The Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

The Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf consists of 21 experts in geophysics, hydrography or geology. It was established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to review the submissions of coastal states and provide recommendations on the location of the outer limits of their continental shelves. The Commission meets in New York for up to six months per year. 

Members of the Commission are elected by states parties to the Convention for five years and can be re-elected. The composition of the Commission is based on geographic representation. Canada is part of the Western Europe and Other Group (WEOG). 

On 6 June 2012 Dr. Richard Haworth was elected to the Commission for a five year term (2012-2017). He is the first Canadian member of the Commission and was nominated by Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

About Dr. Haworth

Dr. Haworth is a highly qualified marine geophysicist whose experience in government, academia and the private sector allows him to bring both practical and scholarly expertise to the Commission. He has more than 40 years of international experience in the collection, analysis and interpretation of marine geoscientific data on continental margins around the world. He has authored more than 100 publications and was a member of the Editorial Board for the book Continental Shelf Limits: The Scientific and Legal Interface, edited by P. J.  Cook and C. M. Carleton and published by Oxford University Press in 2000. He has considerable leadership, managerial and international expertise, having served in senior executive positions in the Government of Canada, notably in the Geological Survey of Canada.

Dr. Haworth has a long-standing involvement with the Commission. He worked along-side current and past members of the Commission within the select International Group of Experts convened by the United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (DOALOS) to assess the technical implications of applying article 76 of the Convention to define the limits of the continental shelf. Dr. Haworth has since maintained his expertise on continental shelf delineation through participation in international meetings, scholarly activities and training on relevant software applications. Since his retirement from the Government of Canada in 2003 he has worked as an independent consultant specializing in continental shelf delineation and provided advice to coastal states in this regard.

La Commission des limites du plateau continental

La Commission des limites du plateau continental est formée de 21 experts en géophysique, en hydrographie ou en géologie. Elle a été créée en vertu  de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer, avec pour mandat d’examiner les demandes présentées par les États côtiers et de formuler des recommandations sur le tracé des limites extérieures de leur plateau continental. La Commission tient ses sessions à New York,  pour une durée maximale de six mois.

Les membres de la Commission sont élus par les États parties à la Convention pour un mandat de cinq ans et ils peuvent être réélus. La composition de la Commission se fonde sur la représentation géographique. Le Canada est membre du «Groupe des États d’Europe occidentale et autres États».

Le 6 juin 2012, M. Richard Haworth était élu membre de la Commission pour un mandat de cinq ans (2012-2017). Il est le premier membre canadien de la Commission. Sa candidature était soumise par le Canada, l'Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Au sujet de M. Haworth

M. Haworth est un géophysicien marin chevronné. Grâce à l’expérience acquise au gouvernement ainsi que dans les milieux universitaires et le secteur privé, il pourra mettre ses connaissances pratiques et scientifiques au service de la Commission. En effet, il possède plus de 40 années d’expérience internationale de la collecte, de l’analyse et de l’interprétation de données géophysiques marines sur les marges continentales dans à travers le monde. Il est également l’auteur de plus de 100 publications scientifiques et a siégé au comité de rédaction de l’ouvrage intitulé Continental Shelf Limits: The Scientific and Legal Interface, rédigé sous la direction de P. J. Cook et C. M. Carleton et publié par Oxford University Press en 2000. Il possède également une vaste expérience de la supervision, de la gestion et de la collaboration internationale, ayant occupé des postes supérieurs de direction au gouvernement du Canada, notamment à la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC).

Les liens de M. Haworth avec la Commission sont de longue date. Il était membre, au même titre que plusieurs membres actuels et anciens de la Commission, du Group international d'experts émérites formé par la Division des affaires maritimes et du droit de la mer des Nations Unies (DOALOS) afin d'évaluer les dimensions techniques de l’application de l’article 76 de la Convention pour définir les limites du plateau continental. Depuis, M. Haworth a continué d’affinir ses compétences relatives à la définition des limites du plateau continental par sa participation à des conférences internationales, à des activités de recherche, ainsi qu'à de la formation sur les logiciels pertinents. Depuis sa retraite du gouvernement du Canada en 2003, il œuvre à titre de consultant indépendant spécialisé dans la fixation des limites du plateau continental et a conseillé des États côtiers à ce sujet.