International Collaboration

Continental shelf delineation is an orderly and lengthy process prescribed by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea that is being followed by coastal states all over the world, including by Arctic Ocean coastal states.

In addition to the joint scientific surveys undertaken with Denmark and the US, Canadian, Russian and Danish scientists have been meeting annually since 2007 to discuss issues related to the continental shelf. The most recent meeting, hosted by Denmark in Copenhagen in November 2011, included scientists and officials from all five Arctic Ocean coastal states. The US hosted the following meeting in November 2012.

It is possible that some submarine features will be part of the continental shelf submissions of several states. For example, Canada’s submission to the Commission will include portions of the Lomonosov Ridge. The inclusion of portions of the Lomonosov Ridge in a Canadian submission does not preclude other states such as Russia or Denmark from including portions of the Lomonosov Ridge in their submission to the Commission. It is possible the continental shelves of Arctic Ocean coastal states may overlap but the extent and location of these overlaps is not yet known. Any overlaps will be resolved through discussions, negotiations and/or arbitration, in accordance with international law. All Arctic Ocean coastal states reaffirmed this commitment in the May 2008 Ilulissat Declaration.

Coopération internationale

La délimitation du plateau continental est un processus rigoureux et long réalisé conformément à la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer. Les États côtiers du monde entier suivent ce processu, y compris ceux de l’océan Arctique.

Outre les levés scientifiques conjoints réalisés en collaboration avec le Danemark et les États-Unis, des chercheurs canadiens, russes et danois se rencontrent annuellement depuis 2007 pour discuter d’enjeux liés au plateau continental. La dernière de ces rencontres, organisée par le Danemark à Copenhague, en novembre 2011, a réuni des chercheurs et des représentants de l’ensemble des cinq États côtiers de l’océan Arctique. Les États-Unis furent l’hôte de la rencontre suivante, en novembre 2012.

Il se peut que certaines formations sous-marines fassent partie des demandes relatives au plateau continental étendu de plusieurs pays. À titre d’exemple, la demande que le Canada présentera à la Commission portera sur certaines parties de la dorsale de Lomonosov. Or, cela n’empêchera pas d’autres pays, comme la Russie ou le Danemark, d’inclure eux aussi certaines parties de cette dorsale dans leur demande. En conséquence, il est possible que les plateaux continentaux des États côtiers de l’océan Arctique se chevauchent. Toutefois, on ne connaît pas encore l’importance ni l’emplacement de ces chevauchements. Quoi qu’il en soit, il est prévu de régler les cas de chevauchement par la voie de discussions, de négociations ou de l’arbitrage, conformément au droit international. Tous les États côtiers de l’océan Arctique ont réaffirmé leur engagement en ce sens dans la Déclaration d’Ilulissat de mai 2008.