Working with the Organization of American States to register voters in Haiti

The January 2010 earthquake in Haiti erased the identities of thousands of citizens and destroyed any official records that might have existed. Worse still, thousands of potential voters had never been registered or even counted in the Government of Haiti's civil registry.  Without recognized identities, citizens cannot participate in the economic, political, and democratic life of their communities or their country including: getting a job, owning property, opening a bank account, or attending university.

Marie-Claude Delson, a street vendor who sells spices, explains:

"You need the national ID card to do your banking and to do business. If you do not have the card, don't bother going to the bank or hope to get a small loan."

To help resolve this challenge, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), in partnership with the Organization of American States (OAS), is engaged in a project to strengthen Haiti's National Identification Office and modernize its capacity to establish a national identification and registration system that is permanent, universally accessible, secure, and non-discriminatory.

So far, 85 percent of eligible voters, or 4.9 million Haitians, have been registered on the voters' list. Many Haitian public servants have been trained to use new technology as part of this initiative.  This includes scanning millions of hard-copy documents so they are more accessible and can be used electronically, giving Haitians improved and expanded access to government services. Updating the civil registry has also been crucial for effective policy planning by the Haitian government.

Travailler de concert avec l’Organisation des États américains pour procéder à l’inscription des électeurs en Haïti

Avec le tremblement de terre de janvier 2010 en Haïti, l'identité de milliers de citoyens s'est volatilisée et les actes officiels, quand ils existaient, ont disparu. Pire, des milliers d'électeurs potentiels n’ont jamais été inscrits, voire comptabilisés, dans le registre civil de l'État haïtien. Sans identité reconnue, un citoyen ne peut participer à la vie économique, politique et démocratique de sa propre communauté ou de son pays, incluant la recherche d’un emploi, l’acquisition de titres de propriété, l’ouverture d’un compte bancaire, ou la fréquentation d’une université.

Comme l'explique Marie-Claude Delson, vendeuse d'épices sur le trottoir :

« La carte d'identité nationale est importante pour des services bancaires et aussi pour faire des affaires. Si tu n'as pas de carte, inutile d'aller à la banque ou espérer avoir un petit prêt ».

Afin de contribuer à résoudre cette problématique, l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), en partenariat avec l'Organisation des États américains (OEA), participe à un projet visant à renforcer l'Office national d'identification haïtien et à moderniser sa capacité d'établir un système d'identification et d'enregistrement national permanent, universellement accessible, sécuritaire et non discriminatoire.

Jusqu’à présent, ce sont plus de 4.9 millions d'Haïtiens, soit 85 % de la population ayant le droit de voter, qui ont été inscrits sur la liste électorale. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, plusieurs fonctionnaires haïtiens ont reçu une formation relative à l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies, y compris en ce qui a trait à la numérisation de millions de documents papier afin d’en accroître leur accessibilité et leur utilisation en format électronique. Grâce à ce processus, la population haïtienne a maintenant un meilleur accès aux services gouvernementaux. Pour le gouvernement haïtien, la mise à jour du registre civil est aussi cruciale pour mieux planifier ses politiques.