Declaration on the Establishment of the Arctic Council (Ottawa, Canada, 1996)

The representatives of the Governments of Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States of America (hereinafter referred as the Arctic States) meeting in Ottawa;

  • Affirming our commitment to the well-being of the inhabitants of the Arctic, including special recognition of the special relationship and unique contributions to the arctic of indigenous people and their communities;
  • Affirming our commitment to sustainable development in the Arctic region, including economic and social development, improved health conditions and cultural well-being;
  • Affirming concurrently our commitment to the protection of the Arctic environment, including the health of Arctic ecosystems, maintenance of biodiversity in the Arctic region and conservation and sustainable use of natural resources;
  • Recognizing the contributions of the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy to these commitments;
  • Recognizing the traditional knowledge of the indigenous people of the Arctic and their communities and taking note of its importance and that of Arctic science and research to the collective understanding of the circumpolar Arctic;
  • Desiring further to provide a means for promoting cooperative activities to address Arctic issues requiring circumpolar cooperation, and to ensure full consultation with and the involvement of indigenous people and their communities and other inhabitants of the Arctic in such activities;
  • Recognizing the valuable contribution and support of the Inuit Circumpolar Conference, Saami Council, and the Association of Indigenous Minorities of the Far North, Siberia and the Far East of the Russian Federation in the development of the Arctic Council;
  • Desiring to provide for regular intergovernmental consideration of and consultation on Arctic issues.

Hereby declare:

  1. The Arctic Council is established as a high level forum to:

    1. provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common arctic issues*, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.
    2. oversee and coordinate the programs established under the AEPS on the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program (AMAP); conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna (CAFF); Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment (PAME); and Emergency Preparedness and Response (EPPR).
    3. adopt terms of reference for and oversee and coordinate a sustainable development program.
    4. disseminate information, encourage education and promote interest in Arctic-related issues.

  2. Members of the Arctic Council are: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States of America (the Arctic States).

    The Inuit Circumpolar Conference, the Saami Council and the Association of Indigenous Minorities in the Far north, Siberia, the Far East of the Russian Federation are Permanent Participants in the Arctic Council. Permanent participation is equally open to other Arctic organizations of indigenous peoples** with majority Arctic indigenous constituency, representing:

    1. a single indigenous people resident in more than one arctic State; or
    2. more than one Arctic indigenous people resident in a single Arctic State.

    The determination that such an organization has met this criterion is to be made by decision of the Council. The number of Permanent Participants should at any time be less than the number of members.

    The category of Permanent Participation is created to provide for active participation and full consultation with the Arctic indigenous representatives within the Arctic Council.

  3. Observer status in the Arctic Council is open to:

    1. Non-arctic states;
    2. inter-governmental and inter-parliamentary organizations, global and regional; and
    3. non-governmental organizations

    that the Council determines can contribute to its work.

  4. The Council should normally meet on a biennial basis, with meetings of senior officials taking place more frequently, to provide for liaison and coordination. Each arctic State should designate a focal point on matters related to the Arctic Council.

  5. Responsibility for hosting meetings of the Arctic Council, including provision of secretariat functions, should rotate sequentially among the Arctic States.

  6. The Arctic Council, as its first order of business, should adopt rules of procedure for its meetings and those of its working groups.

  7. Decisions of the Arctic Council are to be by consensus of the Members

  8. The Indigenous Peoples' secretariat established under AEPS is to continue under the framework of the Arctic Council.

  9. The Arctic Council should regularly review the priorities and financing of its programs and associated structures.

Therefore, we the undersigned representatives of our respective Governments, recognizing the Arctic Council's political significance and intending to promote its results, have signed this declaration.

Signed by the representatives of the Arctic States in Ottawa on the 19th of September, 1996.

*The Arctic Council should not deal with matters related to military security

**The use of the term "peoples" in this declaration shall not be construed as having any implications as regard the rights which may attach to the term under international law.

Déclaration sur la création du Conseil de l'Arctique (Ottawa, Canada, 1996)

Nous, les représentants des gouvernements du Canada, du Danemark, de la Finlande, de l'Islande, de la Norvège, de la Fédération de Russie, de la Suède et des États-Unis d'Amérique (ci-après dénommés les États arctiques), réunis à Ottawa ;

  • Affirmant notre engagement envers le bien-être des habitants de l'Arctique, notamment en ce qui concerne la reconnaissance des liens particuliers entre les peuples indigènes, leurs communautés et l'Arctique, et leurs contributions uniques envers celui-ci.
  • Affirmant notre engagement en faveur du développement soutenu de la région arctique, notamment du développement économique et social, de conditions de santé améliorées et du bien-être culturel ;
  • Affirmant de même notre engagement en faveur de la protection de l'environnement de l'Arctique, notamment de la santé de ses écosystèmes, de la conservation de la biodiversité de la région et de la conservation et d'une exploitation durable des richesses naturelles ;
  • Reconnaissant les contributions de la Stratégie de protection de l'environnement arctique à ces engagements ;
  • Reconnaissant la connaissance traditionnelle des peuples indigènes de l'Arctique, de leurs communautés, et prenant acte de son importance et de celle de la science et de la recherche sur l'Arctique pour la compréhension collective de l'Arctique circumpolaire ;
  • Désirant, en outre, encourager les activités coopératives afin de répondre aux problèmes de l'Arctique, pour lesquels une coopération circumpolaire est nécessaire, et faire en sorte que les peuples indigènes, et leurs communautés et les autres habitants de l'Arctique soient pleinement consultés et qu'ils puissent participer intégralement à ces activités ;
  • Reconnaissant la précieuse contribution et l'appui de la Conférence circumpolaire inuit, du Saami Council, et de l'Association des minorités autochtones du Nord, de la Sibérie et des régions extrême-orientales de la Fédération de Russie au développement du Conseil de l'Arctique ;
  • Désirant prévoir des études intergouvernementales et des consultations régulières sur les problèmes de l'Arctique.

