à partir des simulations. D’autres ont donné le nom de la simulation à certains de leurs cours, tandis que d’autres offrent des séminaires qui s’en inspirent dans le cadre de leur programme d’études latino-américaines, d’études internationales, de science politique, de gouvernance, d’histoire ou autres. Parmi ces établissements, mentionnons entre autres l’Université de Sherbrooke (Canada), le College Grant MacEwan (Canada), le College of Charleston (États-Unis), la Baylor University (États-Unis), le College of Notre Dame of Maryland (États-Unis), la Frostburg State University (États-Unis), la Plattsburgh University (États-Unis), la University of the District of Columbia (États-Unis), la University of Maryland University College (États-Unis), l’Universidad Francisco Marroquin (Guatemala), l’Universidad del Norte (Paraguay) et l’Universidad Nacional de la Matanza (Argentine).
  • Les simulations à l’intention des universités qui sont organisées immédiatement avant l’Assemblée générale, dans le pays hôte, jouissent d’une importante couverture médiatique à l’échelle locale, ce qui contribue à les faire connaître auprès des jeunes et de la population du pays en général. Elles mettent également en lumière les principaux enjeux qui touchent le continent de même que le mandat de l’OEA. De plus, elles permettent aux pays hôtes de bien se préparer en vue de l’Assemblée générale en tant que telle.
  • Le programme de simulation contribue grandement au développement des compétences en négociation, en leadership et en communication, en plus d’offrir d’excellentes occasions de faire du réseautage avec des professeurs et des étudiants du continent.
  • Les résolutions adoptées sont présentées à l’Assemblée générale de l’OEA par un étudiant choisi par ses pairs, ce qui sensibilise les dirigeants au point de vue des jeunes.
  • Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, ainsi que sur des simulations antérieures ou à venir, visiter le site Web www.moas.oas.org. Les professeurs et les étudiants peuvent également y commander un tutoriel sur CD-ROM qui les aidera à se préparer adéquatement en vue d’une assemblée modèle.

Personne-ressource

Irene Klinger
Directrice, Département des affaires internationales
Secrétariat des relations extérieures
Organisation des États américains
Angle de la 17th Street et de la Constitution Avenue, New York
Washington, D.C. 20006

Courriel : moas@oas.org
Téléphone : 202-458-6897