Canada in Action

Canada and the Arctic: Diplomacy in Action

  • Commemorating the Canadian Arctic Expedition in North Dakota

    Canadian Arctic Expedition in North Dakota

    2014-01-31 - Canada has significant scientific ties to the Arctic, dating back to 1913 when the Canada launched the Canadian Arctic Expedition (CAE): the first multinational, multidisciplinary, systematic study of the Arctic.

  • Celebrating the Arctic in Poland

    Celebrating the Arctic in Poland

    2013-12-16 - The Embassy of Canada in Poland has displayed an exhibition of photography and art to celebrate the indigenous cultures of the North and to mark Canada’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council.

  • The Canadian Cultural Centre in France pays tribute to the great Inuit artist Kenojuak Ashevak

    Art by Inuit artists Kenojuak Ashevak

    2013-08-08 - The Canadian Cultural Centre presents, for the first time in France, a solo exhibition by one of the greatest Inuit artists, Kenojuak Ashevak, who was a key figure in the famous Inuit artists’ cooperative in Cape Dorset. The exhibition “Fantastic Kenojuak Ashevak” brings together 40 works from the private collection of Claude Baud, the French collector of Inuit art.

  • The Embassy of Canada to Finland marks Sami National Day with indigenous education experts

    Canadian Embassy in Finland

    2013-08-08 - The revitalization of the Sámi language in Finland was a key element in maintaining and celebrating the Sámi culture. Finland’s effort in this field is an important success story, offering comprehensive education in the Sámi language. Sámi youth are increasingly growing up in cities outside of their homeland, it is becoming a challenge to ensure that the Sámi language and culture is passed on from one generation to the next. Canada plans to continue its engagement with Finnish groups and share cross-cultural learning on Indigenous education efforts and strategies.

  • Virtual Inuit Art Gallery at the Embassy of Canada to the Netherlands

    Virtual Inuit Art Gallery

    2013-07-24 - The Embassy of Canada to the Netherlands has opened its art collection to the public through a virtual art gallery. This selection of beautiful works from renowned Inuit artists is an opportunity to discover aspects of life in Canada's North.

  • The Official Opening of "The Accessible Arctic" exhibit in Washington, DC

    The Accessible Arctic exhibit

    2013-04-16 - The Embassy of Canada and Foreign Policy at Brookings co-hosted a reception and dinner in celebration of the official opening of the Embassy's Arctic Room and new gallery exhibit entitled The Accessible Arctic. The evening also served as a kick-off to the Brookings conference: The Arctic - Energy, Indigenous Communities and Governance

Le Canada en action

Le Canada et l'Arctique: la diplomatie à l'oeuvre

  • Commémoration au Dakota du Nord de l’expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique

    Commémoration l’expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique

    2014-01-31 - L’intérêt scientifique porté par le Canada à l’Arctique remonte à 1913, année de l’Expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique (ECA), première étude multinationale et pluridisciplinaire approfondie de cette région.

  • L’Arctique à l’honneur en Pologne

    L’Arctique à l’honneur en Pologne

    2013-12-16 - Une exposition de photographies et d’œuvres d’art est présentée à l’ambassade du Canada en Pologne en hommage aux cultures autochtones du Nord et pour souligner la présidence du Canada au Conseil de l’Arctique.

  • Le Centre culturel canadien présenté en hommage à l’artiste Kenojuak Ashevak

    Art inuit par Kenojuak Ashevak

    2013-08-08 - Le Centre culturel canadien présente, pour la première fois en France, une exposition personnelle de l’une des plus grandes artistes inuit, Kenojuak Ashevak, figure majeure de la célèbre coopérative artistique inuit de Cape Dorset. L’exposition « Fantastique Kenojuak Ashevak » réunit 40 œuvres empruntées à la collection personnelle de Claude Baud, ce collectionneur français passionné d’art inuit

  • Discussions Canada-Finlande sur l’éducation à l’occasion de la Fête des Lapons

    Ambassade du Canada en Finlande

    2013-08-08 - La revitalisation de la langue lapone en Finlande s’était avérée essentielle à la préservation et la glorification de la culture lapone. Aujourd’hui, les écoles situées en territoire lapon dans le nord de la Finlande offrent un enseignement complet dans cette langue. Cependant, puisque les jeunes Lapons sont de plus en plus nombreux à grandir en ville, loin des terres traditionnelles, il devient difficile de transmettre la langue et la culture lapones d’une génération à la suivante. Le Canada entend maintenir le dialogue avec les populations finnoises et partager ses connaissances interculturelles sur les efforts et les stratégies d’enseignement aux populations autochtones.

  • Galerie d'art inuit virtuelle à l'Ambassade du Canada aux Pays-Bas

    Galerie d'art inuit

    2013-07-24 - L'Ambassade du Canada aux Pays-Bas présente sa collection au public par le biais de cette galerie d'art virtuelle. Les magnifiques œuvres d'art d'artistes inuits renommés qui ont été choisies font découvrir différents aspects de la vie dans le Nord.

  • L’ouverture officielle d’exposition « L’arctique Accessible » à Washington, DC

    l’exposition L’arctique Accessible

    2013-04-16 - L’ambassade du Canada et le département des affaires étrangères de l’institut Brookings conviaient leurs invités à une réception et un dîner pour célébrer l’ouverture officielle du Salon Arctique, ainsi qu’une nouvelle exposition intitulée « L’arctique Accessible ». La soirée servait aussi d’ouverture pour la conférence « The Arctic - Energy, Indigenous Communities and Governance ».