Goal 2: Strengthening Security and Institutions

Insecurity in the Americas threatens stability, democracy and social and economic development in the hemisphere and at the same time has a direct impact on Canada and Canadians. Canada is deepening cooperation with partners in the Americas to strengthen security, reduce vulnerability to threats and address pressing development challenges. Canada’s engagement aims to ensure reliable institutions that citizens can trust and with which we can collaborate and, promote sustainable and inclusive economic growth.

Highlights:

  • Canada has contributed to the training of more than 4,000 military personnel from the Americas through the Military Training Cooperation Programme, thereby assisting the transformation of hemispheric armed forces and security forces into transparent and accountable institutions.
  • Canada has supported fair, transparent and inclusive elections in the Americas through Canadian contributions to more than 50 electoral observation missions of the Organization of American States.
  • Canada is addressing social and economic development challenges in the Americas such as food security in Central America, maternal, newborn and child health in Haiti, the rights and protection of children and youth in Colombia and education in Peru.
  • Canada provided more than $12.5 million to the Americas in 2013-2014 in response to complex emergencies and natural disasters to ensure basic human needs were met, such as physical security, food, water, health care, and shelter.
  • Canada is supporting the Regional Security System of the Eastern Caribbean (RSS) Air Wing, which will enhance the capacity of the RSS to conduct counter illicit drug trafficking operations in the Eastern Caribbean.

You may also be interested in...

Deuxième but: Renforcer la sécurité et les institutions

L’insécurité dans les Amériques menace la stabilité, la démocratie ainsi que le développement social et économique dans l’hémisphère et a, par le fait même, une incidence directe sur le Canada et les Canadiens. Le Canada collabore étroitement avec des partenaires dans les Amériques afin de renforcer la sécurité, de réduire la vulnérabilité aux menaces et de s’attaquer aux défis de développement pressants. Le Canada est déterminé à garantir des établissements fiables dans lesquels les citoyens peuvent avoir confiance et avec lesquels ils peuvent collaborer, ainsi qu’à favoriser une croissance économique durable et inclusive.

Points saillants

  • Le Canada a contribué à la formation de plus de 4 000 militaires dans les Amériques par l’entremise du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires, aidant ainsi à faire des forces armées et des forces de sécurité de l’hémisphère des institutions transparentes et responsables.

  • Le Canada a appuyé la tenue d’élections justes, transparentes et inclusives dans les Amériques en contribuant à plus de 50 missions d’observation électorale parrainées par l’Organisation des États américains.

  • Le Canada a versé plus de 12,5 millions de dollars aux Amériques en 2013-2014 en réponse aux catastrophes naturelles et aux situations d’urgence complexes afin de s’assurer que les besoins fondamentaux sont comblés (p. ex. sécurité physique, nourriture, eau, soins de santé et abris).

  • Le Canada soutient l’escadre aérienne du Système régional de sécurité (SRS) des Caraïbes orientales, qui améliorera la capacité du SRS à lutter contre le trafic illicite des drogues dans les Caraïbes orientales.

Autres liens d’intérêt