Statement of the third meeting of the Lima Group on the situation in Venezuela

Spanish version

(unofficial translation)

October 26, 2017

The foreign ministers and representatives of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay and Peru gathered in Toronto on October 26, 2017, to continue their evaluation of the situation in Venezuela:

1. reiterate their rejection of the obstacles and the acts of intimidation, manipulation, social coercion and influencing of the vote, among other irregularities, that characterized the regional elections held in Venezuela on October 15 and consider the review of the electoral system to be urgent, including, in particular, the renewal of the Consejo Nacional Electoral [national electoral council] with members appointed by the Asamblea Nacional [national assembly] and the issuance of a new electoral calendar, which should be overseen by independent electoral observers.

2. demand the immediate release of all political prisoners in Venezuela and the end of arbitrary measures that disqualify political opposition leaders, as well as restrict their free movement.

3. reaffirm their decision not to recognize the acts emanating from the national constituent assembly and reiterate their firm support of the democratically elected national assembly.

4. deplore that the Government of Venezuela does not allow international assistance to help meet the basic needs of the population, in particular health care and food, when the international community is bearing witness to the worsening humanitarian crisis in the country. According to trusted sources, child malnutrition has reached 11.4% (equivalent to a state of crisis, according to global standards), the primary school dropout rate has increased by 45% and the cost of the basic food basket has increased by 343% in the last year. Regarding health, 85% of persons requiring medicines can no longer find them, and diseases like malaria, thought to have been eradicated until 2014, have increased by 76%.

5. call on the United Nations and the Secretary-General to address this crisis and the ongoing human rights violations, and entrust the foreign ministers of Canada and Peru with conveying this to the Secretary-General.

6. express their concern over the exodus of thousands of Venezuelans, a situation that continues to worsen and represents an enormous challenge for the countries of the region, especially those bordering Venezuela.

7. declare that a negotiated agreement between both parties, with the support of the international community and in compliance with the conditions previously sought by the opposition, is the only peaceful solution to the current crisis; reiterate their willingness to support all efforts of credible negotiations undertaken in good faith; and urge the various opposition groups to maintain their unity, with a common platform, as an essential condition to reaching a solution to the crisis in Venezuela.

8. reaffirm their commitment, at the level of foreign ministers, to remain vigilant about the situation in Venezuela and to adopt appropriate measures, either individually or collectively, to promote the full restoration of rule of law and democratic order in that country.

9. decide to meet in Chile in January 2018.

Déclaration de la troisième rencontre du Groupe de Lima sur la situation au Venezuela

Version espagnole

(traduction non officielle)

Le 26 octobre 2017

Les ministres des Affaires étrangères et les représentants de l’Argentine, du Brésil, du Canada, du Chili, de la Colombie, du Costa Rica, du Guatemala, du Honduras, du Mexique, du Panama, du Paraguay et du Pérou, qui se sont rencontrés à Toronto le 26 octobre 2017 afin de poursuivre leur évaluation de la situation au Venezuela :

1. réitèrent leur condamnation des obstacles, des actes d’intimidation, de manipulation, de coercition sociale et d’influence du vote, qui figurent parmi les irrégularités qui ont caractérisé les élections régionales tenues au Venezuela, le 15 octobre; et sont d’avis que le système électoral doit être révisé de façon urgente, notamment et particulièrement la restructuration du Consejo Nacional Electoral [conseil électoral national] avec des membres nommés par l’Asamblea Nacional [assemblée nationale] et l’établissement d’un nouveau calendrier électoral qui doit faire l’objet d’un encadrement de la part d’observateurs électoraux indépendants;

2. demandent la libération immédiate de tous les prisonniers politiques au Venezuela et la fin des mesures arbitraires visant à disqualifier les leaders politiques de l’opposition ainsi que des restrictions entourant leur libre mouvement;

3. réaffirment leur décision de ne reconnaître aucune mesure prise par l’Asamblea Nacional Constituyente [assemblée nationale constituante] et réitèrent leur appui ferme à l’assemblée nationale élue démocratiquement;

4. déplorent que le gouvernement du Venezuela ne permette pas l’accès à l’aide internationale afin de satisfaire aux besoins fondamentaux de la population, en particulier en matière de santé et d’approvisionnement alimentaire alors que la communauté internationale est témoin de la crise humanitaire qui s’accentue dans le pays . Selon des sources fiables, la malnutrition infantile a atteint 11,4 % (équivalant à un état de crise selon les normes mondiales), l’abandon scolaire au niveau primaire a augmenté de 45 % et le coût du panier alimentaire de base a augmenté de 343 % au cours de la dernière année. En matière de santé, 85 % des personnes ayant besoin de médicaments ne parviennent pas à se les procurer et les maladies telles que le paludisme, que l’on croyait avoir été éradiquées depuis 2014, ont augmenté de 76 %;

5. demandent aux Nations Unies et au secrétaire général de répondre à la crise et aux violations continues des droits de la personne, et chargent les ministres des Affaires étrangères du Canada et du Pérou d’en faire part au secrétaire général;

6. expriment leurs préoccupations relatives à l’exode de milliers de Vénézuéliens, une situation qui continue de se dégrader et qui représente un défi immense pour les pays de la région, en particulier les pays voisins du Venezuela;

7. déclarent qu’un accord négocié entre les deux parties, recevant l’appui de la communauté internationale et respectant les conditions préalablement posées par l’opposition, est la seule issue pacifique possible à la crise actuelle; réitèrent leur volonté d’appuyer tout effort de négociation crédible entrepris de bonne foi; exhortent les différents groupes d’opposition à demeurer unis et avec une plateforme commune, comme étant une condition essentielle à la résolution de la crise vénézuélienne;

8. réaffirment leur engagement à demeurer vigilant à propos de la situation au Venezuela à l’échelle des ministres des Affaires étrangères et à adopter des mesures appropriées, individuellement ou collectivement, afin de promouvoir le rétablissement de l’état de droit et de l’ordre démocratique dans ce pays;

9. décident de se réunir au Chili en janvier 2018.