Canada’s Strategy for Engagement in the Americas

A whole-of-government approach toward a more prosperous, secure and democratic hemisphere.

Since 2007, Canada has invested more than $4 billion in total international assistance in Latin America and the Caribbean. More than 30 federal partners are advancing the Strategy’s three goals and 16 objectives to deepen Canada’s engagement in the region.

Canada's Strategy
(Eng PDF 298 Kb | Portuguese PDF 283 Kb | Spanish PDF 283 Kb)

"We are a country of the Americas. [Engagement] in our hemisphere is a critical international priority for our government. Canada is committed to playing a bigger role in the Americas and to doing so for the long term.” – Prime Minister Stephen Harper (Santiago de Chile, July 2007)

Goal 1: Increasing Canadian and hemispheric economic opportunity

Construction workers
  • Canada views increased engagement through trade and commercial-economic ties as one of the best ways to promote sustainable economic growth in the Americas. Since 2007, bilateral trade has increased over 34 percent, Canadian direct investment in the region has grown over 58 percent, and in 2012 nearly 55 percent of all Canadian mining assets outside of Canada were located in the Americas.
  • We are working with our trading partners to open new markets, thereby creating opportunities for businesses and jobs in Canada and across the hemisphere. Canada has concluded or brought into force more free trade agreements with countries in the Americas than anywhere else in the world.
  • We are working with partner governments and the Canadian extractive industry to promote responsible natural resource management and business practices for sustainable and inclusive economic growth.

Goal 2: Addressing insecurity and advancing freedom, democracy, human rights and the rule of law

Construction workers
  • Canada is concerned by rising insecurity in parts of the Americas (Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean) as it poses direct threats not only to our friends and neighbours across the hemisphere, but also to Canadians and Canadian interests.
  • With new security and defence cooperation arrangements and millions of dollars invested in security programming, development projects and humanitarian aid, we are increasing security and improving socio-economic conditions for the most vulnerable groups in the region.
  • Through our capacity-building work, we are improving the professionalism and accountability of public institutions and helping them to be responsive to the needs of their citizens. Canada has supported more than 50 Organization of American States electoral observation missions throughout the hemisphere since 2009.

Goal 3: Fostering lasting relationships

Construction workers
  • Canada places great value on strengthening bilateral and multilateral relations throughout the hemisphere across government, the private sector, civil society, academia and communities. Building these relationships across borders strengthens our mutual understanding and cooperation.
  • There have been more than 200 Canadian high-level visits to the Americas since 2007, directly accelerating progress on initiatives that benefit both Canadians and partners in the region. We are developing valuable links with leaders of tomorrow through education, art, culture and sport. In 2012, more than 18,000 students from Latin America and the Caribbean were studying in Canada.
  • Athletes and visitors from across the Americas will come to Toronto in the summer of 2015 for the Pan American/Parapan American Games. In the lead up to and during the Games, we will seize opportunities to strengthen people-to-people ties across all sectors.

Stratégie d’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques

Une approche pangouvernementale pour un hémisphère plus prospère, sécuritaire et démocratique.

Depuis 2007, le Canada a investi plus de 4 milliards de dollars en aide internationale dans les pays d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. Plus de 30 partenaires fédéraux poursuivent les trois buts et les 16 objectifs de la Stratégie afin de renforcer l’engagement du Canada dans la région.

La strategie du Canada
(PDF français 282 Kb | PDF - em português 283 Kb | PDF - en español 283 Kb)

“Nous sommes un pays des Amériques. [L’engagement] dans notre hémisphère est une priorité internationale essentielle de notre gouvernement. Le Canada est résolu à jouer à long terme un plus grand rôle dans les Amériques.“ - Le premier ministre Stephen Harper (Santiago, Chili, juillet 2007)

1er but : Accroître les possibilités économiques au Canada et dans l’hémisphère

Travailleur de la construction
  • Le Canada croit qu’un engagement accru s’appuyant sur des liens commerciaux et économiques est l’un des meilleurs moyens d’encourager une croissance économique durable dans les Amériques. Depuis 2007, le commerce bilatéral a augmenté de plus de 34 pour cent, l’investissement direct canadien dans la région s’est accru de plus de 58 pour cent et, en 2012, près de 55 pour cent de tous les actifs miniers canadiens à l’extérieur du pays se trouvaient dans les Amériques.
  • Nous collaborons avec nos partenaires commerciaux afin d’ouvrir de nouveaux marchés et ainsi créer des occasions d’affaires et des possibilités d’emploi au Canada et à travers l’hémisphère. Le Canada a conclu ou mis en oeuvre un plus grand nombre d’accords de libre-échange avec les pays des Amériques qu’avec tous les autres pays.
  • De concert avec les gouvernements partenaires et l’industrie extractive canadienne, nous travaillons à promouvoir des comportements responsables en matière de gestion des ressources naturelles et de pratiques commerciales afin d’assurer une croissance économique durable et inclusive.

2er but : Lutter contre l’insécurité et promouvoir la liberté, la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit

Soldat et enfant
  • Le Canada est préoccupé par l’insécurité croissante dans certaines régions des Amériques (au Mexique, en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes), car elle représente une menace directe non seulement pour nos amis et voisins de l’hémisphère, mais aussi pour les Canadiens et pour les intérêts canadiens.
  • Au moyen des nouveaux accords de coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense ainsi que des millions de dollars investis dans des initiatives de sécurité, des projets de développement et de l’aide humanitaire, nous augmentons la sécurité et améliorons les conditions socioéconomiques des groupes les plus vulnérables de la région.
  • Par nos efforts de renforcement des capacités, nous contribuons à accroître le professionnalisme et la responsabilisation des institutions publiques, et nous les aidons à mieux répondre aux besoins de leur population. Depuis 2009, le Canada a appuyé plus de 50 missions d’observation électorale de l’Organisation des États américains partout dans l’hémisphère.

3er but : Favoriser des relations durables

Enfants
  • Le Canada accorde une grande importance au renforcement des relations bilatérales et multilatérales entre les États, le secteur privé, la société civile, le milieu universitaire et les collectivités, et ce, partout dans l’hémisphère. En consolidant ces relations par-delà les frontières, nous renforçons notre compréhension mutuelle et notre coopération.
  • Depuis 2007, des représentants du Canada ont effectué plus de 200 visites de haut niveau dans les Amériques, faisant directement progresser des initiatives qui profitent aux Canadiens et à nos partenaires dans la région. Nous développons des liens précieux avec les meneurs de demain par le truchement de l’éducation, de l’art, de la culture et du sport. En 2012, plus de 18 000 étudiants de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes poursuivaient des études au Canada.
  • Des athlètes et des visiteurs de partout dans les Amériques viendront à Toronto pendant l’été 2015 à l’occasion des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains. Avant et pendant les jeux, nous allons saisir les occasions qui nous seront offertes pour consolider les liens interpersonnels dans tous les secteurs.