Déclarons par les présentes :

  1. Le Conseil de l'Arctique, par la présente établi, se veut un lieu de débats de haut niveau visant :

    1. à favoriser la coopération, la coordination et l'interaction entre les États de l'Arctique, avec la participation des communautés indigènes de l'Arctique et de ses autres habitants au regard des problèmes communs de l'Arctique(1), plus précisément aux problèmes de développement soutenu et de protection de l'environnement dans l'Arctique ;
    2. à superviser et coordonner les programmes institués en vertu de la SPEA relatifs au Programmes d'évaluation et d'échantillonnage dans l'Arctique (MASC) ; de Conservation de la flore et de la faune arctiques (CFFA) ; de Protection des milieux marins de l'Arctique (PMMA) ; et du Programme de préparation aux situations d'urgence, de prévention et d'intervention (PPSUPI) ;
    3. à adopter un cadre de référence relatif un programme de développement soutenu, à le superviser et à le coordonner ;
    4. à diffuser des informations, à encourager l'éducation et à stimuler l'intérêt pour les problèmes de l'Arctique.
  2. Les membre du Conseil de l'Arctique sont les suivants : Le Canada, le Danemark, la Fédération de Russie, la Finlande, l'Islande, la Norvège, la Suède et les États-Unis d'Amérique (les États arctiques).

    La Conférence circumpolaire inuit, le Saami Council, et l'Association des minorités autochtones du Nord, de la Sibérie et des régions extrême-orientales de la Fédération de Russie, sont les participants permanents aux Conseil de l'Arctique. Peuvent aussi devenir des participants permanents les autres organisations de peuples indigènes de l'Arctique(2) dont les membres sont en majorité des indigènes de l'Arctique qui représentent :

    1. un seul peuple résidant dans plus d'un État arctique ;
    2. plus d'un peuple indigène résidant dans un seul État arctique.

    Il revient au Conseil de l'Arctique de décider si une organisation de ce genre satisfait à ce critère. En tout temps, le nombre de participants permanents doit être moindre que celui des membres.

    La catégorie des participants permanents est instituée pour rendre possible la participation active des représentants des indigènes de l'Arctique et la pleine consultation de ceux-ci dans le cadre du Conseil.

  3. Le statut d'observateur au Conseil de l'Arctique est ouvert :

    1. aux États non-Arctiques ;
    2. aux organisations intergouvernementales et interparlementaires, mondiales et régionales ;
    3. aux organisations non gouvernementales ;

    qui, de l'avis du Conseil, peuvent contribuer à ses travaux .

  4. Le Conseil de l'Arctique doit en principe se réunir tous les deux ans, et les réunions de dirigeants de haut niveau doivent être plus fréquentes pour assurer la liaison et la coordination. Chacun des États arctiques doit faire part d'un point pour des sujets relevant du Conseil.

  5. Les États arctiques sont à tout de rôle l'hôte des réunions du Conseil de l'Arctique, assurent notamment ses fonctions de soutien d'un secrétariat.

  6. L'adoption de procédure, applicable à ses réunions et à celles de ses groupes de travail sera le premier point à l'ordre du jour du Conseil de l'Arctique.

  7. Les décisions du Conseil de l'Arctique sont prises par consensus, par ses membres.

  8. L'Indigenous Peoples' Secretariat, constitué en vertu de la SPEA poursuivra ses activités dans le cadre du Conseil.

  9. Le Conseil de l'Arctique réexaminera périodiquement les priorités et le financement de ses programmes et des structures pertinentes.

En foi de quoi, nous, représentants soussignés de nos gouvernements respectifs, reconnaissant l'importance politique du Conseil de l'Arctique et désireux de favoriser ses réalisations, avons signé la présente Déclaration.

Signée par les représentants des États arctiques à Ottawa le 19 septembre 1996.

Pour le gouvernement du Canada

Pour le gouvernement de la Finlande

Pour le gouvernement de la Norvège

Pour le gouvernement de la Suède

Pour le gouvernement du Danemark

Pour le gouvernement de l'Islande

Pour le gouvernement de la Fédération de Russie

Pour le gouvernement des États-unis d'Amérique

1. Le Conseil de l'Arctique n'est pas saisi des questions intéressant la sécurité militaire.

2. Le terme peuple dans cette Déclaration ne saurait avoir aucune implication au regard des droits que le droit international peut lui attacher.