Canada's Arctic Partners

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, including its network of Canadian offices abroad,   works with a number of key Canadian partners to implement Canada’s Arctic Foreign Policy including:

  • Other departments of the Government of Canada,
  • Territorial Governments,
  • Indigenous partners.

Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada works with many other government departments and agencies on circumpolar issues including:

Territorial Governments

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada also works with Canada’s three Territorial Governments on circumpolar issues. Collaboration with the Territories is crucial to the development and implementation of Canada’s Arctic foreign policy, and Canada’s work at the Arctic Council.

For information on Canada’s Territorial Governments or to contact them directly, please consult their Web sites:

Indigenous Partners

Our Indigenous partners are the Permanent Participants of the Arctic Council. Including Permanent Participants in the work of the Arctic Council provides an opportunity for active participation by and full consultation with the Indigenous peoples of the North in Arctic Council activities.

Three of the six Permanent Participants have Canadian constituents:

Canada's support to the Permanent Participants

Through the Canadian International Arctic Fund (CIAF), support is provided annually to the three Canadian-based Permanent Participant Organizations, to allow them to participate in Arctic Council activities.

In addition to the support provided to the Permanent Participants by Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, other federal government departments also provide funding support to assist the Permanent Participants in engaging in circumpolar policy dialogue and programming activities.

Les partenaires du Canada en Arctique

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, y compris son réseau de bureaux canadiens à l’étranger, travaille avec un bon nombre de partenaires clés canadiens afin de mettre en œuvre la Politique étrangère du Canada pour l’Arctique, dont :

  • D’autres ministères du gouvernement du Canada;
  • Des gouvernements territoriaux;
  • Des partenaires autochtones.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada travaille de concert avec de nombreux autres ministères et organismes fédéraux aux questions liées à l’Arctique, y compris :

Gouvernements territoriaux

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada travaille également avec les trois gouvernements territoriaux du Canada aux questions liées à l’Arctique. La collaboration avec les territoires est essentielle à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de la Politique étrangère du Canada, ainsi qu’à la participation du Canada au Conseil de l’Arctique.

Pour plus d'information sur les gouvernements territoriaux du Canada ou pour les rejoindre directement, veuillez consulter leurs sites Web:

Partenaires autochtones

Nos partenaires autochtones sont des participants permanents au Conseil de l'Arctique. Leur collaboration aux travaux du Conseil de l'Arctique présente une possibilité de consultation approfondie des peuples autochtones du Nord et une occasion de faire participer ces peuples aux activités du Conseil.

Trois de ces six participants permanents ont une composante canadienne :

Le soutien du Canada aux participants permanents

Grâce au Volet nordique du Fonds international pour l’Arctique du Canada (FIAC), un appui est fourni chaque année aux trois participants permanents canadiens afin de leur permettre de participer aux activités du Conseil de l’Arctique.

En plus du soutien accordé aux participants permanents par Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, d’autres ministères fédéraux leur fournissent un soutien financier pour les aider à participer activement aux discussions sur la politique circumpolaire et aux activités des programmes.