The Canadian International Centre for the Arctic Region

As part of Canada's Arctic foreign policy, a dedicated Canadian International Centre for the Arctic Region (CICAR) was established in 2009. CICAR is located in the Canadian Embassy in Oslo, Norway and has a network of officers at Canada’s embassies in North America, Europe and Asia. 

Working in partnership with Canadian missions and other departments and agencies in Canada, the Centre's objective is to act as an arm of DFAIT’s Circumpolar Affairs division to advance Canada’s Arctic Foreign Policy.

The Centre offers strategic advice to inform Canada’s Arctic advocacy, foreign policy directions and actions. It also strengthens and coordinates regional engagement with Arctic state partners and beyond. With the interest in Arctic growing exponentially,  the Centre supports and works closely with Canadian missions in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Russia and the United States, as well as throughout Europe and increasingly in Asia.

The Centre pursues four specific objectives:

1)      to contribute to the development and implementation of a comprehensive Canadian Arctic foreign policy, including strengthened regional engagement,

2)      to support the identification of targeted, innovative trade and commercial opportunities for the North, including and benefiting Northerners;

3)      to help position Canada as a global leader in Arctic science and research; and

4)      to assert Canadian positions and contribute to raising Canada's profile on Northern issues, through an active advocacy strategy involving Northern participation.

Le Centre International Canadien pour la Région de l’Arctique

Dans le cadre de la politique étrangère du Canada sur l’Arctique, un Centre international canadien pour la région de l’Arctique a été établi en 2009. Le Centre se trouve dans les locaux de l’ambassade du Canada à Oslo, en Norvège et compte sur un réseau d’agents situés dans des ambassades du Canada en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. 

En travaillant en partenariat avec les missions canadiennes et d’autres ministères et agences au Canada, le Centre a pour objectif de servir d’antenne à la Direction des affaires circumpolaires du MAECI en vue de promouvoir la politique étrangère du Canada sur l’Arctique. 

Le Centre prodigue des conseils stratégiques qui contribuent à la prise de mesures et aux orientations adoptées en matière de politique étrangère et de promotion de l’Arctique. Par ailleurs, il renforce et coordonne les activités menées à l’échelle régionale avec nos partenaires de l’Arctique et d’autres États. L’Arctique suscitant un intérêt de plus en plus prononcé, le Centre apporte appui et collaboration aux missions du Canada au Danemark, en Finlande, en Islande, en Norvège, en Suède, en Russie, aux États-Unis ainsi que partout en Europe et de plus en plus en Asie. 

Le Centre a quatre objectifs précis : 

1)    concourir à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’une politique étrangère de portée générale à l’égard de l’Arctique, qui prévoit notamment une participation accrue à l’échelle régionale;

2)    contribuer à trouver des débouchés commerciaux ciblés et nouveaux pour le Nord, qui incluront les habitants du Nord et leur permettront d'en tirer profit;

3)    aider à présenter le Canada comme un chef de file mondial en matière de science et de recherche relatives à l’Arctique;

4)    exposer les positions du Canada et contribuer à faire mieux connaître ses vues sur les enjeux liés au Nord, grâce à une stratégie active de défense des intérêts comprenant une participation dans le Nord.